Winter 2025/26 - General Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭geographica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Lovely morning. Did parkrun in perfect conditions unlike the monsoon last Saturday. A day for the garden.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

Overcast. Some drizzle. Calm. Feels very mild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,456 ✭✭✭✭sryanbruen

Update on this post…

Johnstown Castle has now had 652.1mm between Nov 1st 2025 and Jan 30th 2026 so extremely close actually to beating Oct to Dec 2002 as its wettest 3-month period on record (short of 0.6mm). The station had 129.1mm from 24th-30th Jan 2026, must be a historic weekly total for there?

Photography site - https://sryanbruenphoto.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭dan575283578

I'm in west wexford and it's been bad here, lots of roads flooded, our septic tank is flooded, it's the worst that I can remember ever here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,100 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Radio1 now, Kilkenny CoCo Director of Services: "it's been raining constantly since christmas".

Was there not that long dry spell Dec-Jan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,100 ✭✭✭✭zell12

The sun has a bit of warmth in it. Time to plant some seedlings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The director is talking nonsense. The Slaney water level was trending downwards until 12th January. It still stayed steady below the 10th percentile (well below normal) until 20th January and it wasn't until then that the problems started. Heavy rains from 20th January led to rapidly rising water levels which peaked on 27th January.

Here is the Scarawalsh graph which is upstream from Enniscorthy.

Realtime waterlevel (Scarawalsh, Slaney River)

Waldrons Bridge on the Dodder showed a similar pattern. The water levels only started to rise on the 20th January and then very much spiked on 27th January. Nowhere near record flood though.

Realtime waterlevel (Dodder)

The south east has fared particularly bad. By contrast the River Clare in Galway never went above Median flood levels. Realtime waterlevel

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Kutebride

Well jealous @Cluedo Monopoly of your bright morning for Parkrun. Though I won't complain we got a dry run in the East but dull overall. Got a photo of a pal in Salthill this morning. Looked gorgeous.

Anyway looks like the East and everywhere getting clear skies and sunshine tomorrow at last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭Dazler97

My uncle is gone to Orlando today with his work and temperatures could dip to -4ºc tonight, hasn't been this cold here since I think 1977

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Rougies

I have to correct you here, the 10th percentile is certainly not well below normal, quite the opposite. It is the level that has a 10% chance of being equaled or exceeded at any given time. The 50th percentile is "normal" (median). The 95th percentile is drought basically. The "median flood" is a different metric that doesn't really correspond to the level percentiles because it is dependent on the topography of the area and what the base "flood level" is considered to be.

The graph you linked for Scarawalsh was above normal (50th percentile) from the 28th Dec to present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

Below freezing. -0.5c.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Artane2002

I'm currently in Stockholm and today was a wonderful day, mostly sunny with light snow streamers this evening and a high temperature of -4 °C. The showers were a surprise as it looks like a dry setup but the airmass is a very cold one, so it generated enough instability when contrasted with the Baltic Sea. Today, I did a hike in a nature reserve and it was brilliant. The fourth picture below with the very flat terrain actually has a frozen lake hidden beneath the snow. It's very nice to be away from the nonstop rain back home, I was out from 9 am to 11:30 pm and it was refreshing to not have to think about the possibility of being soaked while being out and about for that long.

IMG_5943.jpeg IMG_5949.jpeg IMG_5960.jpeg IMG_5970.jpeg IMG_5977.jpeg IMG_5998.jpeg IMG_6020.jpeg IMG_6048.jpeg

The clearance to sunshine is very delayed.

Dark and wet. Proper wet in Meath. Don't think saw it that miserable on forecast to start the day. Thought a light drizzle at most and clearing quicker.

7⁰ Meath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,351 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Checked bbc last night, knew it would be wet this morning. Have given up on met eireann

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Miserable morning in Dublin 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,871 ✭✭✭appledrop

Ah lads what's going on today was meant to be 'nice' day and lashing again!

No trip to park yet again.

Post edited by appledrop on

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Supposed to clear by midday. I still have 'out' planned today instead of tomorrow as east wind back tomorrow.

Fabulous Blue skies incoming on photos from family in the West - Galway International Rally.

I'm waiting. Hope doesn't take too long sunset be here quick enough. Lol

Jaysus at this stage I might move to West, sick of being battered here on East coast by the rain.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Starting to clear now in Greystones and sun popping out. Heading off to Bray for day out (walk, beers, food, slots and ice cream….not sure of order yet!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Aye, used to use their app but now have removed it and using yr instead. They cant be trusted unfortunately..ME that is

Enjoy, still lashing here! We had a lovely evening out with friends last night just what the doctor ordered.

Have to say it's been a very bad week for Met Eireann, they need to take a serious look at their forecasting methods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭allenview

There's no pleasing everyone, your dammed when your right and dammed when your wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Met eireann made to look like a scapegoat for a spell of bad weather. Their forecasts were, as usual, fairly accurate, with flood warnings in place. The fact that nothing has been done to eliminate potential flood risk areas from danger isn't down to met eireann. The lads on the east coast talking dung again as they're affected are the same lads usually giving out the over severity of warnings when they don't feel the full brunt of storms.

After a wet morning it's turned into a nice sunny day here in north Longford. Pleasant out as I prepare for going to Longford v London match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Brace yourselves again in the southeast and east. This spell is set to last for another while. Its been a rough week on that area already and more promised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭Billcarson

FB_IMG_1769947520364.jpg

Folklore has it that if today has good weather Cailleach the winter hag is out gathering wood preparing for 6 more weeks of winter. If it's a bad day, she is sleeping in and the end of winter is near.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭Robwindstorm

Bill, I love these little gems you have of old folklore . The sun is out now even in the east. Looks like the old hag will be out gathering timber so !