Arson attack on IPAS centre in Louth

• 02-11-2025 04:06PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭

On Friday night Saturday morning arsonists tried to burn down an IPAS centre in Drogheda.

A number of people including four children including a baby had to be rescued.

This news broke Saturday morning and has been headlines on RTE since.

Initially it was thought that a firework was thrown through a window but it has since turned out that the perpetrators set the stairs alight with an accelerant.

Hard to get out of a burning building when the stairs are on fire.

Well done to everyone who helped save these people.

But why am I the first to post about it over a day later?

In the last 24 hours there is a multi page thread about a stabbing incident in the UK, much of it speculation about whether Muslims did it or not

In this case people have attempted to murder children here in Ireland and not boo out of anyone.

Im not surprised really, because it's foreigners it doesn't matter as much.

Post edited by Necro on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

"But why am I the first to post about it over a day later?"

Because you're special?

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭dmakc

Can't tell if you're concerned about the incident or looking to exercise your moral superiority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,353 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Cue the ad hominem attacks on th OPs character from the 'concerned citizen's brigade in an attempt to downplay an attack on children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

I'm concerned about the incident, but I'm also making a point about this place (boards.ie) and how this incident didn't get a mention until now.

Why was it I wonder?

Are people ignoring it because it's uncomfortable that (probably ) Irish people tried to burn down a building with children sleeping in it

It's much easier to rant about something in the UK or what Trump is going to do next than to talk about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Well one of the reasons it 'didn't get a mention until now' is because you took over a day to start a thread about it.

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

An interesting outcome of this is that there will be a speedy review of security at IPAS centres.

No doubt that review will recommend increased security at some facilities.

So well done knuckle draggers, the government are going to be spending even more money on the asylum system thanks to your actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,025 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

These absolute scumbags that like to burn things add zero to the Immigration debate. They are the lowest of the low and should get maximum possible penalties when caught. They actually play right into the government's hands by making the lawless stupidity the story rather than immigration policy/processes. By lawless stupidity I mean attempted murder by mindless Neanderthals. Disgusting behaviour by utter simpleton cowards.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 22,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod - thread locked for a few minutes to clean up. Discussion of matters before the courts is not permitted in Boards Terms of Use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭littlefeet

How did someone get in and be able to throw petrol on a staircase, set it on fire? Is there no security? compleat scumbag, knowing there were children there, so consumed with hate they wanted to see children burned to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,531 ✭✭✭gipi

I'm amazed how the perpetrator(s) knew it was an IPAS centre in the first place. I live in Drogheda, and I never knew it was one until this happened. It was a house that was converted to apartments. I doubt there would have been any type of security other than what one might find in an apartment block (buzzer on front door). I note that there was CCTV in the common area (hall/stairs).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Quitelife

arson attacks on houses are becoming more common these days in Ireland practically all over drug debts or feuds between drug gangs .
    Quite a few people have been murdered in the UK with arson attacks in recent years often parents or other family members of someone with a drug debt .

Is your implication that this was not related to just the fact that there were asylum seekers living there but related to drug activity involving one or more of the asylum seekers living there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

Whoever did this are absolute cretins who deserve a long spell behind bars. Absolute pond scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,762 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I heard about the fireworks attack was it yesterday or the day before, but only heard about the arson attempt today, after the train attack in the UK.
    There are no words to describe someone who does something like that. Could he really have thought it was just a bit of craic? Could anyone be that thick? Probably, but don't mean he should get a lighter sentence. I hope he's promptly caught and serves a lengthy sentence. And if it was a minor that he be publicly named.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,249 ✭✭✭This is it

Attempted murder. I hope they find whoever was involved, and they're locked up for a very long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭enricoh

If I started a thread for every house burned over drug feuding in drogheda the last few years I'd be here all night. The 2 feuding gangs in drogheda no longer have the grip they had on the town n increasingly it's foreign gangs filling the void.

It's been a dreadful few weeks for the refugee industry in Ireland n anything that paints paddy in a bad light must be seized on. We had wall to wall coverage of Indians under attack a month or 2 ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,668 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

I've just read that and I despair for the future of this country.

So you're saying that this was drugs related and that kids having to be reduced from a building that was set on fire deliberately should not really be news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭nachouser

There's a link on the Journal now with footage of some lad setting the stairs on fire. But, sure, it's grand. I guess the women and children that had to be rescued by the Fire Brigade lads should a) either stop selling drugs or b) sort out their drug debt problem so they don't get potentially set on fire.

/s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,337 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

So dangerous. Basically attempted murder.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,563 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

https://www.rte.ie/news/2025/1031/1541399-kildare-investigation/

Murder investigation in Kildare, nobody ( that I’ve seen ) is talking about that on boards. A young man, got off a bus, got beaten to death and it’s not been mentioned. Young guy actually lost his life.

Complaining about the arson incident not being discussed OP, why didn’t you start a thread, have at it. 👀

If that makes u despair for Ireland's future, best you don't read up on foreign drugs gangs that run the market in Sweden Jim. It's in the pipeline for Ireland.

Dunno if it was drug related, it's a common tactic in drogheda tho. I seen footage on Twitter of some fella pouring petrol on the stairs. How did the guy get inside the building, had he the key code?

Of course it's news, just there has been dreadful incidents involving immigrants recently n Rte news didn't have any locals on 9 o clock news bawling their the eyes out about it like this incident.

As you well know I was referring to linking this attack to drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,510 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

No it's absolutely unforgivable, no matter who did it. I hope they're caught and get a long prison sentence, whoever they are.

But I'm surprised at the widespread assumption that it has to have been the far right. Maybe it was - but there are other possibilities too. Even apart from possible drug debts (which would not be the women and children anyway, for those making sarky comments above, so that was not IMO an attempt at justification.)

From the video clip and various photos doing the rounds, why was the person wearing socks? Did he leave them at the door that he apparently broke down yet seems to have left undamaged the following day? Even the key pad seem to be ok. Seems more like someone who already had access to the place. Setting fire to places with women and children inside is also something that angry ex-partners do.

It happened at 8pm on a busy street with (I'd guess) Ring doorbells and CCTV cameras around. Another reason to wonder about an outsider leaving his shoes outside without anyone noticing. How did he make his getaway - sat down and put his shoes back on and then sped off in a waiting car?

The one thing that's clear about this is that we know even less than we do about the train attack, and that's saying something.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

The one thing that's clear about this is that a white lad set fire to an Ipas centre which contained women and children and… if the shoe were on the other foot there'd be a 15 page long thread going on about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

More chance of winning the Euro millions then a 15 page thread on boards these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,349 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

How can you tell his he was white? The only thing that's clear is that a man was responsible. His ethnicity is impossible to tell due to him being completely covered and the footage being so shaky and grainy.

Despite the precautions he took to conceal his identity, I would be reasonably confident he will be caught.

Builders crack. He's white.