Venezuela

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Reckless Abandonment

Is your man reading the screen play.

"Cut, it needs more fuxk ya"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

America appears to be very good at getting rid of dictatorships and then replacing it with something worse or only making a temporary change after a few decades of anarchy like in Afghanistan. I think people would have a more positive view of getting rid of dictatorship this way if they recieved a lobotomy and could then forget about the results of the last few American efforts in this regard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,750 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I’ve a bridge to sell you, if you believe that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭aidanodr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭SortingYouOut

Ah he's a gobshite but I'd rather be wise of the words of gobshites because they're coming thick and fast

Beverly Hills, California

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,273 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

All the usual anti US aficionados seem to be here again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,419 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Yes and Trump is sending in the US Oil companies.

"We’re going to have our very large United States oil companies – the biggest anywhere in the world – go in, spend billions of dollars, fix the badly broken infrastructure, the oil infrastructure, and start making money for the country,” he added."

Making money for the country lol, its just a farce now, he isnt even trying to conceal the grifting and corruption any longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Venezuelan leader Nicolas Maduro charged with drug and terrorism offences in New York court, says US attorney-general

Latest Venezuela news 🔗 https://news.sky.com/story/venezuela-...

Trump now warning Colombian President Gustavo Petro. Accuses him of having "cocaine-factories".

Petro unlike Maduro is democratically elected. I haven't heard any evidence that Petro is doing these things. It is true that cocaine is grown there by the cartels though.

My personal view is the reason Trump is against Petro is that he is on the Left, and an outspoken critic of Israel.

Gustavo Petro has publicly positioned himself against drug cartels and supports policies focused on reducing coca cultivation through alternative development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

They're scum, on a par now with Putin's Russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,223 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Trump just summed it up

"We're in the Oil Business"

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,419 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

The US was pretty much always like this, raping other countries resources and destabilising governments and installing puppet governments.

The only thing that has really changed is the sheer brazenness of how it is being done.

Its no surprise Netanyahu was in the US this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭strathspey

Greenland won't only be annexed, they'll cum dump in the mouths of Danish Royalty, Silence of the Lambs style!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,649 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Cuba, Mexico, Greenland, all on the cards.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Exactly, it's how blatant this is, and the silence from the UN & EU is nauseating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭joe40

Where is the commentary from world leaders. The fact world leaders are not willing to critise he US is worrying, also the fact that Trump is not even pretending to get legal justification, no Congress approval no UN approval.

There has never been a military power as strong as the US but they at least pretended to follow international law. Those days are gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭strathspey

I think people need to take a step back. What the Yanks accomplished last night was absolutely stunning and amazing. If the end objective works out everybody is quids in. America gets to flood the world with cheap oil which in turn gets to eliminate inflation bringing an end to the cost-of-living crisis. The plan might have a secondary effect in that a collapse in oil prices will collapse the Iranian and ruZZian economies in turn bringing an end to those despicable regimes.

Those countries are different, there is no way Trump is going into Mexico.

Likewise I dont see him going into Greenland as he would be opposing Nato.

This incursion into Venezuela looks like Russia gifting the US, Venezuela in exchange for the war in Ukraine ending on Russian terms.

It also puts Russia and the US on an equal moral footing with regard to the war in Ukraine.

If the US can dictate its will by means of military aggression in what Americans call “their backyard”, then why can Russia not do the same in its backyard ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭mulbot

Ah here, the idea of the oil isn't for supply cheaper to countries-it's all about propping up the dollar for trade, and weakening Brics. A sign of the empire falling, but Trump is such a fkn stupid Dinosaur that he thinks this will save it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

At the moment all the Americans have done is kidnap the leader of another country. Given the current American regime is struggling to improve the lot of people in its own country i think you may be overly optimistic on how the same people will manage, dictate, another country.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Who is going to go and say “we are unhappy that Maduro, an oppressive dictator, was removed from power, let alone in what appears to have been as minimalistic a way as possible”?

Other than Maduro’s friends (or former friends, now, I guess) of course.

The realpolitik answer is basically “we might make a mild performative statement of concern, but really, we’re good with it.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Venezuela is a Christian country, there will be no push back to the US running the country and getting it up to scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭aidanodr

Re commentary from rest of world leaders .. yes there has but a holding pattern at the mo.

EU countries will probably meet first and then joint statement maybe.

Russia etc already commented with basically fully being against attack on a sovereign nation ( pot kettle black ).

I wud not be at all surprised if EU etc just kept the response low key. They have shown they generally fear trumps unpredictability, not sure how to deal with him .. so far its been tongue firmly planted up trumps rear you know what. Also add Greenland, with Denmark involved. Tricky I would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

His failure to support the Opposition is disappointing. They won a landslide last year.

He says the new VP 'will do anything we want' according to Sky. She has just been sworne in.

John Bolton, ex Bush UN Ambassador and briefly US NSA saying that Trump doesnt appear to understand that outside of Caracas "the regime is still in place" even if it might be fragile. Says "its not clear Trump thinks Machado is the person to govern Venezuela".

Trump said in the press conference he hadn't spoken to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,750 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

María Corina Machado's letter to Venezuelans 

Venezuelans, The time for freedom has come!

Nicolás Maduro from today will face international justice for the atrocious crimes committed against Venezuelans and against citizens of many other nations. Given his refusal to accept a negotiated solution, the United States government has fulfilled its promise to enforce the law.

The time has come for popular sovereignty and national sovereignty to prevail in our country. We are going to restore order, release the political prisoners, build an exceptional country, and bring our children back home.

We have fought for years, we have given it our all, and it has been worth it. What was meant to happen is happening.

This is the hour of the citizens. Those of us who risked everything for democracy on June 28th. Those of us who elected Edmundo Gonzalez Urrutia as the legitimate President of Venezuela, who must immediately assume his constitutional mandate and be recognized as Commander-in-Chief of the National Armed Forces by all the officers and soldiers who comprise it.

Today we are ready to assert our mandate and take power. Let us remain vigilant, active, and organized until the democratic transition is complete. A transition that needs ALL of us.

To the Venezuelans who are currently in our country, be ready to put into action what we will be communicating to you very soon through our official channels.

To Venezuelans abroad, we need you to be mobilized, engaging the governments and citizens of the world and committing them from now on to the great operation of building the new Venezuela.

In these crucial hours, receive all my strength, my confidence, and my affection. We remain vigilant and in contact.

VENEZUELA WILL BE FREE! We go hand in hand with God, until the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭yagan

Most western countries support a return to certified democracy in Venezuela and will have zero qualms about Madura being ousted. There's no shortage of Venezeulan exiles scattered around the world who'd like to be able to return, but the question is will Trump allow democratic candidates that don't let the USA pillage its oil reserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,639 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Next move is will China or Russia make a move of their own. This will be Trumps Bay of Pigs in the history books.

Machado thinks the opposition is getting into power, Trump said no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭joe40

When the US invaded Iraq there were plenty of countries that were openly against the invasion and were able to express that. I don't care about Maduro but this type of unilateral action by the the most powerful country in the world with no Congress involved is very worrying. How many people made this decision, Trump and a few acolytes.

The fact every other world power is afraid to comment should be very worrying for people. The US is supposed to be an ally, they're not acting like it. Their economic and military mght is intimidating the world at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,211 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

It’s good news for China and Russia. Hey, Xi and Putin, you run your manor and we’ll run ours. I wouldn’t want to be living in Taiwan these days.