Boards Golf Society 2026

• 22-12-2025 11:33PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭

With the winter solstice behind us and an extra couple of minutes of daylight each day, it’s a reminder that the 2026 golfing season isn’t far away. Time to start getting excited ⛳

For those of you who don’t know, I have the pleasure (and responsibility!) of captaining the Boards 2026 Golf Society — and I’m hoping I won’t sink the ship before we even leave port😊.

“Is this the real Tiger Woods?” some of you may ask. Unfortunately not… but if you are reading this, Tiger, we would gladly accept any Sunday Red merch you fancy sending on as prizes.
    I did, however, manage to match Tiger’s not-so-famous 41 on the front nine at St Andrews on my way to what remains the highlight of my golfing career — a gross 82. And just to add a bit of context: it was raining cats and dogs, I didn’t even have a caddy, and for anyone thinking it was playing easy that day — a fellow boardie (who will remain nameless), who fancies himself a decent golfer, shot well over 100 with a caddy… and still tipped him 😂

I joined Boards a year after it was set up, with my first outing being Portarlington back in 2012. Over the years, I’ve made some great friends, many of whom have progressed from 18 handicaps to single figures.
    What really distinguishes Boards from most golf societies is that it isn’t run from a pub, workplace, or local club. We’ve had a mix of old and young, male and female (over the years), from all over the country — low and high handicaps — with one common denominator: a love of golf. At one point a few years ago, I think I was the only member of the Boards Golf Society who wasn’t a member of a golf club, which probably says it all about how unique Boards is.

That’s not to say we’re a bunch of teatotallers. There are plenty of lads who enjoy a drink, and nowhere is this more evident than on our legendary captain’s weekends. What’s great about Boards outings — especially the captain’s weekend — is the mix:
    some play the golf, hang around for the prizes, and head home to the family
    some stay for the chat and a few pints back at the hotel
    and then there are the party animals, who end up on a pub crawl, followed by a nightclub… and, in one memorable year, a 4am putting competition by moonlight with the assistance of phone torches
    I’m fairly sure there was also a boardie once found sleeping on a park bench in Killarney the following morning — although Benny still denies to this day that it was him.
    So if you’re new to Boards, welcome. You’ll find great golf, great company, and plenty of stories you may or may not remember the next morning.

As I’m sure most of ye are aware, it was touch and go for a while regarding the future of Boards.ie, but thankfully everything is back on track now.

I’d like to thank our outgoing captain, Robbie, for doing a great job this year — particularly in selecting a fantastic list of courses at very good value. It’s not easy out there at the moment, with prices rising for average courses in some cases by €10–€15. Add to that the number of societies booking repeat outings earlier, which can put those booking in August and September on the back foot.
    With that in mind, I’ve been working hard in the background to select premier courses that cover as much of the country as possible, while still keeping eye on the cost.
    I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank our sponsor, Golfgraffix, for their generous support and for allowing us to use Clubnet, which has already proved its worth by giving us access to courses we otherwise wouldn’t be able to book.
    Lastly, I’d like to wish ye all a very happy Christmas, and I promise to get the 2026 list out before the end of the year — I’m just finalising the last couple of courses.

PS: 2026 marks the 15-year anniversary of the Boards Golf Society, and it would be great to see some past members make a reappearance as guests if they wish… I might even put on a special prize 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Sorbet

Early Christmas present seeing this message @tigerwood1! Looking forward to the list and even more to next season.
    Best of luck with it.

For anyone looking on wondering if they should get involved, do yourself a favour and join in - you won’t regret it. My third year this year and wish I’d found it sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭Break80

Congratulations and best of luck for your upcoming year Tiger.

I love to see Captain's first post up before Christmas, it won't be too long before we will be walking the fairways, giving out about the bad golf and having a wind up with the greatest mix of characters you could ever meet.

This will be my 10th year driving all over this island to play courses I would never travel to only for the society.

I have made some great friends, travelled to some bucketlist courses in Scotland, USA and here at home. I often think how different the last decade would have been if I didn't punch a few keys and turned up at Corballis that Saturday morning all those years ago.

Mileage is high on the car and body now but the anticipation is still fresh so it looks like ye will have to put up with me for a while yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Good luck in the year ahead @tigerwood1

Might be an idea to stick up the "how to" guide for folks considering joining the society for the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,133 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Hi MojoMaker. There is a sticky thread above this one. Will be one of the first 5 threads on the forum.

It's got all of the details needed in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭bobster453

Great post @tigerwood1 and best of luck for your year as Captain.

Unfortunately due to upcoming surgery in January..hopefully..i will miss the first 3 or 4 outings but sure all I have to do is win all the rest to qualify for the Jug😃

Merry Christmas and a very happy new year to you and all fellow boardsies.

See yez at some stage hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

Great to see this post. Another year on the road to destinations ,that only for this society I would never have even considered and ultimately found to be tresures of our golfing isle.

Best of good fortune @tigerwood1 to hopefully will be another great year..

Benny may donate a few fivers this year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Great post Tiger. Hope you have a great year.

Would be great to see a few of the old heads come back for a cameo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,302 ✭✭✭benny79

Great post @tigerwood1 about time you stepped up to the plate! Make sure you hit the bank for a loan because im going to clean you out next year buddy 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,505 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

merry Christmas to all our society members of Christmas past, Christmas present and Christmas future.

Super way to kick off your year as captain, some say he dreams about shooting the lights out in St Andrews and he sleeps on park benches, all we know is he’s out @tigerwood1

best of luck with your year pal and enjoy every bit of it. We’ve patched the hole in the hull so it’ll be clean sailing from here 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

I remember walking off the 18th at St Andrews having shot a 77 gross, thinking I’d won comfortably. Then Roadrunner comes in one shot better. Only to be followed in by Tiger another 2 better. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a more happy golfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

I’m crawling out of the woodwork after a few years away thanks to adding 2 baby girls to the family but I really hope to make some outings this year ideally as a member but guest appearance is probably more realistic.

I was a member for a number of years with boards, must look back and see when I started but my first round was in portmarnock and the look I got when I told my mam I was leaving home at 6am to go play golf with 30 lads off the internet and I was the only female, best decision I made. I’ve since got to enjoy great course all over Ireland at competitive prices and I was also on that infamous trip to St. Andrew’s. Do I remember correctly @tigerwood1 that you were using rented clubs too??

Hopefully to meet up with some old and new golf friends in 2026.

be great to see you again

congrats on the babys, I don't envy you….. glad mine can change their own nappies by now 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Great Intro. Tigerwood1 finally takes his turn captaining the society. Many people have been waiting a long time for this moment! Careful though, it's well documented that your own form takes a hammering over the year when you take up the mantle. Hopefully you break the curse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭spuddy4711

Best wishes, Tiger, for this great new year as captain of Boards Golf Society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭blue note

Forget Jules Holland tonight, I'll be on this page hitting refresh at midnight to see the schedule for this year!

Best of luck with the year ahead Tiger. I'm looking forward to following you down the fairways next year. I know down the fairways is optimistic and unlikely, but if I said following you into the trees I think it would sound quite creepy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Can’t wait to get going again, after the disastrous finish to last year, I decided not to play winter league this year and let my wrist heal fully. Only played 2 x 14 hole rounds since arklow and nothing since.

The very best of luck to Tiger for the year ahead, some fantastic courses on the rota for 2026, well done on securing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭bobster453

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭bakerbhoy

😂🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭tigerwood1

Great to hear from you again, @offalymedic . Your mother must be very easy-going — I know I’d have a conniption fit if my daughter said something similar! And I’m sure when the time comes for your two, it could be a classic case of poacher turned gamekeeper 😉
    You’re right — I’d completely forgotten that I had hired the clubs. If I remember correctly, the hire shop was charging the same price for a top-end set of clubs as for an empty carry bag. With St Andrews not allowing trolleys, I didn’t fancy carrying my own bag, so I decided to get value for money 🤑 and try out the irons.
    In hindsight, I don’t think it was the irons that made the difference — it was probably more between the ears that made the difference with low expectations due to the dire weather and new clubs all helped. Since then, I’ve bought similar clubs and, unfortunately, I’m still crap 😂.

Anyway, that’s enough about me — I’m sure you’re all saying “When’s he going to get the bloody list out?”
    I’ve put a lot of thought into this and done my best to facilitate everyone geographically, as I’m conscious we’re spread all over the country. Apologies to the Cork/Tipp lads for a tricky start, as first three courses are north of the Liffey. After that we move east, which should keep the Dubs and Midlands lads happy, and we finish up with three west of the Shannon.
    Some of you will notice two repeats from last season — Portmarnock Links and Rathsallagh. The cost of golf in general has spiralled since COVID, and once you put the word links in front of a course, prices seem to double. So getting a top-class course like Portmarnock for €75, thanks to the generous support of our sponsor Golfgraffix, is a no-brainer to kick off the season.
    I think it’s safe to say everyone enjoyed Rathsallagh last year. The course held up incredibly well despite torrential rain beforehand. The only downside was that some of you missed out on food — but rest assured, they now have new catering staff who are eager to please. I personally guarantee food for all members… even if I have to bring my own barbecue 🍺.
    On the money side of things:
    • Membership this year will be €45
    • First outing (Portmarnock Links): €75
    • Lowest green fee: €25 (Ballinrobe)
    • Average cost per outing across the nine courses: €45
    I’ve had a good few PMs from prospective new members over the past week — apologies, we’ll update the joining thread in the next few days.

After chatting with a number of you over the past month, we've decided that the Friday outing on the Captain’s Weekend will be a non-qualifier, as I know it can be difficult for some to get time off work on the Friday.

2026 Fixture List

Feb 14 – Portmarnock Links (Jameson Golf Links) – 1st tee 10:00 am

Mar 21 – New Forest – 1st tee 11:00 am

Apr 18 – Concra Wood – 1st tee 11:00 am

May 30 – Gowran Park – 1st tee 10:00 am

Jun 20 – Rathsallagh – 1st tee 12:50 pm

Jul 18 – Bunclody – 1st tee 1:40 pm

Aug 22 – Castletroy – 1st tee 11:00 am

Sep 18 – Ballinrobe – 1st tee 12:30 pm

Sep 19 – Westport (Captain’s Prize) – 1st tee 12:10 pm

• Administrators Posts: 56,249 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Great list Tiger. For the benefit of all, particularly folk like myself who don’t recognise all the courses, here’s the geography:

Feb: Portmarnock, Dublin

Mar: New Forest, Westmeath

Apr: Concra Wood, Monaghan

May: Gowran Park, Kilkenny

Jun: Rathsallagh, Wicklow

Jul: Bunclody, Wexford

Aug: Castletroy, Limerick

Sept: Ballinrobe and Westport, Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭spuddy4711

A great selection, Tiger, with a welcome return to Portmarnock, couldn’t have a better 1st outing. Competition this year will not just to get on the Jug team, but to get on the timesheet.

That's an exciting list captain. I'm so excited I'm going to go and play Portmarnock links once the sun comes up!

I've only played two others which is great. And Concra and Bunclody have been on the shortlist for every mini trip I've done over the last couple of years, so I'm particularly delighted to to now have them in my diary.

And Westport I hear is a great course. And I know it's a great town, so a fine captain's day pick.

Looks like a great year ahead for the society! Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Snackbox20

A lovely Christmas and New years present that you forget to open and it's nearly Nollaig Na Mná, great to see the thread open again and welcome to new members and a big welcome back to some of the boards og's.

Wishing you the very best of luck in your captaincy @tigerwood1 and they are a great selection of golf courses.

A very happy new year to all golfers and friends and heres to another rollercoaster on the Boards tour.

Snackbox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Sorbet

Thanks captain @tigerwood1 for the ‘26 fixture list! Just read through each course’s review in Hooked and they all look like real quality courses. Can’t wait.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,765 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Great picks @tigerwood1 , i know its not easy but looking forward to a lot of those courses. May miss a few towards the start with baby no.3 on the way, but will definitely be around for most.

Thanks Sorbet,

Kevin Markham's rating are usually bang on.

It’s tough three babies — been there, worn the T-shirt — but would you swap it for another year of captaincy? 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 scotty_golf9

Happy New Years lads!

Looking forward to getting this season going as i havent picked up a club in about 3-4 months id say. @tigerwood1 best of look this year as captain and i know weve had are fair share of conversations about the look and style of courses so im excited to see whats on the plate for this year👍🏼

Ah here. There must be rules and regulations on boards about swapping the captaincy for children. The captaincy is a great honour, not to be traded for a few children.