Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,574 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

What does Humphreys know about nitty gritty EU issues, treaties, law, definite benefits to Ireland etc. She is just not equipped to effectively land anything regarding the EU re Connolly as a result.

The only other things HH has left is Rural Ireland and NI. Connolly has herself literally in the republican colours literature, dresses down unkempt- suits the left vibe, and on Rural Ireland all Connolly has to say is “fox hunting”.

Humphreys is really boxed in, I can’t think of anything left that would land her a few Rory Beggan equivalents of 2 pointers in the polls.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,863 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What did Humphreys actually achieve herself while in government? She has never outlined any of it. More school meals maybe?

I don't recall hearing her speak on Radio or TV as minister.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,696 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Had Steen run I'd be forced to give Humphries my 3rd vote behind Connolly and Gavin. This way I can just leave the box beside her name blank so there's upsides and downsides

The 2 horse race (technically still a 3 horse race) would have been expanded on if another candidate had secured 20 of the 234 Oireachtas members or 4 of the 31 local authorities. Somebody who couldn't get 8.5% of the Oireachtas or 13% of the local authorities to back her has no business in running for the highest office in the land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,554 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I wouldn't necessarily criticise her evasion- and the tv debate “hosts” also have blame here by either not asking the right questions or not closing down her word salads and pushing for an answer -

but that’s politics and if you’ve got to the end of the show without answering certain difficult questions, that’s good for you as a politician -

however this is a presidential election and we want our candidates to be truthful not evasive- she would have stood out like an evasive sore thumb had she been up against the likes of a Michael D- unfortunately the lack of a quality candidate from any side means she can spout this gibberish without any repercussion

That’s a very good point. The only one I can think of where HH alluded to her work in government was her 25,000 emails. Where I thought that was a good line. But besides that nothing much else.

Jayus even her junior minister (McHugh) when she was in the Gaeltacht brief out shone her learning/improving his Irish. Connolly doesn’t even need to throw that at her.

Not her personally but the FG party she is part of have achieved record homelessness, a housing crisis on the back of vulture funds and the destruction of the health service. Her record as minister for Justice has made a notable impact on the safety of our streets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭liamtech

Every politician evades topics, i wouldnt doubt that for a second.

But the Anti-EU line is out there, and she has failed to address it in one way or another. Continuing to evade the topic, and refusing to give credible answers; to me it reads as a tacit confirmation that she is, at the very least, softly eurosceptic.

All she has to do is answer the questions plainly, without pivoting to Israel/Palestine, or Militarization - just come out and say whether she is FOR or AGAINST continued membership of the EU. Come out FOR or AGAINST, both the Pro EU, and the Anti-EU left wing groups in the European Parliament.

Otherwise her record, and her statements during the campaign, allow her to be viewed as Anti-EU.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,467 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I know twitter isn't everything, but a quick glance at the last tweets from both candidates (from most recent backwards) over the past 2 days:

• Catherine Connolly:
      • A pinned tweet of her playing keepie-uppie
      • Advertising a national youth canvass
      • Voting plans for Friday
      • Recap of canvass in Galway
      • A sing-song in Galway
      • Cycling in Galway
    • Heather Humphreys:
      • Endorsement from Francis Fitzgerald
      • Endorsement from Mary Coughlan
      • Endorsement from Francis Fitzgerald (again)
      • Endorsement from Mary Harney
      • Notice that she'll be on radio
      • Round-up of her Saturday canvass
      • A (to be fair cute) video with her grandchildren at a pumpkin farm (with a typo)
      • Endorsement from a FF councillor
      • Endorsement from Marian Harkin
      • Endorsement from Mary Butler
      • Endorsement from Daniel O'Donnell
      • Photos from pumpkin farm

Who is running the Humphreys twitter account? Is any of that designed to drive engagement, excitement or attract a single new voter? Connolly is showing she has youth support, she is shown as personable and active. Humphreys has old politicians supporting her.

I do not get how her campaign is so bad…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,468 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Again Liam, she has addressed it, just not giving the answer you clearly want.

Not the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I never see reference to the fact that she was garda vetted shortly after. She was in and out of schools to do with her job and had garda vetting complete. She now works for a Government department.

When did the threat from her cease?

Maybe Connolly's judgement was fairly good after all.

Genuine question:

Can you provide links or evidence where Connolly can be clearly seen as having played an active part, in something that is unequivocally Pro European Union

Honestly I am as engaged as you are in this election cycle - if such evidence exists, i have not seen it.

All i have seen from Connolly RE the European Union is

• Its embracing Militarism
    • UvdL stood with War Criminals
    • Her record of being against EU Referenda
    • Her tacit satisfaction in the Brexit vote, as seeing people 'stand up to EU Bullies'
    • Various soft statements of being a 'proud european'

Just replied to you above - can you back this up with evidence please. Stating it does not make it so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,113 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Connolly is pro and anti everything.. most evasive obfuscating politician out there. Constantly waffles and spoofs and sits on both sides the fence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I have never seen any link to this information. Where did you get this from?

I have seen reference to Connolly intervening with planners to get the woman a one-off home in the Gaeltacht against the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,914 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Is this actually a serious post?

Garda vetting for child protection is very different to Garda vetting for national security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,554 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“But the Anti-EU line is out there, and she has failed to address it in one way or another. Continuing to evade the topic, and refusing to give credible answers; to me it reads as a tacit confirmation that she is, at the very least, softly eurosceptic.”

Ah look, I agree-CC more than many, is very aware of not only what she said, but also what she didn’t say. Had she wanted to address any misinterpretation she would have - she chose not to.

Your interpretation of what she said is valid, in the absence of clarification from her- she is quite happy for you to hold that interpretation - which essentially implies that your interpretation is the true meaning of her communication on the topic of the EU.

Her “stances” on certain issues are cloaked in this language - but stepping back one can see just how far left she is - she doesn’t want to admit this, and neither do her supporters - so she “alludes” to certain things and leaves them open to reading between the lines- again , clever for an opposition politician - deceitful as a presidential candidate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,468 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

She has not, because it isn't within the scope of her limited time spoken often on other things EU.

She is for EU directives on Climate Change and has criticised the government for not implementing them.

She is for the Schuman Directive on Integration

She supports EU sanctions on Russia

She has criticised the EU across a narrow spectrum of what the EU does, namely militarisation and support it gives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,781 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

No, she's a marxist euro-sceptic. Her presence will be damaging for Ireland's interests.

Her values are not in line with those of the people, the State, our society and economy, and she may harm them all.

So, if we don't destroy her now, we'll have to wait until she's in office, if indeed she is elected.

And it won't be hard.

We can either clip her wings to such an extent that she can say nothing, do nothing, and go nowhere, and ultimately resigns in protest.

Or we can flood the slate of legislation, Triple Lock, CETA, Mercosur etc, which she will no doubt find herself unable to keep referring to the Supreme Court, and losing, and then we will impeach her for vexatious conduct, or we will shred her in the Oireachtas and in the media to the extent that she resigns, Cearbhall Ó'Dálaigh style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,412 ✭✭✭corkie

Just catching up with the thread now!

and

and

Seems this barrister thing has got you wound up? @FrancieBrady

Here is some more on it?

Fianna Fáil minister stands up for lawyers amid criticism of Catherine Connolly

Speaking at an event in Dublin, the justice minister (Fianna Fáil TD Jim O’Callaghan) stated he was “not going to catapult himself into the centre of the presidential election in the last week” but that “lawyers are retained to provide legal services”.

“That's absolutely essential for the administration of justice that all parties in either civil or criminal proceedings are fully and competently represented,” he said.

“Just because a lawyer takes on a case for a client doesn't mean that the lawyer is endorsing the behaviour or opinions of that client. They're simply providing legal services.

Yes CC does have the right to refuse certain cases at times under strict circumstances, and we don't know if she has or not during that time. She would still be bound by the confidentiality of cases and not allowed to discuss them, or use them to backup a stance she took. So staying quite is her only option on them now.

Disorganized because of the different people opinions involved with the campaign and the reasons for each to support it, they have acknowledge they don't agree with each other on the reasons why etc.

Following the progress of that campaign. Disclaimer: I DO NOT ENDORSE any leaders of it, but share the common goal of spoiled votes. Video on youtube of the launch on Friday. Don't care what they try to claim after the election, there opinion is not valued now, so why would it be after the fact. There was a 'Spoil the/your Vote' before they got together?

"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." ~ George Santayana
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,777 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Lol. I see you have moved on from the landslide in favour of HH according to FG internal party polling?

The reality is that Connolly will get elected, she will be popular (hence winning the election), and every now and then will get some news articles or social media virality over her statements which again tend to be widely popular, just as most of Michael Ds were.

Whether lambasting govt for record homelessness numbers, or speaking out against injustices both local and global, the public overwhelmingly agree with Michael D Higgins viewpoints. Catherine Connolly is just more of the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭MFPM

I’m going over old ground here I know, I don’t expect agreement and if you were one of the anti CC zealots here, I wouldn’t bother but you position yourself on the soft/centre left, yet you’re voting for the most right-wing candidate in this election and that is hugely problematic.

You present your argument as a factual and dispassionate “analysis,” however the tone and structure of it reveal underlying assumptions and rhetorical strategies that have been present in your posts from the start of this campaign.

Framing and Assumptions on Europe

You begin with an assertion of Connolly’s “animosity” toward the EU, grounding this claim in her history of opposing European treaties and her criticisms of militarisation. However, the characterisation of “animosity” is itself interpretive rather than factual. Opposition to EU treaties, particularly on grounds of militarisation or neutrality, can also be framed as a consistent political philosophy rather than hostility. You collapse principled dissent into “Euroscepticism” without distinguishing between critique and rejection — a significant conceptual leap that oversimplifies Connolly’s (and others) position – in my view.

Furthermore, the argument that Connolly’s associations with some other political figures imply an intent to “dismantle” the EU but relies on guilt by association, not to mention their ‘intent to dismantle is far from being established but it’s useful you to highlight.

This rhetorical move substitutes inference for evidence, suggesting a political motivation that may not be explicitly shared. You claim to reject the label of “smear,” yet your framing relies heavily on conflating criticism with intent — precisely the kind of framing that often produces the perception of a smear campaign!

Just a note on Von Der Leyen – she has stood shoulder to shoulder with Israel and like Trump, Macron, Starmer and Merz completely legitimised Netanyahu’s slaughter of Gazan’s and illegal assaults on five other territories – they are facts.

The Éirigí Appointment

In discussing the so-called “Éirigí Fiasco,” you claim the issue is a matter of legitimate scrutiny rather than partisan attack. While it is indeed reasonable to question the judgment of any public appointment, the argument again hinges on an assumption of moral incompatibility rather than a balanced evaluation of rehabilitation and civic participation. The notion that someone formerly associated with a non-mainstream political group should be barred from serving in Leinster House is debatable — and raises broader questions about inclusivity in democratic institutions.

You concede the importance of rehabilitation but undermine this principle by suggesting that certain political associations permanently disqualify an individual from public service. This stance risks reinforcing exclusionary norms, where past dissent or radicalism becomes grounds for permanent suspicion. The contradiction between acknowledging rehabilitation and denying its practical application weakens the coherence of your argument, in my view.

Media and “Framing”

You continually reject claims of media bias or ‘smearing’ (there’s far more of the former than the latter, but both present) insisting that the coverage has been legitimate and proportionate. Yet your description of how Connolly has been portrayed — as “anti-European,” “anti-German,” and “associated with extremists” — itself reflects the selective framing you accuse others of misidentifying.

You assume that the media’s historical tendency to “do a number” on candidates is natural and inevitable, rather than interrogating why certain narratives dominate political discourse while others are marginalised – this campaign has been graphically illustrative of this process.

This acceptance of media behaviour as an unchangeable fact effectively normalises structural bias. It treats political framing as an unavoidable reality rather than a process worthy of critical examination — precisely the opposite of what a robust democratic conversation should do.

Lastly…

Ultimately, your post is less an impartial analysis than a defence of conventional political legitimacy. You follow the media’s narrative that dissent from dominant EU, NATO, or state-aligned positions is inherently suspect, and that the media’s role in scrutinising such dissent is inherently justified. A more balanced critique would recognise that Connolly’s views, while controversial to some, reflect a consistent thread within Irish political life — one grounded in neutrality, scepticism of military integration, and advocacy for sovereignty – one can disagree but that does not delegitimise them - which has been the central tenet of the media framing from day 1 in this campaign.

Critical journalism should scrutinise, but it should also question its own assumptions — particularly when power and ideology intersect as visibly as they do in discussions of the EU and Irish neutrality for example.

More lies from you? Or did you ever manage to find that conflict of interest you were talking about earlier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Think it was the Daily Mail on Sunday that carried the story about the planning permission. Saw a screengrab online.

The daily mail is about as reliable as a 90s Renault 5 but at least you've a small amount of backup on that occasion, well done!

Any proof about the Galway housing protest groups she was a member of and worked on behalf of that you mentioned earlier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭jmcc

Are you considering not voting or voting for Connolly? Your post suggests that your confidence in Humphreys is fading.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,863 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

And remember she doesn't have a fraction of the money Fine Gael have. Or the infrastructure. She could be considerably out of pocket at the end of all this. I'd even say that Jim Gavin still has more posters up in Galway than Catherine. Certainly on the old Dublin Road.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭tarvis

Can anyone say they support the EU in everything it does and fails to do?
    Is there no room for disagreements and differing views?
    I fear we are falling into the black and white no dissent, only one way to think, speak and act world of the USA.
    And the ‘gotcha’ seeking media debate presenters are contributing to this group speak - campaign after campaign.

No, she's a marxist euro-sceptic. Her presence will be damaging for Ireland's interests.

Even if true, and I'm not confident that it is, that's still better than a manipulative blueshirt who has to resort to dirty tactics because she doesn't have a leg to stand on otherwise

Her values are not in line with those of the people, the State, our society and economy, and she may harm them all.

True for a lot of people, hence why we have a FF/FG government, to call it "in line with those of the people" is a very wide brush to cast though

So, if we don't destroy her now, we'll have to wait until she's in office, if indeed she is elected. And it won't be hard.

Curious to hear how do you think it will be easier after the election? Surely before their election is an easier time to "destroy" a candidate?

We can either clip her wings to such an extent that she can say nothing, do nothing, and go nowhere, and ultimately resigns in protest.

That's exactly what will happen when she's president, although nothing and nowhere are a bit extreme

Or we can flood the slate of legislation, Triple Lock, CETA, Mercosur etc, which she will no doubt find herself unable to keep referring to the Supreme Court, and losing, and then we will impeach her for vexatious conduct, or we will shred her in the Oireachtas and in the media to the extent that she resigns, Cearbhall Ó'Dálaigh style.

If any of these pieces of legislation were against the constitution would she not be obliged to refer them? CO'D resigned for other reasons, I would expect you to know that but then again FG have been shown to not know a whole lot lately

No still voting for HH out of default

I was Just referencing how poor HH has been in this campaign in getting the undecided vote, or broader spectrum in the electorate. Nothing savvy in the campaign.

It is Connolly’s consistently strong anti-EU stance, and potentially strong rhetoric that wouldn’t be apolitical in office, which means I am still voting HH

I did think about it if Mary Lou ran as President, would I have voted for her? Maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

yeah still waiting for a reply on that galway housing group. it think the op is just making **** up