If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Boards.ie Subscription

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Dan Steely

What site-saving activities are ongoing, other than the subscription campaign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,189 ✭✭✭jj880

32.3K followers and not worth 1 tweet with replies turned off?

Jaysus.

Post edited by jj880 on

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

I'm not seeing where in the terms of use it says we can't discuss other websites - I can see it's clear about no promotion and that's absolutely fair, but mentioning the name of alternatives (such as, "oh well i think Facebook does X better than Boards, could be something to look at") isn't promoting them - and from this thread it would appear that I can absolutely say something about Facebook or Reddit, but if I mentioned the name of other specific sites, it'd be determined that the same sentence is promotional?

From copilot. Written in about 20 seconds:

Subject: Help Keep Boards.ie Alive

Boards.ie has been a cornerstone of Irish online community life for over two decades — a place where people connect, share advice, debate, and laugh together. But now, it needs your help to stay online.

We’re facing serious challenges, and without support from our users, the future of Boards.ie is uncertain. If you value the conversations, connections, and culture that Boards.ie has fostered, please consider subscribing to help keep the community alive.

🔗 Track our progress and learn more
    💙 Subscribe here to support Boards.ie

Every subscription makes a difference. Let’s keep the lights on together.

Thanks so much,
    — The Boards.ie Team

Lob the tweet in with replies disabled and log off. Even if only a few subs come of it surely its worth doing.

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,207 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I know when v o a t . c o was a thing it was added to the swear filter because disgruntled users from here were slagging off boards over there. I presume it's the same reasoning with a couple of other sites

• Administrators, Boards.ie Employee, Boards Employee 2, Boards Employee 3 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭✭✭Boards.ie: Mike

What’s happening beyond subscriptions?
    We’re working on: (1) reducing hosting/ops costs, (2) assessing infrastructure and re-platform options that preserve 20+ years of content, and (3) exploring sponsorship/partnership routes. Some of this involves third parties, so we won’t publish live vendor details.

Why not communicate more often?
    With one staff member, running commentary isn’t practical. We’ll post checkpoint updates when there’s something concrete to share, and immediately if/when a decision is made.

Why not use social media right now?
    Social channels are paused. Even “broadcast-only” posts create off-platform moderation/support overhead we can’t absorb with one staffer. Post may have disabled comments but there are always those who will post message after message. Also, historically this didn’t move the sustainability needle. Focus stays on the core site and direct support.

Can we talk about other sites?
    Sure, for feature comparisons that inform improvements here (naming sites is fine in that context) if that satisfies posters. No for promotion/recruitment (“come to X,” invite links, traffic-driving posts).

⭐️ Keep Boards Alive ⭐️ *Live information on campaign here*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

I assume as much too, I remember that site and I believe they were doxxing too or trying to? Awful place.

But you don't see Reddit being a banned word or not allowed to be mentioned despite numerous threads absolutely slating boards users. So it seems a little odd that two specific sites can't be mentioned even if it doesn't breach the current terms of use 🤷

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 26,512 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Why don't you ask for someone to volunteer to be Social Media manager for Boards on a voluntary basis? ChristmasFM do the same, someone might be interested in getting the experience to be a social media manager to build a portfolio for the future?

Surely something is better than nothing. I get ye are busy and massively under-resourced but no harm in reaching out to the community here that want to see boards survive.

The lifeboat has set sail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,464 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Inspiring update, great stuff.

Now let's relax and listen to boards new theme song.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Administrators, Boards.ie Employee, Boards Employee 2, Boards Employee 3 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭✭✭Boards.ie: Mike

⭐️ Keep Boards Alive ⭐️ *Live information on campaign here*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,323 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

i hope you find someone able to do that! Would be fun to see again.

Back in the Day, it was a delightful surprise to see one of my threads featured in one of "Boards threads of the week" facebook posts and it was fun to look up the rest of the threads that Niamh and dear Mark (rip) mentioned. There was so much on Boards I didn't know was even here (ya miss a lot from simply perusing the front page on Boards). They delved into different forums and shared fun social media posts from all areas. Surely too time consuming for one employee, Mike handles so much as it is.

Does anyone else recall when Dav and Niamh did a question and answer video from their offices, to discuss plans for Boards' future, like (idk) 13 years ago? (I was a newby and chuffed to get my question included in the vid). Their hope-filled ideas of expanding Boards into more of a social media-like presence, now seems more like :( pie-in-the sky, looking back.

Ah the good old days from Vbulletin times.

Post edited by Deja Boo on

and another off-topic wonderment —> did argumentative posts increase after thunderdome was closed? I mean, was it better to have a dedicated forum for the enraged, so ugliness didn't spill over to other areas, or no?….Oh,you know what was fun to read through? Prison forum! If I recall Spears replies were a gas!

…k. sorry no more reminiscing for me - back.on.topic. sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,207 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Bring back @gordon, let him loose on the socials

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭DayInTheBog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,879 ✭✭✭hold my beer

The reply box on Firefox on Android mobile is becoming unusable on here. Is there any fix for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭TerrieBootson

I'm curious about the counter at 47 days for a while now. Will it just go from 47 to zero in two weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,553 ✭✭✭✭banie01

You can't seriously expect Odhran or Mike to actually log into that landing page and change the countdown number manually???

I mean that's a job for an engineer, or a programmer, or a social media manager or someone who can approximate a fair imitation of same /s

That's even more effort than sending a tweet to 32000 followers of the boards.ie account with replies turned off.
    The lads don't have the time or the bandwidth for that;
    They are out there making deals to save the site, no time to try and engage anyone who may have residual goodwill or interest in this place!

Goddamit man!
    This is BUSINESS!!!

We don't understand the level those lads are operating at in their efforts to save boards...

We just have to trust in their brilliance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,812 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Once a week isn't a constant update scenario though. I'm guessing at this point the site will survive beyond November 1st but even some clarity on that is helpful. IMHO, you're more likely to gain subscribers if there's some level of trust in the site still existing into 2026.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Will everyone be released from the prison forum in two weeks ??

Save boards.ie by subscribing:

If by "prison forum" you mean "Vanilla" ;) then…

…. apparently it's 47 days away

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

No DB, it's not 47 days away, it's been 4 years and counting.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 26,512 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

I feel like that is something we should have been updated about it. Oh well good thing people created alternative sites for us to use.

Post edited by Big Bag of Chips on

The lifeboat has set sail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 572 ✭✭✭waterfaerie

Im not sure whether or not to take it seriously, since it's coming from someone with only 1 post. I don't read any newspapers but couldn't find it by googling or by looking on that newspaper's website. Can anyone else confirm if it's true?

*** boards.ie needs our help to keep going! ***

In a year's time, which would you miss more? €50 or boards?

Keep Boards Alive | Important News | boards.ie Subscriptions | Subscribers' Forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Dan Steely

If true, as a paid subscriber I feel like I've been taken for a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Glaceon

I’d imagine that if the site had gone into liquidation, it would be offline already?

If its legit could someone post a pic / snip of it?

Info 👉️ Important News!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,080 ✭✭✭corkie

Made an AI query on it.

https://www.perplexity.ai/search/boards-software-limited-tradin-JQwxknWAQNWWfGn85AHvxw

Sorry on mobile at present.

Edit!l: no mention of SBP article on that query!

Post edited by corkie on

#Aras25 | Have your say on the two linked polls? AH & CA
    "There will be a protest vote and absolutely people’s right to do that. There is no intention to take away that right or to stop it in any way." ~ Chair of the Electoral Commission Ms Justice Marie Baker
    "Níl mé toilteanach toil a thabhairt"! 24-09-2025 09:31PM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭user060916

Can't see anything on vision net (which AI is referencing) showing it's in liquidation.

Showing as normal https://www.vision-net.ie/Company-Info/Boards-Software-Limited-682943

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Glaceon

Looks like AI hallucination, the source it reports has no mention of Boards.

https://www.vision-net.ie/Company-Info/Boards-Software-Limited-682943

No mention of liquidation here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,080 ✭✭✭corkie

#Aras25 | Have your say on the two linked polls? AH & CA
    "There will be a protest vote and absolutely people’s right to do that. There is no intention to take away that right or to stop it in any way." ~ Chair of the Electoral Commission Ms Justice Marie Baker
    "Níl mé toilteanach toil a thabhairt"! 24-09-2025 09:31PM

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.