If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

If this is accurate, then it does change the story significantly. I'd still see the appointment as a poor choice, but more of an understandable one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,597 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I don't know if it is accurate, it is what she said though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Will Gavins GAA experience as Dublin manager help him with GAA fans? Is there such a thing as a GAA vote?

Current paddypower odds are Humphreys on Evens, Connolly 6/4 and Gavin 7/2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,854 ✭✭✭blackwhite

“We became aware that somebody was there [Leinster House] who would not have gone through the normal vetting process. We asked them to undertake that vetting process. They left before that process began,” he said.

Reeks of someone trying to circumvent the process because they knew there was something to hide.

The recommendations from O'Cuiv and Daly demonstrating yet again why we are significantly better off without either of them in the Dáil (or indeed in the European Parliament).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,407 ✭✭✭jmcc

It is Martin and his imposition of Gavin that is causing a problem for FF. From the comments above, it seemed like FFG supporters thought this was an election killer for Connolly. It isn't turning out that way and it is dragging FFers into the frame. As for Humphreys, has she sunk without trace?

Regards…jmcc

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Not necessarily disagreeing with your view, but many studies have indicated that political debates don't tend to have significant impacts on election results. There will be some special cases e.g. Biden's disaster, Sean Gallagher because of the bombshell. But a 10pm Virgin TV debate won't have had substantial viewing figures and likely won't have shifted people significantly, particularly given the lack of any big gotcha moments.

Journal completely omit O'Cuiv (who Connolly said recommended this woman to her and allowed her use his name), from that story. ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,765 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I get where Connolly is coming from. The person she wanted to hire was a good fit for the job (even a very high ranking member of FF felt so) and served her time for a crime committed in the past. I for one don't see an issue with rehabilitated convicts being re-integrated into society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

I heard CC being questioned on CB about the Eirigí woman and while I believe she was motivated by kindness towards a former prisoner it showed extreme naivety.

BTW no surprise to hear EO'C mentioned as he was always soft on dissidents himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

As was said already, HH needs to get up off her arse and start going after CC in the debates.

The problem with that is there is a good chance she will get said arse handed to her by CC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,886 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Reminder that betting odds are based on opinions of people who are betting and no reflection of what will actually happen.

FF and FG are still stuck in chivalrous politics. This sometimes puts them at a disadvantage when faced with the radical Left which is more messianic and in my opinion better at oratory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,223 ✭✭✭golfball37

Jim is an Alan Partridge type candidate at this stage. What were they thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

OK - iv read the article.

Not sure where to begin, but, really i must do the following before i continue.

@awec @Podge_irl @Brendan Bendar - and anyone else i debated with last night;

I have to concede here - You called it correctly. Genuine apologies.

I was sincerely viewing this as a nonsense story, of someone failing a Garda Vet - It now appears the lady made it inside the building - the story is growing legs. As well it should. I apologise if i appeared snarky or stupid in my defence. I always proceed on the basis of offering genuine criticisms, without embellishment. I believe myself to be on firm ground in criticizing CC on issues of Foreign Policy. On the story as it appeared yesterday, i did not see the serious issue that you called early on. And well done on that.

Happy to concede, hope there is no hard feelings.

From the NEW article

It is unclear when Ní Shionnáin began the vetting process. Connolly said that Ni Shionnáin had “filled out her application form from day one”.

However Seán Ó Fearghaíl, who was Ceann Comhairle at the time, gave a different timeline to The Irish Times, and said that she only began the vetting process after beginning work.

“We became aware that somebody was there [Leinster House] who would not have gone through the normal vetting process. We asked them to undertake that vetting process. They left before that process began,” he said.

Speaking at a meeting of EU leaders in Copenhagen earlier this morning, Taoiseach Micheál Martin was asked about the issue and heavily criticised Connolly’s judgement. 

The person Connolly had sought to hire, he said, had been “a member of an organisation that did everything to undermine the Irish peace process”.

“And I think Catherine Connolly needs to clarify that in its entirety, and be fully transparent in respect of it, but it is a very, very serious issue.”

The key for me here, is that the lady began working having undergone no vet. Honestly that reeks. The fact that the lady appeared before a Dail committee for the Irish Language is all the more baffling now. Who was it that called her. Was CC involved. What exactly was the nature of the ladies appointment, and why was she brought into Leinster house.

Both Judgement, and Conduct are now very much in question here - Its a real campaign issue, and she needs to address it

CREDIBLY address it

If you will all excuse me now, i am busy trying to remove my head from my ass 😂

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

And based on what we know about this person after, Connolly's, O'Cuiv's Clare Daly's Thomas Pringle's etc judgement has been proven to have been sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,670 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

So now we know that Catherine is best buddies with convicted dissident subversives (who are not signed up to a peace process, before Francie says anything)

AND she wants to abolish the State's main means of tackling subversives and organised criminals.

Does she want to force members of the public to serve on trials which will put them and their families at risk of threats and retaliation? Because that is why the Special Criminal Court exists.

That's not on and it's naive in the extreme (as are her utterings on foreign affairs)

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭MFPM

The propensity for you and others here to continually use the term 'we' in posts is highly arrogant and reveals a real exaggerated sense of self importance - ironic too given where and how you choose to voice your opinion!

And the forgiveness aspect actually plays well for the demographics who might be likely to vote for Connolly. The spin on this is amazing. The addition of O'Cuiv changed the dynamics of the story.

Regards…jmcc

The President gets to appoint some members of the Council of State. I hope lessons will be learned from this if she is elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,049 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

This is how Michael D won the election in 2011. He was deemed as the safest pair of hands, after gaffes surrounding many of the other candidates. HH just needs to keep her head down.

The addition of O'Cuiv changed the dynamics of the story.

Yes.
    Question now for Micheál, 'why are your people recommending people unsuitable for jobs?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Joe1919

Some shocking stuff online about CC friend at the moment e.g She participated in a mock execution of Queen Elizabeth.

https://x.com/TullMcAdoo/status/1973464708645847306

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,049 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Connolly said in her interview that Ní Shionnáin was recommended to her by a number of TDs who carry out regular prison visits. It was Clare Daly, the former TD and MEP, who recommended that she contact Ní Shionnáin, she said. 

O'Cuiv? You're lying again?

She was working in Leinster House but had to be signed in individually by Connolly every day, the TD claims. The vetting process, if cleared, would have provided her with a pass to enter the building on her own. Connolly claims this process was never completed. Multiple sources have said that the potential full-time hire was blocked.

However Seán Ó Fearghaíl, who was Ceann Comhairle at the time, gave a different timeline to The Irish Times, and said that she only began the vetting process after beginning work.

Connolly is now telling lies or half-truths..

https://www.thejournal.ie/catherine-connolly-taoiseach-radio-6832805-Oct2025/?utm_source=thejournal&utm_content=top-stories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

As for Humphreys, has she sunk without trace?

Even money favourite with Paddy Power as of this morning. Quite feasible she could glide to victory in this election by sitting on the sidelines filing her nails and watching the other two self-destruct in very different ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

Well her judgement is poor. Even before this mornings update on this story, I admitted her judgement was poor on this attempted appointment. But for me that was where the story ended. It was a kin to my saying to CC - 'well, what the hell did you expect, OF COURSE she would fail the garda vet' - a daft decision on her part.

But that was all it was, until this morning. Now its growing the legs, that others could see from the start so. Iv admitted that..

Overall, CC has courted nothing but contraversy during her career, and during this election cycle. its not even a fortnight gone, and already the list of marks against CC is growing. For me the comments on Germany remain the most ridiculous part of it.

• The Hamas comments were very poor - but alas there are a lot of people both here and abroad that dont have any issue with her opinions
    • Bringing up the whole 'American Imperialist' rhetoric - again, ridiculous, undiplomatic, inflamatory language - it could do real damage if spoken from the Aras - but also, lot of poorly informed activist lefties lap this all up.
    • Her general views on NATO are ridiculous too - but the aforementioned activist lefties also enjoy blaming NATO on everything - the list is endless.
    • Her general views on how to end the war between Ukraine and Russia are also flawed. But not unpopular, sadly.

I could go on, there is a long line of silly stands she has taken on issues.

But the Germany comments were abhorent. Pure and simple. They were also GROSSLY incorrect, and seemed to indicate a total lack of objective analysis. The type of opinion i would expect from someone who had barely passed Leaving Cert History. This, for me, is still the most outrageous stand that CC has taken.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

Others can confirm or you can listen back.

O'Cuiv's input (significant according to Connolly) has been completely left out of that story.

Bookies make money off people who think that they know what is going to happen. There will also be supporters placing bets to make their party's candidate seem popular. The thing to watch is the Sindo/Ireland Thinks poll at the weekend. Paddy Power used to run election opinion polls in the past (used RedC from what I remember).

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Not really, O'Cuiv is well known for dabbling in dissident republican circles.

"A judge at Derry Magistrate’s Court has said that he doesn’t want people to think the courts were being ‘too heavy handed’ in enforcing the Anti-terrorism legislation as he granted bail to a dissident republican to allow him to go to Dublin to meet with a TD.

Thomas Ashe Mellon (48), of Rathmore Road in Derry, applied for a bail variation to allow him to travel to Dublin on May 9 to meet with the TD Eamonn O’Cuiv to discuss the prisoners issue."

Thomas Ashe Mellon gets bail change to meet a TD in Dublin – The Irish News

Read the post again. It is the forgiveness angle will play well with the demographics who are likely to vote for Connolly. This story seems to have backfired for FFG and has allowed Connolly to dominate the news cycle. Now, I'm sure that the experts on Journalism here can explain how this will edge out any coverage of Gavin or Humphreys.

Post edited by jmcc on

Regards…jmcc