General Irish politics discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭midlander12

On the SF figure, they were far higher between 2021 and 2023 and then slumped before the GE. I'm not saying that will necessarily happen again this time, but opinion polls this far out are very much an academic exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,214 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Be grand, just put out a video advising 20-/30-somethings on how to move back in with your parents and it'll all be grand. All that needed was tips on how to file a planning objection against a new water treatment plant, schools or primary care centres that your town desperately needs for any new housing to be built.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,070 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Ken O'Flynn TD criticises Department of Justice for funding "White privilege" classes in schools.

I agree with him. We have no colonial history. This is imported from the US Progressive movement. While I oppose Trump, this sort of policy helped elect him.

The highest income group in the United States are Asians, which undermines the theory of "White Privilege". Children should not be told that they are privileged based on inborn characteristics. It's also damaging for minority children, as it teaches them to resent their classmates.

Statistics on income by race in the US back up that Whites are not the highest earning group there.

Screenshot_20251209-190147_Facebook.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Apart from quoting Ken O, can you link that what he says is true? Lots of lads stick up claims, obviously if its true it'd be concerning. But I'd like to see something concrete first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭Xenophile

THE IRISH GOVERNMENT SHOULD CONSIDER NOT SENDING ANYONE TO WASHINGTON FOR ST.PATRICK'S DAY.

TRUMP HAD A TERRIBLE RANT AGAINST EUROPE TODAY. HERE IS JUST A LITTLE OF WHAT HE HAD TO SAY.

Taoiseach refutes Trump comments

Elsewhere, the Taoiseach also refuted comments from US President Donald Trump suggesting that the European Union is “weak”.

Mr Trump told Politico that Europe was “decaying” and “destroying itself” as he criticised its immigration policies.

The Taoiseach said: “I would disagree with President Trump's description of Europe as weak.

“Obviously, it depends on how one defines strength, but Europe is one of the strongest continents in the world in terms of economic strength.”

Mr Martin added that Europe was strong during the pandemic, manufacturing and distributing vaccines, and that “Europe was the one continent that did not impose market bans or export authorisation bans”.

Mr Costa said the EU and the US will remain allies, and “must act as allies”, noting that neither should “interfere in the political internal life of our countries”.

Both leaders pledged support to Ukraine, confirming that the EU will continue to protect the country from Russia.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

Here is Harris answering (?) questions on the "Yellow Flag" programme teaching about "White privilege".

Where was White privilege when Ukraine was invaded? It didnt do them much good.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Harris answered his loaded questions quite well. Maybe you'd like to try and answer your own question in relation to Ukraine and why you posted it here - or are you just posting this nonsense to push a racist agenda?

Honestly, you're seriously using grift as a source???

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

The term "White Privilege" is a racist one in my opinion when used in Ireland. Its insulting to call children in school privileged, even if they come from a poor background, just because of their skin colour. We are not responsible for the crimes of slavery and colonialism in America or European colonialism.

Also Ken O'Flynn TD posted about the issue on Facebook.

My point on Ukraine is that it shows that misfortune can happen to anyone regardless of skin colour. We shouldnt present it as linked to skin colour. This is just importing the mistaken policies seen in other western countries, which in my opinion is something that parents do not agree with being thought to their children. We need integration of different ethnic groups here, not grievance politics.

We need to listen to what Martin Luther King said about judging not by the colour of skin, but by the content of character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

The only person in that interview mentioning "white privelege" was the interviewer. Harris didn't take the bait. Racism for what it's worth can include white victims, many eastern Europeans for instance, our own travellers also. The constant complaining about foreign nationals doesn't discriminate by colour. So I'd imagine it's an all inclusive teaching here.

Harris admitted supporting the Yellow Flag NGO program in schools. That program does mention "White Privilege".

He didnt say that he didnt support that aspect of it.

Racism for what it's worth can include white victims, many eastern Europeans for instance, our own travellers also

Correct which was in effect one of my points, that it can happen to people regardless of colour, and therefore its wrong to label an entire group as privileged. Anti semitism historically involved portraying the Jews in that way.

I think that if people are invited to our country and are going to stay, government policy should focus on integrating them, not grievance studies like "white privilege".

Post edited by Ozymandius2011 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Correct which was in effect one of my points, that it can happen to people regardless of colour, and therefore its wrong to label an entire group as privileged.

The word "therefore" is being asked to do more heavy lifting in that sentence than it can bear, Oz. Just because any individual or group can experience discrimination, it doesn't follow at all that no group can be privileged. On the contrary, both phenomena existing in parallel is extremely common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,282 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Any credible source for the "€1.5m for NGOs" claim…?

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I think that if people are invited to our country and are going to stay, government policy should focus on integrating them, not grievance studies like "white privilege".

Are you able to share where those invites are published?
    Which government department or agency issues those invites?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

I meant "invited" figuratively. I mean migrants.

I think the saying "When in Rome, do as the Romans do" is relevant. My criticism is of government policy, not migrants (other the individuals who abuse the system) who simply do what the government allows.

If I were in government I would not be spreading this "Critical Race Theory" ideology we've seen in the US. Its very divisive to tell schoolchildren that some in the class are privileged. Its been an issue in school board elections in the US.

When I was on holiday in England, I stand for their national anthem, not because Im a Unionist (which I am not), but out of respect for the country that I am visiting. I didnt go there to complain or protest. If you have a guest at your house who you feed, cloth and provide with shopping money, and they start calling you "privileged", how would that go down with most people? As ingratitude.

Post edited by Ozymandius2011 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,307 ✭✭✭Good loser

I'm sure if it had been the president of Cuba (or Venezueia) they would have applauded until their hands ached!

Take Cuba:

Average monthly wage $14.46.

89% of Cuban families 'live in extreme poverty

2.75 m people left since 2020 including around 790,000 last year

only 3% of Cubans can get the medicines they need in pharmacies

labour productivity is lower than in Haiti

state petrol stations often insist on payment only in dollars

I meant "invited" figuratively. I mean migrants.

You used the word "invited" as it suited your anti-immigrantion agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Oz, you seem to be veering between:

• White privilege isn't real, and
    • it upsets the beneficiaries of white privilege to point out their privilege, and therefore non-white migrants shouldn't point it out.

This discussion might be helped if you would say what you think is meant by "white privilege', and whether you think it's something real or not.

How are the majority of Irish people "privileged"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Don't know if anyone listened to this yet, latest episode of the Irish Times Politics podcast.

https://open.spotify.com/episode/1FUHz2g1s21og8Y5tFtJhO?si=1qB6W7pbSiSrsebCXKj-FA

Absolute car crash of an interview. Can't say I knew a whole pile about the guy before he was interviewed, but, he seemed keyed up right from the off and things go spectacularly off the rails. Spectacularly. He completely lost it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,761 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

White privilege doesn't exist for Irish people the same way it did/does in the US. We have no history of slavery and in fact we were closer to being the enslavee than the enslaver at a lot of cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Is that Eoin Lenihan? He's a right wing fella who has written a book about how the government and the Dáil, the mainstream media and NGOs (the 'establishment' in other words) are conspiring to screw the Irish population over. He's very popular with the usual suspects like Niall Boylan, Eddie Hobbs etc.

White privilege is simply this: if you're in trouble with of some kind — could be with the police, or a row with a state agency, or trying to access services, or it could be social issue rather than anything to do with the state — whatever your problem is, dealing with it is not made more difficult by the fact of your racial/ethnic background. It doesn't necessarily mean you get anything that you're not entitled to, or receive better treatment than you deserve; just that you can be confident that, in whatever situation you're in, you aren't further disadvantaged by your race, or by attitudes to your race.

It is, in short, a privilege that everyone should enjoy. But not everyone does. It gets called "white privilege" because the people who don't enjoy it are overwhelmingly characterised by not being white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,577 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Wasn't planning on listening to this, but decided I'd give it a whirl. What an absolute clown he came across as. Every second word for the middle portion was ANTIFA. Buzz word central. Everybody is wrong, except him. He's a big fan of gript by all accounts.

I do not know how people accept this drivel.

It's quite amazing how emotional he got. He really was struggling to not burst out crying. It was incredible how much he imploded.

Yes, fair enough, the questioning did get "robust", but he just could not handle it at all.

I think it cant really be compared with ex colonial powers or segregation in the US. In the case of the US, the vast majority of those affected by Jim Crow system were descendants of slaves. Their ancestors had lived in the US or the colonies in some cases for centuries.

I'm worried that White privilege can be interpreted as implying some kind pf inherited guilt by White Irish people for what the US and colonial powers did to Blacks. Ireland was itself colonised and went through similar horrors. We were not the villains of the piece, and we certainly arent now either.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

"White privilege" as a concept makes pretty limited sense in an Irish context and is most definitely an import from the US, whose society is far more stratified along racial lines (and has far more racial variety).

I would think that the people who actually teach and publish on white privilege would say that your worry is based on a complete misconception of what "white privilege" actually is. And the fact that such misconceptions abound would suggest a greater, not a lesser, need for teaching of, and discussion about, this phenomenon.

Historically there was slavery in Ireland but (a) it was a long time ago, compared to the US and Britain, and (b) it wasn't racially based. So there's no direct link between slavery in Ireland and race- or ethnicity-based disadvantage in Ireland.

But that doesn't mean that Ireland is free of race- or ethnicity-based disadvantage, or that our attitudes to race and ethnicity are unaffected by the wider western culture of which we are a part. So, yeah, there absolutely is roomfor discussion about how these things play out in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pureza

An article in the Irish times today seems to suggest that SF have so many properties that they don’t know which is which and have not put them in the party accounts

One of them is a 4 bed house in Cavan (in a housing shortage) that they bought,converting it to offices,and put some trustees in as owners

The ‘inability’ to get a handle on who is ‘trustee’ of what it seems,means they are now in violation of SIPO rules and not entitled to state funding

These people want to run the country???

Behind a paywall but you get the gist :

Sinn Féin’s property portfolio: Inside the wealthiest political party in the State

https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2025/12/15/sinn-fein-investigates-property-portfolio-as-greater-transparency-set-by-new-accounting-rules/

Echoes of FF in in the Haughey era.

This jesuitical distinction between what is owned by the national party and local party should not be accepted by SIPO.

We need to avoid a US style 'dark money" problem in our politics like we had in the Haughey era. Russia uses dark money to influence Western politics, as shown by the Nathan Gill bribery case in the UK. Israel also uses money to control UK foreign policy, as shown by Peter Osborne's program on the UK Israel lobby, which can be viewed on youtube.