Presidential Election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,005 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

She didn't fail to get Garda security clearance because of random people on the internet. You're just trying to deflect and drag the thread into an irrelevant rabbit hole

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,468 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

She said there was a vetting process ongoing and the person left before it completed. Bizarrely these processes can take several years apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

It is a job, after a fashion, and your employers are, so to speak, the constituents that voted you in. The Gardai can't do any background checks either…you're above all that. Now people here may find that objectionable but that's the way it is. Unless the government see fit to change the rules and preclude criminal candidates for the Dail they can get in. Dessie Ellis, Hutch (if he'd won the seat) or Lowry (notwithstanding the things that can be said about his character or actions), who doesn't have a criminal conviction.

Post edited by ilkhanid on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭littlefeet

Rehabilitation should include restorative justice, which would involve meeting with the victims of their actions and a personal reflection. Alternatively, if the family of the victims or the victims themselves don't want to meet them, some other mechanism of restorative justice should be employed; anything involving personal violence or a pattern of violent behavior should have a very high threshold for rehabilitation. It is a little naive to expect that the person can say they were young and stupid, let's move on, and forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Labour and the Soc Dems must be getting a bit uncomfortable.

I'm all in favour of that. It wouldn't apply to Ursula Ní Shionnain nor Michael Lowry but for crimes of violence, burglary, etc it's hugely beneficial. For others you rely on prison personnel, psychologists and others having contact with the incarcerated individual.

Due too their nominated candidate being the joint-frontrunner?

Éamon O'Cuív having a proper go at Micheal M - Irish Independent today.

As he should. Pretty shoddy treatment of the man who was only last year the most elderly FF politician in the Dáil.

"Ó Cuív hits out at Taoiseach over Connolly convict criticism - 'I'm surprised somebody didn't contact me first'

Former Fianna Fáil minister Éamon Ó Cuív has defended Independent presidential candidate Catherine Connolly and said he does not agree with criticism from the Taoiseach over her hiring of a woman convicted of firearms offences.

Mr Ó Cuív said he was “surprised” that Micheál Martin did not speak to him before publicly making comments on the matter, given his role over a number of years in visiting republican prisoners and in recommending the woman to Ms Connolly.

Ursula Shannon (also Ní Shionnáin) was hired as an administrative support worker for Ms Cononlly in the Oireachtas in 2018, shortly after she was released from prison after serving over four years for unlawful possession of firearms and possession of ammunition.

Ms Shannon had been linked to the Éirígí – a republican organisation which opposed the peace process. She was not granted a Dáil pass while a vetting process was being conducted, but was signed in and out by Ms Connolly.

Earlier, the Taoiseach said this indicates “a very serious lack of judgement” on Ms Connolly’s part.

“In terms of someone who has apparently served four and a half years in prison for possession of firearms, and is also a member of an organisation that did everything to undermine the Irish peace process, that would indicate a very serious lack of judgement,” he said.

But Mr Ó Cuív, a former Fianna Fáil TD in Ms Connolly's Galway constituency, said he disagreed with these comments, and asked “how can we talk seriously about reconciliation if we make a puff of smoke over this?”

“I am surprised somebody didn’t contact me before [Mr Martin] made those comments,” he said.

The former Galway West TD said Ms Shannon had a PhD in social linguistics, that he had visited her a number of times in prison and had conversations with her on socialism, the economy and political philosophy.

She was not someone who posed any security threat and is now an active member of society, he said. "People that I visited involved in republicanism have a right to be brought into the process. If you are going to lock them out of society forever, then we will never progress,” he said.

“Catherine is right. I was asked. I gave a strong recommendation. I see no problem with that and I’m surprised that anybody does,” Mr Ó Cuív told the Irish Independent.

“My view at the time was that if you want to bring about peace, you have to take these steps. And time has proved me 100pc right. What she has done since, she has been an Irish language officer in a number of organisations, she has small children and a job and is a regular member of society."

“I am surprised somebody didn’t contact me before [Mr Martin] made those comments, given that it’s well known that I have been working on these issues for a long time,” he added.

Earlier, Ms Connolly defended the appointment and said she got a "strong recommendation" from Mr Ó Cuív.

The former Galway West TD said Ms Shannon had a PhD in social linguistics, that he had visited her a number of times in prison and had conversations with her on socialism, the economy and political philosophy.

She was not someone who posed any security threat and is now an active member of society, he said.

Mary Regan, Political Editor"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,568 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Brass necks the lot of them downplaying the significance of engaging someone with a firearms conviction and membership of a terrorist organisation that wanted to destabilise the peace process- and what does that say about CC and her attitude to peace on this island and bringing together all groups and stakeholders, both north and south?

She’s completely the wrong person to head this state and it will be 7 years of shame for us all if she gets in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,276 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Six years for a gun crime. Pretty serious stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,887 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

Another few nails in Micheál's leadership. He better hope Gavin romps home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,818 ✭✭✭✭kippy

CC has handled this pretty well from what I have seen today. Compassionate, forgiving, realistic. FF/FG have been aware of this and we're just waiting to get the info released..standard tack I suppose in these types of things.

MM would want to be careful in pushing this too far, calling these things errors of judgement. He's made plenty errors of judgement in his own time.

I think this is the same type of nothing burger the drone story was over the previous few days.

Nope- completely factual actually and I’m confident that the large non-crazy section of the electorate will agree

and bringing together all groups and stakeholders,

FFS she was acting on the advice of a Committee tasked with aiding the reconciliation process by seeking to rehabilitate.

she needs to own her actions and withdraw from the presidential race

She did. Have you not been listening?

Nothing to hide on the matter.

If she is hiding something let the allegers produce some evidence for their allegations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

Is Michael Martin running for president or glove puppet Jim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,887 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The race you said she would lose because of her "looks" and being crazy?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

At least Heather made a comment on Connolly herself. Micheál was out making comments that Jim should have been making. But they might be keeping him away from the media at the moment in the hope people forget his last performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

there’s no doubt the Michael is panicked by Jim’s poor showing. Gavin just isn’t comfortable and it shows. MM will be hoping this will torpedo CC’s campaign. I genuinely think even FF supporters are wearying of Martin at this stage

One of FF's grandee's publicly showing up Martin's pious kant about Shared Islands, reconciliation and rehabilitation won't go down well. The snarl will be deployed soon I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,461 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Bad look for Connolly whichever way it’s tried to be spun. She is already boxed in as a left wing radical - this is going to cement that further. Soft on crime. I know middle Ireland and I honestly can’t see them going for this. They’re already very concerned about rising crime and violence

Post edited by road_high on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭littlefeet

I can't see why it wouldn't apply to any crime where the person served a prison sentence. You're coming across as if the 'I' can be decoupled from the action and consequence of the action.

It's funny to watch how bad the FF campaign is for Gavin. Its amateur hour. If he doesn't come at least second MM is under serious pressure...and not sure that's likely at this point.

It's even funnier watching the shills trying to minimise it and point the finger elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,054 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I know a lady who's a serious FF supporter. She's not gone on Gavin and feels very let down by MM. I'm getting the feeling she mightn't vote for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

Is his age supposed to excuse his foolishness? 'There's no fool like an old fool'.

Restorative justice was set up to give understanding and closure to victims. With a chance to confront the criminal. How exactly would that work in the victimless Ursula Ní Shionnain case?

There's an ongoing peace process with all parties signing up to reconciliation and rehabilitation. FF's leader is now opposing that, and has thus been pulled up by a party grandee for his hypocrisy. MM is having a bad election, it's unlikely to improve and there are plenty in the party who'll have no qualms about shoving him aside.

They're just clutching at straws to throw stuff at her. It ain't working and the more the public get to see of her the more they like her. The first debate was a failure for the other two. The second, I believe, will be worse. They'll all be more comfortable having undergone the intial one. They'll have more to say. Alas only CC has the true intellect, ethics and power of argument to do it well.