Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,560 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

This Munster team are really cruising under McMillan. Can't wait for both the PUC game and the 27th Dec. Forget Christmas guys because this Munster/Leinster rivalry is becoming bigger than any intl test match!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭budhabob

One of the papers quoted McMillan as saying Haley twisted his ankle and that there were no injury concerns from the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,005 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Nobody knows what metric Farrell is using to select players. Paddy McCarty looked pretty lost out there when he was subbed on. He suffered also in the scrum. I would have expected the lad to have at least a season under him at URC level with the odd Champion's Cup appearance. Selecting the lad based on a game where his team scored zero points and where he was going backwards in the scrum makes no sense to me.

MOD EDIT That's the thing, there's no hiding in international rugby, and if you are not ready you'll be found out.

Post edited by Lost Ormond on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,935 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Comment deleted

Post edited by Red Silurian on

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

I dont think Farrell is taking direction from senior players like that. like why would he put himself on the block if it doesnt work. it makes no sense

Post edited by Lost Ormond on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,570 ✭✭✭✭phog

In the ground I missed who the player was but in the highlights I saw it was Max Clein who chased their outhalf back to touch down that ball to stop a certain try. The ground he covered was unreal, some bust of speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

i wasnt a big fan of him getting picked originally but Paddy McCarthy looked fine on saturday to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

This is what lets you down time after time, of all the things that was wrong on Saturday Paddy McCarthy wasn't one of them. Just take any opportunity to take a cheapshot at another provinces player .

Please provide examples of where he looked " lost".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭50HX

I'd be of the same view as yourself.

What puzzles me is that he got zero minutes on the summer tour with the present coaching ticket not present bar POC & based on a shot of minutes in the urc then benches v NZ.

MOD

Paddy mccarty discussion move it to Ireland or another thread. Its not relevant here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭MaddChris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,632 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Great to see the Beirne red card rescinded. Dan Jones got it very wrong.

Former Munster and Ireland prop Marcus Horan gave his Dream Munster XV from those he played with over the course of his career.

Marcus Horan’s Dream Munster XV

15. Simon Zebo – X factor. Did amazing things at ease and looked like he loved what he was doing even when all around were losing their heads! A real character of our game.

14. Doug Howlett – A brilliant athlete who bought into Munster when he was here. I stupidly challenged him to sprint at his first Christmas party, I wouldn’t have beaten him in my car.

13. Rua Tipoki – Rua had Mana. He made the people around him better by his actions. First name on the list if you were going into battle.

12. Lifeimi Mafi – Mafs gave everything to the team. Offloading, stepping, and speed, combined with being a tough defender.

11. Keith Earls – Achieved it all. Grand slams, Lions tours, breaking records and still so grounded and a brilliant role model for young rugby players in Limerick and beyond. Epitomises resilience.

10. Ronan O’Gara – I played with ROG up through the Munster and Ireland ranks and even though he broke my brother’s heart in a schools Junior cup in ’92 with a drop goal that I’d learn to love, he was our main man in pressure situations.

9. Conor Murray – at one point arguably the best 9 in the world. Played like a 9th forward but had the speed and skill to create opportunities for others. Tough decision to leave out Peter Stringer.

1.Peter Clohessy – The Enforcer. Started as a tighthead and moved to loosehead when John Hayes came on the scene, which wasn’t an easy thing to do. Played in the amateur era and brought what was good from it into the pro era.

2. Keith Wood – Best Hooker to come out of County Clare! Back trapped in a forward’s body. Pleasure to play alongside. Challenged the norm on and off the pitch. Jerry Flannery is right up there too and someone I wish had played for longer.

3. John Hayes – Uncompromising player who worked hard at his craft. Came to the game late and to the front-row even later but was the most reliable guy in your team.

4. Donncha O’Callaghan – My best mate in Rugby! But doesn’t get the vote because of that. Unbelievable pro who did whatever it took to be right for his team and teammates and was brilliant craic while doing it. Mick Galwey has to get a mention here as a leader and great player.

5. Paul O’Connell – Standard setter, our Roy Keane! Put pressure on himself to be the best but demanded the same from all around him. Studied the game and evolved his own game with new coaches and within new teams. John Langford was another standard bearer who changed the way we trained.

6. Peter O’Mahony – Wore his heart on his sleeve when it came to Munster Rugby. Lead the group through some of the toughest times. Achieved so much with Ireland and proud to see him raise a trophy with Munster.

7. David Wallace – A power athlete who spoke with his actions. Hardworking and reliable, he always came up with big moments in games, in attack and defence.

8. Anthony Foley (Capt) – A leader of men and someone who positively influenced many careers as a player and coach. As a player he never took a backward step. His strength was bringing others with him no matter what the challenge was. Left the jersey in a better place.

Hard to argue with his selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭budhabob

I wonder if leamy had a longer career or better injury profile where he would be viewed. A phenomenal player in his day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

i think if it were going purely by 'ability' then leamy would have to be in there, but Foley had a massive amount of intangible worth that gets him picked

Im not sure as Foleys ability was top level bar possibly a small bit lacking pace wise. Yeah Foleys rugby intelligence was top level

Same could be said for Fla & Wood, Fla played more games and won more with Munster but Wood probably delivered more worth to the province.

Probably the best two hookers ever to play for Munster & Ireland

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

It is also a question of eras I think. Leamy would leave Foley in the dust for pure power which I think was more important when Leamy was playing. As usual though, that's not to say Foley couldn't have done it under the same regimen.

I would have to find room for Beirne in that team...probably in the 2nd row.

I shudder to think where we would have been without him over the past 2-3 seasons especially.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,935 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

The Gloucester unused allocation I'm guessing?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

The has surprised me. They've just ticked over 30,000 tickets sold for the Gloucester game. I had thought that it was nearly sold out.

What's the capacity of the two ends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Clicked into that link on TicketMaster and all that's available are the terrace tickets at either end.
    People would probably leave it to the last minute to buy them, not really that enjoyable an experience behind the goals.
    Over €30 for a ticket in the terraces, personally would rather watch it in the pub and spend that money on a bit of food and a few pints, better experience viewing it on a big TV in a pub than standing behind the goal-line on either end IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,856 ✭✭✭snotboogie

That's well more than the capacity of Thomond already sold out a month before the game. Some going considering the struggles we've had shifting tickets for this fixture in Limerick over the years.

Post edited by snotboogie on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭CONSI

Attendances at ERC games in Thomond have been ok, 20k average over the last 9 games, and that includes what must have been a close to lockdown game v Wasps that only has 13k at it. Usual attendances are about 21/22k. I dont think the new structure of the ERC helps without the home and away games to build the rivalries and less and less french travel and we have had Castres, Toulouse, Bayone and Stade the last few years, northampton we seemed to play annually there for a while so again less would travel for that. Still, 30k is 8k more and that will probably get to 35k, but when you take out fees to Cork GAA, how much extra are we actually making to take away our home field advantage, teams will have zero hesitation going to a GAA stadium, where a lot of people have said the atmosphere is iffy at best

The PuC game is about serving the needs of the Cork base and hopefully growing the numbers too. There's an off side to that in that it alienates some of the Limerick base.

My own view is it's worth the risk and if McMillan does bring more wins then that will help grow the attendances too.

The big issue is the late kick offs in either stadium is making it difficult for family friendly attendances. The majority of URC games this season kick off at 19:30 or later meaning you're not on the road home 'til after 22:00.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,455 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

20K for a group game is pretty good, it's only when it's in a 26K capacity stadium where it looks average. That's more of a stadium thing though.

Jackman saying on The 42 that Munster have finally been allowed sign a NIQ Tighthead.

Better late than never I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭oppiuy

Who do we think it might be