If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ulster Team Talk Thread IV... Go On My Henderson...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Izzy has a "small fracture" in his foot, uncertain when he'll be back.

Gusty still might play this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,125 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Hopefully 6 weeks for something like that which would have him back for Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭big-al

the interpros are more important for him.

Sheridan is a more than able replacement for him. I see he’s 122kg, and carries it well.

If we need Izzy for a couple of challenge cups games then we are in trouble.

Racing (home) and Cardiff away won't exactly be walks in the park. From a fan POV and from a financial POV we need an extra home game this season and we're more likely to get it through the Challenge Cup than URC IMO, so I'd like to see us going for 4 from 4 in the pool to make sure.

Anyway he'll be fit for those matches or he won't be, we'll just have to wait and see.

Big opportunity for someone like Hopes or Irvine to get some minutes. It will be interesting to see where they are at. Our second row depth is nowhere near where it needs to be.

10 Ulster players in the Ireland A squad including Tom Stewart who will captain the team against Spain.

Some decent recognition for the lads after the start to the season they've had to the season.

Although James Hume misses out which is surprising to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

Where should Tom Stewart rank as a hooker in the Ireland set-up?

Do I contradict myself?
    Very well then I contradict myself,
    (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

I could see him getting back to third this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭big-al

If he's starting for Ulster (and he started ahead of Herring against the Sharks) and playing well then I can't see how McCarthy can be ahead of him unless one of Sheahan or Kelleher are out for a while.

So to my mind by the 6Ns he'll be third choice, but we'll see.

Maybe the relevent question is where does he rank as an openside…

Lions v Ulster Rugby, Sat 25 October, 12.45pm, Ellis Park Stadium, Round 5 BKT United Rugby Championship (Live on Premier Sports and URC.tv)

Player appearances in brackets

1. Sam Crean (5)

2. Rob Herring (257)

3. Tom O’Toole (126)

4. Harry Sheridan (44)

5. Joe Hopes (2)

6. David McCann (71)

7. Tom Stewart (58)

8. Juarno Augustus (3)

9. Nathan Doak (92)

10. Jack Murphy (16)

11. Zac Ward (12)

12. Jude Postlethwaite (32)

13. James Hume (102)

14. Robert Baloucoune (72)

15. Michael Lowry (126)

Replacements:

16. James McCormick (10)

17. Callum Reid (32)

18. Scott Wilson (38)

19. Matthew Dalton (15)

20. Bryn Ward

21. Conor McKee (4)

22. Jake Flannery (22)

23. Werner Kok (17)

• Administrators Posts: 55,668 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Tom Stewart at 7 is a standout call there.

I don't know much about Joe Hopes.

Stewart has all the attributes for a 7. He's got a jackal in him, he's mobile and as far as I know he's a good defender.

To be honest my main excitement is the man on the bench who will likely replace him halfway through the second half.

Big call anyway as I think Marcus Rea is out there?

Tough call to bench Kok after last week, but it's probably a pre planned selection.

• Administrators Posts: 55,668 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

This is Baloucoune's first game in ages too right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭FtD v2

Augustus out, Ward starts...Big blow, hopefully Ward takes the opportunity.

Nervous about this one. Hope Ward goes well (and Hopes, for that matter).

Think we'll have to get used to being concerned bout our depth this season. (Although we are missing six backrowers - Izzy, Timoney, Gusty, Reffell, McNabney and McLoughlin.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Locke_Lamora

Not the ideal start - O'Toole blown away at the ruck, needless offside, soft tackles..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

Bobby B !!!!!

That is more like it, glad to have Baloucoune back

Devastating try

They targeted Murphy well, but it was far too easy

Half time

Lions 17

Ulster 19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Incredible finish from Baloucoune, love to see it.

We're definitely showing fight, just a little worried about our fitness later on and more mistakes creeping in.

Minutes 70-80 saw Ulster fade. Altitude played a part in the late stages, but first up tackling throughout didn't impress.

49 - 31 didn't reflect how well Ulster played.

Yeah - very callow starting team up front with Ward and Hopes. Will have been the first time in SA for them and the likes of McKee. Disappointed in the result, but not too disappointed in the team.

Baloucoune was superb and I thought Postlethwaite and Hume worked well together - Jude certainly has a load of fight in him. We need a big, solid TH second row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭clsmooth

I thought Baloucoune and Postlethwaite were superb. McCann and Hume were very good too.

Put Ward into a pack with Hendy, Izzy, Timoney and Augustus etc and then I think we'll see exactly what this kid is about. He played well today.

Balacoune showed serious class, all three tries were excellent, the second one in particular. If he keeps playing like that he will have to be in the Ireland conversation again. Hume and Postlethwaite were very good as well, that's our centre pairing post McCloskey. Postlethwaite had always showed a good passing and kicking game but today he carried like Big Stu. Hume continues to ramp up towards his best.

We still lost though. A combination of a lack of bench depth, playing at altitude, no natural 7 and a struggling scrum cost us.

StIll if we'd been offered 6 points on tour two weeks ago most of us would have banked it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

Jaysus, when I saw that I thought I could have sworn that hooker’s name was Tom Stewart but I’m viewing all this from another continent. Fair play to him for even being able to do it. That role may help him improve his open play even more which has become an essential feature for top hookers.

Balacoune, what can I say, he would give Ireland a different type of weapon on the wing that we haven’t had in years. Here’s hoping for a run of Ulster games at least.

Post edited by Ardillaun on

Do I contradict myself?
    Very well then I contradict myself,
    (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

Is there anybody here that owns a season ticket that can tell me if Ulster v Cheetahs in Amsterdam has gone on sale for them yet?

Ticket office said they will be offered to season ticket holders before going on general sale end of this month/beginning of November, so I'm trying to gauge when I need to be on the ball, as I'll be buying for a group.