If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1** 27th Jan Forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,394 ✭✭✭Damien360

Haven't listened to Ray since his TodayFM days. Towards the end of that time, he had become contrary and set in his ways and I had switched off. Runs daily, never a coffee after a certain time etc. Like a vegan but worse if you get the reference. He was never a good interviewer but had been entertaining. He had an offer from RTE a year before his actual departure. That's when I thought his show nose dived. Reading this thread, it seems money didn't improve matters.

He was paid on the basis of bringing the TodayFM audience with him. That didn't materialise. It would seem commercial suicide by RTE to not put goals in place before payment.

As for the eventual replacement. Their pay should be based on the market rate of the other national stations. So if TodayFM or newstalk are willing for fork out €250k or more for that slot, then that's the rate. It should not be based on the outgoing incumbent. Same for Tubs when he eventually returns (which he will).

It's hard to see where he will go without a bit of humility and also loosing him team. Credit to RTE if someone finally grabbed the nettle and decided it's their way or no way. There is a shake up going on but who knows how it will change. The target audience is probably not the boards demographic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭littlevillage

This thread is humming.

Ray was roundly hated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,990 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Hate is a hard word. I am not sure there is anyone I hate as such. I just dislike his pontificating. It's all very well to be earning 3-500k a year and then pontificating to ordinary people.

He had a been in his bo net about being fit and healty. My better half dragged me to one of his radio shows down at Kevin Dundons resturant when we were on holidays once.

Just Half an hour before the show began the bold Ray was returning from his run. It grand to pontificate about fitness and health when researchers are doing most of the work and you are in reality only working a 4-5 hour day

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭Newbie12345The

See the Cathal Pendred interview on Today FM about 12 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,249 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Ray was stealing a living for at least 11yrs.

He has been found out, finally.

Id be very surprised to hear him back on any of the main radio stations in ireland, unless hes prepared to work for a fraction of what he was earning off rte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

Playback appeared to be giving the hint that Raymond could go into the world of after dinner motivational speeches.

🤣

Sorry, I got a vision of him just like Alan Partridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Think his large salary irked people for what he did ,maybe if his profile was lower than one of the top earnings people may not have rated him but wouldn't have been so bothered about him overall .

Post edited by littlevillage on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭PixelCrafter

The only time I accidentally listened recently happened to be when Dustin the Turkey was on with him and honestly it was a great flashback to the Den era, but what it also made stand out to me was he worked best with others around him having the bants, not so much in monologue mode.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 8,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I was never a fan, so steered clear.

It looks like he left in a strop. Others seem to have finished out their time and had a chance to say their goodbyes.

Even in non high profile jobs, unhappy departures are usually dressed up as - leaving to pursue other interests. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,715 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Do you know what he was above all else?

A complete bore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭techman1

Yes but you would have to wonder at her decision to go back to newstalk, she would now be a queen in RTE land being a woman and all. That is hard currency there especially with all the turmoil with Ray D'Arcy leaving and all the other ones retiring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Woodcutting

Bland and smug. Talking about homelessness as if she'd know anything about it. Must have heard something to suggest she'd be replaced .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,578 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Not sure RTE handled it very well. Sounds like they offered him a different time slot and on a reduced salary in a 'take it or leave it' fashion. All of that is fair enough, but it seems like it was sprung on him and the team at extremely short notice - note how Joe Duffy was given weeks to prepare his exit from Liveline.

Not buying that. All the 'talent' were told to expect big pay cuts, when they had to go cap in hand to the taxpayers to bail them out.

I dont think D'Arcy expected not to have been affected like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,578 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

My issue is more with the timescale than the substance. The new boss says 'D'Arcy no longer works for RTE' ; did they terminate his contract with immediate effect when talks broke down this week and he didn't agree to a new slot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭rolling boh

His contract was due for renewal this year ,he obviously thought it would more or less rollover on maybe a bit less money but clearly he got a shock when he heard about the new plans for him if any so he he left the building pretty smartly along with his wife .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭PixelCrafter

I’d assume, like many of their presenters, he’s employed by a production company rather than by RTE. While those arrangements can have upsides, the downside is if the schedule gets reshuffled or they decide to axe a show, it’s just a simple business to business relationship, not employer and employee. Show business can be a very tough game when it comes to that kind of contract negotiation. It still basically retains the old theatre approach to hiring and firing actors on a whim, which is very unusual in the modern world tbh.

I wonder how much of the old €250k contract they offered him for to stay on?? €25k maybe 😂

Fair play Patricia Monahan, boot himself and A. M. Kelly out the fcuking foor.

Remember he used to have a jingle about his then girlfriend....

A M Lelly

A M Kelly

A M Kelly

Show business can be a very tough game when it comes to that kind of contract negotiation. It still basically retains the old theatre approach to hiring and firing actors on a whim, which is very unusual in the modern world tbh.

Kieran cuddihy would want to remember that aswell, he is the man of the moment now but so was ray D'Arcy, in the late 90s he was wanted by everyone.

I think it is a mistake for cuddihy to move to liveline, you need the common touch and a sense of humour to be dealing with callers and listeners to liveline, most of them are in the 60+ retired demographic. At this stage in his career if he flops at liveline his whole career will be messed up, he will quickly be yesterday's man like so many have found to their cost.

Oddly enough Ray D'Arcy might have been a better fit he is well able to talk rubbish with the common man or woman. Cuddihy I think went for the time slot more than the show, living in kilkenny with a young family he probably wasn't able to go back to early mornings again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

Lets be fair here, the Duffster is not working class. He might not like it but it is true. Social mobilty at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Deedsie

I never hated him, in someways you would nearly feel sorry for him. Not the renumeration side of things obviously. But he comes across as a bit of a tortured soul at times. Always trying to demonstrate how great a boy he is. Porridge and running and all the other pontificating smugness. He is just a bit of a shite, and id love if a bit of self reflection could happen. For his sake.

Maybe a new show with an entirely different team or a podcast with Zig & Zag and Dustin or a YouTube channel and he could finish out his career in a more positive way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,959 ✭✭✭RoTelly

A.M Kelly is his wife, she moved from Today FM with him to RTÉ. I am surprised she didn't become RTÉ staff.

Anyway typical boards.ie poor Ray, and nobody here to defend him like Tubs. I'd try to help but I don't see to be able to re-hash the same arguments about how good he was and well deserving of the pay that he got and sure wouldn't you take that kind of pay if it was offered to you etc etc

Makes you think about those posters and who they were, but they seemed to have stayed clear with this pile on Ray thread.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,393 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

I wonder did they offer him less airtime and less money and when he rejected this, they moved Louise Duffy into the afternoon and extended Oliver Callan to a two hour show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭Trebor176

A M Kelly was Ann-Marie Kelly who was on the 5-7AM slot back in the 'better' days of Today FM. She moved to Midlands 103 where she presented the breakfast show for a number of years.

Jenny Kelly is Ray's wife, so maybe you're confusing the two Kellys.

Is thought her name was Jenny Kelly. His whole production team moved with him to RTE. I imagine a lot of the backroom staff were unhappy about that.

No panel, no doing your time. Just scopped up and given full time jobs.

At the time my sister was sitting on a panel for a researcher role in Radio. The panel expired before she got a role and she was pretty pissed off they that all just waltz into jobs.

Maybe a new show with an entirely different team or a podcast with Zig & Zag and Dustin or a YouTube channel and he could finish out his career in a more positive

Yes it's a wonder nobody else has grabbed dustin or zig and zag for a show of their own. There was a good article in the Irish Times about how zig and zag flopped in the UK. They were saying that the reason it worked with Ray D'Arcy is because he would let zig and zag and Dustin be the stars of the show and he would be the straight guy that would laugh at their jokes. Whereas in the UK the presenters Denise van outen etc were trying to grab the limelight themselves and were not prepared to let the puppets be the stars of the show.

HHowever also it's pulling power was that it was on RTE, establishment media, and it was dangerous as they were liable to say anything. Whereas a youtube channel would be too free and loose there would be no real danger in that.

Hate is a bit harsh.

He was vastly overpaid, and undertalented. He had a really great team with him Today FM. But his show was getting stale even back then.

He had a kid, and fell into the new family trap. Where you think everyone thinks your kid is as intresting and funny as you do. He spent a lot of time talking about the kid.

He moved to RTE, the team left and he was set in his ways. Couldn't work the board, wasn't very intrested in his guests or competitions. Used a lot of air time to talk about his hobby horses, which he was sort of ill informed on. Case in point. Couldnt engage with what Hammond was saying about "carbon footprints in the past" and just kept repeating the same couple of points over and over.

To be fair to him, he dropped the manager, did his own negotiations, probably could have gotten more money a few yeard back for his slot and didn't, worked his way up from the bottom and took the same holidays as his kids. Also full respect to him. He didn't rely on the crutch that some RTE presenters do and revel in misery and terminal illness.

If he was on 70-80k and was actually intrested in being there. I don't think people would have had as much of an issue with him.

But for god sake who could he not learn to press the right button on a desk after 11 years.

Post edited by Bellbottoms on