Random Golf Thoughts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,492 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭bobster453

Interesting reading here(if you are into that sort of thing)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

ChatGPT Summary for the lazy among us :P

High-level overview

The report is an executive summary of research commissioned by Golf Ireland (with support from The R&A) and carried out by Sheffield Hallam University. It measures the economic importance of golf on the island of Ireland (Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland combined) using 2023 data.

The study focuses on:

Consumer spending

Gross Value Added (GVA)

Employment

Tax revenues

Direct vs. indirect economic effects

Future prospects for golf

Key findings (2023 data)

Participation

Around 10% of adults on the island of Ireland play golf at least once per year – about 561,500 players.

About 198,500+ of these are registered with Golf Ireland (excluding juniors).

Golf participation includes not just members but also casual players and overseas golf tourists.

Consumer spending

• Approx. €509m in the Republic of Ireland.Approx. £170m in Northern Ireland.

Golf represents 14% of all sport-related consumer spending.

Largest single category: club membership fees and subscriptions, at €143m (~20%) of total golf spending.

Spending at major events (e.g., Horizon Irish Open, KPMG Women’s Irish Open) has rebounded to and beyond pre‑COVID levels.

Gross Value Added (GVA)

• About €593m in the Republic of IrelandAbout £108m in Northern Ireland

This equates to about 8.9% of all sport-related GVA.

Major contributors: golf equipment and sportswear, golf clubs, accommodation, and golf tourism.

Employment

• ~12,200 in the Republic of Ireland~3,400 in Northern Ireland

Converted to full-time equivalents (FTEs): about 11,800 FTEs.

About 21% of these jobs are directly in golf clubs.

Golf employment is roughly 14% of all sport-related employment and about 0.44% of all jobs on the island.

Direct and indirect effects (multipliers)

• Direct impact: €717m (68%)Indirect impact: €339m (32%)
    • Every €1m invested in golf is associated with ~€1.47m GVA in the wider economy.
    • Total impact: 20,000 jobs (15,600 direct + 4,400 indirect)Employment multiplier: 1.28 (1 job in golf → additional 0.28 jobs elsewhere).

Taxation

• €121.2m in VAT (consumption taxes)€124.8m in income tax from employment€31.6m in corporate taxes on profits

Total public grants to golf: around €16m.

Golf is therefore a net contributor to public finances.

Broader context and growth since 2014

Comparing to the previous Irish study (2014 base year):

Participation rate: 7.6% → 10.0% (+32%)

Club membership: 189,000 → 223,592 (+18%)

Golf consumption (current prices): €540m → €703m (+30%)

Golf consumption (constant 2014 prices): €540m → €590.7m (+9%)

Direct GVA: €278m → €717m (nominal +158%; real +117%)

Employment (direct heads): 6,800 → 15,600 (+129%)

Overall message: golf’s economic footprint has grown substantially, driven mainly by higher participation and associated spending.

Prospects for the future

The report is broadly optimistic about the future of golf in Ireland, citing:

Expected population growth; at a constant 10% participation rate, absolute golfer numbers should rise.

• 22% of non‑golfers are interested in playing in future.18% of non‑golfing parents see golf as likely for their children.Increasing interest in alternative/shorter formats; almost half of non‑golfers think golf is for people of all abilities.

Demographic trends: ageing yet active populations for whom golf is a lower‑intensity but social, competitive option.

• The Open at Royal Portrush (2019 and again in 2025, plus another agreed before 2035).Ryder Cup 2027 at Adare Manor, with reference to significant economic impacts from recent Ryder Cups in France and Italy.Potential future Open and Women’s Open at Portmarnock, which could further boost tourism and profile.

Strong Irish role models (Rory McIlroy, Shane Lowry, Leona Maguire) helping brand and participation.

Alignment with Golf Ireland’s strategic aims: securing the game’s future, increasing participation, supporting clubs, delivering events, and nurturing talent.

TLDR

Golf on the island of Ireland is a billion‑euro‑plus economic sector when indirect effects are included.

It supports tens of thousands of jobs, generates hundreds of millions in tax, and has grown strongly since the mid‑2010s.

With rising participation, major events, and strong tourism potential, the outlook is positive for further economic and participation growth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭blue note

What sort of commitment is required for interclub lads? I'm hoping to have a little more time this year, but I'm probably being delusional considering putting my name forward for a club team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,671 ✭✭✭big_drive

Completely varies depending on the club, some put in way more effort than others. Put your name forward anyway if you feel like it, worst that happens is you don't make the team, but even then the whole experience can be beneficial for your game overall.

• Administrators Posts: 56,211 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Depends on which team really. I think unless you're on the Senior Cup panel the commitment is not huge.

You probably want to be playing regular 18 hole competition golf, unless they're short of players they probably won't pick someone who only plays once a month for example.

There'll be a few practice rounds before the competition starts to figure out the preferred pairings and reserves, and then just be available when the matches are scheduled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

https://www.networldsports.ie/golf-stand-bag.html+product_colour-Dark~Grey?gad_source=1&gad_campaignid=16242136760&gbraid=0AAAAADQFhP07Dr9NPkNfn6FzRLbrt_WDk&gclid=Cj0KCQiAx8PKBhD1ARIsAKsmGbdwcIGI6peimFMbs5TWLpMPq7kcSdjG97NfTKFCm5ScGeb2viBUPpQaAsxHEALw_wcB

I use a carry bag during winter as a large area of our course is roped off from buggies and trolleys. The strap on the bag I had been using broke just before Christmas so was on the lookout for a cheap replacement. Found this one and took a chance on it. With the discount code available at the moment, it's €65 delivered! I wasn't expecting too much but for that price the quality of the bag is excellent. Very well built and does all that's required. The folding mechanism feels very sturdy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Couple of practice rounds per competition round, 9 holes in the evening, with different partners probably to see how ye gel. Managers are often trying to balance handicaps to get good combinations for pairings so you can be un/pleasantly surprised if you make a team or don't based on your Handicap alone. If you do make a panel, you usually get free practice round on away course and this can be a great opportunity to play a course you wouldn't normally play. Matches begin in May. Depending on your team's success, you might only be playing in May.

Great way to get to know more members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Gandalph

I'm newish to interclubs but in my experience it really depends on club, team manager and whether or not you are part of the home or away panel. I played Jimmy Breun and Barton Shield/Cup in 2024 and with both being 2 man team events I felt the commitment to the team/partner was big enough, especially being part of the away panel and needing to get to know new courses on someone else's time….got knocked out first round in each of them as well haha.

In 2025 I had a big summer with getting married/honeymoon etc so I choose only to play Leinster Trophy (previously Towns cup maybe?), which is a singles team event. Despite making it through 5 rounds and being part of the away panel, the commitment wasn't as stressful as I could dander off to play the courses whenever I felt like it. A big factor of that though was that we didn't get any big name clubs in our draw…so timesheets were relatively flexible and inexpensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Dexters Bow Tie

I think we're in the same club. I've played on pierce purcell and uden cup teams for the last couple of years (handicaps are typically 11 - 14 ish). Overall a great experience getting to play in a team and courses you might not typically play. A panel will be formed and pairings picked depending on availability for the dates. Last year, my form was patchy but as long as you can play bogey golf for most holes without having to shoot the lights out, you'll be in contention for a place. It would definitely help your cause to be putting in at least 1 card a week so management can see your scoring data. Usually we would play the practice round after work midweek, as you're at the mercy of the hosting clubs timesheet availability, and matches at the weekend. In 6 years, I've only played a match on a Friday afternoon once and that's because Portmarnock wouldn't give up weekend timeslots. But 2 free rounds there was an easy trade for some annual leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

you are right…. You are being delusional 😂

Have you played at least 4 club competitions in 2025? It at least used to be a rule for most of the main gui comps and If I have read your other posts correctly you may have not played enough? But plenty of other non gui comps might not be so strict so still opportunities

it’s great fun and really not a massive commitment. It depends on the competition and your club and of course how well you do!

put your name down and just go enjoy ….. if nothing else, you get to play golf and get away from changing nappies for a bit 😇

wondering will the new app work properly

The old one was a proper pita cause you would get an alert for every single competition in your club and there was no way to limit it to only comps you had entered.

Cheers for all the responses lads. It would remind you of the best side of boards!

The lad who sent out the e-mail got back to me and it seems to be a practice round and the comp day itself, so not too much at all. I just didn't want to be the lad who puts his name down and then can't make anything. I still think I play far too little to be considered, but I am hoping to get out a fair bit more this year. As regards club comps though - that's hopefully going to be about once a month for the qualifying season, plus occasional evening golf. If people who play more regularly are interested, I'd hope to be politely rejected.

I actually spoke to a lad who played for the club last year though and he said they were short on players so you never know. I can't imagine they'd be short on a panel for two free rounds in Portmarnock, but maybe somewhere more modest.

And Seve - I didn't realise there was a four competitive comp requirement. I had to check, but yes I do qualify! Only one in Deer Park last year, but a few opens in 24, so I have the cards.

just double check the comp rules because if your rounds were in 2024 they might not count

last thing you will want is to loose your match, your team wins and the result is overturned because you were illegible 😳 I’ve seen it happen

Not in your hands, your team manager should be the one to check everyone is eligible to play

Sorry, I meant 25, but thanks for catching that! I'd never play for the club again if I made that mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭bobster453

I hear the deal to reopen Dundrum House golf..County Tipperary Golf club..has been cancelled by the receivers.

If so its a hard blow to those members who have worked so hard voluntarily to keep the course in great nick.

Seemingly it is in magnificient condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

The redundant green staff volunteered their time to keep the course in good condition. Possibly with help from members.

A real shame if it was all for naught.

Aw that's terrible news. It's awful to see that happening to any course in Ireland. Hopefully something might still be sorted

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

A great course, played it probably half a dozen times but my word, takes way too long to get around, very slow and for that reason won't be back if it opens

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭token56

Question for members of golf clubs, what are your rules regarding Junior members and playing times. Do you have any restrictions or is it unrestricted? Is it policed or enforced if you do have one? Having a quick look at some different clubs websites it seems to be mixed but I'm curious to see peoples actual experience.

My club has had an explosion of Juniors (under 18) members in recent years, going from about 40 to 170+ in the space of 3 years. This is obviously great to see and happy that a new generation is playing however there is currently no restrictions on playing times for them and from seeing how previous years have gone I predict some issues going forward.

• Administrators Posts: 56,211 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Restricted playing rights at our club.

There is a handicap cut off, above a certain handicap you can't play in the main weekday and weekend comps. I am actually not sure what the cutoff is.

Junior member also get late access to the time sheet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,578 ✭✭✭VW 1

Same for mine, restricted times for general play. The can't play in fourball comps unless under 18 hcap and under 14hcap for singles comps. There is 2 hours blocked on timesheet on Sunday afternoons for junior comps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Gandalph

What is the craic with this Icon Series at the weekend? I only caught wind of it there last week but the marketing seems very low key and there is not much talk about it online. I would have thought the football/golf cross-over world would have created much more hype around it…these lads have hundreds of millions of social media followers after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Sorbet

I was charging my car at the Talbot Hotel on the Stillorgan dual carriageway in Dublin this morning and took the dog for a walk in the roads around the area. Discovered some form of pitch and putt or 9 hole course from my maps right in the middle of a housing estate as I was working out which way to go. Never heard of it and can’t find any mention of it online. Just wondered if anyone here knows anything about it!

IMG_7391.jpeg IMG_7390.png

• Subscribers Posts: 17,071 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

that’s mount merrion pitch and putt. Members only jobby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Sorbet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭boccy23

Christ! Golf is so expensive at this top end.

https://www.nationalclubgolfer.com/travel/how-much-are-the-green-fees-to-play-top-100-courses-in-britain-and-ireland-in-summer-2026/

I assume nobody pays these except the yanks, but some crazy prices here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,885 ✭✭✭Trampas

I remember playing the old head must be 15 years ago for I think €75 or around that. They had a gui rate. Place was empty and we had a late tee time. We stayed in kinsale and let’s say the locals didn’t like the place or what to hear you even played it. All about access was the issue

No surprise to hear. Anyone I know from down there isn't in any way proud of the place, in fact it's the complete opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭boccy23

I did play it shortly after it opened. This was before the clubhouse and other work had taken place. I know that the location and views are spectacular, but for me, the actual course lay out was only okay.

I certainly wouldn't be close to paying a grand for a 4-ball there.