Orange is the new Burke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Hopefully he'll stay, or be kept, outside the gates and Gardaí are not involved as he is not trespassing. Rinse and repeat until a new court order banning him from within a mile of the school when his dismissal is finalised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

The Burkes are 100% a cult. All the hallmarks are there.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,331 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

There is the possibility that the WHS grounds actually include the space, where he stands, between the public road and the school grounds proper, as in the curved area to the front of the gates open to the public road being an area designed to allow vehicles/people halt while others are exiting the school grounds, being WHS property. A lot of schools and properties have the same design vehicle entranceway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,460 ✭✭✭Floppybits

How many Burkes are there in the family? Has any of them broken ranks, the black sheep, with the family and headed out on their own?

The Daily Mirror has a report on F/B covering EB's arrival on foot at WHS with a posse of camera-people and other people and a bunch of photos of him talking to an elderly security man inside the school grounds, said security man with his arms extended to hold back EB's advancing more into the school grounds.

image.png

image.png

Supporting party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭chooseusername

That's possible, it was argued on here before that the school property extends to the centre of the public road on land-registry maps. I think the school property boundary (curtilage) is at the gate threshold, I stand to be corrected on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,207 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I can't believe the idiot is back at the school. The legal system were soft on the Burkes and now they are paying the price. How much money is this charade costing the taxpayer?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭harr

Poor kids having to go through this circus to get to school every few weeks .
    With the type of crowd that turned up to support him this morning it’s the last place you would want your children.

He doesn’t give a flying **** about anyone else , his only agenda is spouting his nonsense to as many people as possible and all this is giving him the perfect platform to do it .
    If my child was in that school I don’t think i could hold myself back without telling him what I taught of him to be honest.
    A good kick in the bollix is what he needs .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,188 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Orban6

If he's waiting on the Castlepollard Guards to take him away, good luck to him. Useless fuckers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,126 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

The High Court has universal jurisdiction; I wonder could it now issue an order terminating the entire appeals process (including WRC etc) on the basis that EB is not genuinely pursuing an appeal given the opportunity afforded him to consult etc. otherwise, I think the position is an insoluble one - it cannot be completed as a panel acceptable to him will never be found. He could challenge a High Court order via CofA and Supreme Court but the ability to follow appropriate processes are stronger there than a DAP convened by a school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭Westernview

He complained that being in prison hampered his preparations to make an appeal. So the judge released him to allow him to prepare. Instead of quietly preparing he goes straight back to the school breaking the court order once again.

He complained being released was a trap. But goes to the school which will likely lead to his return to prison thereby self-activating the 'trap'.

Goes to show there is a big difference between having intelligence and logic. Any sense of logic was removed from him at home many years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,126 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Might I go further than that and indicate that he is no pursuing the appeals processing good faith, ie an abuse of process, and that it can be summarily terminated.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

And it looks like Judge Cregan gave Burke a coil of rope and Burke went and hanged himself and his pointless bigoted campaign with it.
    As Judge Cregan said yesterday: "Mr Burke, your ability to shoot yourself in the foot is unparalleled, in my experience."

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Eoineo

Emergency hearing at 2pm to have him recommitted to prison according to the Indo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭batman75

This strikes me as a battle of wills between Enoch Burke/Burke family and the state. Enoch will not win this. The state cannot be seen to bend no matter how genuine Enoch is in his convictions and no matter the merit of his convictions. He has been requested to stay away from the school and he persists on flouting that ruling. He is doing his own name and the validity of whatever argument he is attempting to put forward enormous damage.

Their can be a fine line between principle and acting rationally. Sadly Enoch has crossed over to the irrational side and the merits or otherwise of his argument is no longer irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭yankinlk

"I have a job here. Students in here know me, and they know my personal character”

how many years is this going on? Are there any kids left that actually were taught by him and know him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,712 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Ah here at this stage just leave him off.

There probably wasn't much legs to report it from day one. But this no longer needs to be news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭harr

IMG_4314.jpeg

When you have the likes of Philip Dwyer with you , You know you are appealing to the wrong demographic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

If it was the majority of the other schools in the country that he tried this at, he wouldn’t have lasted in his protest more than a week as the yahoos that populate most secondary schools would have pelted him repeatedly with anything to hand and pissed on him etc.

He’d have given up long ago if he was facing actual adversity instead of the High Court. He was being met on his own ground, talking and ‘sounding’ intelligent.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,256 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Or they eventually come to the obvious conclusion - that just because EB finds the composition of the appeals panel unacceptable does not mean that the composition of the appeals panel is unacceptable

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,256 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

From the photos, a bunch of crackpots were there with a banner inside the gates

EB is bad enough but the human dregs he attracts are definitely not the sort of people you'd want near your kids' school

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭Westernview

Dont forget the thousands of keyboard warrior supporters fully behind him who never actually find the time to show up in support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,154 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,211 ✭✭✭Acosta

If I had a child going there, I wouldn't be happy about the likes of Dwyer and other far right toerags hanging around the school gates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭BlondeBomb

It’s bad form of the judge making the school, pupils and parents go through all these hoops again.

Cregan said this morning that it appeared the school might have to bring a fresh motion to attach and commit Mr Burke to prison again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Ironically the ASTI rep is supposed to be the one that's there to ensure the employee's interests are fairly considered. Who would he propose instead? Mammy Burke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Saw that banner outside the Dept of Migration on Stephens Green yesterday (it's there every Wednesday).

Must be great being able to take time off work to protest as often as they do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson