261 registrations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Well done, first green stripe on the thread 💚

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Dr.Tom

Do you know the man?

Reason I ask is how do you know he has zero risk and zero servicing costs? The man is down money the minute he leaves the forecourt as is anyone buying new.

Is that not a risk? Depreciation values are not set in stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,548 ✭✭✭✭User1998

Of course the servicing costs are zero. It's a brand new car that's only owned for 1 year. And they are just standard petrol family cars that he buys. They can only depreciate so much in 1 year. There was a time when main dealers wouldn't even take their own EV's back as trade ins. That's not going to happen with a standard petrol car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,070 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Saw this online it wouldn't be for everyone.

1000038684.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,178 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,990 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

No I don't know him.

I'm assuming he doesn't get as far as needing a service or tyres in the year if he is a low mileage driver. So he keeps his new car for a relatively sensible amount every year. Clearly he is happy with what he pays or he would keep cars alittle longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,543 ✭✭✭goochy

He's nuts but the second hand market and economy benefits from his nuttiness. Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭greenbin2

Was at a fund raiser a few years ago in a small town on the 1st of Jan, parked my 10yo car and I spotted my first new reg of the year on the street outside

Inside and I asked a mate if he too had spotted the brand new car outside, described the car and where it was parked, he laughed and said it was his

He was probably well proud, but I still cringe every time I see a new year reg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Hes not putting himself in the poor house, the cars he buys aren't going to drop like a stone compared to some things people here buy.

Depreciation year 1 on 3 diffrrent cars will be probably higher than 3 years on a single car PCP that seems to be the norm here now but if his dealer is looking after him then its not too bad.

As someone else said they prob will get good money for 251 LS 1 now too which they can pass on.

He obviously gets a kick from being the first on the road with new shiny distinctive reg each year too, thats allowed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Hard to do with an electric handbrake…. I've tried and failed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,070 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭darkside71

image.png

Sorry, Not the clearest of images from the dashcam, but it's 261-D-705. Tired using chatgpt to to clean it up, but won't do due to privacy concerns. On M50 southbound between J5/6.

Did u make the car smaller ? Lol

You can't make an inster smaller very easily, its like splitting the atom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,559 ✭✭✭ofcork

Haven't seen any in cork yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,628 ✭✭✭MarkN

530e

IMG_1939.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Assuming he's in his mid 70s and has been driving for 55 years, 39 cars equates to an average of 1.4 yrs ownership for each car….😯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭walshtipp

6301df4a-1a04-46f1-8d56-ca04675ea6b4.jpg

Porsche Cayenne Hybrid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭pale rider

I’d say less than that, bet there is a Q for his trade in.

He has no warranty and no servicing costs and a new bus outside his door for a nominal sum, a lot of us pay a lot more annually for our treats.

Good luck to him.

oops !

A treat ? .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭Anois_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

🤡☝️

A nominal sum you say @pale rider.

I wouldn't begrudge a chap having a little pleasure. If vehicle depreciation is his only vice in life he's doing well 😄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,990 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Im sure there is no finance involved and it's not a mad expensive car. There are people trading in 3 year old family cars like tiguans, sportages etc all over the country, financed to the eyeballs and likely costing as much as this guys car and nobody sees anything wrong with that.

a few years back now to be fair from ‘05 to ‘ 09 I changed my wife’s new model Mini Cooper for €3000 a year for four straight years. Each time the 2nd owner was the same person

Then it went to €5k and we kept iI, everything is relative. To me that was value,

Not a stretch to say it might be the same for the gent we are debating.

€3k depreciation only in 1st year ?

Not too unrealistic in 2005 to 2009 on a cheap(ish) car like a mini, they were always very in demand at that the time too.

Id guess a mini is double the price now and so is depreciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,178 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Ye I seen my first 261 today. A gorgeous red classy Renault Austral the revamped version. 261-KE did not get tje number or a picture as I was driving.

I Still cant believe the Austral is smaller than a KIA Sportage. I thought it was the other way lol. Thats ok though because the Rafale is bigger than a Sportage

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭GPoint

Three 261 cars in a space of 5 mins on my local Lidl trip! MH and KE regs Kia and Skoda

Stand out nice and clean among dirty cars covered in road salt and grit

Fair play to new owners