Republic of Ireland General Discussion Thread 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,581 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Christ what a way to win the match and **** love rewatching it

Didnt see it live due to work and only noticed rewatching the ref played on after the 3rd goal. My heart would not be able for that esp with that shot blocked and cleared

Avoid Italy and Sweden's path from starters but nice to be in that draw as very little of us expected it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭MONarmy

If Ireland progress to a play off final, they have a 50/50 chance of being at home for that final. This will be determined by the draw on Thursday. This is a fact.

In terms of the semi final, by calculations being done in numerous places regarding FIFA rankings, we have around a 50/50 chance of being in pot 2 and a home semi final. We need Austria to get a result at home to Bosnia (this should happen) and we need North Macedonia to get a result against Wales (50/50 ish by the odds).

So, definite 50/50 chance of a home final if we make it that far. 50/50 chance (or slightly less if being pedantic) of a home semi depending on the Wales and Austria results on Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭athlone99

Brilliant result, dont know how we did it but it happened. Whats the saying better to be a lucky general than a good one...

I think HH hoovered up all the luck over the last 10 years.

He deserves a new contract if he wants it, not sure his style of football will bring long term success but he speaks well and appears to be building something. All the players hitting the 20-30 cap mark is a huge help.

I had almost switched off after the 1st 2 games, was sure it was done.

Delighted for the players they have suffered over the last 6/7/8 years some of it there fault alot of it on the management.

Festy Festy Festy, i hope thats the last time he plays for Ireland, robbing a living and offering nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭adaminho

As well as Thursday's draw for the play offs we are also in the draw on Dec 5th for the WC itself so we can see what group we could get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,685 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

I've not seen any other sources claiming this regards the play off final. Every source beforehand has the fact there will be a draw for home venue for the final. It is irrelevant if the team in the final is seeded or unseeded, the draw determines final venue. Now Gavin Reilly is usually on the ball, but this is all very odd.

Rte even reported it differently earlier today. I think Reilly is incorrect.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2025/1116/1544282-republic-of-irelands-world-cup-play-off-draw-explained/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Yeah, that doesn't sound right. Although, it wouldn't surprise me with Uefa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

sure if they want to do a few Dutch or Italian cupla focal in private good luck to them but thinking Irish academies have the resources to have langauge classes like you originally proposed. That’s not going to be possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,162 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Are we definitely unseeded? The rankings are being updated after the last qualifying games are played

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭AdrianG08

Hard to see the likes of Italy being drawn away from home in a final.

I've a feeling we might see a couple of shocks, some pot 4 teams knocking out pot 1 teams.

Remember North Macedonia beat Italy in the semi before Portugal knocked them out

• Site Banned Posts: 899 ✭✭✭I.am.Putins.raging.bile.duct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Ignacius

Festy scared the life out of them when he came on. He has good pace and huge strength. His end product is not there but he created havoc which is exactly what was needed. He was very important in getting that win so I think the criticism is unfair.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41742606.html

The examiner also reporting that there's a draw for home venue for the play off final.

Hopefully North Macedonia do us a huge favour on Tuesday night. A home semi against a pot 3 team would be brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,145 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Be amazing. Heimer's made us tough to beat at home again, we'd have a solid shot against any of the possible teams at the Aviva.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Guffy

If we are pot 3 we'll have two away games regardles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,471 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I wonder would the likes of Dewsbury hall and jobe bellingham regret turning us down now?

being part of a game like that today or perhaps never playing 1 international game for England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,637 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

No, they are English and that’s who they want to represent, and fair play to them, we need to respect that. After seeing what it meant to Parrott today, there’s no way we should be going out of our way to bring in players who are hesitant, only to block the path of someone who genuinely values an Ireland cap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,145 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Thankfully no, if we start in pot 3 we'd have an away game for the first game alright, but home advantage for the second game would depend on the draw on Thursday.

We could end up going into the first game away, knowing that a win would see us into a home final.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭D-Lo Brown

Going to Ireland matches for 23 years and that is the best day I have ever had. Bar none. Can't even begin to explain it. Unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Nothing more boring than the person who has to share political views in every situation as if he's being informative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,685 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Yeah looking back at the last playoffs they had a draw to see who gets home advantage. Fingers crossed we can sneak into Pot 2. Two potential home games will bring in a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,262 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

Orban hijacked football in Hungry and used it to spread his political ideology, he made himself part of the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

I think usually they decide on the morning of the draw, depending who they want to qualify.

I definitely remember them making a decision in the past - post group stage -about playoff seedings that negatively affected us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 91 ✭✭Nightwing1862

I think that was the qualification for the 2010 world cup playoffs. The difference there was that there was nothing specified in the initial qualification protocol so it was initially assumed that it would be an open draw. Fifa decided to seed the playoffs by world rankings very late in the qualification process with the obvious intent of avoiding France/Portugal/Russia being drawn into the same tie. (We got France and the less said about Henry's handball, the better)

The protocol for these playoffs has been set in stone from day 1 of the qualifying campaign. Fifa/uefa don't really have much wiggle room to disregard it.

https://ia600804.us.archive.org/19/items/draw-procedures-for-the-uefa-preliminary-draw-for-the-fifa-world-cup-26/UEFA_Preliminary_Competition_for_the_FIFA_World_Cup_26_Additional_Competition_Information.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Great result and great character shown by the players, delighted for them all. They really have turned things around in the last 2 matches, I don't think anyone saw this coming, at best I was hoping we would get it to the last day by hanging onto a draw against Portugal and then probably going down fighting against Hungary, but, to win both games is unbelievable. Hungary will be kicking themselves, probably the better team, but, who cares, result is all that matters, their time wasting came back to haunt them and our lads kept battling to the end

Anything from here on is a bonus, we will in all liklihood be outsiders in the play-offs, but, we're there now and in with a decent shot. Realistically that's all we could have hoped for at the beginning of the group stages, to get to the play-offs as Portugal were always going to top the group.

I think we should always be in the mix for the play-offs going into the last match of the group stages, even an outside chance, because as we've seen anything can happen, that's why the SK era was so disappointing, we didn't even get near the play-offs, and still some lads in here would prefer failure under SK than being at least competitive under HH. Regardless what happens in the play-offs, the team is in much better shape now, have a bit of belief in themselves and are competitive again, which is great to see. The last 2 matches almost feel like a euros or world cup tournament, pity the play-offs aren't in the next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭The Subliminal Verses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Man what a week its been. Still pretty speechless. After the Armenia game id consigned this campaign to the pile.

Portugal away felt like the usal bitter sweet game and i tuned into Thursdays game out of duty not desire.

Unbelievable scenes since. 5 goals in two games, where everything mattered. Winning away from home. Coming from behind twice. A last second winner to complete a hatrick. Proper fairy tale stuff.

Not even the most delusional irish fan could have dreamt it all up. All hail HH, i had him written off early.

Never so delighted to be so rediculously wrong in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,119 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

IMG_8897.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,185 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Chatbpt says 38 gained.

So we should move into the 50s at least.

If we do well in the playoffs eg winning the semi, we should be in the 40s.

I don't know anything about rankings and seedings but surely it'll help come the Euros.