Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,577 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

A decent striker would go a long way to solving the issue of games to bed. Sesko might become that player but he's not there yet.

We played some of the best football we've played in years tonight, it was mad stuff defensively at times but I'm taking it as a big positive that we can actually play some really good attacking play at times. I don't even think we need a fantastic CF to finish it off, we just need someone to be able to play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,146 ✭✭✭✭JRant

His suspension is a blessing in disguise really. He's had 0 tackles in 3 of the last 5 games! For a no. 6 that's an outrageous stat and he's costing the team every game now.

Amad will be a miss but Mbeumo has been fairly muck for a few weeks now. Hopefully the break at AFCON does him the world of good.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭Caustic

I'm quite surprised what an easy time he gets off the fan base and mostly because he turned up to preseason not overweight for once

That's all she wrote for Mainoo's career at OT. Can't be having this nonsense going on at the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,777 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ah here........

Its seems the biggest issue with United players is their families last couple of years.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,340 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭BalboBiggins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭mobydopy

What’s with so many of our academy players all having sh*t stirring brothers. Rashford, Garnacho and now Mainoo. This club needs to get a grip. And so do the families. He’s doing more harm than good to Mainoo’s career by wearing that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Yeah get rid. Hype him up and sell for 80m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭kyleman

He will be kept for January but will probably be out before the window closes.

It's so bloody frustrating as well. His agent kicked up a stink the day before the transfer window closed just when he was probably going to get some game time. Now, the AFCON players are leaving and Casemiro is suspended so he was probably going to get more game time.

There's something seriously lacking with some of these academy lads lately.

At least in Garnacho's case his brother was very young and kept his childishness to social media. This is different because you have this wally going around OT with that tee-shirt on and not expect serious repercussions. Forget Amorim in this one, the club hierarchy are going to be furious at this and it is 100% designed to force a move from the club.

On the actual game, I'm with a lot of others here, I actually enjoyed it for the most part. We are going to leak goals when playing an over the hill LB , a 19 and a 20 year in the back 3, plys he had no options on the bench as evidenced by his awful performance when he did come on.

8 goals in the last 2 games isn't to be sniffed at but we aren't going to be keeping clean sheets anytime soon with a tackling that young and a midfield that can't tackle or win the ball back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Incredibly frustrating result once again, but I did feel like it was a better performance at least.

The first 35 min or so were excellent but you knew when Utd hadn't put up a couple of goals that there would be chances for Bournemouth and so it turned out.

We at least pushed players forward to try and win a game at OT!! Basic stuff but I was happy to see it.

* Mbeumo had a very poor night. Everything he touched went wrong.

* Chunha wasteful as well. Took his goal well in the end but should have had at least 1 more. Ran into a couple of cul de sacs. Hopefully, he kicks on from here after his goal. but he will need to become far more clinical to survive at Utd..

* Sesko looks miles off it. I don't know what we are eventually hoping he will be but he's very rough right now.

* Casemiro - well worked goal but some of his passing was terrible. Turned over the ball far too often. Made some very poor choices. Not for the first time.

* Bruno was at his best the closer to their penalty area he moved. His goal was outstanding

* Mount worked his usual socks off.

* Mainoo looks rusty, way off the pace as well but good to see him get a better amount of minutes.

* Lammens needed to do better for their free kick but overall came up with a couple of saves at the end.

* Dalot put a great ball in for the opener but he does limit what we can do in attack

Consistently inconsistent. It will be the story of the season.
    It's very annoying to look back on the last few weeks and see the points dropped and to who they were dropped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,838 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

You'd hope Kobbie would have some sense.

I mean his big brother used to be Jordan Hames from Love Island. Now his big brother is "Jordan Mainoo-Hames"....I'm sure he has Kobbies best interests in mind. Not tryna maximise the newly valuble Mainoo name he has added to himself, RIGHT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Oh no …… thats not good. Apart from him obviously looking for attention, does he actually think he’s helping his brother there?

Post edited by Charlie69 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,683 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Should have won with all the chances we created but could have lost with the amount of chances we conceded.

Defensively we are hugely suspect when MDL doesn't play but I thought Heaven and Yoro did well in H1, H2 not so much. Hopefully Licha can get up to match fitness quickly to at least give us options.

Kobies cameo was unremarkable but he did alright, obviously rusty but his dumbass brother wearing that tshirt needs a cold hard slap in the groin.

Mbeumo scuffed alot of good chances but Cunha was immense, my MOTM.

There are plenty of positives with the team but the same old negatives are consistently there, perhaps with the AFCON RA will be forced to change it up but I fear we simply will not be able to compete in any meaningful way while he's at the helm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

I thought Sesko was great when he came on, lots of pace and power. He showed a lot of hunger, excuse the pun.

Thought it was a really encouraging return myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭talla10

Such a mad game… disappointing that we couldn't hold on for the win then again lucky the keeper made two good saves at the end to preserve our record and get a point.

Last 2 seasons Bournemouth came here, played us off the park and won 3-0…Last night was we battered them but defensive errors and wasting chances to go 2 up cost us.

No doubt in an attacking sense we are up there with the best in the league with goals scored and chances created which was a major issue over last 3 years. Defensively we all know we need to improve massively. Keeper and central defenders are young, we are missing De Ligt, Maguire and Lica only returning from a bad injury. Mainoo did well when he came on, looked assured but we are defensively weaker when Casemiro isn't on.

Some balance needed but definite encouraging signs. Onto Villa on Sunday- We have won the most points against top half this season than any other club so we are more than capable of winning AFCON or not- It's the smaller clubs we have an issue with but we all knew this is a rebuilding process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭DataDude

I really can’t understand this. It’s like new signings are held to zero standards for about 2 years.

He came on for 30 minutes in a game where we generating chances at a higher rate than we have in years

He touched the ball 7 times. Completed 1 pass. Lost it 4 times. Had 4 duels, lost all of them. Even the goal he ‘created’ was a really poor pass that the defender just botched. He was objectively an absolute passenger. Sure he can run pretty fast in a straight line.

I can put that down to rust or whatever (although it’s becoming a fairly common theme for him), but for me the real concern is just how clumsy he looks.

This clip may look innocuous enough. But that’s a man that requires absolute head down focus to dribble a football at pace barely keeping it under control without a defender within 5 yards of him. I’m extremely concerned about his technical ability for a club like United. Lot of parallels to Gyok at Arsenal.

https://x.com/coolgunner14/status/2000685990248095931

It was a very dangerous ball into the box that the defender struggled to clear that he created by driving forward with the ball. Sure, it wasn't pretty but it was his positive play that created the error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,987 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Had me worried for a second if we were going to go there!. Next stop would be alternate leagues.

You're forgetting Pogba too.

But come on there's enough things to manage in the modern age as a young player without being accountable for family member's actions.

I am not my brother's keeper.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/124073653#Comment_124073653

I know you don't particularly rate him.

To me he's showing a lot more than Hojlund (low bar I know) and if he was someone we were integrating into a successful team I'd be pleased with him.

Coming into a dysfunctional underperforming team makes things a lot more difficult. I think once he gets a run with a more consistent front 3 and two behind (when's that going to happen though) he'll be a proper player for us.

Unbelievale stretch. Great piece of play by Mbuemo. Fair enough positive from Sesko to get on it, although Mbuemo had it himself.

After that he hit the absolute worst possible spot for that pass. It’s a somewhat difficult one to play on your bad foot (although there was a tonne of space between defender and keeper) but if you said ‘pick out that defender’, he couldn’t have done it better. It was a horrendously executed pass. Judging the outcome, not the action itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,592 ✭✭✭ronjo

As an Arsenal fan I agree with you on the parallels to Gyokeres…… looked like a baby giraffe running with the ball

Agree he is definitely a better player than Hojlund. Most obviously he is significantly better at holding the ball up and winning Ariel duels (Hojlund was historically bad in the air).

Not sure the dysfunctional side bit really holds. I think Hojlund had a better case. We are woeful at the back but this year we are actually creating chances. One of the best in the league I think. Last night even as he came on Neville hesitantly said something along the lines of ‘this a great chance for Sesko to do something’ as we were playing excellent attacking football. Still anonymous.

I’d forgive the output at this stage. I’m just looking for something and I can’t see anything. He is so clumsy on the ball. I don’t think that limitation ever leaves him, so to compensate for his lack of technical ability and justify a start he needs to cause chaos in the box, driving in behind defenders and generating high numbers of attacking actions (think lukaku as his ceiling). He’s not doing those things either though, just sort of floats on the edge of games.

With everyone fit, I think Mount, Mbuemo and Cunha all start 9 ahead of him which is pretty telling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,457 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Yeah I don't get the give Sesko time thing… and I thought Mainoo did well when he came on - didn't see any rust.

Yoro, Mbuemo, Shaw, Sesko and Lemmens for me where the under par performers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,777 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I don't want to hear about signing a forward or defender next summer the first thing we need to buy is not 1 but 2 top class CMs in June

While the rigid formation is certainly a downfall just as big is leaving wide open spaces throughout middle of the field opening us up for 2 of the goals last night.

EVENFLOW

2 CMs is an absolute must. But CB is also looking unbelievable weak too, nearly as underserved as CM. Think we need minimum 2, arguably 3 if we persist with a back 5.

De Ligt is the only solid option we have. Big question marks around everyone else and you need 5 competent players to rotate for 3 spots.

Maguire and Shaw are fine but expect Maguire to leave and Shaw will always have that injury questionmark (he’s also declined significant imo - was a massive fan). I think Yoro needs a loan. He’s not ready for the PL and his confidence is clearly being destroyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,307 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

My big issues with the Everton and West Ham games were the lack of bravery. in attack from the players, in tactical set up from amorim/

No issue really on either last night. We defended terribly for their goals, and we finsiehd terribly in their box. But in terms of set up, approach and general performance it was far more what I want from the team. If we had have had De Ligt or Maguire instead of Heaven I think we stop the first goal, maybe the second. I think if the lack of legs in Casemiro cost us a bit on transition, and I think Mainoo isn't a solid defensive player so when you make him your Casemiro replacement, beside Bruno, you are going to leave yourself open. But I don't think it was a systemic issue but rather a player fit/peformance issue. And I am more ok with that.

Its disappointing to have dropped points, yet again. But less concerning as a performance than Everton and West Ham. Less an indictment of Amorim than either of those games.