If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

This would tend to verify what I heard the FF rep say. The indo say they informed FF on Sept 8th of an issue. Well before Gavins selection and MM and JC claiming they knew nothing of the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,377 ✭✭✭jmcc

Regards…jmcc

I think he has a big fight on his hands now.

If the indo claim is true he will be gone I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,851 ✭✭✭blackwhite

From the indo article - the email sent by the Indo to FF was:

“Following on from the request for an interview, would you mind letting me know when Jim Gavin will be responding to media queries,” the email said.

“I have some specific questions I wish to put to him about property interests and a particular issue arising with a tenant when he was a landlord.”

And according to FF, Gavin denied there were any issues when this was put to him.

At the very least - it raises questions about how hard the FF vetting team actually pushed the question.
    Also makes it fairly clear that Gavin was lying through his teeth to them - and they were far too quick to believe him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,377 ✭✭✭jmcc

The Indo has done a great reporting job on this story. If there was a Pulitzer prize for Irish journalism, it would have won it a few times over. Not only did it take out a presidential candidate, it looks like it could take out a sitting Taoiseach too. The only question now relates to whether the FF PP has the guts to do the right thing,

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,471 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I'd say this is even an underestimate...

"The cost of running the Office of the President of Ireland is about **€4.2 million** in 2023 for direct costs. ([president.ie][1])

If you include support by other government departments (security, building maintenance, etc.), the total is higher — roughly **€5.3 million** in 2023. ([president.ie][1])

[1]: https://president.ie/en/about/organisational-information?utm_source=chatgpt.com "About | Organisational Information | President of Ireland"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,563 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Contrast that with America right now- even if the newspapers do publish the truth, there’s no impact or consequences for those under scrutiny in the political world- at least the MAGA political world.

When watching MM last night, I thought to myself- boy, you better be telling it as is it because if you’re not, you’re gonna be feiced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Be fine out of it was a lifetime appointment,it would save a lot of nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,510 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Has to go surely?
    Fionann let him hang himself before printing that.

Yeah, one thing gambling on Gavin and losing the election, but for it to end like this has to be terminal, his credibility is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,740 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Getting rid of M Martin would be the greatest result of this election but I feel he will slither out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,851 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I suspect those in FF likely to have ambitions on the top job will be as focused on Chambers as Martin.

MM is unlikely to lead FF into another election one way or another. Whether he goes now, or in a year or two, the battle now is about positioning themselves as the natural successor.

Martin has been setting Chambers up as his choice - this is the chance for O'Callaghan, Kelleher, etc. to knock Chambers off that perch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,740 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Apart from Big Jim, the FF ministers look very very weak. Big Jim likes being a minister again so he would need to be assured he would win before he starts a heave.

You are right, MM won't be leader for next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Called it. Make a vague allegation. Don't provide any context or any receipts. Standard behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,761 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

It's a pity that the Indo didn't run with the story at the time, could have saved FF a lot of hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,112 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

And the vote was on the 9th…

Paidi O’Sullivan, Fianna Fáil TD for Cork North Central says he heard Jim Gavin had trouble with a tenant on the 12th of September via a text from an opposition member.

https://bauernordic-pods.sharp-stream.com/ie/2763/jim_gavin_edittt_a572a854_normal.mp3 at 12 minutes

Paidi seem to have his dates mixed up because he is talking about lobbying for votes for Kelleher at the time…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭tarvis

I’m not sure if I’d call-

being at the beck and call of governments coming in and bowing out - those expected and those unexpected.

attending the funerals of the great and the good year after year

greeting every new ambassador even those from god knows where.

attending every commemoration all over the country in all weathers - year after year.

hosting children and elderly and interest groups in the Aras - year after year

Attending all All Ireland’s in Croke park-( the only real perk)

Being in public view and open to public comment on everything - one’s appearance , one’s words, one’s gait and one’s travels…

I really couldn’t call all that ‘taking easy money’

I doubt anyone can deny that our outgoing President and his wife have given good and steady service to Ireland, in sickness and in health - for 14 years.

One may not have voted for the residents of the Aras but surely it’s still possible to appreciate their contribution to Ireland.

Indeed- and his wife Sabina was on nationwide the other day- she was saying how much she’s looking forward to having her own time back as she’s been at the beck and call (not her words) of the presidency for the last 14 years day in day out - yes it’s a lovely job but I think both of them have put in an honest effort and did the country proud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,188 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The latter consideration was a by-the-way throwaway remark that has been turned into something else by Steen supporters.

An experienced politician like Catherine Connolly would have said when questioned: "I thought I dealt with that at the time. Was it not sorted? Let me go and check. Oops, it seems there was an oversight. I am giving the man his money plus interest as well as a donation to charity. Nothing to see here."

In effect, that is how she had handled the controversy over Eirigi, claiming she didn't circumvent Garda vetting, while actually circumventing security processes, and claiming the woman was rehabilitated while feigning ignorance of her continued involvement in Eirigi.

Martin was always going to be challenged when he stepped down as Taoiseach. The play here in nominating Gavin was to fight off that challenge and keep going. That race is run, when he steps down as Taoiseach, he will step down as party leader, giving a new face for the next election.

As you correctly point out, it is Chambers who lost most from this election. I have never been impressed with him as a local TD.

The others will now need to do the tours of backbenchers to build support for the race when Martin steps down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Well it wasn't some 'throwaway remark' it was in his written statement of why he didn't nominate her. It was carefully composed and no doubt read back over before publication in the IT.

It was right at the end as a final throwaway remark after the vast vast majority of his reasons had been explained. He didn't agree with her policies, that is why he didn't support her.

That there was a chance she might win, as there is with any candidate, is just a throwaway remark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Pat734

Even if Martin survives for now, I for one feel he won't, I think he's a dead man walking. The candidates to replace him are untested, are a tad dictatorial themselves, hardly what you would call grass roots people, in what we've seen of the 2 or 3 who might feel they have a chance. Either way, FF and FG dare not challenge each other too much for supremacy because without each other they float away into the sunset. If this election turns into an anti Goverment vote then Heater Humphries is toast. Dare I say, Mary Lou and her management team might well steer the proceedings in this direction, Catherine will follow behind. She may well be a lot of things to a lot of people, but she's one smart dude. Heather can hardly go after FF in any of her TV interviews/debates from now on, Connolly can though. If they want to throw the dirt at her she now has ammo to fight back with. FF has made it hers to lose.

All true- but it’s a pity the presidential election becomes a mud throwing fest - I still haven’t heard from either candidate what they’re going to bring to the presidency role - I mean this is basic stuff and all we’ve heard about is Gaza and Russia and ex prisoners - yes important lines of enquiry but we need to hear the two lay out their stall -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

"That there was a chance she might win, as there is with any candidate, is just a throwaway remark."

That's JYO and it's contradicted by the facts which I've already outlined. The guy's a barrister who doesn't make throwaway remarks in written statements for publication.

"might very well have happened" meaning Steen winning isn't something one would say about Gavin for instance.

Anyway this is all irrelevant as she didn't manage to get nominated.

Time to move on IMO.

More bull coming from Chambers and Martin this morning Re: 'there was nothing specific to address'.

Sheehan says he requested access to the candidate over the issue, why didn't they sit the candidate down with the journalist - did they ask Sheehan for specifics?

They are kicking to touch trying to survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Pat734

Not their fault. Everything today is led by media, people follow like sheep. In the 1st Virgin media so called debate the moderator was straining his neck to trick or catch all candidates on Gazza policy or suchlike. Most RTE questions and interviews are about stuff that the Presidency has nothing to concern it about. Media print what they think is relevant and sells. Who knows what might be pulled out of the hat before this is all over? There was enough "stuff" circulating about JG before this came out, maybe there's more. Then again we're not allowed to speculate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭CFlat

Constitutional lawyer on RTE this AM. He said, all u can say about Gavin is that he has stopped campaigning. So in the unlikely case where he wins the election, he takes the position and resigns a few days later and off we go again.

So everybody votes Gavin, he takes job resigns and all the citizens who feel they were overlooked, get a second chance. At least maybe we'll have a better selection of candidates.

Directly blaming Chambers and Martin.
    I expect more will follow publicly. If there is enough Martin could be gone by week end.

image.png