Any way to stop a cow coming in heat?

• 14-10-2025 12:23PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

Hi folks,

Just wondering have any of you any ideas? She's a fine cow but can't have calves due to a kidney issue and she's my old pet and she will die here on the farm after serving her time as a great mother, so no "send her to the factory" comments please!!! She's in heat regularly and driving a young heifer who's still too young to go in calf mad. I guess I'll just have to house each of them during their heat phase to stop injury to the young one. Just wondering has anyone any ideas I may have missed? Many thanks.

Post edited by PonyParty87 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Jaysus, I've never heard of the thought of anyone putting a marble into the uterus of a cow, for fcuks sake what are ye thinking about considering you even asked your Vet. Feckers like you shouldn't be allowed to keep livestock/have a herd number in Ireland.

Yet another troll post or worse - feckin vegans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭SodiumCooled

We have had plenty of cows that were pets/we were very fond off over the years - we have one or two in nearly every generation of cows. Doesn’t mean the mart/factory is not the right place for them when the time comes though - certainly better than messing with them to stop them cycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

I do know of someone who used to insert a cidr in any cow he didn’t want to come into heat, not sure how long it works for, someone else might be able to help on that front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I put in 6 cidrs in high SCC cows this year and they all lost them and went in calf to the bull!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Where there’s a will there’s a way!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭older by the day

I'm afraid death comes to everyone and everything. Get someone with a cowbox with straw, and take her too the factory. It will be over and done with, fast and in comfort.

A lot of fellas have a dream like idea of cattle dying of old age. When in reality you will find her in a dyke someday up side down after spending the night in pain, or thrown down in the field, crawling trying to get up after an animal jumped on her.