Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,468 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Connolly has a mandate for the type of presidency she offered, which was to act for the welfare of the people.
    If that means she has criticisms of government policy she will address that.
    Like it or not, that is her 'platform' now.

And given the size of her vote, FF FG will be afraid to do anything about it. Not because they fear something is unconstitutional but because they know they risk a furious backlash. They'll be well schooled as it is by this result.

That's the real politik of it IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

There isn't a possible leader in FFG that will be willing to take Catherine Connolly on intellectually. They are already afraid of her, hence the backchannel smears throughout. She will be much more restrained than in her current role but she will still have a voice. She will be a hugely popular president. Perhaps more so than Michael D.

It's a great day for Ireland.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Im wondering if one positive thing that might come out of this election is more support for the Irish language from the government.

Níl mé sásta leis an leibhéal tacaíochta rialtais dó. Ní mór níos mó deiseanna a bheith ann chun é a úsáid san ionad oibre, sna cúirteanna etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭ForestFire

I'm not sure what you point is, I voted Jim as a protest, as I knew he had publicly withdrawn, and would/could not take the position

Maybe your confused because I gave CC my second vote and you think I'm left, well that's wrong too. (I voted her only due to HH smears)

I mean I normally vote, FF, PDs, ind mostly anyway, even if I think the current performance is poor.)

If you talking about the expenses, it's only a small price to pay to send a message, and compared to the complete wast of money in Gov anyway, it wasn't a factor for me.

Had Jim stayed as a real contender with no other options, I probably would have spoiled. ( Unless there was still a smart companion against CC)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

They can only choose from the willing and able (McGuinness was willing but then wasn't able).

Think you mean 'good debater', someone who can give a good account of themselves in a TV/Radio studio.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 32,750 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Giving off pretty creepy Kin Jung Un vibes there.

The govt are not afraid of her, do not be ridiculous. The actual turnout and likely vote percentage suggest she has quite the hill to climb to be as popular as MDH as well.

Edit: Helen McEntee is a very strong debater and polished media performer. I personally would not have supported her though due to disagreeing with her pushing the flawed hate speech bill last year, and handling of asylum policy. I'm opposed to giving politicians and judges the power of politucal censorship.

Brendan O'Connor saying could be 100,000+ spoiled votes.

David Quinn saying that the low turnout means there isnt really a "movement" for the Left. Says the reason for the large number of spoiled votes is that people didnt have the candidates they wanted.

A recent poll found 50% felt there wasnt anyone on the ballot who represented them. I think that's reflected if you have a 42% or less turnout and 10% spoiled vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,623 ✭✭✭jmcc

Huh? Probably the worst MoJ ever? She is not a strong debater or media performer.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭dmakc

Helen a strong debater? Did you watch the referendum debates? She couldn't debate what day it was

I agree with you on her performance as Minister of Justice. I'm talking about presentational skills. I think she topped the poll in Meath East.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,178 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

If i was him I would for the lols, (and the gaff cash and expenses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Caquas

They're right - there'll be no second count.

The people have served up a large helping of crow for FF/FG. Pity their representatives on the election specials😫 But in their backrooms, there will be serious talk about the level of spoiled votes in middle-class areas, and even support for CC! Dun Laoghaire will fall to CC and RBB will be in his element!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What? Her presentational skills are woeful. She waffled and spoofed her way through her Justice Ministry. McEntee is clearly not minister material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,623 ✭✭✭jmcc

She was overpromoted. She is a useless media performer and she probably cost Humphreys votes.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,322 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

This is the thing.

Connolly is a bit of a loon, with far left views. It will be interesting when she puts her foot in it and pisses off our allies in Europe.

I have been impressed with Ivana Bacik in this election campaign.

Alan Kelly looks like a fool now. He should join FG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭liamtech

Im assuming that, if it has not happened already, McGuirk, Steen, et al - will be claiming a huge victory based on the large spoiled vote.

I dont view it as a credible move on their part.

Saying that the electorate had very little choice in this election

is not Mutually exclusive to

Saying that Steen would have represented a regressive ideology and view point.

I dont think its valid IMHO - but they will no doubt claim the spoil as being for their side of the fence

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

It's easy to be popular when you have little or no power. People have nothing to blame you for and don't expect you to improve their situation.

CC will likely be just as popular as Higgins which has always been a rather superficial type of popularity. I've got a Michael D tea pot cover myself.

BTW love how SF now say CC will be a fitting successor to Higgins when they were the only party to run a candidate against him in 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭supereurope

I'd like to think FG will drop the US-style "smear and attack" campaign we saw this time around. Perhaps next time, they might even tell us why we should vote for their candidate, instead of just saying over and over again why we shouldn't vote for their opponent.

I doubt it, though.

Edit: I think the media quite like McEntee because of her liberal views. I'm more of a status-quo type of Centrist, but anti-party, preferring Independents who wont be punished for questioning bad policy. I have a lot of criticism though of the government but I've always viewed the political Left as too idealistic and unrealistic. Their planning objections have left us without enough electricity, and we recently lost an Amazon factory over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,178 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Ivana would be presidential material weather you like her or not...love her family story, a proper immigrant story , bringing amazing skills to us from Czech and putting us on the map with a worldwide brand of crystal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Caquas

Wrong, CC will be lording over everyone at every State event and with every VIP visitor for the next seven (14!) years to remind FF/FG of their day of humiliation and rejection. They'll wish Michael D was still in the Áras, they'll even miss his lectures, sorry, discourses about the evils of "neo-liberals" (who, me?)/

But your contempt for the "spoiled" voters is revealing. Government spokespersons will be falling over each other today to find fresh ways of saying "We hear you" but what will they say about the voters in the privacy of the parliamentary party meetings?

Helen McEntee wasn't 'willing' to run, in fact she backed HH.

Fine Gael Deputy Leader Helen McEntee said she is supporting former minister Heather Humphreys in her bid to be the party's nomination to contest the Presidential Election.

McEntee backs Humphreys for FG nomination for Áras race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

If turnout is low 30s and spoil vote is over 5% along with a few percent for Gavin shes got a circumstantial win and nothing more.

She'll mouth off regardless and half the Irish public will be appalled and embarrassed and more than likely itll end up being a reverse win for the establishment before the next GE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,522 ✭✭✭creedp

Ah you’ll be grand. Stiff upper li and all that my good lad😀 Christ people are easily embarrassed these days.

Relax will you. We will enjoy those "you won't believe what the Galway witch said" threads too I am sure. Were you one of those hammering Michael D for calling the housing crisis a disaster??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,398 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It would be wrong to interpret the spoiled votes as being solely about Steen or as coming from right wing voters. They probably came from all over the place and reflect a general annoyance with the government and / or 'the establishment'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭liamtech

Look im going to concede that Connolly won the election, which is no surprise considering who her opponent was.

Im hopeful that she does the job admirably, and keeps her more radical opinions to herself. I think the facts surrounding her career as a barrister, which should NEVER have been a talking point in this election, would seem to indicate that she will do her job. She obviously is capable of compartmentalizing her personal opinions, from her professional duties so.

FF and FG done horrifically in this election, and deserve to be hammered in the Polls. Gavin was hugely embarassing for MM, and HH moves in the final week of the election cycle were embarassing.

The spoiled votes will be claimed by obvious bad actors, but I dont view this as correct on their part.

All that aside, congrats to Catherine Connolly, soon to be President Elect it seems

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

McEntee is a good speaker who can deliver a prepared speech very well. Her tone and delivery are pleasant and she is good at keeping cool and not getting ruffled. But she is not a good debater. She cannot make a persuasive argument off the cuff, she she is not good at challenging opposing points off the cuff, she just keeps repeating rehearsed lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,322 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

You'd best check the constitution, so that anything substantive she says has to be approved by the government.