Republic of Ireland General Discussion Thread 2026

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

He has been subbed off now so no hattick for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Shame but great for him especially after all the chat about if his loan would be extended. Yes Celtic are not a great side but still great for his confidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,189 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Haven't got to see a lot of him at Roma, but a very good performance where he worked hard to lead the line, stretch the defence, and hold up play. Came short and offered for through balls. Maybe three good chances for him and he hit the post and scored two goals, the second a beaut. Interesting to see what happens now. I'd love if Gasperini coaxed a great player out.

Celtic an absolute shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

Kelleher snubbed in the sports person of the year awards. He won a premier league title and contributed to it. Himself and McCabe should have been the soccer nominees if you can only pick one male and one female from the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,096 ✭✭✭dasdog

I still watch a bit of Serie A being a long distance fan of Fiorentina since the 1990's and the 0-1 loss to Napoli where he got subbed at HT - well he got absolutely zero service during that first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,302 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Looking at Ferguson's league stats at Roma in isolation would have you thinking he has been poor.

I have not seen any of their games. I remember reading somewhere that Gasperini had a good record for "stuggling" strikers.

Roma have only scored 15 league goals in the 14 league games they have played so far.

asroma.png

Matias Soule is their league top scorer and assister from the right wing with 4 goals and 2 assists in his 14 league games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,854 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I just think his early rise hs given rise to an absolutely ridiculous stream of "100m striker" comments on one hand to "not good enough" on the other.

He'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,535 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

I just think he's too passive. Don't think you grow out of that but hope that I'm wrong. He has great ability. His second goal against Celtic was top quality. Don't think the opposition mattered.

If Ferguson was fit he'd have started instead of Parrott against Portugal and Hungary. Would Ferguson have scored five goals in two games? I highly doubt it. He has serious work to do.

If he can get it together then we have our two options up front.

Post edited by Kermit.de.frog on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

If Gasperini can't get Ferguson going, I'd be worried if he's good enough for this level, Gasperini is a great coach for getting under preforming players playing well. Hopefully the match against Celtic is a turning point for his Roma career. I think if he returns to Brighton in January, a loan move to a Portuguese, Dutch, Belgian or mid table French club would be best move for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭tigger123

Ferguson starts against Como.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,112 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Fabregas prides himself on playing a bit of ball with Como so hopefully this won’t another absolute 1-0 bore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭glenjamin

It was indeed another 1-0 bore for Roma. Ferguson did play the full 90 minutes so that's something at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,112 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

got 4 shots off and looked far more mobile. A positive performance and minutes in the tank.

enjoyed the refs performance as an aside. A real let it flow man

Twitter says he played well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭franglan

Yep watched the full game. Was busy for the 90 mins, all be it faded slightly towards the end. Looked leggy after 75 mins. The usual good touches, flicks and hold up play. Sometimes I do feel he needs a good shake though, the likes of Wesley racing down the wing and he's the centre forward and needs to get in a more aggressive position for any subsequent ball into the box rather than he find space around the back passive type style he has where the ball might flip around the box and find him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭tigger123

Isn't part of his game arriving late into a scoring position though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,675 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Given Roma's lack of goals and their links with wanting to bring Zirkzee in they probably want their CF playing deeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭weadick

Aage Hareide has died. He was manager of Denmark when they hockied us 5-1 in the World Cup play-off in 2017. Totally out-witted Martin O'Neill on the night.

I wouldn't say he out witted. MON threw the baby out with the bathwater with his changes at half time and second half. Denmark didn't have to do much tactically after half time to win convincingly in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,768 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Very young to die so sudden . RIP.

Never realised he was from Norway

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,142 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Ah that's sad… had some record with Denmark, qualified for both the Euros and World Cup in his 4 year stint, and went 34 games unbeaten before he stepped aside!

Fairly battered us alright — though O'Neil outwitted himself really. Hareide took full advantage, but it perhaps doesn't take too much of a genius to exploit a midfield that your opposite number has decided to completely empty in a fit of panic.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,617 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Idah scores injury time winner in the Welsh derby.

An extremely jammy tap in after an unspeakable mistake from the Wrexham keeper 😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,152 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Saipan movie out in a few days. I'll go watch it for the craic. I wonder how many people will be interested.

I'll wait until it comes out online. Watched that Fran the Man movie and it's not worth a watch. The funniest part was at the very end during the credits.

Kelleher with yet another peno save.

Albeit apparently a shocking peno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,535 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

And it was himself who fouled that caused it :) Some man to save them though

Another goal for Parrott today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭mogwai81

Roma manager in relation to Evan Ferguson “If I had to choose between Paulo Dybala and Ferguson, I’d choose Dybala all day, every day,” reiterated Gasperini. “You need more to be a centre forward than being tall. It’s not just about technique, he hasn’t settled into the spirit of this team.”

Ferguson is at a fairly important crossroads in his career after a couple of disappointing loan moves. I know there's talk of Celtic but I hoped his level was higher than the SPL.