If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,147 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

A lot of your post read well and had a lot of truth to it. But you implied that the media have a concerted campaign against Connolly. With the “media compliance” line then tell posters to remove there “political bias”. That unintended contradiction amused me.

The truth is the media go anywhere there is a story. Connolly by her “activist” nature makes stories. By her unfiltered, not very streetwise way of speaking. How she frames issues in her worldview is very naive and lacks political shrewdness.

Connolly I suspect is not winning in the polls because she speaks well or because she makes a good president. The main reason is because she inextricably attached herself to Palestine. And that is extremely popular with a cohort in Ireland who are very politically engaged. Especially the youth vote. “Compassionate diplomacy” is the CC slogan.

In contrast Gavin and HH run on platforms of different types of Irishness. Gavin’s is community based positivity. But is too nervy to sell it to the electorate when talking.

HH’s platform is building bridges cross border etc. But lacks punch and says little. Both Gavin and HH are very dull people there is nothing for the media to really go after. Nothing truly controversial.

Connolly could win an election based on her pacifism and her tying herself to the support of Palestine. Which has very little to do with the office of President itself. In my view. It is simply because it is very popular in protest politics now, and the worldwide youth vote. I have seen all the protests on euro news. The protests on Palestine are mostly young people worldwide. In Ireland the middle aged bald Paul Murphy stood out among the young faces - in the in the Irish Palestine protests.

Gavin and HH have no exciting or heart wrenching cause to attach themselves to. Connolly does. It is not as if they can start wearing 🇵🇸 pins and keffiyeh scarves. The militant protest left, and NI linked Republicans have already appropriated those. Very successfully.

Gavin probably would need a few Irish peacekeepers killed on duty. And HH could probably do with a bit of anti Protestant sentiment. A church burned down or something. Maybe a rector killed. So JG/HH could get indirect media attention. Capitalising on the public sympathy.

Both unlikely to happen and unlikely to happen before the 24th. Meanwhile Palestine is a constant. Perpetually in the news. Every Palestine flag is a Connolly vote in Ireland. Every starving child in Gaza on RTE is another potential Connolly vote.

It is a long way from Bród and Misneach wagging their tails outside the Áras.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,793 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Yeah, too much on that foreign policy stuff, it's been clear from the first poll that it's only a tiny percentage that are engaged by that. Connolly is very adept at putting her case forward on most stuff and is believable. I'm not sure if its a measure of intellect, but so far she has shown she is by far the most personable and comfortable character when speaking publicly and answering questions off the cuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Nope, CC is far from decent. She is clearly nuts, believing conspiracy theories about someone other than the Russians responsible for the umbrella poisonings, hiring convicted terrorists to work in the Dail, supporting Gemma, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I know she’s well academically qualified - but I always feel when listening to her that she’s just that - an academic - I’d prefer a “doer” as a president - I’d settle for less academia and more practicality

Clearly leading the presidential race so far too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭MFPM

Indeed, and that's an opinion you're entitled to hold but if things stay as they are, you'll have 7 years to continue propagate such nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Greengrass53

Well she's not in favour of fox hunting, drink driving,animal cruelty and oh yeah being a member of the Orange Order.Just for balance,don't you know.😉

She could well be anything if she becomes president. She will be restricted by the Constitution as to how far she can push the envelope anyway. She is personable, academic and obviously far more intelligent than some give her credit for.she isn't what a lot of people want in a President, myself probably included in that, but she has won over a big part of the voters and is going to take catching. FF and FG need to start promoting their candidates more and spend less time trying to discredit Connolly.

Gavin was a big mistake by the looks of things. The electorate don't rate him at all, not Connolly as had been the big hope. Maybe MLMD was right, judging by the jump she's received so far, the game-changer is looking to be SFs backing her.

You keep framing CC as nuts - she is just protest left. Everything you view as a negative about her is another reason for her base to rally around her. As a Dub supporter over the years I am sure you have seen lads with Palestine/Irish tricolours on the hill. That was well before the last two years.

This year Armagh V Dublin CP it seemed like every second Armagh supporter had a Palestine flag. Trying to out do each other to show how Republican they are. The Armagh guy in front of me held up a big Palestine flag. That meant he was very Republican I suppose.
    But to go to that trouble with that flags showed how politically engaged some are with the Palestine appropriation.

I know the Armagh crowd don’t have a vote in POI elections- yet. But working class areas in Dublin buy into that Palestine stuff too. As are the border counties.
    There was also a scatter of Dublin support with Palestine flags even in the stands at that match I mentioned. Not as much as the Armagh crowd, granted. But still visible.

You don’t seem to grasp how attachment to, and appropriation of a cause - can unite a group. The cause does not even have to be close to home. Just compared to Irish past. Connolly is metaphorically on that flotilla to the Áras.

Nothing to do with Dublin NE community projects / task forces, or cross border inclusion. But it is Connolly’s core vote. It sells politically and is very visible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭jmcc

The Gazaholic coverage from RTE (leading the news coverage almost every day) is helping Connolly because she is most strongly identified (indirectly) with it. A lot of those votes may be in younger demographics and also align, politically, with some of the SF/SocDem/PBP/Lab policies. I think that there was a mention of the Irish government having recognised the state of Palestine under FG leadership but Humphreys failed to own that.

Without Steen on the ballot paper to act as a feeder for older and conservative voters to FF and FG, that vote is effectively being ignored and may not vote. The whole "middle ground" thing is the product of people who don't understand that it is a highly fragmented electorate with multiple factors driving voting patterns. Precisely targeting these factors can gain votes. Trying to be all things to all voters does not.

Connolly is leading because she has been able to use the debate time effectively. Humphreys was just background scenery and Gavin didn't seem to know why he was there. Without the spin from the pro-FFG media, the electorate saw a candidate who was "presidential". That also highlighted the weakness of Gavin and Humphreys.

There seems to be some upset among the media that they are being ignored. This election is being fought as much on Social Media as it is on broadcast media. The legacy media is being bypassed and that's where FF/FG have traditionally been strongest. Much of the discussion of today's debate will take place online and the legacy media "commentators" will largely be ignored. Whoever makes the best impression in these debates will probably win.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,550 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Long way to go. But I think the ball is now in HH and JG's court. Heather can't really depend on her non confrontational strategy so far, and Gavin, well I am not sure what he can do now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭Downlinz

The data wasn't published that I could find but in Fionnan Sheahan's piece in the paper he mentions the "Don't Know's" were leaning towards Connolly and Humphreys when pushed.

Do youngsters even watch telly much anymore? Social Media far more effective these days. SF showed that in the GE. Best party by far on social media. Clip a statement, clip a protest etc.

Gavin is fecked. He would be nearly better off calling for a transfer pact with HH.

Still shocked how nervy he is. A man who has flown planes, supposed to be trained to be calm under fire/pressure, managed and played before massive crowds. Yet shrinks when discussing politics live on tv.

I never I thought I would say even I could do better than Gavin in this campaign. That is a very low bar.

Regards…jmcc

Both he and Humphreys have been coached to an inch of their lives not to say stuff, Gavin more than HH. You can see Gavin filtering his answers through what he has been told and that comes across as nervousness.
    Connolly has not got the same constraints.

So far the electorate are liking the honesty. They are comfortable with it in a President.

Streaming has hit broadcast TV heavily. It basically gives the viewer control over what they want to watch and when. Connolly, via the activist issues, is able to reach younger demographics who would probably not watch the usual panelistas on the various chatshows. Above all, this activist stuff gives people a sense of involvement whereas the ordinary party politics is just an observer sport. People who believe that their vote matters vote.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Debate 2 starting now on RTÉ Radio 1.

I hope the presenter won't interrupt as much as the last VM1 debate. I want to hear the candidates.

Gavin being interrupted already by Lawlor after a few words.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Jim off to an inspiring start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,852 ✭✭✭blackwhite

President is the First citizen, not the First politician - good line from Gavin, but impact lost whilst he stuttered trying to remember it.

He said the President is the "first citizen not the first politician'.

typo on my part - trying to type one handed whilst drinking coffee 🤷

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭spakman

Connolly describing her Eirigi pal as “innocent” repeatedly.

Does she not recognise the legitimacy of the court system?

Gavin floundering on the rental issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭spakman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,567 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Jim Gavin having a bit of a mare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

Heather absolutely accepts that people need housing. Jesus what a mastermind.