Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,339 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Signing Sesko another young prospect was criminal imo, Amorim wanted an experienced striker like Wilkins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Fulham’s Harrison Reed cheered me up a little at least…. what a strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,727 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Heres the bbc write up

"I know that my name is not [Thomas] Tuchel, it's not [Antonio] Conte, it's not [Jose] Mourinho, but I'm the manager of Manchester United. And it's going to be like this for 18 months or when the board decides to change.

"I'm not going to quit. I will do my job until another guy is coming here to replace me."

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/c1m7lmnnev0o

Surely the end - seems to be saying he wouldn't want to stay at the end of his contract no matter what happens, so the project is over essentially and he's putting the board under pressure to act or change tack. Fair play to Amorim for calling it out, if they are putting the squeeze on him. Can't blame managers these days when it is such a knife edge job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,671 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

There's been what £200M spent on strikers since the club decided Harry Kane wasn't gettable a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭17togo

I kinda agree with you. It has been ****, but it's what we needed in a way, gut the squad and try to start fresh. Obviously there's been **** results, but there's a massive reset going on. Getting rid of alot of problem players and trying to build a whole new squad. And there are alot of good players added. Every manager since Carrick retired have struggled with midfield. That's on the club. Give amorim a proper midfield and I really think he will succeed.

It's not like previous managers where more players were just added for the craic by Woodward, while keeping the same **** ones that were already there.

To be fair, I don't think he's been given enough leeway for missing all the players we currently are! No team could preform properly missing that amount of starters. We're still 5th in the table. Arsenal stuck with arteta when alot of people were questioning it. And they've built a proper squad.

I'm prepared to see where this goes too with amorim for another while....

And the comments about Neville I've no problem with. Neville, along with utd supporters nowadays, need to realise how luck we were to have had that golden period with Ferguson. Neville himself doesn't seem like a player that would've survived the abuse some of the players nowadays take. He was lucky to have many other stronger characters around him to stick up for him, ie, the Keane Vieira bust up in the tunnel. Ex players like him are part of the problem driving the media narrative. They're everywhere talking about how great it was in their dressing room back in the day and current players wouldn't have survived. But plenty of them were very lucky to be riding that Ferguson wave too. Not saying Neville wasn't a great player, but without those leaders around him he's not one I would be looking to back me up in a scrap. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,989 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

re the formation, he was brought in due to the 3ATB vision from the brains trust.

if they now want him to change that, wilcox needs to be sacked (was his vision so **** it now needs to be changed?), and possibly amorim if the new vision is 4ATB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,796 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Amorim leaving now and no transfers in writes off the entire season as pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,558 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Might result in that managerial spike. I think hes as good as done. Nuno and Maresca spoke out against the board and look what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,796 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Yeah the worst possible outcome we could have wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭DataDude

If Amorim is complaining about not being the ‘manager’ in the ETH sense of ‘I want to sign all my mates’ then he needs to go today. We can never allow that madness of managers picking players again.

However, if he has actually been told by Jason Wilcox what formation to play then we are a dumpster fire. Imagine trying to hire our next manager when he knows he may not get to pick his own formation when results go wrong. Scary stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

A manager who has 14 league wins in 14 months is in no position to start calling out the board, regardless of whether what he says is right or wrong. Every other club our size would have sacked him a long time ago.

I agree, I don’t know how anyone could interpret his comments as him wanting out. It was the total opposite as far as I can see, he looked like a man fighting his corner and calling out the people hiding behind fancy titles and who never have to answer for the big calls they make behind the scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Torrey

Not sure what Amorim can do with almost a full team missing through injury and Afcon, people are way too harsh on him, at least we are not losing games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,721 ✭✭✭kerplun k

I think it would be a huge mistake not to stick with Amorim. For the first time in a long time, there’s an actual system in place and a clear player profile for every position. Yes, it’s going to take serious money to properly build that system, but sacking him now just resets everything again. We’d be straight back to aimlessly signing players that don’t fit any long-term plan.

Spurs wouldn't sell and he'd easily go to Bayern over us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭Caustic

In a very recent interview he talked about signing process and said they are all involved and was essentially happy with that, he said he would never be given a player he didn't want was the height of his power. Not saying it's impossible for him to have changed his mind but it just doesn't seem like it's about him not having control over transfers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,727 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Whoever comes in next will have a much better squad to work from with the bomb squad issue gone. Amorim has done a lot of dirty work

And il really not looking forward to the media circus thats bound to follow Amorims comments. As I said what sounded like our managers normal total honesty is already being framed as “ Amorim wsnts out “ or “ is it all over for Amorim after extraordinary comments “.

I know any bit of ambiguity gets spun into a full blown crisis when it comes to United but it’s exhausting and so predictable you’d get tired of it. Not to mention the fun it’s going to cause on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,721 ✭✭✭kerplun k

Even if you don’t think Amorim should be our manager, you’ve got to give him credit here, he’s absolutely spot on. The recruitment has been diabolical, and he deserves extra bonus points for calling out Gary Neville. Shame he didn’t throw Paul Scholes into the mix as well.

Agreed, to say he’s in no position to speak up for himself is just a silly comment in my opinion. Is he supposed to just sit there quietly when it looks like Wilcox has badly overstepped on interfering with his methods or the way he’s doing his job? He showed balls today and I’d be disappointed if he didn’t stand up for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭DataDude

The fact they haven’t sacked him during 14 months of incompetence, only then to sack him because he won’t play their formation, when they asked him to join specifically to play his 5 at the back, makes them doubly incompetent rather than justified imo.

If the DoF is truly getting down to the granularity of picking formations, that just has to impact our pursuit of future managers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,801 ✭✭✭randd1

The problem for Amorim is that that can’t be used as an excuse because we weren’t winning too many with them there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,456 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Oh Sky never change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,989 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,404 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

100% I think Amorim just signed his walking papers here. Not only because he's having a pop at Wilcox, but he's also basically admitting that he'll run down his contract and then walk.

I think it was inevitable anyway, he hasn't given anything like an indication that he's up to the job, tactically savvy, flexible or adaptable.

That said, Wilcox (or Berrada) aren't coming out of this well either. They pushed Amorim into joining mid season, pushed for him because they apparently like the 3 at the back system and felt he was the man to implement it, then gave him no wing backs other than Dorgu.

He had to convert one of our most promising attackers in Amad into a RWB. Then first full transfer window, rather than providing the much needed central midfield help they went and bought 2 number 10s which we didn't really need (Amad, Bruno, Mount already here) which meant he had to stick Bruno into midfield alongside Casemiro and his aged legs.

Now they have apparently told him there's not going to be January incomings either.

So yeah, 2 things can be true at once.

Amorim isn't up to the task and likely never will be, and the club have continued to make a balls of their transfer strategy. We may have bought good players for the most part (Sesko, jury out) but we ignored the glaring need for wing backs, central midfielders and a Premier League proven striker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,404 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Ps for those who think Glasner is next (and I think the same) I wonder if this outburst would factor into his decision.

He's had his differences with the board at Palace, threatened to walk over their transfer decisions, so would he want to walk into United given Wilcox's performance in this respect?

if amorim is sacked, i wonder who the brains trust will buy for CM this jan? cos any new manger will want that.

maybe they wait till the window is closed to sack him. after the city and arsenal games.

as an aside, ineos are fucked.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2025/12/29/jim-ratcliffe-battles-save-ineos-from-18bn-of-debt/

some snippets:

With £5bn worth of Ineos debt trading at, or close to distressed levels, the sell-off has provided a rare chance for distressed debt investors and hedge funds to pounce on one of the largest privately owned companies in Europe.

The contingent includes some of the most aggressive vulture funds on Wall Street hoping to profit from its struggles.

Around $2.5bn of loans issued by Ineos’s US Finance vehicle, together with a further £2.7bn attached to its Ineos Quattro division were trading at or around 80 cents on the dollar – the level at which the market believes there is a considerable risk of a default.

A bigger concern for Sir Jim is the prospect of vulture funds swooping in. Distressed debt investors typically seek to generate big returns by pushing for debt repayment in full, plus interest and penalty fees. Often they rely on aggressive legal action to force through a deal.

In some cases they may go further and attempt to take over a company by agreeing to cancel some of its debts in return for control.

Moody’s has lowered its rating on Ineos twice since September. The most recent downgrade – just earlier in December – followed publication of the company’s financial results.

Moody’s said there had been “continued and greater than expected deterioration” in Ineos’s operating performance. Turnover declined 20pc and pre-tax earnings plunged 55pc.

It also expressed concern about the firm’s “weak debt metrics” with Ineos sitting on borrowings equivalent to 13.5 times earnings at a time when the petrochemicals industry is battling a perfect storm of “overcapacity ... weak global demand, and high energy costs and regulatory costs”, Moody’s said.

“The third quarter numbers were dreadful. They’re losing money, have vast debts and their borrowing costs are going up as they refinance,” an industry executive said.