If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,844 ✭✭✭almostover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,469 ✭✭✭JVince

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,591 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Several times. Took varying amounts of time.

I don't know how long Dáil vetting can take.

• Administrators Posts: 55,634 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

They can't not row in behind her.

They've hitched their horse to this wagon, they have to ride it out. They'd look foolish otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

In for a penny in for a pound at this stage for that lot. They've eithrtgot to say yep all fine nothing to see here or withdraw support altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,668 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2025/10/02/eirigi-says-ursula-ni-shionnain-still-member-in-2018-when-employed-by-catherine-connolly-in-leinster-house/

In February 2023, Ms Ni Shionnain was one of a number of signatories of a “Statement from Irish Republican Political ex-Prisoners” posted on Facebook by two groups, AFA (Always Anti-Fascist) Ireland and a socialist republican group called Lasair Dhearg.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,222 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

Haven’t been keeping up or watched the debate but I see Jim is out to 4-1 with some bookies. What happened him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,402 ✭✭✭jmcc

• Administrators Posts: 55,634 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Nothing happened, and that is the problem.

He hasn't done or said anything that has made people think "this guy actually could be President".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,668 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Well, in fairness that's not how things work in certain parties, so you can see how a misunderstanding might arise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭rdwight

It's CC's judgement, not her integrity, that most people are questioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,186 ✭✭✭✭elperello

You think they made it up ?

I reckon that interaction, if it took place, is pivotal to the story.

Expect a bit of off the record briefing any time now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

You really believe they let their 'principals' get in the way of infiltrating the Oireachtas for reasons of gathering intelligence or a publicity coup?

Are you really that gullible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Eirigi absolutely recognise Leinster House as the seat of Dail Eireann and the Irish government. They formed from a split in Sinn Fein less than 20 years ago, long after Sinn Fein had started taking seats there. They accepted the GFA, the return of Stormont and decommissioning. They're a registered political party and fully buy into the state apparatus.

Some confusion about their status may arise due to a significant number of them jumping ship to Saoradh who have a greater whiff of cordite about them.

Passing Garda vetting would have been good evidence. But far from being "rehabilitated" as some here continually claim, she had not served her sentence, she was only out on licence and still on probation so there was no way in hell she was going to get security clearance. CC surely knew this (and definitely should have) yet signed her in every day for six months. This is a serious violation of state security

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Well, I am afraid all we will ever get on that is Connolly's word that she did her due diligence.

So you're telling us that CC's word isn't worth much…

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

I don't know.

They certainly haven't produced any proof of it.

The thing I find gas is that SF backed Connolly for the ROI electorate tastes -no links to militant Republicanism, no links to the troubles etc.

Well it turns out she does. She employed one dissident terrorist and helped her bypass security procedures in our parliament. She stood bail for another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,150 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Basically Gavin is a terrible communicator for political sphere. Some nice ideas, but poor delivery. Was very nervy in the PT television debate. Connolly also got a dig in against Gavin for using the phrase “military objectives” re Israel. Connolly was the best speaker in the debate. HH said very little but didn’t land herself in difficulty.

The drone issue was the latest Gavin camp mistake. Just making him look a bit of an eejit, given his prior role in the aviation authority.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

A Poor Election with only Poor Candidates

There is one central truth that has been touched on a few times, but is now drowned out by debates and arguments over the presidential election. We have 3 very poor candidates, seeking to be elected as president. There is no clear favourite, no ‘best candidate’ that anyone can agree on. Im going to attempt to unpack this as I see it; And for anyone interested we could reframe the discussion slightly. Obviously you are all entitled to disagree or challenge my opinions.

Campaign So Far:

Heather Humphreys:

A non-entity in the debate, and running an incredibly lacklustre campaign, most talking points have hinged on her ‘orange background’. The fact she doesn’t speak Irish is a relevant talking point, but feeds further into politicization of the language in general. That said it cannot be denied that it is a valid talking point, and certainly worth discussing. Silly memes and videos have gone viral, thanks to her soft answers to journalist’s questions. The Humphreys campaign is without sparkle or excitement; definitely garnering the least attention of the three. Were this a reality TV show, Humphreys would easily be voted out first, and it is questionable whether anyone would notice her absence.

A possible ‘Tag Line’ for her campaign could easily be – ‘Dont Make a Fuss! Vote Humphreys No 1’

Catherine Connolly:

The argument that there is ‘no such thing as bad publicity’ is being challenged daily by the Connolly campaign. Leaving aside the current news cycle, I heard the German Ambassador on the radio this morning trying to calm matters down, regarding Connolly’s commentary on German Re-Arming. He was diplomatic, courteous and respectful, which are words we cannot associate with the Connolly Campaign. She clearly appeals to the student activist class of left-wing, and centre left voter; moving outside this loose coalition, it is difficult to see her commentary on Germany, Hamas, ‘western imperialism’, or NATO, as having gained any other support. Her actions seem to demonstrate a lack of political awareness. Which, to be fair, does go some distance in explaining the current story surrounding hiring a lady with a gun conviction. This story is on-going, and in my opinion, has not yet been adequately explained. And when combined with all of her other ‘sincerely held opinions’, she will remain at the top of the news cycle for the rest of this election campaign.

Jim Gavin:

After the debacle surrounding Fianna Fails selection of a candidate, there was a kind of ‘cock eyed’ optimism surrounding Gavin. Several FF friends of mine suspected that, Gavin must be the dark horse of the Election, and must have impressed Martin and others behind closed doors. Add to this, his history with the Irish Defence forces, and there was a clear belief that Gavin would make an impressive splash during the campaign. On foreign policy alone, it was felt he would really make a solid impact.

Fast forward to now, and the main talking point seems to be questioning the judgement of Fianna Fail leadership. Gavin lacks an ability to communicate politically, and shows a total inability to impact the election. He is clearly out of his depth, and the debate highlighted that. There is no indication that this will improve, and the press releases from Fianna Fail, highlighting how well they believe Gavin did on Monday night, only serves to baffle both critics and supporters. He was, by default, the weakest candidate, which really says something when one takes note of who he is running against. In contrast to Humphreys total lack of presence in the election, Gavin’s social media ‘moments’ are being openly mocked and ridiculed.

My Conclusion

Given that most people agree that the above three candidates are nothing if not poor, it becomes a choice of which one has the most credibility. And which one is likely to do the least damage, if elected to the Aras. The scale is turned on its head, so that we can chose who to back, with the goal being that of a stable Presidency. It won’t be exciting, or ground-breaking. Celebration will largely be absent. We just have to choose the ‘least worst option’ of the three, and hope that they are challenged in seven years time.

That said, here is how I see it.

1st - Heather Humphreys. Say what you will about the Irish Language, or her orange cultural association. In a poor field she remains the obvious inoffensive candidate. While many (including me) will struggle to back a Fine Gael candidate for election, she qualifies as the ‘least worst option’, easily. The ‘tag line’ mentioned above really sums it up for me. She will not make a fuss, or court controversy. She will simply do the job, as required under our political system.

2nd – Jim Gavin. A poor choice for election to high office, given his lack of ability to communicate; In time he could blood himself on public and political speaking, even if he probably wont end up doing much of either from the Phoenix Park. It remains unclear whether he can improve his standing in the election, but if elected, he would be relatively stable, if a tad underwhelming. He is no doubt receiving a crash course on the ‘Constitutional powers of the Presidency’ from Michael Martin, the latter of which might also take some time to update his CV.

3rd – Catherine Connolly. If Heather Humphreys is the ‘least worst option’, then Connolly easily qualifies as the exact opposite in my analysis. She courts controversy in every corner of her campaign. On the Irish Language, or lack thereof with her opponents, she could have won the points hands down. However this topic now remains connected to the hiring/vetting fiasco, which remains in the news cycle today. Prior to this, her bumbling and activist talking points, which are all factually inaccurate, courted nothing but controversy. Connolly remains the ‘quintessential’ radical independent TD; fiercely outspoken on many issues, without an ounce of political nuance or tact. Were it not for the backing of Labour, Sinn Fein, et al; i would assume her to be nothing more than a ‘protest candidate’, who is only running to frame the debate, with no actual inclination to attempt a winning run.

So, that is my take. As it stands it is possible I could re-evaluate the pecking order if it became necessary to do so. However I see no indication that this may happen. I remain convinced that we will see ‘more of the same’ from the above. The only possible exception to that would be Jim Gavin, who probably has nothing to lose by attempting a change in direction. While I place him second here, I will not be surprised if he comes last.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

Barry Lenihan put it well on Morning Ireland or Clare Bryne, basically saying Gavin's campaign has been starved of oxygen due to his poor debate performance and the gaffs by his electoral team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭rdser

He just a terrible candidate. Few campaign gaffs and being shocking in the first debate doesn't help.

Has a few catchphrases about being a positive president and some other waffle.…and little else to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭rdwight

You would think Dáil vetting would be expedited given the importance of guarding against people with subversive connections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,883 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Hard to disagree with any of this. My guess right now is that the results of count 1 will be Humphreys - Connolly - Gavin, and Gavin's transfers will easily elect Humphreys.

The only movement I could see happening between now and the election is that Gavin improves and overtakes Connolly. I can't see anything happening that will bring Connolly further up the rankings…

Right so if they accepted the GFA and decommissioning, what were their members doing exactly in a stolen vehicle with illegal firearms, at least one of which had been used in a previous murder, in 2012?

Why did they describe O'Shannon as a "political prisoner" and why did she do so herself as late as 2023?

It doesn't wash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,402 ✭✭✭jmcc

It was the Virgin Media Tonight show debate and people saw Connolly appearing presidential and Gavin and Humphreys appearing on a chatshow.

A competent politician like Kelleher would have dominated that debate. The biggest hurdle in any presidential election is in getting the voters to think of a candidate as being "presidential". Connolly passed with flying colours. Humphreys might as well have been part of the scenery. Gavin was auditioning for a Micheal Martin look-alike contest.

The problem for FFG supporters is that people got to see Connolly without the spin and filter of the Dublin media (the ones who recycled the Syria and Gemma O'D stuff). Some in FF must be wondering why Gavin was even considered as the FF candidate.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,150 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Hard to argue with any of that. You would have made a great advisor to any candidate. I think it could be extremely close for second v third. HH on transfers if Gavin goes early on 1st count is my guess.

But if it is Gavin v HH in the second count, how do you call that? With the left antipathy to FF FG etc. The transfers would be low.

I still haven’t figured out personally who I view as the least worst between Gavin and Connolly. if you put a gun to my head….or if I was taking a birdseye view…. maybe Connolly 3rd, Gavin less annoying and not as sanctimonious. And ironically Gavin is less of a “loose cannon” than the pacifist candidate.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,853 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I wonder if any journalist will have the cop-on to figure out the next logical question for Connolly/

This woman had not been Garda cleared to have access to Leinster House, and so was being accompanied in each morning by CC. Were arrangements made to ensure she was accompanied at all times whilst she was inside Leinster House, or was our unvetted dissident (who apparently believes that being convicted of gun crimes having been apprehended whilst about to commit armed robbery is a "political" crime) allowed unsupervised and unaccompanied access within the complex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,123 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost