Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭jayo44

As of now there is no rush whatsoever, Dalot and the rest of the defence have been pretty damn good last two games so as long as that keeps going I'd be leaving it as is. Maz is a very good defender too but he hasn't been fault free either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭crusd

Does a fit de Ligt come in for Maguire or Martinez, or wait his turn is the question for me? Maguire performing well as an RCB wheras he has been frequently exposed on the left side in the past, and he is providing good defensive leadership, and de Ligt for me is more of an RCB than a LCB. Would be loathe to change it however much I think a deLigt-Martinez combo could be a better fottballing pairing and a de Ligt-Maguire pairing could be a more dominant pairing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

I think he needs to wait his turn once back, if he comes back anytime soon. Given his injury issues you don't want to be throwing him back in ASAP. Plus Maguire has been good since coming back in. Could see Carrick possibly perefeing Maguire a little more than DeLigt for being better with his passing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭weemcd

Massively agree. Mazraoui was brilliant last season, but hasn't really showed up the same this season. Hopefully he can hit the ground running now he's back, I think him playing behind Amad would give Amad much more room to progress. As good as they were v Arsenal, I feel like Amad still has a lot more to show in this team, now they're showing a lot more confidence on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,304 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Maguire is a player that has needed his minutes managed for a while.
    would be interesting to know if that isn't needed cause he is fitter and we have eff all games.
    Or if Carrick will just push him more

Already said he was supposed to only use maguire for 60mins vs City, but kept him on for the game.

IMO there will likely be an argument to rotate Martinez and Maguire out a bit, due to fitness concerns - but you can also understand why Carrick might be loathe to disrupt the team any more than he absolutely has to. we're in a CL fight a lot of people didn't think we would be near, so you could understand if Carrick wants to go 100% 'first choice' for as many minutes as possible.

Why would they need to rotate when they're only playing once a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,577 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Because Maguire has missed half a season where that has been the case too - MDL is currently 12 games absent. Martinez is coming back off basically a year out.

Yeah, why on earth would we need to consider their fitness.

I know what their injury record is like, but I’m not convinced that not playing for two weeks is the way to protect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭Felexicon

I've said it before and I'll say it again Rasmus > Sesko

It's a hard one to gauge. With Amorim being so systems based it was probably hard to let lads sit out training for chunks of the week but the switch to a back 4 should mean the focus is elsewhere so there may be the opportunity to manage load in training and maximising the bodies available for match day.

Plenty of examples across sport of veteran players not touching grass from Monday to Friday and putting in a MOTM performance on a Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,199 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Fair play to him he scored tonight but no goals or assists in the previous 7 games. Has scored in 4 out of 18 league games. It’s all very familiar but players are always a lot better when they’re not playing or no longer at the club 🙃

Ah look I don't think either are world beaters or ever will be but I just feel we gave up on Rasmus too early. There's a good player with a bit of a brain in there

Is McTominay actually the only player whose genuinely improved after leaving United? I wouldn't include Álvaro Fernández or young academy players that left for their development.

Henderson too maybe? Without the Covid issues he likely stays as number one and doesn’t get sold at all. Elanga’s season at Forest. Even with those three, is it the case that they’ve improved or it’s just been the right environment for them? Maybe a bit of both.

McTominay was scoring for us but Bruno was in his best position at the time, he didn’t look good in a midfield two. (seems like he plays there for Napoli now but in a different system). Very happy for him though because he’s United through and through. Henderson seemed a bit salty, I didn’t like his attitude. If he stayed on, we probably would never have seen Onana. That alone would have been worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,304 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

You didn't get ridiculed enough when you said it before.

That's a mad take on a person just at the club vs someone who was at if for 2 years scoring 14 goals in the prem.

Actually forgot about them two. I'd say you can say they've improved but all three left because they were squad players and wanted/needed the game time. Especially McTominay and Henderson given their ages. Elanga was young and we had options out wide.

If you were to look at players who we spent money on because they were playing well for their previous clubs like Donny, Sancho, Onana will be the next one. Can't think of others but it does get blown out of proportions the whole United kill careers stuff.

I hope in time Rasmus absolutely smashes it in his career. He was given a raw deal being thrown in as Uniteds big money CF at such a young age and having no other CFs to help him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Caustic

Speaking of ex players rashford bagged one last night, but he has very much been relegated to squad player since Barcelona have gotten players back from injury.

If he continues to only get 20 mins or cameos on big games you would doubt they will look to sign him or even if he would want to stay TBH.

We need to be moving him on in the he summer but can't continue to be held to randsome by players,.I wonder might Newcastle come calling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭Corvo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭SteM

Every time we want to get rid of a player someone brings up Newcastle 😂 Remember when people were hoping they would buy Martial and Maguire?

I don't think Rashford will end up at a PL team cause I don't think a PL team he'd be happy to play for will come in for him.

I actually think he'd be a good squad signing for Arsenal, but he'd need to lower his wages (….to barca levels…) for it to make any sense as a squad player; and he' have to be happy being a squad player.

If Barca don't trigger it, i still reckon bayern would show interest - with BL high lines Rashford would be good for them.

Milan or Inter maybe - he'd likely do well in Italy and it would be a cool place to live.

I think the most likely out come thought is another crap (for us) loan at Barca. He'll want to stay, and Barca know they will be able to low ball us into another crap deal cause Rashford will reject any other offer as long as Barca are telling him they want to bring him back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,577 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Wouldn't be surprised to see Rashford heading to Inter.... Miami or some other club in the MLS.

It would feed the ego more than any other move.

I think Newcastle makes sense in terms of their squad not bless with great wide players, newcatsle want to make the next step up and he would be a big name English signing, not short of cash and potentially a way for rashford to play regular football and possibly champions league.

Being a squad player at Barcelona isn’t a bad thing - it’s Barcelona. That was always likely once the injured players came back. Injuries gave him more starts early on, but he’s taken advantage of those opportunities.

If you went by the general sentiment in this thread over the summer, you’d have expected him to barely feature at all. But the reality is that he has contributed and settled pretty well, which didn’t come as a surprise to me.

If it doesn’t become permanent, it’ll probably be more about the finances involved than Barcelona not wanting him or Rashford not wanting to stay.

Andy Mitten, well placed with sources at Barca, did a piece on him two days ago which highlights how he is liked there and how his loan has been a success -

He shouldn’t play for us again. That’s over now. He should be sold and if it’s Barca he wants, they will have to pay what he’s worth or else the club should try and find another buyer. Easier said than done of course.

Yeah I can't see him having any issues with being a squad player at Barca. The big issue will be even if Barca wanted him to come back to start for them they'll low ball United with offers or push for another loan deal.

He definitely has done well no doubt about that but his minutes are down a lot, I don't think he is even the first player brought into the front line now. If it continues for the rest of the season I'm not sure how happy he will be with that tbh.

It could also effect his England career as Tunchel had told mainoo he needed to be starting more or he wouldn't be getting a call up if he is true to his word that could effect rash going to the WC.

Barca will be looking to add a striker in the summer also instead of lewa which also will effect his minutes if he stayed as he slotted in a striker a few times.

I think it might have been a perfect transfer for both parties they got a lot of use out of him and he build his reputation back up a little.

We certainly will be looking to sell him this summer as another loan makes no sense for us as it'll incentive him to run down his final year.

I think he will see himself as good enough to be on a starter at some club and want a higher wage then a squad player would get at Barcelona.

I could be wrong if course but I feel he will look elsewhere unless his minutes improve over the next few months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Hard to compare both. Sesko isnt functioning in a massively improved attacking setup. Hoylund had Rashford one side and Antony the other. I dont see the £110M upgrade Sesko is supposed to be on Hoylund. He has Amad, Cunha and Mbeuno as supporting attacking options and for me isnt delivering. Hope he does but I'm not seeing this upgrade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

£110m upgrade?

What £110M?

I'm lost

"They want to find a way", 9 goals + 12 assists and he'll only cost you €30M. They truly are cheap bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,600 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

This is where we need to put the foot down. We make it clear to Rashford we have no issue selling once Barca meet the clause. The same clause they have known about all season.

If they don't want to meet it and Rashford wants to reject every other offer that comes his way then 100%, he can do that.

He can also train away from the main squad and won't be included in any match day squads at senior or underage level. He can wind his contract down if he likes but it will be his "Prime" years he is wasting.

If we act like we are a soft touch then we'll be treated that way.

Maybe we lose money on Rashford. But other players won't want to do down the same path in the future.

Couple of months of that and by next January Rashford's stance may have changed