No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,800 ✭✭✭50HX

Tells me enough when Patrick Neville moved his horse training set up over to the UK😱

Check up The Somers farmers in that area in the early 00's, dead & suvk livestock.

I remember being there on a school tour 30 years ago...we weren't allowed out of the bus...whole place covered in a red dust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,050 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Have a look at it on Google Earth. It's huge. A big red lake of toxic alkaline mud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,576 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Livestock being worried by dogs, the cattle don't know that the dogs are supposedly under control, report to the Gardai and let the hunt know you will shoot the dogs the next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭dzer2

Hunt came through here last November first time in yrs they didn't ask for permission 2 horses put down fox turned back across the ravine at the bottom if the farm the horses were wrecked from the running never made the jump one lad was lucky he wasn't killed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Years ago there was an old farmer beside us landed out to the local hunt with his gun... a pompous prick in a red coat told the farmer to toddle off as they had hunted that land for years as was their right. The old boy let off a shot & then told the guy in the red jacket he would shoot "Man, Horse & Dog in that order if they didn't feck off". The hunts man went to the Gardai about it where he was told it was similar to the Pauraic Nally situation in that the farmer was protecting his property and not to bother him again.. we all had great relief as the hunt stopped coming around this way ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 TeagascSaysNo

I see the Chinese have rebanned Irish beef over bluetongue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Have they nothing better to be at of a Wednesday afternoon...

Cùnts....

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,061 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

My sister has a business in Enniscorthy. She wasn't affected thankfully. But she had the other business owners in tears telling of their woes.

The parking inspector was just about to ticket someone's car and she nearly killed him. She told him don't you dare put a ticket on that car as they've nowhere to park with the flooding. The inspector called his superiors and she called the councillors. The inspector was stood down for when the flooding is there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Wasn’t there also a case where a farmer shot a few dogs from a hunt and was done for cruelty to animals in court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,917 ✭✭✭chooseusername

I'll have to remember that when I'm trying to explain irony to the grandson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,151 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

I'm torn by these mounted hunts cos the Great Grandfather and Grandfather hunted with the now defunct Castlemaggarot Hunt outside Claremorris which met at Lord Oranmore's place. I guess it depends how these hunts conduct themselves in terms of permissions etc. my impression was this one was well organized and done with the permissions of relevant landowners(although back then it was probably easier to do as much of the land was still owned by big estates)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Started my trade with a crowd that does a lot of work in there. Escaped being sent there when I was there thank God, it was a place lads were sent to at times if they fucked up or pissed off a higher up, best thing to do in that situation was to say how much it suited ye more there than your last place if it was beneficial to you you'd be moved on elsewhere.

I was told there's no big fat lads working there you won't thrive or else you dont have an appetite im told. I worked on some vessels out of the place they were rough as guts and I saw vehicles coming out of there into the workshop to be done up before selling on again, all covered in red dust as well.

I handed in my notice shortly after they put me through an asbestos awareness course, was planning on leaving anyway but that was the nudge I needed. **** dealing with that **** can't put a price on health.

Worked with a fitter who said when he was serving his time the construction of that plant started. Fitters in a big well paying firm he was in were getting £28/week back then but were getting £300/week down there. He said anyone with sense bought houses, farms and pubs but a lotta lads lost the run of themselves too. Fella told me today back in the 90s he was taking home £12/1300/week back then he said €1300 take home wouldnt scratch the surface on what buying power he back then with that wage.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Austinbrick

Many years ago, my Dad allowed the hunt in on condition that they exit by the way they came in.

When the hunt failed to oblige , and travelled on to the further away exit, he drove down to meet them.

He took the saddle off the horse of one of the lead huntsmen and went home.

The local guard called soon after and he had to hand it back.

Years later, he shook hands with the hunt man , through the efforts of a mutual friend.

Anyway , this appeared in our family WhatsApp last week.!

1000033762.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭straight

Interesting house for sale in Valentia. Occupied under terms unknown. Looks like hippies living in it to me by the photos. 🤔

6 Geokaun View, Chapeltown, Valentia Island, Valen... - BidX1 https://share.google/DnmAraUYdKXX4xehM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,764 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

A proper Cavan boast.

Brother had to climb down into a shuck last night in the dark to get proper rushes for StBrigids crosses for the kids for school today 🤣

Because we managed to get all fields mulched with new mulcher last summer/autumn so they reasonably clean.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

8. If no sign of Gardai arriving, apply with maximum force shoe leather or wellington rubber to rear of lead huntsman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 TeagascSaysNo

My day is coming up roses despite the weather today.

Went out this morning before work to a bullock who had been lying down since Tuesday evening - ready for the usual hardship that goes with a down animal only to find him up eating silage!

Then went into work to find I won 50 euro in a charity raffle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,050 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭dzer2

. M

Same Here back to work since 13th January pricing jobs the real big one I was chasing letter of intent in inbox at 9, got the call from the NRH for rehab this evening starting next Wednesday. Might get a little more back to normal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,041 ✭✭✭✭Base price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,646 ✭✭✭148multi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,335 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Got me balls checked this afternoon after one went rogue a few months ago and grew seemingly overnight. Not simple to get them out for ultrasounds (didn't help the embarrassment the sonographer was a good looking blonde lady) or for doctors or consultants due to them being what they are and it's very embarrassing to be showing them about. Bottom line is nothing untoward going on bar some trapped fluid. Great relief to have it confirmed to be that. I'm gonna celebrate with a pint of ale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,800 ✭✭✭50HX

Great stuff...enjoy the lemonade

Tis always a good looking woman in that situation 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭lmk123

I was in hospital a few months ago for an issue in the same area, all I can say is if you are in enough pain you won’t give one f*ck who’s looking at them 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,041 ✭✭✭✭Base price

My second son was a natural breach birth. My obstetrician asked me if it was ok if the medical students could come into the suite and watch the delivery as most breach births are by cesarean section. No problem I said. About five minutes later there was 23 medical students of various levels, lined around the room intently looking between my legs. In between a contraction I gave them a wave, then nature took over and I never thought about them during the delivery process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭Jb1989

You need experience when cutting or squeezing balls, not done right, your tortured with swelling.

Though Better this time of year than midsummer when the maggots can be about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,917 ✭✭✭chooseusername

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,061 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Probably shouldn't be posting this.

But I heard of a local sports club dealing with an enniscorthy business for the last twenty years. They were looking for their weekly purchase. The business told them as they were flooded there'd be a wait of a couple of days as they'd have to prepare them at their own home. The sports club a big farmer in the group told them to stick it and said they'd go elsewhere. The business was very put out by it.

Thankfully their other customers including farmer coops and businesses are more understanding.

Some people are too full of themselves and only think of themselves.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

We should all tell people when we’ve this stuff going on. Normalises it and encourages others to get stuff checked out.

And you reminded me of a story told in GAA circles years ago. A fella got a sliotar in the liathroidi and dropped to his knees. The physio ran on and looking down at his jewellery, yer man says, “Get rid of the pain doc, but will ya leave the swelling”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,798 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

When you go into hospital, you leave your dignity at the door