Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,670 ✭✭✭RoTelly

KB4 has said that he will not be giving out such packages and also that the redundancy wasn't open to her.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

Just to mention superannrte.ie is now redirecting to rte.ie, it was always a great site for connecting who was and is who and what families maintained a presence in RTÉ. I believe the photos of the retiring receptionist during covid where found on that site. Indeed many a retirement was put up on the site.

Anyway it is now gone and much like the last 100 years to be forgotten about

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

If something is a legal entitlement Backhurst will be overuled.

if you leave on your own accord or leave a job that is not being made redundant

If you can’t do your job

If you put the organisation into a bad light

No redundancy for thee

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

give an example

Also KB4 would look very bad if he has to say she was give a payout after he’d said he hoped he wouldn’t have too.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Her time served is very short, so if she even had an entitlement to a payout it would be very small.

Lots of examples from the RTE managenent, KB's predecessor is one.

KB looking bad is irrelevant when it comes to a semi-state body like RTE fullfilling its legal obligations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

On the RTE Radio 1 news yesterday morning there was an item about a Union Vote of No Competence in KB. It appears to have been later suppressed by Management. Here it is in the Times:

https://www.thetimes.com/world/ireland-world/article/kevin-bakhurst-rte-cfo-exit-no-confidence-motion-c86fpff2l

Non paywall link: https://archive.is/CDRg5

KB4's predecessor D4bs resigned two week before her contract was about to end, she didn't get a payout.

Many of the former executive could have been fired for a number of reason without a redundancy package, if they wanted to contest that with the WRC then that is up to them. Jim Jennings case isn't all that simple, firstly he was out sick for a year and a half and there are questions as to how he was paid during that year and doctors notes, social protection payment etc, on top of their decision to allow him head to court.

Anyway so we are going to defend RTÉ management.

Anyway, RTÉ doesn't know itself: -

One currently leaders suggest that up to the 2000s that RTÉ did do any foreign formats. He himself produced one major one

Popstars Ireland (2002)

WWTBAM (2000)

Who Do You Think You Are? (2008)

Treasure Island (2001)

Test the Nation (2006)

are just a few and then there are the copies of foreign formats that go back as far as the 80s.

Play the Game (Charades), Number 1 (Pop Quiz), Secrets (The Generation Game), two formats they took included candid camera and talkabout.

other similar formats You're A Star (Singing reality TV competition), Cabin Fever, Fade Street, Failte Towers, some Irish dancing celeb competition and on.

______

Yesterday

"RTÉ is declining to share details of the exit package received by the former commercial director of the broadcaster, Geraldine O’Leary, who took early retirement in July.

The public service broadcaster said that this was due to “legal and contractual obligations”.

PAC also sought information around the exit package taken by former chief financial officer Breda O’Keeffe, particularly if other individuals had received similar severance deals. Ms O’Keeffe took a voluntary package to leave the broadcaster in 2020, with concerns being raised by unions around how she was granted redundancy.

In its response, RTÉ said it was “not in a position to comment” on Ms O’Keeffe’s arrangements."

Above from Tne Irish Examiner

When executives resign from RTE the least they seem to get is a year's salary which as far as we know is €200k plus.

Not bad for people like 'the driving force behind the failed The Toy Show the Musical' Rory Coveney former Head of Strategy. A 'strategy' that cost the station 2.3m€.

Like I posted before Bakhurst talks the talk but has to bow to legal realities.

But you have to remember that it was the current team and DG that made those decisions.

I can understand to some extent it is far easier to move people on and not deal with courts etc.

I assume that the exit package for GO'L was just her pension pot, which would be very good. I'd hope that they wouldn't go beyond that, maybe just maybe paying her until her retirement but even then that six months pay of a good wage.

I don't think KB4 talks the talk at all really, he seems angry.

Ms O'Keeffe package is part of the whole scandal and was signed of by D4bes and the HR Director.

BTW if anyone was thrown under the bus, I felt it was Richard Collins who seemed to have uncovered a good bit of what had happened, I am not sure he would have survived the failed financial / HR software project, but he could have left because he felt under pressure in the Oireachtas he wasn't a good performer, he should have act like O'Keeffe who then ended up wanting to text in her replies after she was found to have got a redundancy package.

______

Yesterday

At least Tubridy and NK turned up to the Oireachtas and answered questions and Tubridy gave money to RTE that they weren't legally entitled to yet still is the focus of hate because he's a familiar face and name unlike the recipients of payoff money who would go unrecognised in any street.

So you come back to Tubs.

Tubs and the "talents" wages never came up much for me except when released those figures and when D4bes suggest that altogether the top 10 amounted to just 1% of RTÉ's overall budget. Outside of this I really had nothing to say about their wages. I believed them to be too high, and Pat Kenny's exit from RTÉ proved that he wasn't integral to RTÉ, and subsequent retirements also proved this.

I was, and still am, focused on cuts that RTÉ made in certain areas (Children's Content, Drama, TV News) while at the same time supporting 2FM and defending such wages when cutting, along with high expenses for their Executives e.g. Jon Williams was getting flights to NYC 3 times a year for work that had nothing to do with RTÉ, but that is what RTÉ gave him in his contract. D4rb's moving fee of 50K, and on, all of this before the scandal hit.

RTÉ management continually say they need to know how much money the get to potentially provide independent producers with clarity and multi year contracts, yet at the same time Talent, Imported Programming and sporting rights all had multi year contracts. This to me is a contradiction.

You only hear the Tubs stuff because that's where you have levitated to. I honestly believe him to be overrated as a presenter and that he was overpaid by RTÉ (This is an opinion) and by doing so RTÉ failed to look elsewhere for up and coming talent, resulting in the new host of TLLS coming from outside RTÉ and a well known name rather then having someone similar to Tubs that they invested in taking on the role.

______

Yesterday

Is it just me or do all RTÉ Washington Correspondents always seem to be absent when something is happening in the US, Sean Whelan's term comes to an end.

I remember the novelty of the Washington Correspondent with Mark Little but even at his height he seemed less on air than he did on air.

Granted you don't have to see them constantly but in recent weeks almost all of the reporting when to their "security" correspondent (AFAIK RTÉ is given a grant from DFA to support her wage).

Indeed Fiona Mitchell seems more used than any of their international correspondents (London, Brussels etc).

The torch has now been past to Jackie Fox.

I see the title of her book now "From Greenland to Trumpland and Back Again"

She takes up the role in March. Whelan returns to Dublin, where is George Lee these days, not seen much from Emma O'Kelly either!

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Loblox

he seemed less on air than he did on air.

What?

It may be the case that he was on the air more often than I remember,

he seemed less on the air than he actually was.

______

Yesterday

So we are back to the existential crisis at RTÉ

https://businessplus.ie/news/rte-cut-100-jobs-departments-fault/

You have 11 exceptional people on the leadership team. The wonderful HR Director who's done an excellent job with Eversheds, the departure of the CFO, and a great HR IT System, who will take retirement some time this year. And with all of this, is is the Department's fault.

67 employees left under the Voluntary Exit Programme last year, 33% short of its target of 100 when the scheme was unveiled last year.

30 people had left the organisation last year through retirements and other departures.

How many joined?

It's overly stringent. The department seemed to be blocking everything. RTÉ had to show there would be a 100 per cent saving before an employee could avail of the scheme. That's very difficult to do.

There seemed to be no margin of error.

You imagine they will have to loosen up their rules if 400 are to go

Awh it's so strict.

It's more likely that RTÉ put forward a senior role, that they had no plans to make redundant and suggested either bring someone in to replace that role or that the very junior role would get that role.

Hopefully those remaining 30 people will be used to create programming.

______

Yesterday

Then you have academics writting the following

https://www.thejournal.ie/readme/rte-ireland-6916540-Jan2026/

With another group of academics suggesting that a 2.5% income tax on everything over 14K for the TV license, but not exceeding 265eure, so if your on minimum wage you'd be charged the full wack but if you were an RTÉ executive you'd only pay 265euro…. yeah that is progressive!

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭amlinopta

George and Emma both on the 6.1 News this evening. Few bob in expenses for George live from Enniscorthy. What's rare is wonderful!

It came up on the tubs thread about a daytime presenter

I don’t watch today but Friday’s show is prerecorded on Thursdays

So one presenter is working 4 days

One 3 days

Another one day!

From Sept to May, it’s better hours than teaching! And far better pay.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,081 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

What a load of guff in that article

Secondly, Ireland’s need for economic growth and innovation has led us to rely on multinational tech firms that generate jobs and tax revenues but heavily expose us to media dominance by foreign private corporations.

how the hell does having foreign direct investment in Ireland change our media market at all? We are a small English-speaking nation, our media market was always going to be heavily influenced by UK and US corporations. It took a bit longer in two channel land alright…

Does he actually think that if it wasn't for FDI, we could wall off our media from any foreign influence? Not that we didn't try for long enough by heavily censoring print and film. We didn't try to jam foreign radio (although we did try to jam Irish pirates…) and we were totally unable to prevent UK TV overspill and eventually cable. Hell, RTE even actively participated in the latter.

Imagine what sort of totalitarian state we'd have to be living in to still have RTE (or even RTE and Irish-based independents) as the only electronic media Irish people could access.

And, finally, Ireland has an infrastructural deficit in media that is not yet properly recognised in policy but is at least as urgent as those around transportation, utilities, healthcare, education, housing and defence.

WTF is an infrastructural deficit in media supposed to mean?

And try telling this nonsense to someone with contaminated water, or a child on a lengthy waiting list, or a flooded home, or no home, or a six hour a day commute. I mean, ffs.

Could it open new channels or platforms dedicated to children or the arts?

Does he not know that RTE already has a channel dedicated to children? and TG4 does as well.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

Also it is very apparent that you can easily lead people to believe that this is alright. Afterall 2 of the 3 presenters don't live in Cork.

On the other hand I'd say to those presenters well that's your choice, perhaps our job is to develop people willing to live in Cork, or close by after all Dublin is already well served as is Galway with TG4.

______

Yesterday

well I don’t think Claire Byrne is doing herself any favours

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,080 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

she’s telling why she left RTÉ, she felt that they were wagging their finger at her.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/claire-byrne-on-leaving-rte-it-felt-like-the-organisation-was-wagging-its-finger-at-me-saying-youve-been-a-bad-person-you-need-to-have-a-pay-cap-to-stop-your-gallop/a180412759.html

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

It's water under to he bridge , and RT can return to RTE

That's the message from Bakhurst.

Someone on another thread was suggesting that the license fee had lost a third of its value due to inflation.

So I did some research since the last time it was increased.

I never really accepted Pat Rabbittee's view that he could not increase it due to the Water Charges, both he and Eamon Ryan could have increased it incrementally by 25c each budget prior to that debacle but choose not to, they would both argue that it was impossible due to the economic crash.

The most Dee Forbes had to deal with in terms of inflation was in 2022, otherwise she's dealing with a suggested increase of between 96c and €5.03 during her time, and her first term (5 years) there is very little difference between inflation and the licence fee.

The value of €160 ranges between 153.55 up to 165.03 up to 2020, after that inflation seems to have got out of hand with a range between €172.98 and €197.74, but certainly nowhere close to one third (€213 but it is getting there! that's a bigger problem TBH).

It's really An Post's ability to collect the fee that is the problem. (I will continue not to pay).

But Inflation only hits really in 2022 and we've had a bad few years since, and if the scandal hadn't happened no Government was going to increase the fee by €13 even if their predecessors had followed inflation in previous years.

Only if they'd increased it by €2 every year would they be on target for the current value, but in most years they'd be way beyond the rate of inflation.

The bailout is not due to the licence fee and inflation, it is purely due to the mismanagement of the national public service broadcaster by its Executive board and ultimately it was not providing value for money.

TV Licence

Value due to Inflation

Required Increase Year on Year

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

The official inflation figures are always suspected. I could buy much more with my 160 euro in 2008 than I can with 200 euro now.