Russia-Ukraine War (continuing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

If this city has fallen so quickly it can only be described as a collapse in this sector. The Russians were already moving very fast through the countryside in this direction. This all began with the fall of vulhedar. Until then the Russians had no progress in this direction.

If True morale of the Ukrainian soldiers in this direction will be rock bottom. I wouldn't want to be the group holding the next few villages. This city will provide Russia with a hub to accelerate attacks. Let's see how it progresses. If Ukraine keep falling back here not only will the Dnipro be approaching but it'll provide Russia with a back door to capture the Donbass.

This city has been pummelled by reasonably accurate glide bombs all year. The Russians are still able to do this in massive numbers whereas the Ukrainians can only launch the odd AS Hammer back at them.

Ukraine will be really up against it as long as this advantage remains. 4 years into the war and despite receiving a few western air frames Ukraine haven't been given the capability to really push the Russian air force back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,617 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Russia wants all the donbas .This appears to be a stumbling point

As the young folk say: No ****, Sherlock? A "stumbling point" - is that what it is? Just an awkwardness in an otherwise perfectly normal diplomatic negotiation?

But congratulations: at least three of the Vatnik bingo squares in that one post. And given the disconnect between what you post and what's actually happening in real life, I'm thinking the news must be heavily filtered before it gets to wherever you read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,481 ✭✭✭Rawr

I thought you were done talking with an «Echo Chamber» and yet here we are…in the middle of the night…again…

Also, what’s going on with your punctuation? The placement of the full stop on every sentence leads me to suspect that this text is AI or machine generated. I do hope some effort is being put into discussing with us here, and not some «prompts» thrown into a bargain basement GenAI engine.

Kind of goes back to my earlier statement about the calibre of Russian influence now. We’ve gone from cheeky Cauldron Reports….to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,384 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

So Russia sent in a few lads with flags, for a photo op, and the lads were most likely droned to death within seconds/minutes of the picture being taken…

Russian MOD said it? = pinch of salt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭greyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Your post is delusional. I posted a BBC link the that stated Ukraine had lost 4770 Kms this year . Dispute with a credible link.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c0l0k4389g2o

I have never stated I am a Putin supporter you are lying .Truth is what matters .

More delusional posts now I am an A1 bot posting in the middle of the night .You never heard of different time zones . Actually I am bewildered by such hysteria here .

What's your point?

From the link you've provided:

Russia now controls rather less territory - down from about 27% in the spring of 2022 to around 20% now.

So are you admitting that Ukraine is doing a great job at pushing the Russians out? Or is that the kind of inconvenient fact that you'll ignore for the sake of regurgitating Kremlin talking points?

Remind us again, how many millions of barrels of oil refining capacity have been lost by Russia at the same time as they've been losing/failing to re-invade Ukrainian territory?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

4770km2 in a year, which for reference is approx 2000km2 less than the size of Cork in a year. It equates to 0.7% of Ukraine territory. So in the grand scheme of things it's the sum total of **** all

The link clearly states Russia has gained 4770 sq Kms this year . The link does not state it lost 7 % since 2022 .

How many billions of western money has been pumped into Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,481 ✭✭✭Rawr

Oh I have heard of timezones, and do you know what posting between 01:00 and 04:00 tends to indicate? A timezone somewhere East of UTC+4. Do you know what is on and east of UTC+4? A lot of fun places…a lot of fun places that are invested in Russia not losing in this war.

That’s not to suggest an actual location or anything, since UTC+4 also contains some OK places…and I loath to give Orwell any pointers on doing this…but pro tip…it’s hard to ignore a pattern when it’s been pointed out and…oops…have I just done that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Even their own say the Putin legacy has b*****ed the country.

Nobody wants to be friends with a rapey, head chopping, castrating, pow murdering, genocidal people.

Meanwhile in the domestic economy the interest rate on borrowing is 16% to 19%.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I watched this and would also recommend giving it a watch. Now it got slated as pro Russian propaganda by various Ukrainian sources because the director has worked for RT and it seems odd in such a tied down narrative space like Russia that it didn't get some backing, or was helpfully ignored by the Kremlin.

However and it's a big however; imho if that's pro Russian propaganda they're in a lot more trouble than the Kremlin would admit. It was made before Bakhmut fell and before Prigozhin had a run at the throne so lord knows what the state of the current setup is.

It mostly follows medics and supply troops so you don't get that much of a sense of the Russian "tip of the spear" but what you do see is scarily amateurish. At one point a drone operator nearly gets done in by his newbie assistant who doesn't attach the bomb to the drone correctly. Combat troops aiming weapons at medics trying to recover their comrade's bodies(three, killed by a Polish mortar. They note you can't hear the Polish rounds coming in). They complain Russian artillery is slower to respond than Ukrainian. Just generally ramshackle. Crazy stuff. You also notice a lot of "old men" compared to what most militaries would field.

When asked why they fight the middle aged guys mostly say for money, some say for patriotism(though that's more in the young guys interviewed. One such states "nazis" but seems to have little clue about what that means), others for their fellow soldiers, or so their kids don't have to. Standard stuff. But mostly for money. Which many haven't gotten by the by. A few signed up for six month contracts and they've run out, but they they're not allowed leave and they're not being paid. One guy's files get lost and of course he hasn't been paid in months, so likely because he "doesn't exist" he just goes home, but reckons he'll be back as there's a draw there he won't have in civilian life and that the army will somehow find him.

Early on the old timers note how few of them are left out of their original groups. The rest were "300" or "200"(killed or injured). A couple were injured and then sent back. Their overall attitude to Ukrainians is mostly along the basic lines of we're trying to kill them and vice versa. Of the few non combatants she talks to one old woman hankers after the Good Old Days© of Soviet times. There's an engagement between a medic lass and a soldier. About the only "light" thing in it.

Like I say, it's worth a watch imho and if this is Kremlin spin Christ knows what they were attempting to spin. That it's daftly ramshackle, loads of you will die, you're not so sure what you're fighting for, the money's OK but many of you won't get paid?

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭macraignil

Another strike on putin's terrorist state oil infrastructure reported.

image.png

Edit: The same strike on critical parts of the oil refining facility mentioned in this article:

https://united24media.com/latest-news/ukraine-hits-russias-diesel-supply-and-blinds-military-sites-in-crimea-14601

Second article also mentions strikes on Crimea which contradicts Mr. Gossip's claim that there has been no resistance to putin's terrorist state's occupation of Crimea.

Is it possible Mr. Gossip is simply lying and in fact putin's terrorists are not welcome in any part of Ukraine?

Why else would their invasion be progressing at a rate less than 1% of the total area of Ukraine this year according to Mr. Gossip's own figures? At this rate putin will be dead from old age before his terrorists can occupy half of the country he has declared should not exist.

Post edited by macraignil on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭greyday

That you think I should go out fighting for pointing out the obvious to you, Europe is buying time and it’s only the delusional think otherwise (borrowed that big word from you) 😂😂😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,638 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

That thread is a good read. When you watch the Russian state TV channels with Vladimir Solovyov and Olga Skabiyeva, it's all how Russia is the greatest country in the world, Putin is the greatest leader, everyone in the country is looked after etc - none of the points this man makes ever get an airing. It does look like a house of cards that could come crashing down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭Polar101

It can't come as a huge surprise to you that a lot of people do not support an aggressive autocrat state that invades their neighbouring countries with made up justifications for their invasions.

Also, a daily reminder that Russia can stop the war any day by stopping their invasion. But of course they aren't going to do that.

I beg your pardon: it's this link (also from the BBC, seeing as you seem to trust them) that contains the reference to what Russia had previously held:

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cgkrn433lk2o

Seeing as it seems to matter to you, how many billions of Russian money (and men) has been pumped into Ukraine? Would you agree that a good basis for ending the conflict would be for Putin to simply call a halt to the "special military operation" and bring his troops back to their barracks in Russia?

Ukraine is not losing submarines, battleships, oil refineries, spy planes, a thousand men per day …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Good summary. That old woman is exactly why these wars happen. So you're Ukrainian but because the Soviets put up a picture of Lenin above that chalkboard You're going to back the Russians?

She may have worked for RT, but that doesn't mean a thing. Pre this war I knew a Russian who worked for an international branch of RT. She didn't like her government then and she fled Russia with her partner post invasion.

The girl who filmed this did it solo and then produced the final product in France going by the credits. The Kremlin would never allow a film painting an accurate picture in Ukraine. And as you note, these guys were a supply battalion until they got used as cannon fodder in Bakhmut.

I wanted to ask the "Cat" soldier who had his legs blown off before shooting himself, did he feature earlier in it?

This film reassures the idea the Russians took huge losses. Out of 900 that battalion sent in only 300 were alive by the time the recording began. Out of that 300 half were crippled. This was pre Bakhmut so that was the original invasion before the real meatwave tactics begun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,535 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Some seriously grim viewing, and very anti-war. The documentarian took enormous risk, wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭mike_cork

Screenshot_2025-12-28-15-26-50-739_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg

For all the talk of CAULDRONS, looks like a skillful withdrawal by the afu in myrnohrod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

^^I suppose the only way that documentary posted above might benefit Russia and aid their propaganda efforts is that a casual Western viewer of it would feel some pity for their soldiers, and more revolted by the war.

Ukraine was given no choice here however, and only way through it for them is to make "code 200"s and "300"s out of as many of the Russian military as they can.

You certainly wouldn't believe a Russian military victory through attrition is inevitable from watching it (a major plank of their propaganda efforts for a long time IMO).

It would support a view that if Ukraine had been helped with more courage + determination by the US (during Biden's term) and Europeans, Putin could have been beaten to the negotiating table (for real, not the play acting he does with Donald Trump) by now. The road not taken, sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,923 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

russia are out of both Syria and Afghanistan (and all of Eastern Europe bar a sliver of Ukraine), so it's not unrealistic.

But, like your forebears, your inability to answer exposes how pathetic your responses are and always have been from the "I just want peace" group of russian sympathisers.

Ukraine have been receiving the bare minimum and have decimated and humiliated the russian army, would you support providing Ukraine with more than the bare minimum so that the russian army implodes on itself?

Maybe a no-fly zone imposed on the country or a supply of F-18/F-35 planes and patriot missiles to target the russian military production facilities? Would you support that to end the war quickly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,070 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

German politician warns there are 360,000 Russian troops in Belarus.

Reports of Ukrainian progress near Rodynske North of Myronhrad. An access road for the Russians in danger there.

Livestream of Trump-Zelensky talks. I think it's set up for a press conference.

Post edited by Ozymandius2011 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde