Hungary v Rep Of Ireland World Cup win or go home clash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

If I'm correct:

That is the first time an Irish player has scored a hattrick away from home.

Parrott has 18 goals in 18 games for club and country this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,749 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Yer man looked like he was going to be MOTM for Hungary for a long time. I suppose if the Hungarian broadcasters have an Irish “3” MOTM equivalent….

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,535 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

1000060954.jpg

Just in case you were confused lads, this is clarification from the BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Let's be frank here, Szoboszli was the best player on the park. I know it's not normal for teams who lose to get the POTM award but Szoboszli was head and shoulders above everyone.

Not that I particularly care either, mind.

What a moment. If that's all we ever get from Troy Parrott it will be up there with the greats. Just brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,684 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

1000006769.jpg

: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,078 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Albert Szent-Györgyi, László Bíró, Harry Houdini, Franz Liszt, Ferenc Puskás, Ernő Rubik

Your boys took a hell of a beating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Wow. Wow. Wow. What is there left to say?

That result for our lads in green in Budapest was absolutely outstanding!

Those 3 goals from Troy Parrott were an absolutely wonderful sight to see on the pitch. I hope that Troy Parrott himself & the rest of their team mates & the management all have a great night in Budapest. You deserve it to get us this far in the campaign.

Well done to all of you. You really did a terrific job out there tonight.

And I hope that this is the start of the real beginning of Ireland's World Cup dreams coming back to us. We really need to have those glory days coming back to us again in the near future.

And by God. Do we need them.

You made this Irishman very proud of you.

Fair play to ya.

COYBIG!!!!! 🇮🇪 ⚽ 👌

Himself and Kelleher were clearly the two top level Premier League lads. Parrott the only other superstar due to his current form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭blackcard

Just as much as all Irish fans are elated, I have a bit of sympathy for the Hungarian fans. They were in a state of shock after the last goal. I was terrified that they were going to score a late goal. I don't know how I would have coped with the shift from joy to despair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Anyone else over the age of 40 who picked up an injury celebrating that goal? 😆

For me it tops Robbie Keanes goal v Germany in terms of drama, had Germany won that game, we were still not eliminated….but this was do or die. Unreal tbh.

Also that Irish team really were amazing. It wasn't an insane thought going into that game against Germany that we might win.

This team has a fair amount of dead weight and if they qualify will easily be the biggest miracle in Irish football history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭kingshankly

IMG_7144.png

😂lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,887 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Don't they just.

I was 13. It changed everything. You could feel it. There was Ireland until 1989, and Ireland from 1990 onwards.

People were inspired and emboldened. Optimism permeated every corner. I genuinely dont think there would have been the economic revolution and the taking down of the old Catholic Church run theocracy, without the confidence that Italia '90 and USA '94 gave people.

Younger folk reading this now might think I'm cracked in the head, but honestly, that's how profound the impact was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

By the way - as has been said - Hungary had real chances of a winner themselves - that would genuinely have been the lowest point ever in Irish sport.

A few rugby moments were low - but that would have been unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,012 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

It is a match you 100 % need to watch again

And thank God boards still here - nothing like reading on a topic that we are all somewhat linked on versus daft X

Post edited by FixdePitchmark on

It was more than that then. Roche and Kelly, Sonia, the boxers both pro and Olympic and the Eurovision.

And it's more than that now. Healy and Gillespie, our runners and rowers, our boxers, Rhys McClenaghan and our swimmers. What a few years it's been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭blackcard

Afraid that is not correct. I think we play a single leg match away against a pot 2 team, possibly Scotland, Wales or Slovenia. If we win that, we play away again against possibly Italy, Turkey, Poland or Ukraine. Not sure where the Ukraine match would be played

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭mrm

THERE'S THE GOAL!

Rewind….and rewind….and

Edit: Not sure I have got that to get that vid to work….but look it up on YT. Its brilliant! Maloneys commentary.

Nice how the ref found time for two more attempts for Hungary to put the ball into Kellehers hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭facehugger99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭adaminho

Just checked my phone and my heart rate went from 75 to 139 BPM for the goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,793 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Under 40...knee in bits

Oh no....anyway!

Not much sympathy for anything Hungary related, players or fans. Baying for full time whistle right aftr 5 mins after lot of time wasting, they can't complain.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I remember going mental for the Keane goal in 2002, I was reserved for this one, just let out a shout and started laughing my head off, I was in tears Thursday night and again tonight, maybe just the last decade of pure frustration coming out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,814 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Absolutely fùck them. Got everything they deserved. Kerkez and Sallai had 3 fatal injuries only to rise like Lazarus 30 seconds after the magic whistle blew. And Szobozlai was slowly walking around preening and fixing his hair like he was a fùckin Kardashian. They were awful time wasters in both games so fot time to run out for themselves was delicious to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭crossman47

Almost certainly the first time an Irishman scored five international goals in a week. I think Don Givens got four in a match once as well as a hattrick in the same group (famous one v Russia in Giles first game as manager).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭adaminho

From the BBC

• This was the first time since September 1999 that the Republic of Ireland conceded 2+ goals in a competitive away game and managed to win (3-2 v Malta in a World Cup qualifier). Coming into Sunday, they were winless in 19 when they had conceded 2+ goals in competitive away trips (D4 L15).
    • Parrott became the first hat-trick scorer in a competitive game for the Republic of Ireland since Robbie Keane in October 2014 (3 goals v Gibraltar), while he is the first player in the nation's history to score a hat-trick in an away match.
    • Parrott became just the fourth Republic of Ireland player to score 2+ goals in consecutive appearances (2 v Portugal and 3 v Hungary), after Jimmy Dunne in 1936, Robbie Keane in 2013 and Callum Robinson in 2021.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,851 ✭✭✭archfi

Great photo capturing Parrot straining everything to guide that ball past the goalie at the very last second.

It really is like a work of art (UEFA's official X account posted and said that!)

G544h8QXEAAOPJ-.jpg

He doesn't just reach it he rakes it down to put it under the keepers reach. It was amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Grassy Knoll

he seems a great young guy, it was great to see the emotion in his post match interview and what it meant to him. Very mature fella, the Dutch league has don’t wonders to rehabilitate his career.

To be fair it is hard to beat the soccer team to give the country a lift. The prospect of the playoffs will shorten the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

That Hungary side had the upper hand on us the whole group for consistency in results right up to the last game 90+ mins , nearly a years work down the drain….do or die is right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,162 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Unreal performance, serious effort all round , like the good old days, where the players gave everything. Delighted for manager after the abuse he got only 2 months ago in that humiliating interview by TOD.