Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭jmcc

It is turning into a complete sh*t show for FG. FF must be happy that Gavin's campaign imploded and people are just talking about FG incompetence.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,566 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Frances Fitzgerald was on Newstalk this morning and sounded desperate. 'I spoke to 9 people yesterday who told me they were all voting for HH'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,468 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

And Connolly given no right of reply.

Poor balance and even poorer journalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,791 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

I think Helen McEntee has on Radio 1 This Week has made up my mind to reluctantly vote for Connolly. I'm not happy with either candidate, but FG's toxic negative campaign has been sickening. Launching an unopposed attack under the guise of speaking about some minor change in Education policy (and in fact its really Justice/Social rather than Education) rams home the entitled arrogance of FG and that's what "Heather" seems to represent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,871 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Yeah even if I wasn't a Connolly supporter I would be quite unnerved at how our political establishment and system is operating. It's very worrying. Filthy politics.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭liamtech

You can point to the messanger, and state that its imporatant, and i dont disagree. But for me its a secondary consideration to the topic being discussed. And its in stark contrast to some of the other topics that people have viewed as smears. I freely admit that Ivan Yates put the whole thing into overdrive, with his 'interjection'.

Connolly's position on the EU is relevent, as to how it relates to her campaigning record during EU referendums. It also relates to her opinions on Ukraine, Germany, and the EU as a whole. This is, IMHO, not a smear, its fair game.

Likewise, her judgement over the Eirigi fiasco, and how she handled this topic in the election, relates to her judgement, and is therefore relevant. We can and should discuss it, and therefore IMHO, it is also fair game, and not a smear.

Now people can have opinions on the above, and say, for example; They disagree with me, and view her EU positions as prudent. They could also attack the Eirigi situation, and claim that it has no impact on their opinion of CC, or her judgement. These are valid positions to have, 100%. But i dont think the above can be referred to as smears, and there are other examples i could offer.

However, whether or not CC represented banks in repossessions, is no business of anyones. She represented clients, and i'll channel my inner Roy Keane here; thats her job, she did her job. Period. This topic has no place in the election, and the fact it is being raised, is comical. It reeks of desperation, and its going to backfire. Certainly it will not sway anyone away from Connolly, and will more likely weaken an already lacklustre Humphreys Campaign. - this topic is a smear - 100%

I dont care if Connolly took part in 5 repossessions a week during the financial crash - it is not a consideration for me, or anyone IMHO. And its a mistake to bring this into the election.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,581 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

The last thing FG want is someone to be there to answer and immediately show them up. They need the private soapbox to try and appear competent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,871 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The policy is to attack her strong points. She has spoken in the Dail multiple times about the housing criss and homelessness. Hence the barrister/bank attacks.

She has also defended women throughout her career (e.g. mother and baby homes survivors) and often visits women shelters. Hence the 'she wants to hire rapists' allegations. Fine Gael are playing disgusting politics to get their first president.

I don't think Ivan Yates is the only one advising them. Trump must be too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Especially with someone like McEntee. A 12 year old who does debating at school could have her for breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

What has only become clear in recent days is that Connolly was working as a barrister for banks right up until 2016, while she was a councillor and hypocritically attacking the government over repossessions. That hypocrisy is a matter of discussion.

Nasty politics from the Nasty Party? The more FG does this kind of smear with McEntee etc, the more damaging it is to FG's reputation for a party of integrity compared to FF. It is all getting very Animal Farm.

Regards…jmcc

It's unreal. I actually didn't think they would sink this low. Why are they so desperate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,190 ✭✭✭gifted

To be fair, there's a good chance that the integrity of all the political parties in this country disappeared a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭liamtech

Im sorry but i still have to frame this story as a smear. She had a job and she did it. Ultimately the government, through their economic policy, are culpable for the harm they caused during the financial crisis. The government, and the banks. Im over simplifying here, because i dont want to reprosecute the financial crisis and government policy throughout the period.

Holding CC responsible would be like blaming members of the Gardai for having to execute eviction orders. They arent responsible for anything other than doing their jobs, to the best of their ability. Barristers have to represent their clients. Its how the game works, and honestly i cant criticize CC for it.

I have to maintain my position of offering justifiable criticisms of the candidates. I have done so for weeks, particularly toward Catherine Connolly. On foreign policy, and on her judgement during the Eirigi fiasco, iv been highly critical. I have done my best to highlight the poor state of her foreign policy in particular, as its a topic which i have studied. And i feel it prudent to discuss her positions as being poorly framed, on the EU, Ukraine, Russia, the US - iv attacked her positioning on the Syria trip too - All of this is justifiable, and i stand by it.

I cant criticize a barrister, for being a barrister. Its not warranted, or justifiable. I hope im being clear, and obviously it does nothing to alter my general opinion on CC.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,781 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

it’s like a Machine that automatically cranks up against anyone perceived to be radical/anti-establishment. You’d think if anyone with political nous was running the show they would have called off the dogs days ago when it became Connolly wasn’t going to be caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,521 ✭✭✭creedp

I’d reached that conclusion 2 weeks ago. I would not normally vote for CC but there’s no way I’d vote for HH in this election.
    At one point I had made up my mind not to vote but now I’m voting on an anti FFG basis

I'm not sure that FG as a party is desperate. Harris and co may well want to hang on to their jobs and Humphreys failing badly will cause problems for them. It would nor be surprising if the knives are already being sharpened. Politicians don't like to be associated with a loser as people begin to think that they are losers too.

With FF and Gavin, there was closure and a kind of 'get out of jail free' card for Martin (so far). With FG, there will be a lot of blame going around and few will want to take responsibility for the dreadful campaign.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

FG style of politics where they appear to position themselves as a cut above and look down on a large section of the electorate and what they vote for, obviously serves them well with their core support base. They've done it before with that video where the TDs all individually said "no way" to camera about going into coalition with SF. It's what their supporters like, and that's fine, but they don't seem to have any facility to broaden their appeal to the centre left and floating voters when necessary - like this campaign.

Their style seems to actively repel other voters. They don't even seem to be able to adjust enough to attract FF votes when they are coalition partners.

But the smear campaign will probably lose them a lot more votes than it will gain. People see right through it. So why would Fine Gael top brass want to lose even worse than expected? Who is advising them besides Yates?

Don't think that Yates is advising them. He's quite smart. These people are not. They were the people who replaced Enda Kenny with Varadkar (led FG to one of its worst GE losses ever) and Varadkar with Harris (Kanturk incident, lying to families of children awaiting surgery, National Childrens Hospital).These were the people who took FG from 76 seats and near majority to just 38 seats and third place behind SF for two GEs in a row. Replacing McGuinness with Humphreys was just another nail in the coffin of FG as a major political party. And FF will keep taking FG's support and seats while these people continue destroying FG.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭feelings

Hold on. Connolly in particular has more integrity and independence than most candidates we’ve seen in the last two presidential elections. Gravitas isn’t just about being polished or presidential looking. It’s about substance, conviction and being consistent. On all of those fronts she’s miles ahead of HH, or any of the other potential candidates.

And I’d believe Connolly will project a very positive image of Ireland. Standing for decency, equality and accountability at every opportunity. That’s the kind of image we should have representing the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭MFPM

Her opponent partnered FF, the party that caused the housing crisis in government and then remarkably made said crisis worse - the children in hotel rooms have HH and her like to blame for their problems......but look over there it's CC....Blanch your desperation is increasingly laughable.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 32,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I can't wait til the next General Election, when we get to decry all the complaints about what FF and FG have actually done in power as a giant media-driven smear campaign. 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭mikep

As I mentioned previously, I wonder is Phil Hogan advising.

It was reported that he was advising Simon Harris before he became Taoiseach and was reported that he was also advising them for the last general election.

In my opinion, Hogan shouldn't be anywhere near the Dáil and if his advice was to go on the attack then he might not be around much longer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,113 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Martin spot on here about Connolly and her crew!

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-41726838.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Jesus, with all these attacks, I might change my vote from JG to CC, or at least give a second preference to CC.

HH attacked on CC for doing her job as a barrister!?

How many people suffered due to HH's government policies, while she was in power!!

I mean, we are in the midst of a rent and housing crisis FFS.

Was HH giving out free money from the CU, God bless her, or was she charging interest?

I won't even get into - the "Other" Candidate is far left… too…. well, you better ask her…But her friends……

(I'm not left either, probably centre/left)

And then we have Me-Martin, with voting against EU referendums, etc. and anti-EU crap.

Firstly, while I'm pro-EU, not being pro-EU is not necessarily bad, is it?

Are we supposed to vote in EU referenda without question? I voted against for the first Nice and yes for the second modified/clarified version. Is this not democracy? Are FF against this? Does voting no in a treaty prohibit you from Future participation in life!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

The more I think of her campaign recently the more I see his fingerprints all over it. 🤔

He was a hatchet man and about as subtle as a brick to the head: barge ahead at all costs, don't ever pause to take stock of the situation and read the room.

I think you are on to something @mikep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,469 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I was scrolling through twitter earlier today. Heather Humphrey's social media game (or at least twitter) is shocking. It's just posts of random FG and FFers who gave announced they are supporting her. Literally nothing there would make you want to consider voting for her if you weren't already in her camp like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,089 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I wonder what the turnout will be. I think it will be a record low.