Orange is the new Burke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,787 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

releasing him is like trusting DJ Carey to manage finances responsibly...utterly daft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭Pentecost

Can only assume the judge is trying to close off a potential grounds for appeal down the line if and when the appeals panel rules against Enoch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭harr

The amount of people looking at this as a victory for Burke is astounding. The judge is obviously doing this so he can turn around and say

“ look I gave him the chance “ he is just giving him more rope to hang himself with. By the sounds of the exchange it sounded like he didn’t want to be released and said he could prepare for his appeal just as easily from his cell .

If he had even slightest bit of cop on he now would stay away from the school and get working on the paperwork for the appeal process. If he appears at the school tomorrow he is shooting himself in the foot as the judge said he would.. It will be used against him in the appeals process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

‘you’re a white man of European descent, not Irish, I like the cut the of your gib. You’re hired young man! Would you also like to date my attractive daughter?’

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,745 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

He was in the same wing as the pedos apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,381 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

They put them together for safety. Guess he was judged to be in danger in the main prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Agree totally what your saying the Judge has give him a public view chance to go and get legal help etc for the appeal and if he returns to the school tomorrow Burke is showing that he won’t except a of fair play from the courts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭French Toast

They’ve given him the rope to hang himself. I’d be hugely surprised if he’s not back at the school gate ASAP out of sheer stubbornness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,418 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

oh hes heading back to school alright, so this will drag on for years, with him in and out of prison throughout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭BlondeBomb

When is the appeal decision to be given? I thought I read previously it was to be 10 school days from when it was heard which should be this week given the Christmas holidays etc I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭standardg60

The judge said he was directing that Mr Burke be released from prison for "one reason and one reason only, interest in the administration of justice" and so that he has time to prepare for his case against the DAP.

Interesting use of words by the judge, if EB doesn't use his release to prepare for the case and instead shows up at the school it could be interpreted as him not being interested in the administration of justice and grounds for dismissing his legal challenge.

Looks like Enoch is being beguiled here and no doubt will take the bait tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭French Toast

I made this post 3 years ago. Little has changed. Will check again in 3 years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,331 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

It would tend to show that EB was not interested [genuinely or other] in getting a proper hearing from any 3-person appeals panel and solely interested in holding public protests at the school regardless of the existing High Court order not to trespass at WHS.

I would not be at all surprised if WHS has one of its legal rep's at the school tomorrow waiting to see if EB sets himself at the gates again, with a contact at the court ready to inform the High Court EB is back at WHS breaking the court order again. This would cut the school admin from having to contact the courts again.

I wouldn't be surprised that the local Gardai will have gotten instructions form the local Superintendent to be ready to arrest EB if he commits contempt of court again and convey him to the Joy on word of the High Court ordering his immediate detention and imprisonment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,331 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

You may well be retired on pension by the date that happens. Each time a panel is set up, EB goes to court to seek an order setting aside one or more of the panel members, as is what he has did last week. There is now no panel board to hear his case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,256 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,745 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

There is a section in Mountjoy, a pal is an officer there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭BK5

One of my neighbours is a school principal and he said to me months ago that there was a chance that Burke could win his appeal. Don't know how much things have changed since he said this to me.

What happens then?

Is he paid off and that's the end of it? Surely the school cannot be made play all nice with him and greet him back with open arms? Do they snow him under with work? Or set up his timetable that no students actually attend any of his classes?

I know it's probably futile to apply logic,but why is he outside the school if his case is going through the courts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,115 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I have to say I love Enoch rocking the runnners. Bet he asked the mother to bring him in a pair of Airmax/TN's like the other lads and Mother Burke landed back with these.

1000039007.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,025 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

I can just envision Enoch at the school gates tomorrow morning as he prepares to run the gauntlet.

sketch-1768412864703.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭Pentecost

There's no chance of his being reinstated even if he wins so it's all a bit pointless. Any money he's awarded will be taken off him to pay his fines. There's already no reason why he couldn't take up another job if someone would hire him.

Nah was simply due to mammy not being available to tie his laces every morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,851 ✭✭✭✭kippy

It's an awful waste of time for everyone involved. You'd think at this stage the Burkes would get the message. Their reputation as a family is ruined(not that it was great before this escapade).

I suppose there are people out there who don't know the full story or chose not to acknowledge it who support them but even at that is all of this ultimately worth it for the Burkes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭BK5

Well Mammy always seems to have a smile or a half sneering smirk on her face anyway, she seems to love it. As for the rest of them? I've never seen a more miserable shower of f**kers in all my life 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭chooseusername

We’ll, he wouldn’t want to be tying his own shoe laces in the Joy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

""Instead we have this today, and I would simply say this today. This is a trap by Judge Cregan. It’s a stitch-up letting me out. Judge Cregan knows well where I will be tomorrow. He knows I’ll be at my workplace. He knows I’m employed there, I’m a teacher, that I’m a man of principle and that I do my duty.”

He also took aim at the reasoning for his release, which related to his preparations for a legal case.

“There are plenty of people (here) trying to prepare cases on the edge of a bed. I meet a lot of decent nice people in here. Sad people. Sad cases sitting on beds behind locked doors maybe trying to get some justice that they didn’t get when they had a court hearing , but their cell door has not been opened. Do you know why? Because it’s ridiculous. You don’t let people out to get ready for a court case. It’s a load of nonsense.

"He’s letting me out for a different reason, because he’s caught and he’s trying to lay a trap for my feet. But he knows well where I’ll be tomorrow. He knows I’ll be at my workplace. He knows I’m a man of principle and duty, and he knows in his heart that I do have a right to freedom of conscience, and the free profession and practice of religion like every citizen in this country.”"

What can you say to that….!!

He's right it is nonsense that he's be letting out.

He does look well disgruntled to be let out.

Very strange character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Beefcake82

image.png

Should change title to

Enoch Burke is a Rebel Admiral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,260 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Its utterly stupid letting him back out. He will be back in there in no time at all.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

So he knows that it's a trap and turning up at the school will destroy his legal challenge.

What he is left with then is some sort of duty or right to be employed, I wish him the best of luck with that.