An Garda Síochána Recruitment 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭sage4me

I was 49 when I did my first PCT. I thought I was fit as I was in the 3 gym days a week, but I found out I wasn't cardio fit. I got a PT as my legs where weak. I would highly recommend measuring out a 20m space and doing the beep test every second day rain, hail or shine. There are great YouTube videos on your turn and timing. Not gonna lie, it was a wake up call. Failed the 1st one due to pnuemonia. Got stopped at 4.7. Completed the 2nd one 4 weeks later, that is a long as they could give me in a time of 8min 18 seconds and a month later passed on 7mins 41 seconds, So realistically I had 3 months to get fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭sage4me

No flexibility at all. They are ruthless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Mike277

I done everything right and still waiting. Doesn’t matter now Im off to Perth in June. Takes too long @sage4me

I emailed last Monday 26th to see if I could get a update on vetting, they replied Friday30th, same generic response but I was informed that the February intake wasn't full and still spaces available that if vetting had cleared by than they would reach out. Cutting it abit fine if the start date is the 9th. Would love to know what the delay is. I'm from the 2024 campaign vetting in since December 24

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Strange. They have offered places to people while vetting is pending for a lot of people. Did you have much to fill in your vetting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 MrJonsb25

I think the issue with lads having completed training and still waiting on their vetting might change how they do things. Didn't look great that they'd gotten the who way through and it was still pending.

True and they haven't done it to all applicants so I'm wondering what on @Bdoc 's application flagged that they wouldn't offer that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 BreffniBoy123

For anyone who sat interviews last week results in the next few days normal turnaround period is around 7-9 days from talking to people who have been through it before. Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 PassageHC23

Are people who done their interview last week expected to hear back this week?

Results being announced week c/ 16th just emailed them this afternoon and got that response.

Shouldn't be anything out of the ordinary, I've nothing against me, had sisters out in different countries that have since moved back to Ireland so I emailed them to update that. No one in the family has a record 🤷 haven't left the country in 8years myself, and flew through the station interview so it's a strange one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 imdrlee

Follow this link to join my WhatsApp group: https://chat.whatsapp.com/FBXD7CUQVvz3mp9nTPgVOd?mode=gi_t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 imdrlee

Any one wants to join WhatsApp group

Follow this link to join my WhatsApp group: https://chat.whatsapp.com/FBXD7CUQVvz3mp9nTPgVOd?mode=gi_t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 PassageHC23

oh ffs…here I was checking my inbox by the hour lol. Time to relax for a few weeks! thanks for the update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Bodie200304

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 0 JorJas123

Is there a what's app group for the February intake?

Best of luck to everyone starting on Monday. Enjoy the weekend while you can!!

Some results out there! Just got mine and passed, delighted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭francie81

Getting in on this topic. I wanted to join the cops only to find I fell short in my leaving but I done the 1st stage for practice anyway as I feel this is a challenge I would like before I turn 50 am 44 now. Last year I registered for a QQI 5 but then I ended up getting back into full-time employment so couldn't do it then. But having gone through some of the latest posts here vetting seems to be a real frustrating issue with many. Any advice?

Congrats. On to the physical and medical so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Mike277

the whole thing is just a massive disorganised mess. 77 recruits got sent home halfway through the training last year due to vetting isssues. Others have a completed the training but can’t get stationed because even though they’ve gone to temple more they are still waiting for the vetting.

It’s very all over the place, it was on the news last night even the reporters said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 setghy78

Does anyone know if the college has irons we can use down there? Or should we bring our own?

Yeah there is irons, most people tend to get their clothes pressed in dry cleaners and have them ready for the week ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Lenny23

when should offers start to be given out for may?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 aod2903

the trend seems to be up to 6 weeks before @Lenny23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Lenny23

Ah grand,thanks very much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 xerze

Yeah got mine today. Although I deferred my place from the last intake to this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 heyarnold11

How do they contact you with an offer, is it via email?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 xerze

yeah by email