Presidential Election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,905 ✭✭✭threeball

Gavin was really naive going in to this presidential race. He was basking in the glory of numerous all ireland wins, credited with saving Gaelic football with the new rules of the committee he chaired.

Yet somehow, thought that was enough to get him through. No one would look for any skeletons. That there wouldn't be anyone who disliked him happy to take him down. His public persona has taken a small bit of a kicking, plus he found out that outside Dublin and in non GAA circles, those achievements count for nought.

This entire process is a waste of time and money. You have to very poor candidates remaining who will get to be president by default. Very few will vote, no one really cares and 10s of .millions will be spent on the position over the next 7yrs. Its time to wrap it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,126 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

can Gavin go back to the IAA or does raise a fitness/probity issue for him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

GAA Heads (for want of another term) live in their own GAA World. It is easy to think you are great and can do no wrong when surrounded by yes men.

I also don't see any sign of financial pressure around 2009 on his Linked In. He was in gainful employment by the State.

IMG_20251006.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭SnazzyPig

This is why the 'roll-eyes' emoticon was born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭xl500

How can you possibly know the majority of the country wants neither

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

He never left according to LinkedIn. This is probably correct. Public sector jobs are kept open when an employee runs for an elected position. Ruth Buchanan tested this in court when she 'left' RTE to run for president. Her campaign never took off, but she had to 'force' RTE to take her back. RTE claimed she was a contractor, but they were paying Class A PRSI Stamps. Sounds familiar? This was 20 odd years ago, but RTE HR never learned…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,830 ✭✭✭plodder

There's no legal mechanism to drop out after nominations close. He's still in the race and some people will still vote for him.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,389 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Clarification is needed for the voting paper. If someone votes two or three for Gavin is that your vote spoilt or if someone votes number one for Jim will preference votes be counted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭forumdedum

I won't give them the satisfaction of mentioning their name. It's not that hard to work out, unless Martin flew in multiple non elected to the Seanad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,197 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Sure . Success for US . 6 month stint in the Oireachtas on her CV appearing to a future employer that she was given the all clear , , which she wasn't .

But that's not even the main point here. You say she signed in and AGS were aware ? CC said she signed her in, when asked about it . As to the garda clearance it was taking months to get same in 2018 and there are questions in the Dáil about the delays after that , one from O' Cuiv no less . I remember nursing staff having delays at the time when being hired some were waiting 4 to 5 months or more .

So how wass it OK to do that ...swiping someone in ...for more than a short few weeks while waiting for security clearance , which is in place for good reason and obligatory in sensitive areas and public jobs like for example the Dàil ? Garda Clearance that that lady and CC would have known was probably not coming due to the type of conviction ( guns and SCC) Hence why she cancelled the application

Otherwise one would just leave it go through ?

And the person bending these rules is now seeking the highest office in the land where she has to uphold our constitution .and we expect full honesty and integrity

I'm not buying it .

What if this was a right wing TD swiping in a right wing activist with the same conviction ? I'd think there would be an outcry , and some of the voices here defending CC now would be shouting the loudest .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭mykrodot

appalling bad choice for a huge amount of people in this country. There is simply no choice offered. So its either don't vote or spoil the vote. The way things are done in this country is shambolic. MM HIMSELF backed Jim Gavin, over the head of his own party member Billy Kelliher who was a safe pair of hands. Maria Steen should have got on the ballot as she had a groundswell of support (as Billy Kelliher just said this minute on Morning Ireland!). Michael McDowell said she would probably win if she was on it. For people like me, my family, my friends there is NOBODY to vote for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

A well deserved kick in the goolies for MM. The arrogance to railroad in a celebrity candidate over more experienced candidates has backfired.

The other FFG candidate is likewise a plant by SH over more qualified candidates like Sean Kelly.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,898 ✭✭✭aero2k

IOW "I was caught".

He had many years to reflect, but only did so when it was necessary to save his own skin. Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭almostover

Can we please give up on the whole Maria Steen thing? She had ample time to canvass support to get on the ballot and instead left it until the last minute. She has no one to blame only herself. Mairead McGuinness had to pull out of the running late in the day due to health issues and all and sundry then saw that as their chance. It's also why MM selected Gavin as the FF candidate. And why FG twisted Humphrey's arm to run. Let's be honest about things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,521 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

So all your 'family and friends' were gonna vote for a candidate that had 3% support in the polls and social policies that would make DeValera blush?

Yeh, ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,706 ✭✭✭jmcc

It is a complete mess. Steen and Sheridan should have been on the ballot paper. Martin and Harris deserve most of the blame for this. There is also a court hearing on the unlawfulness of Harris' instruction to councillors scheduled for tomorrow. There might be another twist in the tale.

Regards…jmcc

Yes, you got it in one! Well done. That is called democracy and choice.

and look where Micheal Martin's sheer arrogance has got him!! This is not the first time he's gone on a solo run and got things wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,521 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Maria Steen has no interest in representing people, where the f*** was she in the years leading up to this election? She wanted a throne to pontificate and moralise from. Had she been interested in democracy she would have rolled up her sleeves and got elected somewhere.
    If Gavin was a foolhardy celeb candidate, she was an entitled opportunist.

in your opinion…………………….and I have mine. We agree to differ. Have a good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,793 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Kang is gone, but you can still vote for Kodos.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,579 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Good news for HH. This is a much more efficient vote transfer to her than would have happened on the ballot paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Apologies for confusion earlier. A vote for JG will still be counted. Legally it's too late to withdraw, so it's only a quasi-withdrawal legally even though he has given up.

Moral of the story is a music show is probably not where to find out how it works

Irish voters sure seem to have a different standard for Presidential elections compared to Dail elections. We seem to prize intellectualism and oratory and presence more than in Dail elections. While I wouldn't have voted for Steen, she has a culturally conservative kind of intellectualism.

Another mistake of FF and FF blocking Steen is they may have hurt their chances of getting her supporters to transfer their HH and if JG had run , to him.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 55,579 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

And as for Steen; boo hoo. Announcing that you want to run for president a couple of weeks before the deadline? That's commitment to the job. I'd prefer someone who did something more than a 'sure the field looks thin, I'll give it a lash'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭walkonby

….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,149 ✭✭✭✭zell12

When votes are counted, it will be fascinating locations, as to where they place a #1 beside Gavin's name, purely because of the FF brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭pureza

No they should not according to procedure

I don’t know what you’re complaining about anyway as your candidate is a sure thing for President now anyway 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

22% in yesterday's poll. She should have been on the ballot. I don't support her but I thought whipping councillors not the nominate her was wrong. We should be able to debate issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

Well,that's the end of JG,was totally out of his depth,stiffed somebody 16 years ago for 3k but hasn't the skill set to explain or defend himself,contrast it with CC who hires a gunwoman and enscones said gunwoman in our Dail and then has the gall to defend her actions and suffer no apparent repercussions.We are a strange little country.