Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,255 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Gonna hazzard a guess on this one…

watching a football match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Watching a match. What you normally do in a football stadium, even for those who seem to be a bit of a slow learner like yourself

Mod Edit: Warning Issued

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

I wouldn't go that far. It was a decent one touch finish from the edge of the box after a lovely setup touch from Brown (I think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭DataDude

They are both very good players in their own right. De ligt a fantastic leader and front foot defender, Martinez absolutely elite on the ball.

I do doubt however if they can allow us to play how we want to play whilst partnered together due to their significant lack of pace (and to a less extent height).

When you see Arsenal this year and Liverpool last year. So much of their dominance comes from being able to squeeze teams high up the pitch. That’s facilitated by the absolutely ridiculous athleticism of VVD, Konate, Gabriel, Saliba (plus Mosquera & Hincapie now).

No matter their quality. If we press high with De Ligt & Martinez (or Maguire), you’re going to concede chances to crap teams with balls over the top pretty often

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

De Ligt won the "Golden Boy" award in 2018 for best young player in Europe.

Other notable winners of that award include Yamal, Bellingham, Haaland, Mbappe, Messi, Rooney, Aguero and…eh, ahem… Martial.

IMO the way he moved his body across the ball to allow for the right footed strike - while have the body control and abilty to strike the ball accurately and with power… that is incredible technique. Maybe shows a bit one-footedness? But I think decent one touch finish is doing it a disservice based on how he moved his body to execute that one touch. If he had been coming from left to right and hit that same strike in-stride i'd agrree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,523 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

While the poster was fairly aggressive in asking, it does pose the question of where the line is drawn. You attended the match, and by doing so, supported (in some way) the club that employs this "sewer rat". If that is your stance on Greenwood, I think it's fair enough to question why you would go to see any match he was playing in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,210 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

It was in Belgium, I doubt he went to support Marseille.

No doubting De Ligt doesn't have the top speed of some of the defenders you mentioned but for where we are at the minute (nowhere close to the heights that some of those defenders have been playing at recently), I don't see an issue with him and Martinez for now. (I do think Maguire is lost in a high press, don't think he has the same positional awareness of De Ligt and while his top speed may be similar, not sure if it is or not, his change of directional pace looks way slower to my eye).

De Ligt and Martinez mightn't be fast enough to compete for a team at the very top, but we're a distance away from the very top.

De Ligt has decent awareness and positional sense imo, that can compensate for a lack of pure speed. When Van Dijk wasn't twerking, he used both of these more than his outright pace for e.g.

We also seem to have a keeper who isn't completely stuck to his line, which also helps compensate.

At the highest level, I don't think you would want De Ligt and Martinez, but you could probably get away with one of them in a back three assuming the other two (Yoro and Heaven for eg) could cover on the pace front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,532 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Is DeLigt slow though? He's bulky but he's quick when he's moving. Changing direction less so.

Hopefully Martinez finds his place in the back 3. Him Stepping up into midfield in possession could help cover some of the bruno space.

Yoro is pretty quick. I think if we could get a run of games with them 3 there it could develop into something.
    The issues come more from the midfield in front IMO

"Asked the Marseille supporter sitting next to me..."

As I said, he was there supporting them (in some way). Being in the away section is being a part of the support.

If someone is so strong in their hatred of a player, and takes it upon themselves to question someone cheering that player on, as well as coming on a public forum to highlight this.... I think it's very fair to ask... why did you go to watch a match he played in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

that's not what was asked, not was it the manner in which it was asked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭DataDude

Agree on the top level part but ultimately it’s quite structural. You have to sit a few yards deeper with them and I think that then impacts everything.

True on VVD but at his peak (past now thankfully) he was so athletically gifted that nobody even tried to run him in behind as it was a waste of time. Lads 1v1 with 30 yards of space just turned and waited for supported.

He’s not as slow as Maguire but he’s definitely susceptible when he has to turn and run. Martinez is absolutely world class on the ball and brings a whole new dimension, but even prior to his major injury I felt his bottom quartile athleticism was a massive issue for us. I’m very skeptical he’ll be a major contributor going forward with the injuries he’s had. Hope I’m wrong.

Not that he’s a beacon of quality as he’s a donkey in many ways. But in the inter game last night, Liverpool pressed high at one stage and Mkhitarayn (not that he’s quick) has minimum 5 yards+ start on Konate. 2 v1 against VVD with Martinez. Konate was on half way and ate up the ground in seconds and mkhi had to play some crap half hearted ball that VVD swept up. We simply couldn’t press that high or we’d have given up a massive chance.

I’m a real believer that as football moves towards top teams pressing high and suffocating teams. Athleticism becomes absolutely essentially at CB

Maybe they were the only tickets he could get? It's not unusual to randomly go to game, I've been to Villa Park to watch Villa vs Arsenal, I was in with the away fans but was neutral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Signs we won our match this game week.

Our supporters are rowing about someone that hasn't played for us for 3 or more years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

So what's the expected team after the 3 lads are gone to Afcon?

I guess:

• Yoro for Mazraoui
    • Dorgu for Amad (with Dalot switching back to the right)
    • Sesko for Mbuemo (or Zirkzee if needed)

The squad is very thin really, especially at wingback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,532 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Push Shaw out to the left if Martinez keeps progressing well. Dalot and Shaw at wing back. Bring Dorgu on for Shaw later on to protect him a small bit.

The wingbacks options are terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭larchielads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,112 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

I wonder how long he would last. He’s kept himself fit this season but I’d imagine playing LCB is a big part of that? He might break down if playing LWB every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭jayo44

Was scanning thread I don't follow ye lot much now a days but seen few people talking about league table I think it was yoss who said he couldn't ever remember the league table been so condensed and the narrative is basically thats why united are so close to the top four, the reality is actually that compared to last season the points per position is pretty much the same give or take a point.

1000192645.jpg 1000192647.jpg

City were on 27 points on fourth last season, palace are on 26 in fourth this season.

Fulham were on 23 points in 10th last season and Liverpool 🤣🤣🤣🤣 are on 23 in 10th this season.

United were on 19 points in 13th last season where as this season Bournemouth are on 20 in 13th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Charlie69

@jayo44 Definitely a huge improvement on last season for sure.

I don't agree it's a huge improvement but it is an improvement.

We have had a couple of really negative results that have really clouded things. We are about where we should expect to be. Could be better tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,112 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

With 7 less games played at this point of the season as well, which has to be taken into consideration?

It’s great to be in 6th right now - considering where we’ve been the last two seasons but with the summer signings and the fact that we’re only participating in one competition - Liverpool being in crisis, Newcastle slow start, on course to climb - external things are definitely going in our favour which makes this look a little better than it is, imo. We could just as easy be tied for 2nd or 3rd - we pis$ed away points against Everton and West Ham.

I am concerned about the next 3 fixtures though. Bournemouth aren’t in great form, Semenyo has gone off the boil and Senesi went off injured in the last game - would be great if he misses out.. I think we can win that with the players available to us but Iraola knows what he’s at and they have beaten us 3-0 at Old Trafford the last two times. After that then are two more tough games.

If we can retain 6th after the next 3 I would be very happy. Then you’re heading into Wolves at home which should be another 3 points, even with the AFCON three gone.

That’s my take on it. Not intending to be negative but more to give a balanced view given the full picture. Let’s not be delusional either. (Not directed at anyone in particular)

I don't think I'd count myself as been deluded I think I'm pretty baby balanced on it. The highs ain't that high but I don't go screaming for mangers to be sacked.

I think the intensity should be there constantly now because we have played less games but that has to be in the players. For all the praise cas has got and Bruno both of them were guilty of sloppy lay of passes agaisnt wolves the other night. That kinda of mentality is terrible and it took a talking to at half time to wake them up by the looks of it. In a way we were probably ucky to concede before half time and not just after it.

I think we are a midfield overhaul away from saying we should be in the top four. If we end up there at end of the season it be a fair achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,666 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I don't believe for once second that this is true.

If it is then count yourself lucky that you didn't get a dig.

Do you generally go asking strangers if they have a daughter at football matches?

The fact he most likely didn't understand you, is probably the reason you didn't get a dig.

Also you must have asked him the age of his son, all very bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

I think you'd want to be pretty biased to not accept that we have improved considerably since last season. The underlying metrics show this but the issue is that we are still a side with glaring holes.

Bruno is a club legend and I love the man. He's not a central midfielder through. He doesn't recycle possession well enough nor is he disciplined enough to play the role. He's doing a pretty good job though to be fair to him and that's a testament to him.

Casemiro would actually be fine if we had an actual cm beside him who can take the ball on the half turn and recycle the ball correctly. The issue is that his battery is low and he fades in most games and we have to able replacement.

Next on the list is a wingback on the left. Dorgu has potential but he's raw and he will need a year or two as an understudy. Dalot is a functional player but I have serious doubts about him when the going gets tough.

We also need our centre halves to be braver with the ball and step out. We still play with too much fear.

This season is going to be all over the place with ups and downs but I personally have seen enough to say that this manager knows what he is doing and he should be left alone to get on with the job. I'd be dismayed if we sacked him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GolfPar

Jordi Cruyff on The Overlap this week. Very interesting conversation. Talked about a Club having an identity and Barcelona for example if a manager tried to play with wing backs they would be out the door before they know it. Wing backs he said in general are a very specialised position where they aren't good enough to be an out an out defender and also not good enough to warrant a starting position as an attacker. He also said if you move a manager on and the new manager plays 4 at the back it can take several transfer windows to get players needed. Also a lovely story about his daughter who has overcome cancer.