Tesla Talk 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭eagerv

Happy that my Model 3 passed NCT a few hours ago, just under 60k, was told everything perfect.

What's the warranty check?

I left mine in to get the lights checked and they did some non related stuff to the brakes and the tailgate lift. Covered under the warranty. Is that what you mean?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,762 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Maybe I am missing something here, but isn't that just the demo FSD drives that have been going on in several other EU countries for nearly 2 months now. Sweden is a bit behind 😂

No idea why anyone would need any approval for them though. As is, with a Tesla driver behind the wheel, not touching anything for the entire drive, but at all times still responsible, this is just L2 autonomous driving. Just like my €25k Ioniq had a decade ago. But a tad better 😂

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭JOL1

Appears as though Model S&X are being discontinued …production stopping next quarter ….just announced on Tesla call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,079 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Going to be a tough 2026 considering most of 2025 still had a lot of tax exemptions and credits in place in the US for EVs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,121 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

they were niche sellers for sure but its a pity, i still think there could have been a RHD market for them but obviously not on the road map!

End of an era, but a long time coming. The Model S was introduced in 2010. That is a very long time ago. It paved the way for EVs to be treated like fully viable alternatives to combustion cars. It made Tesla enough money to just about manage to start mass producing a cheaper car, exactly what Tesla envisaged in their masterplan. It served its purpose.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

Very bad results for last year (based on traditional figures), even tougher year coming, but the market seems to like Musks vision of the future:

image.png

The fact that the Model S/X production capacity is being redirected to Optimus, there's an obvious full shift underway here away from cars towards storage, services, and robotics - or as Tesla's own report puts it "transition from a hardware-centric business to a physical AI company"

I suppose that's enough to satisfy stock market gamblers idk

Not sure if I would call anyone who would ever buy a stock market share in any big company - including our pension funds - a "gambler" though 😂

Let's call a spade a spade - even pension fund managers are gambling to a certain extent, even if they're spreading the risk across vast numbers of investments.

I've worked for a number of drastically over-valued tech companies, so I've seen it from the inside — Wall Street simply is playing a guessing game a lot of the time, or reacting to trading patterns the rest of the time.

Post edited by MJohnston on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,883 ✭✭✭✭listermint

When the fundamentals don't exist. And let's face it , they don't. It's gambling. This stock is now stone cold hype. Backed by no serious numbers on any sheets of paper.

What would you call that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,760 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Anyone for a 76k plaid that was 70k yesterday?

https://www.tesla.com/en_IE/mx/order/7SAXCCE67PF392574

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Redfox25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,535 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Imagine being so dumb and needy that you basically annihilate your customer base, knowing that they're fairly liberal, support climate actions etc and wholeheartedly support your vision, to then align with some of the dumbest, racist, climate change deniers , anti EV supporters on the planet and not expect any repercussions for it. His only hope is Trump remains a dictator for the US as the democrats will hammer him once they take over and gut his company, cancel his space contracts etc… without the US taxpayer Elon is a nobody. The only thing propping him up at the moment is the stock market..so many pension funds are all invested in Tesla including my own that they just might be too big to allow to fail. But Elon's gonna try his best to do that :)

I'm in the market for a new car… Model Y LR AWD is top but I just can't give me money to him no matter how I justify it ie he's only part owner etc. I could say China do way more horrible things than Elon but who's the BYD chairman? I've no clue and I'd like for it to stay that way…Musk should learn to do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,030 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I'm not sure what he was but I feel "needy" is the wrong word. The other word you use "dumb" probably covers it

He largely supported Trumps plan to "dig baby dig" and end the EV subsidies. I think his hope was to blow Teslas competitors in the EV market out of the way without realising that Tesla actually competes with ICE manufacturers as well. Worst thing in business is not knowing who your competitors are. I can see the stock market eventually having enough of his repeated failures and Tesla stock crashing hard. When that happens it will be a good day for the world

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

CEO of BYD, Wang Chuanfu, and the only reason I know that is because he was mentioned in the BYD slavery scandal in 2025.

Other than that, most CEO’s other than MoL, keep to themselves.

Yes I forgot that and China’s not clean either.

I never understand why the EU don’t just threaten China that unless they drop Taiwan claims, stop backing Russia , improve human rights abuses then they simply don’t get to sell to the EU market.
    Screw the EU car companies…if they complain and threaten to move factories out of Europe then threaten to take away their access to other markets within the EU.

But most politicians are utterly corrupt anyway so quite happy to screw over the every day Joe soap while catering to their billionaire supporters.

Don't let your neighbours dictate how you can spend your hard earned 40-50k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

I thought twice about selling my Model 3 and getting a new Model Y last year, but not because of other peoples politics. I looked at the choices and needed an SUV, of which I am no fan. The Model Y made the most sense from a car perspective. I despise all the Musk nonsense, but it doesn't inform my decisions.

Stay Free

Well you could of course invest all your money in Coca Cola and McDonalds and you will eventually be rich if you live to be 150 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭JOL1

Gambling and its usage here is an emotive term. Tesla trades in volumes with many professional institutional investors active and their view represents more a calculated risk. For Company's who are to the fore in developing new technologies, buyers are influenced by their belief of what the future "may" deliver and attachment to the discipline of fundamentals is too rigid and outdated, a fact borne out by the Tesla share price which continues to reflect optimism about future deliveries …in Tesla's case what is happening with FSD. AI, Robotics and Optimus. Of course they could all be idiots, but then they would not be alone and in good company…or maybe not ….

There will of course be many divergent views but the good thing is that everyone can support their view (with real money) on a daily basis by either buying or selling and what we cant deny is the relevant share price represents "the collective view" of all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,883 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Dude,

Would you leave of with the Grok writing your responses. Jaysus wept.. I mean...

and in fairness it still does. Even on PCP with the 0.99% APR the Tesla LR AWD is about 5 grand cheaper as BYD are charging 3.5% when you look at the 3 year cost, plus monthly is about €100 cheaper p/m.

Financially the Model Y makes the most sense and that pisses me off :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭farmerval

Are Tesla discontinuing models s and x? Is Tesla going to stop making cars long term?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

I went with the AWD and got 0%. Treated myself a bit.

Get the one you want. In the grand scheme of things, if you prefer the BYD, it's not much extra. I would personally get the Tesla, even if the BYD was €100 p/m cheaper…as long as it still comes with Autopilot.

Stay Free

Go with an X-Peng. It's a Tesla clone. I mean if you really want a Chinese imitation instead of the real thing just so you can virtue signal to the neighbours.

If you want to virtue signal, I don't know what car you should buy, but certainly not a Chinese one. That would be almost as bad as a Russian or Iranian one 😂

Not that it will make any difference of course. At least the Chinese are making a very serious move towards renewables and living without anything in your house made in China would be akin to living in a cabin in the woods like a hermit

Agree with you on Xpeng though. And I put my money where my mouth is. I own XPEV shares, but no TSLA shares…

The X-Peng in particular comes with a sticker in the back window that says "I really want a Tesla but I bought this instead, amn't I brilliant".