Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,304 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

But he wasn't boxed in, just as Amad wasnt boxed in, in the Amorim system. Him, Amad, Dalot were getting a huge amount of our chances as Wing Backs.

And dorgu was criticised for having zero technique, unable to pass the ball and incapable of putting a cross into the box.

You can argue that Amorim's man management was an issue, resulting in confidence issues and therefor execution - but the idea that he was being utterly limited simply by the position that put him into great attacking positions is just wrong imo.

He is playing far better. His touch and control is better. That, imo, is far more the reason he is looking much better recently. His confidence in himself is far higher, and that indeed might be down to Amorim being gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭scottser

If we finish top four then the pool of managerial candidates will get bigger. At that stage those candidates will be outlining in great detail what they will do to maximise the opportunities the club has and the potential of the squad. I imagine the big-named managers will be better able to communicate that to the board. Carrick should certainly be invited to throw his name into the pot but right now, he only has to think about the next game and not take things for granted. City and Arsenal are great scalps but our real test over the last few years is beating opposition teams lower in the table than us. Fair play to Carrick though, he hasn't put a foot wrong. Yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,199 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

A touch unfair to Ole there. He wasn’t some vibes only manager who was afraid to bench players in case it caused an upset. He made some big calls with dropping influential players like Pogba, Lukaku and to a lesser extent Lingard. I’ve no doubt he was leading that team and it wasn’t the players.

Now he was definitely over-reliant on some of his favourite players that could have been dropped but that’s another discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,456 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

This doesn't feel like a bounce and the way the fullbacks and especially the wingers are organized we're going to be hard to beat. The quicker movement of the ball plus the talent we have in the final third will get us top 5.

I'm very confident this isn't Ole Pogba Lingard 2.0 bounce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,577 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Dorgu has done very well in his year at the club. How often do see more experienced players being given the grace of adapting to the league… he was thrown in, fitted it straight away and played a big part in us getting to the EL final. One of the bright sparks in a poor second half of last season, for me.

He has upped his performance lately, I would put that down to the change of position but more importantly, more freedom and belief and probably simpler instructions from the manager(s). His first time cross for Sesko's goal against Burnley just wouldn't have happened under Amorim.

There was always a player there, couldn't understand how so many doubted it. Of course, he needs to now do it consistently to be a very good player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,671 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Yeah you need to bring in someone to replace him as a starter and also sign someone to replace him as a sub. In an ideal world he'd stick around for another season and you would then have someone with his experience to come in for the last 30mins and start certain games.

I've no issues with it either but when you see how they carry on with corners and then the goal against Burnley being ruled out for Martinez "fouling" Walker it's a joke what they can get away with at times with corners.

Big fan of Casemiro but (like most other CMs and especially at his age) he needs to be playing regularly to see him at his best. If that isn't going to happen, then the timing is spot on imo.

The four subs coming on at once was like the equivalent of South Africa's bomb squad tactic of getting all the big guys on at once to overload teams in the scrum. Even the first thing the commenters pointed out was how all the players coming on were taller than those going off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I’ll have to hold my hands up and say this isn’t a post I thought I’d be writing a couple of weeks ago.

I was firmly in the Amorim camp and still think on balance he was very unlucky to get the sack. The team was on an upturn despite missing an awful lot of experienced and important players through injury and Afcon and I definitely feel he deserved more time.

I also don’t think a couple of good performances should rewrite months of context and I’d normally be the first to warn against getting too carried away about a new manager bounce.

That said …. I’m really excited about what we’re seeing under Carrick so far. Beating City and Arsenal is no small thing , but it’s not just the results that have impressed me …..it’s the performances . The team looks so together and united, the players seem to know exactly what’s being asked of them and there’s a real intensity and clarity to how we’re playing. Carrick comes across as an excellent man manager and you can see a renewed confidence in the players.

I do also wonder how much Steve Hollands influence is a factor because the set up and structure looks very polished , but either way there’s a really good vibe around the squad at the moment.

I’m still cautious…. football has a way of humbling you quickly , but I have to admit, this does feel different. If this isn’t just a bounce and the performances stay at this level , then I’ll happily admit that the change has been a positive thing . For now I’m just really enjoying watching a team that looks organised, confident and playing with a smile on their faces again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭crusd

No, its based on a calm a rational analyis of perforamnces and recoginsing that actually playing players in their position produces results

It's not just individual players playing well in their positions, it's a team wide improvement. The last two games we've been playing our way out of tight spaces with short passes, triangles and 1-2s. Off the ball we're tackling in numbers and breaking up play far more efficiently than before. Our long passing is crisper and more accurate and the speed of our counter attack is lethal. We were creating a lot of chances under Amorim but we're finishing them off now. It's great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭crusd

Its like as if they have just been given clarity instead of muddled thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,989 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

i think if results continue, carrick will get the job.

1 main reason…the type of managers we want (tuchel, enrique) will not take the job. i'm unsure if they will even be approached.

thats leaves the likes of glasner, poch - a step down basically. and i think the brains trust go for carrick in that instance (if results are maintained/ CL qualification).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,989 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

what do people think of wharton? looks like he might be going to liverpool.

red card aside, he wasnt great yesterday. think he was at fault for a few goals vs leeds as well.

He's like Carrick 2.0 the closest any England player has been to Carrick in style of play. Think you need to weigh up whether Mainoo and Wharton could play together or whether Wharton could be a replacement for Mainoo if you can't sort out a contract. I like Wharton as a player and he's still only 21 I believe a year older than Mainoo.

I think they could play together, but I wouldn't want them as the starting pair away to Arsenal or Liverpoool or City for eg. At home to the bottom half of the league? Probably works.

In an ideal world, i'd love him and either Baleba or Anderson. But I see no shot of that.

My gut says we get Baleba in the summer, and another (at least one other) cheaper CM - someone like Gomes, Kone, Fernandes (if West Ham get relegated).

I think our starting point for our big midfield purhase has to be 'can Mainoo and X work as a partnership'. Because I don't think we will have the money or the attraction to get 2 elite midfielders to render that question moot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,404 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Has there been any respectable source linking Wharton to Liverpool?

I've only seen it from the "Sports Bible" level sites, ie bullsh*t.

Why would they be chasing Wharton when their defence has been their undoing?

all the reports are coming from Nicolò Schira. i dunno who he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,456 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Oh I agree. All show ponies. I can't tolerate much of Keane nowadays though.

I like Carragher's game analysis most of the time on Monday night football.

It would make an interesting thread - best current "pundit" for game analysis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭benjy1000

Mainoo not fast enough to dominate midfield. Jury is out on him imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,600 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

He's 20 years old and just put in 2 very good performances against City and Arsenal.
    If he was at Palace or Brighton we'd be fighting to give them 100m for him.

He's a young player who still had a ways to develop but Jesus the level of talent is undeniable.
    "Jury out" is the wrong way to phrase it

Build around his weaknesses. Platform his strengths.

How quick was scholes? Xavi? Kroos? Modric? Pirlo? Is Gravenberch a speed demon? Is Tonali? MacAllister? Zubimendi? Rodri?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

To date, Mainoo looks like a much better footballer than Ugarte.

If anyone else apart from Casemiro should depart, it should be Ugarte.

Not to mention that Mainoo's younger and has higher potential to grow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,251 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

There was a point in yesterdays game, around the 20 minute mark, arsenal were well on top, when bruno started harassing the ref for letting arsenal take a whole load of extra steps for their throw ins, bruno was shouting at him about for about 5 minutes, it lasted a few breaks in play. After that the ref started forcing arsenal to take throw in properly/no extra steps. This really broke up arsenals rhythm, the players seemed upset/frustrated taking throw ins, and their throws became very poor. Was this the turning point in the match ? was Bruno's harassment of the ref to enforce the rules and not allow arsenal to bend the rules (which the do with corners, amongst other things) what won us the match ? the answer is 100% YES.

Is still feel that there is a role for Ugarte and I'm curious to see how him and Mainoo might play together. At this rate, I wouldn't judge any of the players from the Amorim days until we can see how Carrick uses them.

Jury would say that he played a huge part in the winner. He won possession back by showing his strength and then nutmeged Rice to open up the pitch up for Cunha.

Mainoo's "lack of pace" reminds me a bit of Andy Cole's "needs 5 chances".

He's a quality player who will only get better imo. Fully agree, we would be looking to sign him if he was at another club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭weemcd

I don't see why people are knocking Mainoo when he's 20 years old, has barely started this season, and has very limited minutes in the games so far. I think he's showed up great considering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,600 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

They could also play together in a life after Bruno.
    A 433 with them as two 8s ahead of a defensive midfielder

Now days if you're not an athlete you're dismissed as not going to be good enough at times to be a top level midfielder. He might never be the athlete that Baleba or Anderson are but the lads a very good technical footballer.

Good close control and works well in tight spaces. Look at some of the goals he's scored and how he beats players in and around the box. Good spatial awareness and has shown he can effectively drop deep to receive the ball and help beat the oppositions press.

As you said if he wasn't at United we'd be chasing him the way clubs are chasing Anderson, Wharton etc. We've got a kid whose only 20 so basically still developing and has already shown quality play. Went straight into our midfield at 18 which led to his England debut a few months later and then forced his way into England's starting XI at the Euros that summer.