Presidential Election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,811 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

You were close!

"... recent days have given me cause to reflect"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,169 ✭✭✭CH3OH

This Is a real mess.

Will his name be on the ballot paper?

If it is.

If he gets votes.. are they transferrable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

You would have to wonder why he never done this last night or early this morning, and save himself the embarrassment of going on live tv this morning

I guess we won't hear anything from FF TDs tomorrow then budget will take over the news cycle for a few days

Micheal Martin looks like an absolute gobshite now which does make me laugh thinking about how he's going to use hand signals and tell us it's all somebody else's fault this happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Well this news of Jim Gavin pulling out of this election campaign is a huge shock for the voters IMO.

I had intentions to vote for Jim Gavin as number 1 in this election in November. I wanted to do it because I liked his work in being chair of the Citizen Assembly for expending the executive powers for the upcoming mayoral election for Dublin. I've always felt that the current status of the Dublin Mayor was a concept that is currently outdated for what is becoming a modern capital city.

However the controversy surrounding the events of the rental overpayments made one of his tenants is maybe the straw that broke the camels back on how his campaign was going to go ahead right up to polling day.

What is RTÉ going to do now that Jim Gavin has now officially withdrawn from the presidential race for the Arás? RTÉ One are showing Ms Brown Boy's on at the moment. Are they going to show the repeat of the debate on RTÉ One when it aired this afternoon as normal or is that going to be pulled off the schedule? Would there be an RTÉ News special on RTÉ One instead or will the debate be carried on as normal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,830 ✭✭✭plodder

Imagine if he gets elected regardless, or comes second? While I feel sorry for him, I thought the last presidential election showed the perils of political outsiders getting involved, it looks like this case proves the point once and for all.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭757TFFIU

Can the election legally be deferred to allow nominations to be re-opened for a short period, prior to a new date being set?

To be honest, it would be a sad joke at this stage allowing this to go ahead with just two candidates. Add in a rough day weather wise and many voters just won't bother voting and turnout will be very low.

Any mechanism to basically start over at this point?

It's farcical that there's now only 2 candidates and that the 3rd could still be on the ballot paper (would these have been printed yet?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

It does not look good for Martin and a heave could well be on the way. How could Mehole pick a FG man instead of Kelliher a dyed in the wool FF man?

Do FF now go all out and back HH who is their government partners candidate? This is something a lot of FF supporters, members, councillors, TD's and Senators are thinking tonight. Sure FF and FG might as well merge at this stage as they are 2 cheeks of the same arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

hilarious stuff altogether. ff voters will stay at home and only hardcore fg will vote for heather the orange. cc is money on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Westernview

Fair play to Fionnan Sheehan. Our journalism will retain some integrity as long as he is around. A bad ending for Gavin. He will have huge regrets that he ran. Micheal Martin really miscalculated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Reopen the nomination process. We are faced with two options the majority of the country do not want. Remember Steen and Sheridan weren't fit to be candidates apparently, but JG apparently was. What a joke

Edit : the post I was quoting seems to have disappeared? Or maybe it's just boards weirdness again...

Re Jim Gavin...

He knew what he was getting into or at least should have had a good idea from the coverage before he was parachuted in and the Kelliher bid and the not insignificant support for the latter within FF.

Equally, as I said this morning, it's hard to believe he/FF weren't given the heads-up on the tenant story before it went live. Plenty of time even in the hours between that and the debate this morning to sort it out.

Add then the ridiculous Micheal-lite performance in the first debate and the again self-inflicted damage of the drone and photos screw ups.

I know nothing about him personally and hadn't even heard of him before he was announced (not being a GAA supporter) but this is all on him and FF.

Its the MSM's fault that Jim Gavin screwed over his tenant and lessons have been learned. Martin's days are numbered.

FF and FG are hoping the budget might help save HH's campaign but I fear she is a goner as she has no second preference votes to rely on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

Constitutionally, there is absolutely no reason to do that. There are still three candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Heather will not like more speaking time in the debates. It means she has to bluff and say nothing for half the debate.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Will he remove the posters ?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

The election is taking place in October, in 19 days, not in November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,282 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

A plus point as far as I'm concerned, I'm sick to my back teeth with the Gaelstapo

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭casey jones

HHs husband left the Orange Order 50 years ago, CCs Eirigi friend can be rehabilated straight out of jail. Despite the lack of options on the ballot paper Ireland has an interesting choice to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,521 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I think the opposite actually. This is good for HH

Yeh a lot of FF voters will stay at home now

If Micheal Martin can't get them out to vote for Heather in large numbers and the Shinners get their voters out along with all the rest of the left voters, Catherine has this in the bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Leinsterview

1000027612.png

Big Jim O Callaghan be Taoiseach by Christmas or will we have a general election to look for at to in the new year?

There's no way on the ground FFers will start canvassing for HH.

Sure the whole reason Gavin was parachuted in in the first place was because it was looking like that was going to be their option which was untenable.

Micheal tried to show he was in charge and backed the wrong horse.

Kelliher and Bertie will not be happy tonight after this. I expect a move against Micheal next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,793 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

even people who have participated in politics find a presidential election challenging - whilst Bertie seems to be a glutton for punishment he’s the exception rather than the rule-

I imagine there are plenty of ex politicians who have considered it but knew they had just way too many skeletons that could emerge -

this landlord /rent thing was a small fry story on the surface compared to what went on before Gavins time - but not registering with RTB and not allegedly paying back money owed would have resonated with renters past and present and a lot of young people too in today’s housing environment .it was only 16 years ago- rules and regulations were very much in place then

Politicians now in their 60s and 70s came from a society where deals were done with a nod and a wink, revenue were a department to be side stepped and bribery and corruption were a way of getting things done.

I wonder will Jim Gavins former tenant be named or will come on record to the public?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

Nomination process has to be reopened .Billy Kelleher has to now have some level of validity to be included on the ballot paper .

Election cannot be run off now with only two candidates .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Leinsterview

Has happened twice before:

1966: DeValera c O'Higgins.

1973: Childers v O'Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

The overwhelming opinion now is a re run of candidates. This story will snowball over the next 48hrs!! The other 2 candidates should pull out and MM should resign