If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pascal Donoghue to World Bank

12346»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

He hasn't been a 'career politician' since at least March 2024 when he could have become Taoiseach. He's just been waiting to be head hunted for years. Hardly 'archetypal'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭itsacoolday

Heard Colm McCarthy the well respected economist on the radio today. He was talking about the previous downturn, when the IMF were here 15 years ago. He made the point the present govt are trying to SPEND their way out of a boom.

I can only be reminded of rats leaving a sinking ship, that our economy will be very very different in a number of years time and Pascal will always be able to say the economy was fine when he left it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,344 ✭✭✭✭elperello

It's been clear for a long time that he was looking for a suitable post.

After 21 years I think it's fair enough to cut him some slack and allow him to choreograph his exit to suit his own timetable.

IIn fairness, I doubt if the world bank will be head hunting a minister of finance originally from Donegal in 10 years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,097 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I don’t like people being in very lucrative salaried taxpayer funded public roles and then scurrying off to other more lucrative roles where clearly that taxpayer funded role and all its connections and “ins” is what the next organisation are interested in- it stinks to high heaven, and in my opinion extremely dishonest and exploitative.
    I had to nauseatingly listen to this bollox just a few weeks ago on Rte Radio 1 lecture the phone in peasants about how he wouldn’t give them a measly piddling tax cut all because they “needed to protect the economy”. - all the while plotting his exit to a tax free €600k plus role elsewhere- The whole thing really is rotten to the core. A despicable creature

It's a given he knows the tax bubble from U.S. and foreign multinationals is unsustainable, just as the stamp duty and property bubble was unsustainable in 2006. He know things will turn very ugly if and when the well runs dry and sf get in to power, and he wants out. Hard to blame him.

but he was and is entirely instrumental in creating that bubble. Again I don’t get what the gushing praise is about for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,238 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Yes there is a serious conflict of interest.

He was clearly auditioning for the role in the last few years, much like Varadkar with his lobbying role.

Its a dirty business and most of the politicians are parasites in it for their own gain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,998 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

USD410k plus USD165k living expenses, all tax free. Not outrageous for an international organisation but way beyond Ireland or EU organisations.

indeed- they can pretty much do as they please these days because there is no accountability or consequence. FG and FF are in bed together so there is no opposition or real allowed alternative either

how does the “tax free” work? Would he still have to do an income tax return here in Ireland?
    One rule for the pampered elites- quite another for the peasants. The likes of pascal don’t have such worries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,570 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Pampered elites jesus wept, lads most of ye wouldnt last a week as a td , politics isn't a profession I'd wish on my worst enemy.

they don’t seem to be doing too badly out of it all the same- course they’re pampered elites- they have privileges way beyond anything I or most could ever dream of. All part funded by people earning fraction of what they are paid. What else would you call someone preaching publicly about how he couldn’t /wouldn’t reduce the tax burden on someone earning say €40-50k per annum? Would you think they’re representing that persons best interests and empathetic to their situation?
    Then skulks off to a tax free role paying many multiples of said person- I’d call them a dirty rotten hypocrite but I’m old fashioned that way

I do not know whether there are express provisions dealing with Irish incomes for IBRD income but it is probably irrelevant as he will

Live in Washington and unlikely to be Irish resident - split year treatment for foreign employment income would likely exclude it from the charge tomIria income tax for the remainder of this year. The tax-free aspect is more relevant in respect of US income tax and is dealt with by way of agreement between the US and IBRD as is common with other international organisations and non-US citizens.

21 years is like half a working lifetime but you think he owes us more.

You think we own him ?

You understand how the corporate world works concerning these matters ?

Basically you build on your contacts, get a step up the ladder, 6 or 7 years on a good salary, allowances expenses etc. plus share options.

Then it's out the gap to rinse and repeat, build up the pension fund and retire whenever it suits.

I don’t care about him as you may have gathered and his “public service” (which wasn't a charity gig btw) has done sweet eff all for the likes of me just ever increasing levies, carbon taxes, property taxes, non moving tax bands (an effective tax rise post inflation) -

Politics is all about decisions and his instincts and decisions are and were frankly atrocious for people like me and anyone in the squeezed middle

you can be damn sure it’s all set up in such a way that it’ll maximise the benefit to pascal and his ilk. As an Irish Paye worker unfortunately we have no such sweet heart set up options

Yes I gathered from the common abuse you were heaping on him that you're not a fan.

Even so you hardly expect him or other politicians to be charity workers.

Your criticism of fiscal and taxation policies is focussed on your own circumstances which is fair enough but Governments have to make decisions for all sectors.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I don’t like people being in very lucrative salaried taxpayer funded public roles and then scurrying off to other more lucrative roles where clearly that taxpayer funded role and all its connections and “ins” is what the next organisation are interested in- it stinks to high heaven, and in my opinion extremely dishonest and exploitative.

I am not sure you fully understand the earning potential of the fast track career path he was on when he left it to become a councillor

The man did not go into politics for the payday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭antimatterx

Why would he though? A sitting finance minister is in much more demand than an ex finance minister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭antimatterx

Lol. I don't mind Pearse honestly. He seems like a decent guy and I'll never vote SF. I just wish he'd tone down the rhetoric. Not everything the government does is awful. Especially the budget 12 months ago. There was something for everyone in the audience and he still had to pretend to be outraged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭nolivesmatter

The only thing him not trying to become Taoiseach at that time shows is his own lack of ambition for the top job, it doesn't make him any less a career politician. Arguably it makes him more of one. He was just happy to sit in a slightly lower position and let others take hotseat. He said it himself if this job didn't come along he'd have carried on as he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,570 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

He was an Irish paye worker until a few days ago, maybe you should start applying to the world bank yourself ?

If you became non-resident you wouldn’t pay Irish tax either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Madeoface

No he wasn't. He only became a td in 2011. It was a FF, PD and latterly Green party government 2002 to 2009 at the time of the bubble.