If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

2025 Nov 01 | AI's Round 1 | Ireland v New Zealand | 20:10 GMT | VM in Ire / TNT & Discovery+ in UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,326 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Crowley’s missed penalty, O’Brien’s fumble of the dinky kick into their 22, Osborne’s fumble of a pop pass running into their 22.

Key moments which let the pressure off NZ.

Our attack out the backs is non-existent, compared to how NZ run with enough depth to penetrate the line out wide.
    Ireland didn’t look likely to gain any significant ground besides speculative contestable kicks. Too many contestables were too far for our chaser to put pressure on them.

Our scrum seemed creaky until McCarthy came on I thought. If he can hold up a scrum better than Porter then he should leapfrog him. It’s too much of a weakness against a top team.
    We messed up a few lineouts but how many did we steal?

Beirne’s red will surely be rescinded on review.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭daithi7

"We messed up a few lineouts but how many did we steal?"

We totally messed up 5-6 lineouts & partially messed a few others. We stole 1, & forced a few crooked throws which was good, but didn't come near making up for our primary attacking platform being taken apart by NZ again. Ireland's lineout is simply not good enough & top sides are confident to go after it and dismantle it. This has happened too many times with this lineout coach imho. Time for change.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,992 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

attack is poor but what do you change?

Dont think Beirnes red will be rescinded. might get red card sufficient on day and no ban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,354 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

That's a pretty stark difference between both sides finishing ability. We don't lack for physicality, but there has been a notable drop off in our attacking subtlety.

At our best, we could repeatedly target specific players and score. Pull them out of position or create mismatches. That was in 2022 & 2023. Now we're more direct and less likely to create those mismatches close to the line. Sexton pulled the strings, but it's not just his absence that's the issue. Feels like there has been a drop off in handling skills and decision making ability across the board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

I’m delighted to be wrong about Lowe this time. He covered the ground well.

Do I contradict myself?
    Very well then I contradict myself,
    (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Lowe was really pretty poor. Struggle to get the ball and then hoof it artlessly upfield is something that needs sorted out. His defence was awful as well. Sometimes he made a big effort and looked busy (for example his commitment at the scrum after he ha kicked the ball dead.)

But I can't believe the tale some here have on Bierne. He wrapped his arms AROUND HIMSELF and hit Barrett in the face with his shoulder. He didn't try to wrap around Barrett at all. Bierne royally messed up.

Ireland's attack has looked crap since Mike Catt left & Goodman took over as attack coach .

He's simply not nearly as good an attack coach as Catt & Ireland have looked poorer for it!! That's pretty evident imho.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Our attack out the backs is non-existent, compared to how NZ run with enough depth to penetrate the line out wide.

Ireland didn’t look likely to gain any significant ground besides speculative contestable kicks. Too many contestables were too far for our chaser to put pressure on them.

What is slightly infuriating to me is that that was clearly the gameplan. I'm not a fan of the gameplan but the core problem is that we implemented it poorly. Osborne had a couple good contested catches, but we just didn't seem to have any other real plan and when the kicks didn't go well we were on the back foot cause I don't think the defensive line chase was great.

I'm going to hope a lot of it can be put down to rustiness and coming into the season a bit cold and that things improve. Not sure where else to be hopeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

McCloskey had a better game than I expected. He just didn’t have much luck with some of the offloads. Could Osborne play at 13? He was solid.

I thought the NZ back line looked fairly stodgy.

Do I contradict myself?
    Very well then I contradict myself,
    (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Don't know where this nonsense about Lowe being poor is coming from. Him and McCloskey were the only ones who looked like they were going to make anything happen in attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

For me, it's from watching him. And his aimless upfield kicks, his being caught out in defence and flailing around rather than tackling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

One poorly executed kick which went dead and was the right idea?

I'd love to hear what you thought of Crowley if poorly executed kicks is your barometer.

Was Lowe perfect? No, but I'd be far more concerned about other players before I'm concerned about Lowe.

However, it's been obvious that because he's so marmite that he's held to a much higher standard than other players. It's been the case for years.

In a game where we offered zero attacking threat, going after one of the two players that were the most dangerous in attack sounds like a weird approach to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭TheRona

From a kiwi perspective, I was happy with how the NZ backline went. Losing Jordie was a massive blow, but they handled the reshuffle well.

Regarding the Irish team, I've also seen online that McCloskey actually had an injury when he came off, rather than it being a tactical substitution. I still think it was weird to have Bundee on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,326 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Personnel and strategy both need to be looked at.

I would start Farrell at 13 against Japan and would have Bolton or Stockdale on for Lowe with the other of them in the 23 jersey, and Jimmy O’Brien at fullback.

If we have possession outside our 22 we should look to hold depth at 13 and get the ball out there with enough space to run at the channel between their 13 and wing, and look for an offload to our wing on the outside. Farrell is excellent at making half breaks or even clean breaks and then linking up with support runners with an offload. Do that a few times in a match and it should lead to some scoring opportunities.

If that goes well carry that forward as a template for the last two matches.

In the forwards I’d start McCarthy, and bring Ahern onto the bench for Henderson.

I’d start a back row of Baird at 6, Timoney at 7, Doris at 8 and C Prendergast on the bench.

Japan should be a lot easier to contain and find gaps in their defence but it’s an opportunity to look at a few more players and take the focus off kicking contestables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,628 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Considering where we are with preptime and player management that wasn't half as bad as some people are making out. We played well for 60 minutes and then ran out of gas, exactly what you expect for a game this early in the season for so many players.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Line-out a shambles for second half, though we did nsb a few of their throws

Scrum taken apart

Zero poaches at the breakdown

Toothless in attack

Don't know what Henderson or Bundee offer at this stage of their career

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Gave away four turnovers and never a threat in attack. He's very limited in what he offers (but what he does offer he does well… if you get me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Paddy_Mag

Beirnes shoulder made direct contact to the head of an opponent, his arm was tucked. It was far from a nothing contact.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,133 ✭✭✭fitz

Agreed. It's not an excuse, but it's certainly a factor. Tbh, I think some of this is down to the complete mess that's been made of the calendar. Also think that the lineout struggles were mainly second half? Fatigue might have been an issue there for lifters/jumpers, maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭exiledawaynothere

They did not apply any mitigation which was the forward pass. I expect a 2/3 match ban including tackle school.

Beirne was caught unawares for that tackle, he put his arms in front of him to fence off an attacker who was ahead of the ball , instead the ABs passed forward & he had milliseconds to adjust. He just stood his ground, Barrett ran into him, taking a fwd pass and running into Beirne, hitting his arms first, then glancing his shoulder.

I think a penalty would have been the correct call at worst a harsh yc. To upgrade it to a RC was awful officiating. I thought the TMO was very definite about the level of danger in the 'hit' & 'incident' and that he was also very definitely wrong. He lead the ref without the big screen working. Overall the officials were poor, but this decision was woeful on a few counts I.e. wrong decision, non functioning screens to review the incident properly on pitch, a very one eyed, leading description by the TMO to the ref, and inexplicable upgrade to a RC imho. Very poor officiating overall imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,500 ✭✭✭✭phog

Lowe was one of the players that I had doubts over but to be fair to him he had a better game than I expected of him. However, I don't think anyone can be thinking he has a great game either.

We're nearly back at RWC pool games now, where players are undercooked and may have to be picked v Japan so that they'll be ready for AUS & SA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Paddy_Mag

The ref viewed it on a screen pitchside. Beirne being caught unaware is on Beirne and is not cause for mitigation.

Barrett didn't run into Beirne either. Beirne did take a step forward and tucked his arm. His shoulder made direct contact with BBs head.

Mod Edit

Warning issued.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭letsbefair

Even Beauden Barrett didn't think it was a red and said he will support TB in his appeal !! TMO needs to realise that it is never always black and white or else we may as well give up paying huge money to follow a game decided by poor officiating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,940 ✭✭✭OldRio

As someone who is fast approaching 70 years of age and played Rugby from the age of 11 IMHO I have never seen a softer red card. There is a split second in between the pass and the tackle. (Or the player running into Beirne.) The game is utterly fe*cked if you are getting a red for that.

Of course I am biased, we all are, but I received messages from friends in England who felt the exact same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,940 ✭✭✭OldRio

As for keyboard warriors may I ask? Do you have a mirror?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Crowley wasn’t good. His kicking from hand was inaccurate whether it was cross kick (did he put one or two straight out?), garryowens which were generally too long, attempted kicks behind the defensive line which didn’t challenge the NZ defense (apart from the one for TOB) and getting turned over for the game changing moment when he should have got rid of the ball. The backline never got going. His place kicking and defense was grand. Prendergast was no improvement when he came on and I don’t think would have made any significant difference to our performance so I don’t think he’s the answer currently either. Crowley is still ahead of him for me.

It’s a real problem position for us considering that was Crowley was coming in to the game in great form and Prendergast is not playing particularly well and has obvious holes in his game. I’d still be starting Crowley against Australia and SA but regardless of who starts at 10, they’ll be the weakest player in the 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,169 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I think the Beirne incident was a great example of the 20 minute red serving its purpose. It was instinctive rather than reckless but he still tucks his own arm in and shoulders Barrett in the head. I'm not sure of "high degree of danger" but it's still direct contact to the head with no wrap. I think it straddles the line of yellow and red so probably a 20-minute red is fair. Hopefully a minimal ban.

Losing Beirne was a hammer blow, Henderson did OK but we needed Beirne's ability at the breakdown which neither Ryan nor Henderson really give us.

The lineout, sweet jesus the lineout.

Ultimately what killed us was our inability to score from the possession we had in the first 60 minutes. We lacked any real incision with the ball in hand. McCloskey was very good but could never seem to get that final pass away, Ringrose was a no-show (like he was in Croke Park), Crowley seemed determined to show his range of dinks and grubbers even when they weren't the right call.

Osborne and TOB were solid without ever looking dangerous in attack. Lowe was the pre-game punching bag but I thought he was the only back with a bit of spark and managed to avoid any brain farts. JGP had a great first half but faded as we went on.

Baird was the standout forward for me, I hope we persist with him at 6 for Australia and SA.

Good to see Doris back but the tide had turned before he came on, otherwise the bench ranged from ineffectual (Kelleher, Bealham) to pretty poor (Casey, Aki). I'm struggling to remember anything Prendergast did but the fact that he only got ten minutes isn't a good omen for him.

There are reasons to be optimistic for the Aus and SA games but a lot to work on, starting with the goddamn lineout.