Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭pureza

Yes,a boards poll is not peer reviewed,is vote once vote often and consequently as useful as a chocolate teapot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,618 ✭✭✭jmcc

Just managed to watch the entire debate. It was a bit of a car crash at times for Humphreys. Connolly was very good even on problematic questions. That FG rape smear may well have backfired. Sarah McInerney is probably the best interviewer in RTE.

Humphreys really fumbled the OTB question and not being aware of the services element showed her as a substitute candidate who was out of touch. McGuinness would easily have dealt with that question.

Even the body language difference between Connolly and Humphreys was stark. Connolly looked and sounded presidential.She had the poise expected of a president. Humphreys appeared to be an over-promoted county councillor. She, Humphreys, just doesn't look presidential.

There's a vast difference in abilities. Connolly seems aware of the limitations of the role. I think that the smears from FG are going to get more outrageous in the next few weeks as Humphreys continues to struggle. Connolly's answer on the barrister question neatly defused the question from O'hEadrha. What was the most suprising thing was that this was a good debate with adults and much better than the TWIP effort. Fair play to RTE.

Regards…jmcc

Connolly's answer on the differences between the roles of president and a TD is worth rewatching. With Humphreys, there was a set of soundbites that had been learned for the debate. Connolly gave a measured and careful answer that wasn't a mere soundbite. She may be Left or even far Left on some issues but there is no doubt that she could do the job competently and even understand any legislation presented.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,468 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

No surprises there Podge.
    You ask for something and when you get it you say it's not enough.
    Connolly is not an expert on defence procurement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,880 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

But she is not president and has been supporting the OTB for many years. She is still a TD and answered as a TD. I would be disgusted if she changed to get votes. Then she asked HH a question about it. The presidential election is a bubble where the same questions are asked again and again. It doesn't reflect how they will perform the role of the office. HH made a fool of herself on the OTB in a previous debate and didn't want to answer the question. That's just dishonest. HH wants to win by not having opinions or pretending she was never in government.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

No?

You're sort of finally getting the gist of it Francie.

She did defend her govt record yesterday. Said she was in govt and supported the recognition of Palestine.

CC sort of admitted that the otb was useless as in trading ireland had to act with the bloc,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,880 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

All I hear her saying is excuses..."I wasn't involved in that....that was nothing to do with me...etc".

Her answers on Gaza are terrible. Can she not say that USA should not have given Israel the bombs to help facilitate a genocide???? It's an easy question. She ran away from it, literally ran.

I cannot think of a single thing she has achieved as a minister.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

She did defend her govt record yesterday.

Really poor in that part, trying to winkle out of things. She was stumped on pointing to anything on the north. The presenter had to keep reminding her she was a member of the FG government that imposed austerity measures etc.

She was part of a govt that were at the forefront of condemning Israel, so much so that Israel withdrew their ambassador and accused the govt of being anti semitic. You have a short memory Cluedo.

Apart from using her mouth and talking shite what has CC achieved?

No more than anyone on here I'd dare to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,560 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Absolutely - CC has been in a theoretical world in the main from a public service perspective -very easy to just say would you might do -HH has actually been in government - and Irelands move towards Israel /Gaza situation, whilst late in the day, was still seen as world leading given many other countries dragged their heels

HH is lost on the subject in the debates, because she wasn't at all interested in it as a TD and Minister. Her nervousness when it comes up is palpable.

I disagree- I think it’s more to do with the fact that the position of president is quite specific and she doesn’t want to say something that gives the impression that she’s at odds with what the role is about.

Really this is the first presidential election where I’ve seen major serious in the news topics, take over the presidential election discussions- day in day out . I’d much prefer if the candidates were given time to set out their stalls and then quizzed on that - yes we do need to get to know the candidates and their views and their history of what they said and the decisions they’ve made, but honestly after weeks of campaigning I’m at a loss to know what either of them would bring to the role.

I think it's quite clear at this stage.
    HH is offering an old style President - performing the constitutional role and the ceremonial role in the mould of a Hillery or Childers.
    CC is offering a more engaged style President - performing the constitutional role and speaking on the issues of the day in the mould of Michael D. Higgins, McAleese etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

You would think that you would pipe down a bit on Connolly's misdemeanours rather than giving them more oxygen on here. The Minister for Justice (you know the one in charge of the law) has clearly said that Connolly broke the rules.

Connolly hasn't challenged that assertion.

Do you think that it was ok for a known pedophile to be given a job with children?

There are two issues.

(1) Were the security systems in place sufficient for purpose and did they allow a bad person to circumvent them?

(2) Did Connolly circumvent the security system?

The answer to both questions appears to be yes, but the first answer does not excuse Connolly.

Were any of those pictures on Twitter and Bluesky used to promote Presidential campaigns against the President's express wishes?

Give it up on this one because you are wrong.

No, never.
    Paedophiles are not taken off the Sex Offenders list very often if at all.

Somebody who has raped can be, depending on the length of sentence and they can be rehabilitated through the services for such supplied by the State.

You should learn from the sensationalist shock jock responses to the issues here, J. C. MacNeill's outburst has completely backfired on her (being reminded of her support for McGahon and Conway etc) and she has been properly eviscerated by Bacik and Cairns. Connolly, relying again on her actual record as a TD, also came out of it yesterday looking calm and human also.

So rehabilitation only works for some.

Remind me who got Liam Adams his job working with children.

Were the security systems in place sufficient for purpose and did they allow a bad person to circumvent them?

No idea and not sure it has any relevance to CC's campaign. That is surely a matter for those who are responsible for those systems.

Did Connolly circumvent the security system?

Connolly says No and her detractors say yes.

Not sure how Connolly can prove she didn't and as yet I have not seen anything other than comments that 'she did' from her detractors. The Journal.ie have gone no further and seem to have other info from their 'sources'.

Yeah, just the Minister for Justice, the one in charge of security has said she has circumvented it.

So rehabilitation only works for some.

Yes and in the case of somebody who rapes, you have to show a successful rehabilitation to get off the SOR.

I actually agree with you.

A sex offender or rapist shouldn't be let anywhere near the Aras, don't need to think about that for more than half a second.

Similarly, someone with a recent conviction for a terrorist organisation wanting to overthrow the State shouldn't be let anywhere near the national parliament.

It is as simple as that, no need to think for 24 hours.

Someone who has been removed from the SOR because they have completed rehabilitation can and should be considered for work. This is one of the foundational tenets of a rehabilitation service that we as a state invest heavily in.

What Connolly's detractors have done here is only highlighted again their desperate hypocrisies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,522 ✭✭✭creedp

Struggling to see the substantive difference between the 2 on this specific point. Are you saying HH led the Govt on this issue or was even instrumental in pushing the Govt policy on this issue. In reality it’s far more likely she just meekly followed the aforementioned whip and pressed the requisite nutton

Have to disagree, even after removal from the SOR, there are certain jobs they should not hold. Any job, such as in the Aras, where they have access to vulnerable women and children should be closed to them. Don't even need to think about it.

You and Catherine might be happy to endanger women, but I am not. I can see why the campaign has Joe Brolly as a supporter.

There is a massive and fundamental difference between GDPR and publicity photos of a public figure that are widely circulated to the media.

There seems to be a rather muted response from the media today on the debate. That may indicate that it went badly for Humphreys. The packaging of Humphreys as a "character" by her handlers isn't working. Even her answer to the question on party tricks was weak. Connolly seems to be running for the presidency. Humphreys seems to be running for Fine Gael's Got Talent. It is going to be very difficult for FG and its friends in the media to turn this one around. Paddy Power has Connolly at 2/7 and Humphreys at 5/2.

Regards…jmcc

Whether she did or not, the reality is CC has had no experience in government and HH has - so on that basis I see HH having the edge on that particular point - I’m not going to argue every single issue though as simply it gets repetitive - at this stage I think people are making up their minds on one candidate or the other.
    My own view is neither candidates are ideal - My big concern of CC is her vocalisations on our European neighbours - I think she’s pushing us away from an EU. also I don’t believe she has anything of value to further the cause of peace in NI. So I’m not voting for her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

" The presenter had to keep reminding her she was a member of the FG government that imposed austerity measures etc."

Really, wasn't that the same successful government that included the Labour Party that's now backing CC?

The candidate of the party that caused austerity isn't running although he's still on the ballot paper.