Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Repro212

I don't understand the hand wringing over how we secure the border. These people aren't parachuting into the north or coming across the Irish Sea in canoes before slipping over the border. Get a deal in place with the British to put proper checks in place in ports and airports. Its in everybody's interests to turn people back as soon as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,714 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

In fairness its not just the prods who are at fault on this one.

O Neill doesn't want to see any checks on the border and for some strange reason our own government is reluctant to do anything about it either.

As for the Brits, they probably see it as a bit of a win if the migrants make their way over to Ireland and become our problem to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭riddles

Preventing access to services to.people who present here directly and in the wider EU is an essential next step and ensuring immediate deportations executed on. It is completely unfair on families in UN camps on international protection relocation lists.

They are not as mobile or cant pay traffickers as the single young males. The border with the north to police its many crossings would be a logistical and costly exercise.

I accept we have a Labour shortage. But part of the solution to that should be upskilling and apprenticeships. We need to stop telling people that manual labour is something "low skilled".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

https://www.thejournal.ie/denis-obrien-immigration-6883130-Nov2025/

Micheál Martin:

“I wouldn’t agree with that. The fundamental drivers of migration, in my view, are war, climate change, authoritarian governments and traffickers. I mean, there is a rich trade in trafficking human beings, which has to be stopped,” he told reporters at the G20 summit in Johannesburg, South Africa.

This is the same Micheál Martin that admitted 80% of asylum seekers were not genuine, they are economic migrants.

Talk about speaking out of both sides of your mouth. The man can’t help himself - he literally cannot pass up an opportunity to morally grandstand in front of international press. Even when it’s utterly contradictory to what he’s said mere months ago.
    Total snake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

Do we have labour shortages or is that just what employers want us to believe while we bring in cheap labour from the third world? Most staff that I see in the likes of supermarkets and fast food places are from the likes of India, where traditionally students would have filled those roles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭creedp

Couldnt put it any better. Micheal and his ilk just want to be loved and have their head patted for being so progressive and compassionate to all sundry. Coupled with so many people going on during the recent Presidency election being embarrassed about what our new President might say or do to upset some random person abroad. as if that’s the most important thing in the world to them.

We’re in deep shite as a country until people in power grow a back bone and do what’s right for the residents of this country first and foremost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

mehole flying all around the world and doling out our tax money to everyone and anyone who will pay him on the head and say what a good little guy he is.

No interest in the people of this country who have built it up since independence.we’re just all called far right

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 22,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭tallaghtfornia

No offence but what do you expect from this charlatan (MM) ??They have invited him over there as he always brings the cheque book plenty of money to get browning points for anyone but his own country and people .. and he is most likely chasing a position with the UN after he’s kicked out of office here so it works to his advantage .

I’ve got to a stage where it’ makes me sick even looking at him. Always wants to be the passionate statesman talking with his hands!! Every word that comes out of his mouth is politicaly correct rubbish that he has been told to say by his advisors.

Post edited by tallaghtfornia on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Emblematic

I think we'll see little backlash from commentators who tend to be pro-immigration against MM's statements here. It tends to be the lower-down people who get the flack for even suggesting that immigration might be something that needs to be examined.

To think all the good that money and all the other money they gave away to make themselves look good to the world (Irish Tax payers hard earned cash) could have done here.

That money belongs to people who work hard and pay tax in Ireland and we did not give him a veto to give it away to the world we expect the taxes we pay for to be used for benefit of people who work for them. We have no idea who’s hands this money ends up in all I hear is this guy going to these summits and staiting that Ireland is committed to this and that !!!

For example If he was only that generous with our schools that would restore some of my faith. In my line of work I have worked with school principals who have to fight for every penny and they get this guy in god knows what country giving our money away to god knows who.. these self serving politicians are out at these summits commiting us to all types of globelist nonsense and it’s costing tax payers a lot of money to make themselves look good ..

We need strong leadership in this country leadership that will put Irish people first .Say what you want about Trump at least he puts is country first!!!!!! And these guys are going to get a shock if Farage ends up in Number 10!!!

Post edited by tallaghtfornia on

Martin is always the same when he is talking about immigration , waving the hands and almost apologising for making policy changes.

It just makes him look weak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭thomas 123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I'll see your two-faced fecker, and I'll raise you another two-faced fecker

Ladies and gentlemen, please give it up for…Leo Varadkar-Eichmann

"Last year, speaking at the University of Notre Dame, emphasising that migration was a positive for Ireland, I conceded that immigration levels were too high in recent years. Hardly a radical statement when 2024 and 2023 were the second and third highest years for net inward migration since records began, and that our population is the fastest-growing in Europe. I was accused of dog-whistling and a “new low”.

"I was accused of dog-whistling and a “new low”…says the guy that commanded RTE to gaslight the public for 3.5 years -

Times -

https://archive.is/tLI5f

The same Leo that penned a letter to the Sindo in Jan 24 - This pile of lies was destroyed by Barry Whyte (NT) in an article the same day - That was before Govt sent a huge wedge of cash to NT to make them stop talking about immigration (which largely worked I should add)

Speaking of M Martin - At this weeks PQs Mary Lou Mc had a feeble attempt at being in opposition. When looking for another round of energy payments for the perma-shafted public, the response from MM was 'You want it to go to millionaires?'. (Yes, the same as the last two years ya muppet)

What MLMD could have said is - 'Can you mansplain this for me Taoiseach - you have no money for energy payments for the Irish population but you can pay billions to house economic migrants, and in fact, a whopping €231m alone to just one family in Monaghan, how does that work Taoish?'

Of course MLMD couldn't say that because they have completely snookered themselves by aligning with the crazy lefties, when it actually turns out that 80% of the country wants this madness to stop…

…as the Govt looks at SF/Lab/SocDems smugly thinking, you idiots!

So there we have it. A government of incompetents, a self-censored opposition and a paid off media doing nothing

Rumour has it Mickey Mouse wears an 'Ireland' watch (to borrow Boycie's line)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 22,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

It just makes him look weak.

He is a weak politician and is probably still reeling from the presidential election fiasco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

Mickey Martin has been talking out both sides of his mouth for years, sure this is what he said on record in a Dáil Éireann debate on Wednesday, 24 Nov 1999

There should also be no place in our debates for the naive extremes of those who think we can have completely open borders and manage any number of refugees, or those who would exclude all non-EU immigrants.

&

An increasing number of people are casually bandying around the word "racist". This does nothing to foster an informed and balanced discussion of the issues.

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/debate/dail/1999-11-24/speech/436/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

Have been saying it for years, MM has a great talent for speaking a lot without actually saying anything at all. His feigned stuttering and befuddled responses sound forced and ripped off from his most dubious predecessor, whom he lived in the shadow of and came out from under with nothing to his name but the smoking ban legislation, which he milked to oblivion for the guts of three decades…

With regard to the new immigration rules - reminds me of that simpson's episode where Apu is fighting for his citizenship, he jokes (upon being successful) that the first place he will go to is the social welfare office. Yet Ireland, so enriched with our own tax money, go beyond this joke and give social welfare to anyone and everyone who comes into the country regardless of their citizenship status. They literally feed the pie baked by irish and legal migrants and hand it to the most resourceful spongers of the planet (who, frankly, are no loss to their own countries, let alone ours).

Yet, people will still vote these charlatans back in election after election because their ancestral fear of change forces them to do so…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,072 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

It's as if some of our politicians are waking up to this issue, after 10 years of denial.

Our only hope we have is if Farrage gets into power in the UK !! and as our government know have and have told us we no veto on who our neighbours are !! We will have no choice but to align with our neighbour’s immigration decisions as it will have huge issues here with us been used as the UKs Rwanda.

As much I can’t stand Farrage I feel he is our only hope for these idiot Irish politicians to get there act together with illegal immigration and bogas asylum claims.

The only way we are going to stop this illigal immigration fascio is a no visa no entry system and it needs to be a solid UK/IE/NI agreement.

Like Australia if you arrive illegally in an illegal maritime vessel or other illgal means without a visa you will be detained untill your identity can be proven and your asylum claim will will be processed humanely in a detention centre offshore / onshore and after that released in to the community on a temporary basis untill your country is deemed safe or deported to your home country on rejection no matter your status if your a single man/woman or married couple etc with no chance of citizenship or permanent status unless you have passed a very stringent test to prove you will be of value to Irish or UK society.

Also we have a large group of well connected people politically and NGOs who are making a lot of money out of this and this needs to be addressed aslo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,892 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

The Irish government as usual take a "what are they doing over there?" approach to problems, reactionary, rather than being pro-active. And if they were honest, the recent Irish Presidential election gave them a bit of a slap in the face to cop on to reality.

The UK are looking to Denmark for inspiration on how to tackle the immigration issue, and we(the Irish government) will copy some of the UK's homework.

We're not going anywhere near far enough to tackle the issue, or to prevent it. I read this article on CNN a few days ago. Denmark are doing way more than us, and it shows in the numbers of asylum seekers.

https://edition.cnn.com/2025/11/19/europe/denmark-asylum-immigration-system-intl

Just a few standout points from it.

Of the 99,811 residence permits Denmark granted last year, just 859 went to asylum seekers – less than 1%.

Denmark’s policies had reduced asylum claims to a 40-year low and resulted in the removal of 95% of those whose claims are rejected. In 2024, there were four new asylum claims per 10,000 people in Denmark, compared to 16 per 10,000 in Britain, and 20 per 20,000 for the European Union as a whole.

By comparison, here's Ireland's figures for 2024.

Screenshot_2025-11-23-23-20-11-373-edit_com.android.chrome.jpg

How does Ireland, a tiny island on the periphery of Europe have over double the EU average?

We're a soft touch, the asylum seekers know this, that's why they're coming here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

image.png

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/rwandan-genocide-survivor-says-being-in-ipas-for-almost-a-year-is-like-prison/a1622642686.html

Then why is she in an IPAS centre, she should have applied for a work permit so she could come and work here, instead of using the refugee system.

This kind of **** really needs to be called out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Nick Henderson of the refugeecouncil was on newstalk this morning opposing any changes to immigration laws and denying there was any pull factor bringing asylum seekers here from around the world. I swear the man will only be happy when we have totally open borders and give every arrival a house and social welfare, no questions asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,300 ✭✭✭Floppybits

And of course the likes of Newstalk will give him free reign on the airways to spout this rubbish. Did they have anyone else on who was on the opposite side of the argument?

Not directing this at you @Patrick2010 but more in general, why the change of policy now from the government? Up till a short while ago anyone who was talking about the measures the government are now taking was called a racist, bigot or far right. Infact Martin said on Red FM radio when challenged by the presenter Neil Prendervile about "Open Borders policy" he said to Prendervile "Where's your humanity" and now we have Martin and that weasel Harris coming out to say they have never styfiled debate about immigration. Does anyone in the country still believe a word that comes out of their mouths?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

And of course the likes of Newstalk will give him free reign on the airways to spout this rubbish. Did they have anyone else on who was on the opposite side of the argument?

of course not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

To be fair, when he was interviewed by Pat Kenny on Newstalk a couple of years ago, Pat asked him straight out - "How many refugees have you taken in to your house, Nick?"

He got word salad as a (non) response.

Pushing back against any changes to immigration policy seems to be the hill the SDs want to die on.

Think we dodged a bullet after the last election when they couldn't agree with FFG about forming a government.

Certain NGOs have an obvious economic incentive to promote open borders. Its more grants for them from the government. I personally think those grants need to more conditional.

I also think the Quango called IHREC should either be abolished (it was set up in the last government at the behest of the Greens) or abolished. It is suing the government to get a legal requirement to house every asylum seeker. The High Court backed them, then the Court of Appeal sided against them, and now the Supreme Court has agreed to hear it. They are citing the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights.

I personally think that this has implications across the EU, and therefore maybe should be referred to the ECJ regardless of the Supreme Courts decision. Otherwise, Ireland could find itself one of few EU states obliged to house every comer who claims asylum.

I also have reservations about the use of the term "International Protection", because it implies that the person seeking it is in need of protection from some danger, which may or may not exist. I think only if a danger is proven should they allowed to apply for "International Protection".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,354 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Well that's a ridiculously poor question from the other fella .

Be same as him being asked was he going to take a pay cut himself if talking about presenters pay or would he take back his PP objections in his own area if discussing apartment building .

How is it relevant except having a personal.pop.at someone .

Personalising issues that are being discussed is just harassment .

Have to add not a fan of Henderson at all but hate to see partisan interviewing .

Post edited by Goldengirl on