Middle aged guys trying to run quickly, it never ends well.

• 04-09-2025 01:50PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭

A long-time reader and occasional contributor to this section, I might as well give the diary/log/blog/documented stream-of-consciousness a go. The title is a little nod to the phrase I must have uttered a thousand times in the last few years. Basically I'm a runner when I'm not injured, which hasn't been often. And I seem to wrap up every conversation around running by explaining what my latest injury is and then saying, 'ah sure look, middle aged guys trying to run quickly never ends well!'

Joking aside, it's bloody frustrating - being about as robust as papier mache. But it's always been there with me unfortunately, battling some sort of minor injury. I played astro soccer twice a week for the guts of 20 years, between 20 and 40, and broke about every bone going, from nose to shoulder to ankle, to torn meniscus. And any number of strains and pulls.

Golf was my real passion. Played off five for years but a bulging disc in the back was a constant issue. Eventually gave up regular golf at around 40 in 2019, mainly due to being self employed and coaching the kids GAA teams.

Always ran a good bit, did quite a few five milers/10ks in my 20s. But only started proper, structured running after golf finished up around 2020. Doing a marathon was always a target, at some stage, and I eventually did Belfast in 2021, in 3hr 49. Did Manchester then in 2022, in 3hr 35 and Dublin at the end of 2022 in 3hr 34. Was aiming for 3:20 in Dublin that year but pulled my calf three weeks beforehand.

Truth be told, a hip injury was also an issue and 2023 and 2024 were taken up entirely with trying to get to the bottom of that. Running was sporadic again. Frustrating stuff. In hindsight, it was probably an overload issue. Tried everything from half a dozen sessions of deep needling to an FCE scan to cortisone shots into the hip, with little joy. Eventually found a physio who got me sorted last autumn with a specific S&C programme.

Thankfully, and I really mean that because it's only when you can't run/exercise regularly that you realise how important it is, it's been a positive year of training so far. Did a 43.30 10k in June, 75 mins at the 10 miler in Phoenix Park and hoping for something around 1.35 in the Ratoath Half on Saturday week. DCM is the ultimate target again and hopefully sub 3hr 30. Mind you, just getting to the start line will be the real achievement.

Tired calves, dead toenails and a painful corn have been the main issue in this block. The hip still screams the odd time too but mostly it's all manageable. I've kept the S&C up and an improved diet, particularly around fuelling the training, have all helped. It's a work in progress but feeling like a runner again, setting long-term targets and obsessing over the little stuff like Alphafly versus Pro 4s is really great. Injuries - please stay away and let me enjoy this a little bit longer!

Looking forward to keeping this updated and seeing how it all pans out.

Big Giraffe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Bgiraffe

Into Week 10 now of 16 for DCM. 49 miles done last week, as per plan, with a 20 mile long run. Ratoath half this Saturday so an exciting week coming up.

Had the thought while out on the long run yesterday that differentiating between injuries/pain/niggles/fatigue is one of the great arts of the marathon runner. There are times when you just know to back away due to a niggle. But there are other times when a decent run will almost make it better, perhaps loosening it out or some such sorcery. Definitely, at times, movement is medicine. It's a gamble and I'd imagine that most runners roll the dice more often than not and say, 'Ah sure I'll do the run and see if if it's still sore afterwards'….!!

If you backed away because of every single niggle that felt like a possible injury, you'd never get through a block. But then you can't be stupid either. I've got through 39 out of 45 training runs in this block so far. Hoping to just manage the niggles until after DCM and up the S&C work then and get stronger over winter, ready to emerge in Kipchoge-esque shape for 2026!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

Well done and best of luck with the half on Saturday. I am doing DCM as my first marathon aged 50+ so know how hard those LSR are, doing a half on Sunday though weather looks a bit bleak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

😂 It is an out and in course so it will definitely be at my back at some point!!

Week 10 of 16 in the DCM block finished with the Ratoath Half on Saturday, the third race of the block following a previous 10k and the 10 miler in PP.

A quick race report; not the greatest buildup on the morning as the youngest was playing in a camogie blitz in another county and the other kids had to be dropped to granny's. All in all, a messy morning. Didn't arrive at Fairyhouse for the race until 20 minutes before start. Missed out on the usual bandwork and settled on a rushed warm-up. Not great with tight calves and managing a hip issue.

Plan was for 7.20 min pace for something around 1hr 36-ish...The first couple of miles are downhill so ended up settling in at 7 min pace per mile and pretty much held on in or around that for the duration. Finished up at 7.06 pace for a 1hr 33 finish. Think sub 1:30 could definitely be a goer next year. Thankfully the fitness seems to be a bit further along than I'd thought.

Wore the Evo SLs again and they worked a treat. Have a new pair of Alphafly 3 coming this week (217.50 off Mister Running) which I'd planned to use in the marathon. But the Evo SL feel so good they could yet be a contender. The calf sleeves will be staying too. They give great support - perhaps it's only a placebo! - even you feel like a bit of a tool wearing them.

Skipped a Sunday five-miler - the first session in the block that was intentionally skipped, as opposed to an injury, as everything felt tight after the HM - so it ended up at 34 miles for the week. A low enough week mileage-wise but it's back to almost 50 this week with another 20 miler on Friday so no hassles there.

Touch wood, all is going okay. The usual niggles are there but S&C once a week seems to be just about keeping things together. If all goes to plan, a 3hrs 2?? finish for DCM should be doable. Six weeks is a long time though....

Week 11 of 16 down and, as sure as night follows day, injury has struck again! It was all going too well. Ultimately the hard push at the Ratoath Half has aggravated the hip injury (an FAI impingement) that was just about being kept in check. I will never learn. As someone else said on here - keep the main thing as the main thing. I didn't follow that advice.

As a result, week 11 ended up just being three runs totalling 19 miles when it was supposed to be 48 miles. Had to miss Saturday's planned long run of 20 miles. Did a 42 mile cycle instead. If I can get things back on track by the end of this week, I think I'll be okay with marathon times and ambitions etc. But it's all a bit of a kick in the nuts really and could go any way at this stage.

Back to the physio whenever he can fit me in and we'll hopefully come up with a new plan to see out the block. It's a tough grind mentally when things aren't going well, that's for sure.

hope you recover quickly, injuries are so annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Dre Colman

Tough break, especially after putting so much into the block already. Fair play for getting the cycle in though, at least you’re keeping the fitness ticking over. Hopefully the physio can settle the hip and you’ll still salvage a decent run on the day.

Week 12 of 16 and things aren't going great. Just one 10k and two cycle rides of 20 miles and 40 miles last week. Missed a long run for the second week running. Met with physio and it's an overuse/inflammation injury, a form of bursitis, probably as a result of pushing too hard in the half race, along with increased mileage. Of course, looking back, when you increase pace and mileage at the same time, you're asking for trouble!

Anyhow, four weeks to go and it's about 50-50 whether I make DCM I'd say. Doing daily rehab on it and taking ibuprofen to bring the inflammation down. Trying to get back into the plan, or a version of it even, this week but an easy 10k yesterday brought immediate 3 out of 10 hip pain again. If that persists, it's hang up the runners for a while I'd say. But we'll see. We might go full Goggins mode either and just see how it plays out! Either way, it's going to be a long winter of S&C to make the body stronger and more robust. It really is key to the whole thing when you're over a certain age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,901 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

How old are you anyway? (If it’s OK to ask) 😁

Post edited by Murph_D on

The energy of a 25-year-old, the robustness of a 65-year-old and the birth cert of a lad in his mid-40s! What a mix!

Ah I've just found that since the mid 30s I'm constantly picking up niggles. Big focus on getting stronger is required.

Ha. I’d say this forum at its strongest was dominated by runners in their 40s and 50s so you should fit right in, at least until the impending shutdown. Although you know this if you've been around before. Do you have a strength and conditioning plan? There are probably loads of dedicated threads.

Aye, I have a good physio in fairness and a strength plan. It was working okay until the mileage increased - and the S&C stuff got squeezed - with the marathon block and I think I just went beyond what the body was strong enough to sustain. Hopefully I can hold it together for a little while longer for DCM and get stuck back into getting strong(er) over winter.

Got through a 20 miler today with no flare ups. Discomfort and mild pain for sure but can cope wigh that. Should come in at a near 80k week so we'll keep the fingers crossed!

Week 15 of 16 and things are looking a bit more positive thankfully. Back on the plan since the start of last week and ultimately only missed two long runs, albeit they were 20m and 22m days. Have managed two 20 milers in total, as well as two 17s and put in a decent (for me!) half marathon six weeks ago. Hopefully it's enough. The hip has avoided any recent flare ups thanks to the daily strength/stretch/rehab work I've done since seeing the physio. Ibuprofen and regular icing have helped too.

The left calf is a small issue too, a constant low level one-out-of-10 fatigue feeling in it. Ultimately I need to drop the running for a while and get back to a few weeks of S&C stuff, feel fully pain-free, get stronger and go at it again. Thankfully that'll be happening soon with only 10 days now to go!

I know there are never any straight lines from A to B in a marathon block, injuries and issues always pop up, but this has been a real rollercoaster. Far too much so really, with too much drama. Being self employed, working weekends and coaching a couple of kids teams has added to the challenge. Hoping to give the Dublin to Belfast Ultra a shot, perhaps in 2027, but need to get a lot more durable and robust between now and then. More time windows for training will need to open up too.

In terms of DCM, my conundrum now is what speed to go at. Sub 3.30 would be a PB but I think I could get closer to the lower 3hr 20s with a push. I know that's going to mean plenty of suffering and a less enjoyable day. There's also no 3.20 pacer in wave 2, which I'm in, so I'd be doing it off my steam. So a bit to weigh up there. I've to work until about 11pm the night before as well which doesn't help - though the extra hour on the morning with the clocks going back will be helpful.

Let's hope Storm Bram cuts us all some slack too!

p.s. The new Alphafly 3s got broken out for the 20 and the 17 milers over the last two Fridays. Lovely shoes.

There is a 3:30 in Wave 1, you will start 20 mins behind them, if you are heading towards a sub 3:30 then you will pass a lot of those struggling to make 3:30 in Wave 1 which should give you a nice adrenalin rush towards the final 10km

Week 16 of 16. Thank God for that!

Last 48 hours or so now and, hopefully, all the hay is pretty much in the barn. It's a cliche but getting to the start line of any marathon really is the achievement. Sunday morning is the lap of honour.

Just looking back through the 16-week plan which had five outings a week on it, so 80 in total. I will have completed 63 of them as per the plan. I missed 10 completely due to injury and replaced two of the longer ones with 40-mile cycles instead. In terms of the longer runs, half marathon and above; I hit two 20 milers, two 17 milers, a 16 and three halfs. Hopefully it all adds up to enough on the day.

Have decided to go after 3 hours 25 mins, or 7.50 per mile. Seems achievable based off a 1.33 half and general fitness. The hip is the issue for me. A mixture of an FAI injury and hip tendonitis means anything could seize up at any stage really. But I figure it's worth a gamble and really go after it then with rehab over winter.

At the very least, it's been a success to get this far. Spent most of last year rehabbing and not doing anything structured running-wise. So to get a PB in the half in Ratoath, and to get 10k and 10-mile races in also, was brilliant. Nothing beats the races really.

So off to the expo with the three kids today to do our best to stock up on free protein yoghurts that will sit in the back of the fridge until Christmas! Can't beat it.

Good lucky on Sunday to anyone taking part. Hopefully it's not too cold/wet a morning. Last one I did, in 2022, was an unseasonably warm morning but don't think a repeat is on the cards.

P.S. Should have mentioned this somewhere earlier but running with an 'average time' on your watch really is a game changer. As in average time for the entire run, and not just per mile or lap. Heard someone on a podcast suggest it earlier in the year. That will be my main reading on the watch on Sunday. Once I see 7.50, or close to it, as the average pace I'm all good. Takes away all the worry of going up hills and seeing 9 mins 30 on the watch and panicking!

Best of luck! Your logic is good there and hopefully the hip holds up. And yeah, average pace all the way - does any other stat matter in a marathon?

Go for it and enjoy the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Hasbaralies

Wishing you all the best lad, hope you get the 26.2 without any hip problems, its hard enough with that **** :-)

Dublin City Marathon report​

This time 12 months ago, I was running two miles every second day, trying to see what was achievable pain-free. I'd spent a lot of the year running sporadically and concentrating on a rehab programme to correct an old FAI hip injury. Apparently many people have FAI impingements which are symptom free, until you start upping the mileage. The issue caught up with me in early 2023.

Slowly but surely I built throughout this year to the point of being able to take on a marathon programme again. This would be marathon number 4 following Belfast, Dublin and Manchester across 2021 and 2022.
    So did it all work out at the end of the 16 weeks? Kind of! Yesterday was a great day and I enjoyed every last bit of it, getting around in a PB time of 3 hrs 18. Previous best was 3.34. On paper, it was a textbook negative split, 1:40 for the first half and 1:38 for the second half. The race number has already gone up on the wall in a frame next to the previous three!

The downside is that I ran through the pain and basically compartmentalised the hip injury for the day. I just refused to even acknowledge it and dogged it out. It hasn't been right for the last six weeks since a 1:33 PB half marathon really set it off. Even on Saturday just gone, I was getting pain walking up stairs. But that HM result made me think it was worth the gamble, to navigate the last six weeks and do the marathon and see how it panned out. Between busy work and family, it will most likely be another year before I get to a marathon start line again. Or maybe more. And the result was definitely worth it. But the gut feeling all along that I was probably taking a risk, and the constant ache in the hip/arse, was always there in the background.

Truth be told, I think I could have gone faster if I'd put down a proper marathon block - I hit about three quarter of the runs/sessions over the 16 weeks, missed a couple of important long runs and swapped most of the shorter speed work in the block for steady runs - and 3:15 was probably on yesterday.
    With a decent winter of rehab, something sub 3:15 will probably be the target next time. But we'll see - if you want to make the marathon gods laugh, tell them your future plans! I'm just grateful for having number four in the bag and getting through a really enjoyable year of races.

The two big things that helped yesterday were, firstly, proper fuelling. I took seven gels and a full packet of carb chews, as well as drinks at every stop and 500ml of electrolyte drink that I carried myself. When I look back to previous marathons, I probably wasn't taking half that much. Never got a sniff of a cramp or a stitch yesterday thankfully. And, secondly, keeping 'average time' as the main stat on the clock was a giant help. I knew anything below 7 mins 40 per mile was a sub 3hrs 20 finish - so I made sure it never went above that. That was a great motivator in the second-half. And of course when you're slow going up the hills, you don't worry because your average time isn't moving.

Reading all the signs was another great distraction. 'Hope you last longer in the race than Jim Gavin did'....'Therapy was an option'...'Run bitch run'...'Don't trust a fart'....the crowd was unbelievable!
    In terms of improvements, injury aside, I still haven't ever got through a full 16-week block with all the speedwork and long runs completed. Diet (particularly around hydration) and sleep could improve. And general mobility could be better. And, of course, I don't have a club or a coach and am making it all up as I go along really. It's exciting when you know there's still a good bit of gains to be made.

But first, to get that dodgy hip right and go after some shorter stuff over winter. Thanks for reading!

Many congrats. 💪👏👏

Now that DCM is done, I'm thinking of contacting a coach for some advice over winter. Not even sure what I'm looking for, just a bit of a review of where I'm at I suppose, and how to safely get to where I want to get to. I used to play a lot of golf and got regularly coaching. But I've always done running on the fly, picking up a lot of stuff through reading/forums/YouTube/personal experience etc.

Not particularly interested in joining a club, and not looking for accountability, more just someone who would maybe take a call or an email a couple of times a year. Any suggestions welcome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 182 ✭✭skinnyfries

Gary O’Hanlon in Dundalk is the man for you!

Hard to believe it's four weeks (and a day!) since DCM. And not a whole pile has happened since for me really, on the running front at least. Went for a five-miler 10 days after DCM and both the hip and calf flared up almost immediately so took the decision to leave running off for a few weeks altogether. In the meantime, I've been stretching and rehabbing pretty much every day. Was back at the physio in the middle of it all and he's thrown in a few new things to keep it a bit more interesting.

I'm kind of making my peace with the fact that, with an FAI hip injury, I'll probably always have a level of pain. It's just about trying to find ways of keeping that down to 2 or 3-out-of-10 pain. Be interesting to hear from anyone else dealing with it, and how they've managed. It seems to be a case of accepting that things are never going to be perfect. Within that new reality, I still think goals can be achieved. Limerick and Dublin marathons are the plan for 2026 and hopefully a shot at something around 3 hrs 10. Hopefully the body plays ball!