General Irish politics discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Get Real

In fairness, I don't think Paschal resigning to take up a 600k a year role is in any way whatsoever a reflection on Simon Harris.

That's not to be taken as defending Simon Harris or criticism of him either.

But from a purely logical point of view, if you're a human, and someone offers you 600k to leave a c200k role...you could have the best boss in the world and take it.

I don't know how you can infer from this move, that he left primarily because Harris is at the helm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭jmcc

If Hutch had not been in the 2024 GE race, Daly might have got many more votes as an anti-government protest candidate. That protest vote is still there. The problem is that the turnout in bye-elections is often lower than that in GEs. There was also an ideological aspect to Daly's vote and her vote in 2024 might reflect that. It really depends on the anger of the electorate at the time the bye-election is held.

Regards…jmcc

The FG of today is no longer the FG of 2011 when Donohoe was first elected to the Dail. Back then it had 76 seats and close to a majority, It provided Donohoe with a career path. FG now has 37 seats. Donohoe probably rose as high as he was going to rise in FG. In career terms, it was probably the best move he could make. Even if he did not run for the leadership of FG, a few more years in government and then possibly a decade or so on the opposition benches would hardly compare favourably to the World Bank job.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭pureza

Didn’t Hutch’s votes last time or the bulk of them coincidentally mirror the number of new registrations in that constituency?

Also sure how would he get a tax compliance certificate?

Thirdly ,1 seat in a by election means everyone else transfers against him so how would he have a hope,he’d be at nothing

I’ll tell you who would have a chance ,probably, Claire Daly unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Her pro Russia stance has been exposed too much, with the Ukrainian invasion ongoing I don't see how she gets elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭antimatterx

I'll miss him on P2P. I subscribe to it and loved the 2 episodes at the weekend. The jury is still out of course but so far it's a hard listen. No one is tuning in for Matt unfortunately.

I don't think it's fair to compare FG to 2011. It was an anomaly. They were the protest vote against FF.

50-60 seats (in an expanded Dáil) is the best I see FG doing long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,517 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I agree that the podcast is now doomed, you need the 2 lads bouncing off each other.

Having said that, he has come across as a complete clown in the last few weeks. He has not owned his conflicts of interest and I imagine his media training business is done (he has shown to be poor at it himself and his client list has been poor too). Can't see him back on Irish media again.

I think he'll be back. He has been very arrogant about everything but he is quite entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

You'd wonder how the concept of a conflict of interest even exists if, as Yates claims, people can just decide not to be biased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,600 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

"I imagine his media training business is done"

Well not according to Ivan, he was asked about how the controversy had affected his business and he said he's still booked up for 2026 and that it's seen as 'media hype' outside the political bubble. Most of his media training by his account is for the private sector and NGOs.

He was scheduled to leave P2P in January voluntarily anyway.

I found his openness before the committee refreshing as well as entertaining. An exceptional performance in all senses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,074 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Well exactly. But it's the same old broken record again and again.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,074 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I doubt Ivan will be putting "I media coached Jim Gavin" on his CV… it's hard to recall a more useless media performer than him in a major election.

Clare Daly's area isn't Dublin Central, and to win a by-election you need 50% after transfers. She still has her supporters but a LOT of people really, really dislike her for all sorts of good reasons.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

In 2011, FF had been reduced to 20 seats and Labour had also gained seats and was at 37 seats. FG offered a political career path to Donohoe. FG has been in a long term decline since then and has consistently lost seats in every subsequent GE. The 50-60 range is optimistic as it would require the collapse of FF because FF and FG are now fishing in the same pool for votes. The range seems possible with a a merged FF and FG party.

FG seems stronger in younger demographics than FF. The problem is that FG leadership has been unable to exploit that advantage. It has become too subservient to FF. It is also developing an identity problem in that it is too closely linked to FF's electoral fortunes. The trend has been for FF to gain seats at the expense of FG with FG going into government as FF's junior partner. To even get close to that 50-60 seat range, FG will have to rebuild during a time in opposition as it should have done after the 2020 GE. At the moment, there is nothing to differentiate FG from FF for the voter.

Regards…jmcc

• Administrators Posts: 56,250 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I think the point is it wouldn't really matter if FG had all 174 Dail seats and Harris was the strongest leader in the history of the State, there's no way you turn down the chance to triple your income to 600k, and it is difficult to infer that him leaving is a reflection on Harris, though I am sure some will try really hard to convince us that it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

600k tax free as well, so in effect he'll be taking home approx 5 times his current salary.

It is about a career path. Thinking of it as being just about the money over-simplifies it. Donohoe went as far as he could go in FG and there was speculation that his next move would be a job in Europe. The World Bank job was the next stage of his career path.

Regards…jmcc

• Administrators Posts: 56,250 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Donohue could have been FG leader had he wanted to be. To suggest he went as far as he could in FG is clearly nonsense.

The World Bank job may have been the next stage on his career path, but if this is true it does suggest the idea he is leaving because of Simon Harris is rubbish.

The reality is that Donohue was an exceptionally good politician who was particularly talented in financial briefs and he was an excellent fit for a high profile, prestigious job that will very significantly change his standard of living. There is little more to it than that, despite how much you want there to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Correct, Paschal went as far as he wanted to go in politics. He said himself on the Irish Times podcast (very good listen, for anyone interested) that he never had any interest in becoming Taoiseach.

Perhaps you'd be good enough to post a link to it if it is not a subscription podcast?

Regards…jmcc

The Irish Times Political podcast.

There was an error displaying this embed.

https://pca.st/episode/6f76e895-4c66-4d5f-b511-54343fe910b8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,915 ✭✭✭blackwhite

She does have an ego as wide as O’Connell St though, so it’s not hard to see her convincing herself to run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,467 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

G6nbBMFXwAAiZaO.jpg

Whoops the Chair posing with a (load of people holding a) bill… she is to oversee a debate on later that day :/

Her minders mustn't have been around to tell her not to. Of course she won't admit she was wrong to even pose with the bill, tries to push it entirely onto SF posting the photo online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,290 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Unfit to hold the chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,467 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

One can see why her staff might have thought it would have been ok

The statement said the office believed the photocall was cross-party and, on that basis, that the Ceann Comhairle was photographed.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2025/1125/1545846-verona-murphy-sf/

They may not have followed her outside…

To be fair, this feels more like a sinn fein issue rather than a Verona issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

Ireland "budgeting like there's no tomorrow". Scathing from IFAC (again). Not that anyone will notice or care (including voters). As I've said before we're getting what most people voted for

Irish voters are a puzzling breed. Most have lived through (and paid for) a national bankruptcy (two in the case of a significant number) yet vote for another in their droves

https://www.fiscalcouncil.ie/fiscal-assessment-report-november-2025-2/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Worth pointing out that, if you read the report, the "budgeting like there's no tomorrow" comment is not a reference to the amount of spending, the growth in spending, the amount of the surplus, or the reliance on corporation tax revenues. It's a comment on the fact that the Government hasn't produced updated medium-term budgetary forecasts that extend past 2026.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,024 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Don't worry though Simon is on the case - getting the soundbite in about moving beyond shorttermism and how he's going to have the report all published by the end of the year.

What odds would you get on that I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,784 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Not that anyone will notice or care (including voters). 

Or will only care if they convince themselves the lavish spending is going exclusively to 'furriners'. I think every single comment critical of fiscal policy on this journal article mentions immigration/IPAS Centres/Ukranians etc.