Gigs for 2025 - post your reviews here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Those were real poeple in the crowd dressed as the "white guy". The guy in the gorilla costume was posing for pictures with them before the gig, too. I saw at least 2 of them in the crowd and went home to Cork on the Aircoach at midnight with one of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,871 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Lisa O’Neill at her new album launch in Spindizzy Records this evening. I know she mainly plays acoustic guitar but she is totally unique and Cavan’s greatest ever songwriter.

IMG_8284.jpeg

BTW people who bring their baby to a record launch should be……… you can fill in the blank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Choochtown

She's a one-off. As you say totally unique whilst also being totally genuine and true to herself.

A national treasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Granite Head

WETLEG @ Olympia - dissapointingly Meh. The gig was literally one hour but I honestly was'nt sorry it ended early. After the first three songs I thought this was going to be a cracker but the rest of the gig descended into boredom, that not even smoke filled bubbles could lift. I see she is charging €67 for her Trinity series gig next year - in my opinion way over priced. In hindsight @ €50 for tonight was a stretch for a two album band.

2026 Gigs and Events: Bren Berry, Grant Lee Philips, Jarlath Regan, Craig Finn, Westside Cowboy, Magdalena Bay, Neil Delamare, The Streets,The Paper Kites, TJ Baham, Borderline Festival (Fri + Sat), Whitney, Stereolab (Whelans), Antlers, David Byrne, Buck Meek, Bar Italia, Gene, Gorillaz, Thundercat, Belle & Sebastion x2, Jason Byrne, President, Jacob Alon, Robert Finley, Big Thief, The Big Star Quintet, Superfurry Animals, These Charming Men, Kraftwerk, Ray LaMontagne, Sugar, Mack Fleetwood, Pixies, Stewart Lee, Aldous Harding, Royel Otis, The Cure, Florence & the Machine, Beta Band, Forest Fest, ATN, Moby, GOAT, Jack White, Sigar Ros, Michael Shannon & Jason Narducy, Bonny Prince Billy, Death Cab for Cutie, Olafur Arnalds, Reytones, Arab Strap, Arlo Parks, Strokes, Cat Power, Widows Peak, Jeff Tweedy, Ocean Colour Scene, Fat Dog, Interpol & Bloc Party, Madra Salach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Getdown Services massive fun in the Button Factory. More a sort of Indie panto than a straightforward gig, huge audience participation but the 2 lads are deadly, great craic, funny, relatable, dead on. Just a lovely vibe there, crowd responded in kind. Nights like that just make me feel better about the human race. God bless us all. Amen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭dasdog

Bob Vylan was phucking wild. Glad I was upstairs. The energy level was insane. It will probably make the news tomorrow as he joined in the IDF chants. Call outs to Chuck D though, you know you are on the right side of humanity.

1000011632.jpg

With the choice of gigs tonight in Dublin, you might have made the wrong choice there in hindsight, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,871 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

I was downstairs by the stage. Could take a few days for the ears to recover. Cracking gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,100 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Loved Model/Actriz. Way dancier live than on record with a good rhythm section, the place was hopping even to what I would seem the slower stuff. Serious front man who had the place bouncing from start to finish. Interesting crowd. Hope to see them at ATN or BTP.

What a seriously great night's music in Dublin tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭LLamachara

Bob Vylan were incredible. Atmosphere was something else. Karla from Sprints was a great surprise

Life affirming gig. Just class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭LLamachara

IMG_7916.jpeg

Sums it up. Lovely crowd. Great vibes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,308 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Night 1 of 2 of Hans Zimmer in the 3Arena.

Superb as always and a very appreciative audience 👏 Highlights for me include finally hearing Chevaliers de Sangreal live, the incredible Gladiator soundtrack, and F1 is an absolute banger live!

20251126_195258.jpg 20251126_195956.jpg 20251126_202159.jpg 20251126_223318.jpg 20251126_224211.jpg 20251126_225106.jpg 20251126_222200.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Granite Head

Yeah, You win some, you lose some but if you don't go out you'd never know. I caught Getdown Services earlier in the year in the Workmans and as you say just good fun! - they would have been my choice tonight but I was already committed to Wet Leg.

2026 Gigs and Events: Bren Berry, Grant Lee Philips, Jarlath Regan, Craig Finn, Westside Cowboy, Magdalena Bay, Neil Delamare, The Streets,The Paper Kites, TJ Baham, Borderline Festival (Fri + Sat), Whitney, Stereolab (Whelans), Antlers, David Byrne, Buck Meek, Bar Italia, Gene, Gorillaz, Thundercat, Belle & Sebastion x2, Jason Byrne, President, Jacob Alon, Robert Finley, Big Thief, The Big Star Quintet, Superfurry Animals, These Charming Men, Kraftwerk, Ray LaMontagne, Sugar, Mack Fleetwood, Pixies, Stewart Lee, Aldous Harding, Royel Otis, The Cure, Florence & the Machine, Beta Band, Forest Fest, ATN, Moby, GOAT, Jack White, Sigar Ros, Michael Shannon & Jason Narducy, Bonny Prince Billy, Death Cab for Cutie, Olafur Arnalds, Reytones, Arab Strap, Arlo Parks, Strokes, Cat Power, Widows Peak, Jeff Tweedy, Ocean Colour Scene, Fat Dog, Interpol & Bloc Party, Madra Salach

Absolutely. Saw most of Wet Legs set at Green Man this year and they were great but if I could have, I would have been at Bob Vylan or Model Actriz tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

I was also at Model/Actriz in Whelans. Don't know if it sold out on the night but it was damn close to full. I was expecting it to be noisier and a lot more intense live tbh but it was good fun nonetheless. To my ears the frontman's vocals veered between Marc Almond and Erasure's Andy Bell. I suspect this is what Chalk think they sound like. Agree that they're another one to add to the festival list. Would definitely get a crowd moving.

I enjoyed Null Club, which was Gilla Band's guitarist doing his thing with added keys, knobs and laptop. The vocals were samples only. Operating in a similar area to F@ck Buttons i guess.

Very busy weekend coming up if i can summon the energy.

…^……<…./?::;;:::@"! ((((((*))))))#=)))))~

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,439 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Just back from bobby V in vicar Street. Man I need more gigs like that in my life. Energetic high tempo from the start. Loud, angry, articulate, kind, young man telling it as it is. Whether it's RATMesque funk metal guitar, prodigy-like rave breakbeats or simple 4 chord punk those London boys can really hit hard.

Big shout out to Meryl streek as support too. I was impressed. If he's at a festival near you you should check him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭geotrig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭colmufc

No idea what gig you were at last night, wet leg were superb from start to finish, also its a band so ''she'' is not charging €67 they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭BAABAA96

wouldn’t agree with you there, thought they were brilliant. For a two album band they gave full value by playing almost every single one of their songs! First time seeing them but I will likely see them next year as I think outdoor gigs might suit them better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭colmufc

100% agree, myself and the OH talked on the 2 hour drive home about next July 1st, kings of leon a 20min drive neil young and elvis costello 75mins or back to wet leg and we think its back to wet leg, hopefully a decent support is added cause they have english teacher on the uk summer shows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,728 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I was at it too. Big industrial vibes, NIN vibes, mid 90s Marylin Manson, Dave Gahan. Band are great. Really enjoyed it.

It was sold out for weeks. Whelan's oversell gigs. Too many people there.

1000124391.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Zardoz

He has gotten rid of alot of the Orchestra for this tour it seems.

Going tonight, hopefully its good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭Jaffa3000

Agreed, thought it was a great show. A lot heavier than the recordings too.

Loved the smoke bubbles haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭SQ2

First time seeing Bob Vylan last night, loved the music and plenty of crowd noise and energy for a Wednesday! Felt too much like an political rally at times though for too long, chanting etc. As I said, 1st time seeing them live, maybe that's what you sign up for going to his gigs? Bloody nice guys though and heavy as fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,728 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

There was a load of free Palestine shite at Model/Actriz too.

Not sure what you expected tbh. The band are well known for the political stuff. To paraphrase the singer a few years back in the Button Factory, if we didn't do the chat from the stage it would be an extremely short gig.

Just a heads up that Mery Streek is in the Academy, Wednesday 17th December. Support is from The Chisel, who are definitely worth a look (though i prefer their less melodic material).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭SQ2

Like I said, it was my first BV gig, I hadn't done more than listen to the music since they popped up on my radar after Glasto. Yep, he explained it was 50% chat also at the start. Loved the music, thought there would be better momentum with continuous music, Karla from Sprints cameo was savage too by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭boomdocker

Assuming it's correct, hard to see how they'd get through that setlist in an hour….??

https://www.setlist.fm/setlist/wet-leg/2025/3olympia-theatre-dublin-ireland-5b45d7c8.html