Winter 2025/26 - General Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,120 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Whatever happened to that thursday night low and strong N winds forecast last monday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭appledrop

I came out of work last night( it was dark)and I was like wtf is that on my face!

So long since it rained it was a shock to system even though it was only light rain🤣.

We have absolutely torrential rain this evening, could not even make out the different lane markings on M50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭Dazler97

As long as nobody dies in the storm hitting southern England, channel islands and northern France into Netherlands and Belgium that's the main thing , this is the storm currently, tightly packed isobars around the system especially so to the western side , it did do a left exit to the jetstream so that would deepen it more

1000030982.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭Robwindstorm

Here's one for ye lads and lassies. Australia is currently experiencing an extreme heatwave at the moment. The question now being put is 'should Heatwaves be personalised and be named like Cyclones' . Imagine our first named heatwave. The chances are if we got one they'd all be called 'Alan, Arthur, Adrian, Alex,'. Just keep a few 'B's' on standby in case we got two heatwaves in the one year !

Girls names welcome too, even though ye are alot of storms !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭Billcarson

Could you imagine how many people on social media that would trigger .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,889 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I don't suppose it would occupy the minds of Met Éireann either way.

But can you name a heatwave? Name a high pressure system?

I've been in Australia and South Africa around this time of year and these periods can go on for months, even away from the sub-tropics. I remember it being 43C in Sydney one time and it built up to that over a period of weeks and then ebbed away back to a more normal 32C with the encroachment of air from the Southern Ocean, but there was no definitive beginning and end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

I thought someone had already named some heatwaves in Europe. I definitely remember heatwave Lucifer killing a lot of people in Southern Europe around a few years ago. And more recently a Cerberus heatwave. Not sure who is doing that naming though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

YR is forecasting snow showers in Roscommon tomorrow morning and tomorrow evening.

Does that look right?

I see no mention of it here....which tells me it probably will snow! Because whenever there's threads on here with hundreds of posts about forecast snow, we usually don't see a flake 😅

Spain started to name heatwaves officially in 2022 and Italy followed suit. Not many named, i think the names work in reverse order alphabetically compared to naming Storms . In 2017 an Italian heatwave was dubbed 'Lucifer'. Not sure if the name is official.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭TTLF
    save the trouble and jazz it up

Hello everyone! I don't usually post much as I tend to lurk the forum, but knowing Leinster's 'great snow-drought' as Gonzo fittingly describes it, I decided to take some time off and went to Berlin to get my snow fix (yes… we have resorted to short winter holidays at this point), but I wanted to take some photos of snowfall…

I am home now back to this damp squib thanks kindly to the onshore breeze (my mate in Hereford is up to about 5-7cm of snow from the storm already), but here's some cheery snowy photos to brighten anyone's day who needs it :)

Unsure how to post videos as most of the shots are videos but, here's some photos taken.

image.png image.png image.png

Your right there Bill 🤭, but sure a bit of banter never killed anyone. I forgot my own learnings that Heatwaves are named from the back alphabetically. So for Ireland the names 'Zac and Zoe ' would do us for 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭Dazler97

Just look at that swirl from storm Goretti

1000030989.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,434 ✭✭✭OldRio

0C. Frost and Ice around the place. Not much cloud about. It's going to be a sunny one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Just back from a walk there and forgot my gloves and my hands are numb from the cold. Nice enough morning in Dublin and no breeze which is nice. I got updates from relatives in the UK and they got a heavy dumping of Snow last night. We have been very lucky here especially on the East coast to avoid the snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

Frost this morning. A touch of wintriness in the shower. Some of footpaths are a mess with left over snow that compacted and has partially melted/refrozen lots this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

0 here now in north Longford, it was -1at 6,30 when I was first out. Mostly clear and bright, but i can see some low mist in the distance. Hard frost, no breeze. I slipped in the yard, didn't fall but wrenched my back. Be careful out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,234 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Frist still on the cars here. Beautiful morning.

Roads were tricky again at 11am.

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,434 ✭✭✭OldRio

I've just come back in. The paths around the house and the rural road we live on are lethal. Slipping and sliding is not good for the bones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pureza

A photo sent to me from this morning in the foothills of the Cotswolds above Cheltenham

ad973a6c-d5bb-4cdf-8c23-0243c59d8542.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

Yellow - Snow and Ice Warning for Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Tyrone, Derry

Clear spells on Friday evening and overnight will allow temperatures to quickly fall below freezing, leading to the development of icy stretches, especially on untreated surfaces. A scattering of wintry showers are also expected, these falling as snow over hills above 200 m, where further small accumulations of 1 to 3 cm are possible in a few places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭highdef

There's an area of enhanced showers, which is the feature that some models have been forecasting, approaching the Galway/Mayo coast. It is currently moving in a SE direction and there is some lightning activity too so precipitation is heavy in places. Something to keep an eye on as it crosses the country, especially where it may do so after dark……although it's moving fairly quick so might be daylight hours during its transition. No doubt that there will be a warm sector so probably rain or hail for most people away from high ground. But it could lead to some very nasty driving conditions tonight.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,925 ✭✭✭Calibos

I've given up hope like many this year. Given no snow reports even from our Roundwood friends, it looks like this spell didn't even deliver where I'd be prepared to drive for my snowfix on my 'infamous' Michelin Cross Climate Tyres. LOL. Bought them so instead of moaning about Brays lack of Snow for 5-10 year windows, I could get my fix up the Wicklow mountains at least every other year if not a day or two every year. Given our best chance of Snow in Years didn't deliver perhaps this is an off year for the Wicklow mountains unlike last year. (Tyres arrived a week too late last January)

You've got to try and find the positives for yourself though. A couple of years ago I was amazed when dropping my GFCH Thermostats down one degree from 21c to 20c Downstairs and 19c to 18c Upstairs slashed my yearly Gas consumption in half. Well this Winter we got away with not needing to turn on the CH for the first time in the Season till Mid November. Might have been Wet muck but it was mild wet muck where I am. That and I experimented with dropping the Thermostats another degree. No one noticed or complained, I certainly feel comfortable and warm at 19c and importantly on average the time duration the GFCH is on to maintain that 19c was halved again. So for the weeks of mediocre 8-10c the GFCH was only active 2-3hrs a day. Its only during this cold spell that the active time maintaining 19c has gone back up to 5-6hrs. So in the absence of any Snow, I'd like the temps to go back up to the mediocre 8-10c where my Central Heating is only active for a couple of hours a day, saving me money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,941 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Lovely day today, had a run out in Kilbogget Park for the first time in months due to a niggly calf injury thats taking an age to clear up. Should have worn gloves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,941 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

@Calibos Its amazing the difference a degree or two makes. Getting our house (bunglow) wrapped in the spring. The installers told us its better to do it then as the weather is too unreliable and days this time of year too short to do it, they reckon we'll cut our gas bills in half so payback in about 10 years, no brainer really.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 13,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

Big Showers today, loads of heavy sleet showers this morning and heavy rain showers this afternoon, some patches of blue skies, temp up and down in the showers. Snow on mountain ridges and some icy stretches on elevated hills this morning.

6.3C, back up 2 degrees since the last shower.

6.8mm today so far

Pic:13.30 approx near Castlemaine, Co Kerry

20260109_132759.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭teddybones

Freezing rain showing up on netweather radar. Have never seen that before. I had to google what that was. Anyway absolutely bitter cold and wet and not nice after a stunningly beautiful bright day. If a bit chilly.

IMG_6464.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,903 ✭✭✭Comhrá

I know it's only January but there's just a hint of spring in that photo, Meteorite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Ros4Sam24

says it’s coming near me now will keep my eyes peeled. Have never seen it before, although there was a bit of ice on the ground this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭ClimateObserver

Light enough shower of sleet going through here on the Kilkenny-Laois border. Air 1.0 with -1.0 Dewpoints.

Warm sector?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Longing

3p9c2gqj9bcg1.jpeg

😂😂