Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,619 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Agreed. On my most recent trips "back home" to Ireland, I've noticed more and more people paradoxically saying "ah shur it'll be grand" while giving out about "the state of the place" - and then going on to blame various "others" who (from the safety of my emigrant perspective) are most definitely not to blame.

I don't think the Irish electorate is really as immune to manipulation as has been suggested on this thread - not if devious outsiders decide to play the PR system to their advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,959 ✭✭✭Patser

I've been thinking about this a bit today; and maybe Mods want to split this off into a new Bannon does Ireand thread as opposed to this Trump thread.

But I could see 3 ways Ireland could be swayed fairly quickly, if outsiders focused time and resources onto us; and they might want to have control of an EU country to try leverage that group. So imagine if you were Bannon, and having Musk's backing and wanted to do something, here's my suggested ways

1 - The Trump approach, hijack and subvert an existing big party, that way you get all the 'Sure I've always voted FF/FG/Other, and so did my Grandparents' to go along with you. It could be done, obviously in a much more subtle way than Trump storming in, but by recruiting into your cause quietly a member of a political dynasty. Say get a Lenihan/O'Rourke/McCreevy for FF, or a Coveney/Bruton for FG, or an Ellis or even McGuinness for SF; a family member that is a bit more inclined to your way of thinking, but comes from impeccable family 'heritage'; that you slowly give resources and support to rise through the party. Using twitter you could undermine other internal party rivals. Since most politcial party memberships in Ireland are small, you could get sycophants to register as members, people happy to loudly sing your praises at the right time, drag rivals down and just irritate enough other right minded members enough so they leave.

Then in next election your chosen party hopefully has a disaster of a result, has to go 'soul searching' looking for its roots; and your Manchurian candidate is there waiting to take reigns, and start changing the narrative slowly at first - talking of pride, your parties roots, the need to remember what made Ireland great from the 70s onwards, MIGA!!!!!

2 - The Farage approach. Stand as an MEP, Ireland has a habit of sending more curve ball candidates to Europe; be it the likes of Ming/Daly/Wallace or the fact the FG currently have 2 MEPs from the North West who's whole political experience could be summarised as 'Won Rose of Tralee' and 'Was a jockey'. If you can get any sort of seat, even as last place confirmed but again possible with resources behind you, you now have a 'mandate' and respectablilty; and unlike the other MEPs who disappear for the next 5 years, you are more than happy to talk and appear on Irish TV as the alternative voice.

You use this platform to highlight all the Government waste and inefficiencies - look at children's hospital, look at congestion and no investement there, look at housing, look at Dee Forbes and her ilk unaccountable! Now it's time for Reform! Irish sovereingty! By next Dail election, you message is out, you have candidates happily standing for you around the country (all with mystery investment and influence) behind them. You can stand if you want, your seat in Europe is already safe. You just want to set out your narrative, and with Ireland's PR voting system you just need to sneak in about 5 to 10 candidates even as 5th place crawl over the line. If Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch can almost sqeak in, no reason your guys can't with influence and resources behind them. Suddenly you're 4th largest Party from no-where and possible King Makers for a coalition. Get into Government and you can start pushing your narrative to more extremes, slowly but surely.

3 - McGregor approach - All out blitz, no subtlety, no cares. Just get someone famous, throw all your weight behind them, massive ad campaigns, smear tactics. Probably don't use McGregor because of his past, but find someone equally domineering, sneering, caustic to his opponent as Trump but also with charismatic touch to his followers, and with a simple message that can be rammed home over and over. Blitz Ireland with the negative attack ads so common in the US, we've no precedent for it; Irish Politicians will be caught off guard not sure how to deal with some-one openly, nakedly slagging and ripping into them, as they've been brought up on the unwritten rules of decorum, sly digs etc.

Again you don't have to win over everyone, you don't even care if a big majority despise you. All you want is around 20 to 25% to adore you, become foot soldiers for you, drown out the alternatives, dominate the airwaves or social media. 20% 1st preference votes overwhelms PR in a lot of constituencies and gets you 20 to 25 seats, instantly 2nd or 3rd largest party. All others have to ally themsleves against you and your message, but that suits you as you are now 'Only alternative!' as others all are Swamp! Establishment! Failures!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I wonder what humiliation awaits us on paddys day this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭thenuisance

I agree with the approaches that you suggest might have some success in upsetting the current political system. But I think upsetting is all they could do given the current political environment.

The 20% to 30% vote can work in two-party systems particularly but also in first past the post systems where there are multiple parties. I would disagree with you that 20% can overwhelm PR. I haven't seen any sign of that happening in any recent elections. It nearly happened with Hutch - but it didn't - hee had Steenson in the same constituency - they got 15% between them and nearly got the 4th seat in a 4 seater. Marie Sherlock started with a lower vote but better transfers got her through. PR-STV provides a levelling buffer that, once you get into the final counts, elects the candidate that people hate least. The right have shown an inability to get their ducks in a row and transfer to each other. The candidates on the right just can't gather transfers from anybody outside of their gene pool. Hutch was an exception here - he nearly doubled his vote with transfers, Steenson only added 30%. Marie Sherlock more than doubled her vote, pulling in the vast majority of transfers in the latter counts. The proliferation of candidates amongst the center and left helps that along as they are less dogmatic about their second choices and transfer more readily.

There has been a 'soft' approach by the right in social media to try to shift to a two bloc system - the FF/FG bloc on one side and the left (dominated by SF) on the other. Presumably to allow a third party to leverage through the middle. All of this smacked of thinking (and presumably funding) coming from a US/UK perspective. You could see them angling to promote 'winners' on the left - trying to reduce the numbers of parties by dissing Labour and the SDs then suddenly noticing that the SDs were winning and trying to promote them over Labour only to find the two parties ending up even in the 2024 election. The by-elections next year will be interesting if only to watch the narratives that the right hopes to create - in both cases the left will hope to have a winner but their strength will lie in their diversity and I doubt they will attempt to have a 'left alliance' candidate.

On the centre-right bloc there was a definite attempt to anoint FG as leaders by dissing Micheal Martin and trying to promote the careers of Coveney (failed) and Carroll-McNeill (we'll see). Martin was heading off anyway, OCallaghan will probably be the next leader and that could let FG sieze the leadership - if they can pick a decent leader. I suspect the two parties will muddle along trying to be different but their supporters seeing them as the same and transferring accordingly - leaving them in a position where they run a three-legged race against the other parties.

By the way I agree about a new thread on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,604 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I would be happy to see Bannon and Musk burn through money attempting to promote Casey. He has been a busted flush for years.

2018 Presidential Election. 23.3 %

2019 European Election. Midlands-North-West 9.5%

2020 General Election. Dublin West 1.1%

2020 General Election. Donegal 1.5%

2024 European Election. Midlands-North-West. 3.1%

Of the other scattering of these far right parties, those leading them are not short on ego or belief in their own importance. If Bannon and Musk want to burn through money attempting to getting them amalgamated under one leader they will very quickly discover the truism of Brendan Behan`s, the first item on the agenda being the split.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,959 ✭✭✭Patser

I'd agree it can't/won't be Casey. Age alone (he's 68) would be an issue. I know that's young compared to Trump but Casey would be starting from near scratch to build up again.

Casey is more an example of the sort of floating votes out there that could be tapped by Bannon. Casey did manage to get 23% of vote based on pretty much 1 issue that he didn't exactly plan for or hammer home. He did though immediately become a lightning rod for the sort of supporter Bannon thrives on.

Find another Casey - someone with a respectable past (ie not McGregor), a professional outlook and CV, and start him off as subtle candidate to build up. No big fanfare of Steve Bannon or Musk shouting from roof he's our guy, just completely hidden in background guiding him and boosting him on social media, while said candidate makes a few not extreme remarks about immigration needing control or travellers no longer being protected as much. An issue that attracts that floating 20% but can't be blatantly pointed to as racist or bigoted or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Field east

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,604 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I cannot see Bannon or Musk pumping in money to form a far right party and staying quietly in the background, and with both of their names being linked to any such attempt would not help get votes here.

I think a lot of people have woken up to the far right agenda thanks to Trump, Bannon, Musk et al. In the run up to the last general election there was a lot of speculation as to what percentage of the first preference vote the far right would get. Exit polls showed it at 6%.

Somebody said here earlier that a leader of a far right party going attack dog against our established parties would do well electorally. There would be two sides to that coin though. Any such party would need a broad range of policies and how they intended funding them. Not just a single issue, and that is something from the present crop that has been glaringly missing. The Irish electorate are no mugs, and even for a party as large as Sinn Fein has been a stumbling block in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,193 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Well I for one am absolutely shocked, shocked that TACO has once again, TACO'd.

Now let's see if he actually does anything other than splutter after being played like a cheap fiddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,902 ✭✭✭threeball

This fcukin dimwit can't remember or care what the last claim he heard was. Hes like a dog that barks at every passing car. He'll claim something else tomorrow when someone else gets in his ear.

The fact that anyone still pays attention to him is the scary part. He should be stuck in a room with I love Lucy reruns on the tv and a fake press conference once every 2 days to make him feel important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭amandstu

Is it not surprising that he has not berated his own intelligence agency?

They cannot release any evidence to back up their assessment ,can they?

Can't he just cast doubt on their version?

I mean we can't be ascribing bona fides to CFTrump…what is he up to?

Did they threaten a leak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,530 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

The GE results are the most relevant - where he'd have the biggest chance of having a say in how the country is run - and they are also his worst.

A very important factor in Irish GE's, i.e. how to get into power, is that you need to have a coalition. Rare were the times that FF managed to pull off a single-party government. If the far-right vote was at 6% last year then they have to work very hard to get up to the high forties before possibly convincing a few contrarian indies to support them and that would still be a wobbly government.

Look at other countries where the far-right parties have won the elections, e.g. the Netherlands; they struggled to get anyone to work with them and the traditional, respectable parties won't want any far-right party leading the line, especially here where FF and FG are all about the optics of leading the country (e.g. shutting SF out in 2020 and the ridiculous rotating Taoiseach).

We also have a highly-educated populace and stricter regulations about campaign financing and social media.

I'd be very surprised if the far-right got into power in Ireland. If they did, it would be because a decent amount of people actually wanted it to happen. While unpalatable, that's how democracy works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,539 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The thing is they don't have to get into power in a leadership context. They just have to be powerful enough to disrupt.

The likes of Bannon knows that a far right party over here won't be strong enough to actually end up in a government position and FF and FG are about as right wing as we get over here in general. But enough votes would give far right loons the ability to mouth off and cause trouble.

Hopefully in 3 years time this MAGA crowd get fucked and we can all get back to normal, boring, politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭riddles

I think.you would be givingn them a lot of credit with that theory. A collective group just about capable of putting on matching shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭bog master

Good to read that TACO Man knows more than his Doctor's.

President Donald Trump told The Wall Street Journal in an interview published Thursday that he takes a higher dose of aspirin than his doctors have recommended, blaming that for the visible hand bruises that have generated renewed questions about his health.

“They say aspirin is good for thinning out the blood, and I don’t want thick blood pouring through my heart,” Trump, 79, said of why he takes a larger dose. “I want nice, thin blood pouring through my heart. Does that make sense?”

“They’d rather have me take the smaller one,” Trump added. “I take the larger one, but I’ve done it for years, and what it does do is it causes bruising.”

During a Cabinet meeting last month, Trump closed his eyes for several seconds at a time. Similarly, during a November 6 event in the Oval Office, the president appeared to close his eyes or struggle to keep them open. But Trump told the Journal he didn’t actually fall asleep.

“I’ll just close. It’s very relaxing to me,” he said of his eyes being shut. “Sometimes they’ll take a picture of me blinking, blinking, and they’ll catch me with the blink.”

And guess what, he does not sleep or doze off in meetings,

During a Cabinet meeting last month, Trump closed his eyes for several seconds at a time. Similarly, during a November 6 event in the Oval Office, the president appeared to close his eyes or struggle to keep them open. But Trump told the Journal he didn’t actually fall asleep.

“I’ll just close. It’s very relaxing to me,” he said of his eyes being shut. “Sometimes they’ll take a picture of me blinking, blinking, and they’ll catch me with the blink.”

https://us.cnn.com/2026/01/01/politics/aspirin-trump-health-dose-bruises-hand

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,708 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Not so much a pause, as the acceptance that having folks on orders just sitting about is a waste of money and time. As long as there was a reasonable likelihood of the stay being reversed, there was at least some justification for keeping them to hand. However, SCOTUS seems not to be in much of a hurry to rule on the merits, so now it's going to be months, not days or weeks, before there is any chance of a deployment. At least they haven't been only twiddling their thumbs, they took advantage of their time sitting on bases to get various miltary certifications and the like completed.

The basic legal arguments will remain unchanged, the SCOTUS order actually gives the administration some guidance as to what to emphasize when it comes to arguing merits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,343 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

It does give the troops a chance to go home to their families while saving the Govt cash on wages, food and all that goes with keeping a force in situ while it was going nowhere in operational terms. The "Q" branch people must be happy.

An alternative way at looking at the SCOTUS look at the case forwarded to it against the lower court's ruling by Trump's legal team is that Trump's appeal was poorly constructed giving SCOTUS the ease to put a hold on deciding the merits of the Trump V the Lower Court ruling, like it is a "get your ducks all in a row" gentle tip if you want us to decide in your favour instead of what you presented to us as an appeal.

Not that I'm minded that Trump's people should do so, given how they seem to be cack-handed when it comes to getting the courts onside in the first case. Long may the lead from the front, decision-wise, in team Trump continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,759 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Now it sounds like he is a medical professional. Just watch the moron supporters take aspirin like smarties now, very clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,316 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Trump's dissertation on taking aspirin is typical of his whole approach to - everything really.

"They say aspirin is good for thinning out the blood, and I don't want thick blood pouring through my heart," Trump said.

He takes 325mg of aspirin per day, rather than the 81mg dose sometimes recommended by doctors.

'They say', the mysterious 'they' on whose advice and opinion he sets so much store. 'I don't want thick blood pouring through my heart' Well, genius, aspirin does not 'thin' your blood, it makes it less susceptible to clotting. I'm sure this has been explained to you, but like all explanations, you only hear what you want to hear. The idea of thin, clean blood getting through your arteries is so appealing.

And of course you take the larger tablet, bigger is better, isn't it. And you are so important you have to have the biggest.

Of course this is obfuscation. Certainly it is covering for a greater issue, but since he is almost certainly in denial about that, whatever conclusions we draw are as likely to be accurate as what he admits to. He probably genuinely believes that the bruising is down to shaking hands.

More to the point, someone this stupid and deluded, with as much understanding of economics, diplomacy and security as he has of medicine, is in charge of a large and significant country with a huge military.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,498 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

He claimed the cut on the back of his hand was from when pam bondi high fived him and her ring cut him... How are they high fiving each other that a ring could cut the back of his hand?

Obviously I don't believe it, the regular plasters are plainly covering up cannula sites which would also explain the bruising. God knows what kind of daily cocktail he is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭bog master

US President Donald Trump has said that the United States is "locked and loaded" to respond if Iran kills protesters, after cost-of-living demonstrations in the country turned deadly.

TACO man wanted Esper to have the military shoot George Floyd protesters and now he threatens Iran if they do the same.

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/trump-iran-protests-us-will-come-to-their-rescue/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,619 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

One feature of Irish society and politics that offers a degree of resistance to a MAGA style takeover is the "Great Again" part. Where we see the most successful rise of the Hard/Far Right is in historical colonial powers and/or countries with a hefty industrial heritage - the latter frequently being linked directly to the former. Whether that is Britain, France, Germany or the USA, the modern electorate can look back at a time when, at least from their national perspective, their country was great; and now it's not, at least not in the same way.

We Irish don't have the same attitude, because our "greatness" was always based on agriculture, emigration and a creative interpretation of our cultural baggage. What I've noticed, though, is that since the 90s, the Celtic Tiger and the Crash, people in Ireland have slipped into the kind of nostalgic retrospection that's feeding the Hard/Far Right elsewhere? Where the French or the Germans blame immigrants for taking their industrial jobs (the jobs that were always destined to be lost), now the Irish are blaming immigrants for the cost/lack of housing, houses that you used to be able to buy for 75k in the Good Old Days.

Ireland's people have a great general standard of education, are generally well travelled and not obsessively attached to a glorious past. Yet there's still a fierce insularity evident in many respects, the same as I see in the post-industrial wastelands of FN-voting northern France. When an electorate assumes it's societal problems are unique to itself, it becomes easier for malevolant agencies to encourage that deception and propose an appropriate "solution" that'll be no solution at all.

We sneer at the American farmers voting for a man and a set of policies that were always going to destroy them - but the Irish constantly vote for a political duopoly that has consistently failed to deliver on problems like housing, whinge about how young people can't afford a mortgage, then rejoice at getting a great price for selling half their garden with outline planning permission.

I don't think a brash Trump-McGregor style candidate would ever make inroads into the Irish political landscape, but someone with a bit more charisma, a significant following on social media and a carefully crafted message could easily tap into the general discontent of the post-Tiger generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,554 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

His followers here won't give a ****.

They'll just say that he's in better condition than Biden was when he was president, and that Biden supporters didn't care then, so they're hypocrites now.

So long as Trump's administration continues to hurt the people they hate, they won't care a jot who is at the controls or if they "Weekend at Bernie's" the guy.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,536 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

I don't think living on blood thinners is a good thing, and I'm not a doctor.

I thought that you need them only if your arteries are so bad 'unthinned' blood can't get through. And they put you on them when you have suffered a stroke, don't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Field east

I can easily understand why Trump would be concerned about the Iran protesters as there must be loads of Christian’s/ Israeli Jews amongst the protesters. These Iranian Christians would be of course very different to the Christians already being killed on a daily basis in Ukraine!!!!!!!!

If he's on that many blood thinners, you'd wonder how he didn't bleed out when "shot"

Also if you have normal or abnormal (arrhythmias) rhythm, when the heart skips a beat or two throwing the rhythm out of sync and interrupts the regular flow of oxygenated blood to the brain and body.

I was on thinners [warfarin anticoagulant] for years before switching to Lixiana cos I had a hole in the heart [an A.S.D] where the two chambers had never joined up properly causing blood to leak instead of pulsing along the veins as nature intended.

The Meds were there as a preventative measure to avoid extra hiccups in life, like clotting, occurring.

If Trump has chosen, as he said, to alter his meds where aspirin is concerned without a physician signing off on it, then he's only increasing uncertainty to his life.

What was also revealed was Trump's atrocious diet, full of fast food. I can't imagine that would help considering the medication he has to take.

From The Independent: President Donald Trump’s administration has dramatically reduced proposed tariffs on Italian pasta companies, marking the latest reversal in the president’s sweeping tariff regime.

In September, the Department of Commerce announced that 13 Italian pasta makers would face a tariff rate of 92 percent on top of the 15 percent rate placed on all products from the European Union, according to a January 1 news release from the Italian Foreign Ministry.

The department accused the brands of unfair trade practices — specifically “dumping” products into the U.S. at below market rates. In particular, U.S. officials accused two companies, La Molisana and Garofalo, of failing to cooperate with their pricing investigation.

The companies contested these allegations, and the Italian government supported their arguments in a memo filed through its embassy in Washington, D.C.

After a review, the Commerce Department slashed the proposed tariffs for La Molisana to 2 percent, while the rate for Garofalo was set to 14 percent. The other 11 pasta makers will now face a rate of 9 percent.

Yumm…. as long as Olive Oil gets the same treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭amandstu

He is taking blood thickeners above the neck?

😉