If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

you raise some interesting points. And i will admit our voting system is fair, and far better than the FPTP method in the UK. That said some sort of left wing co-operation prior to a general, would optimize the left and center left vote.

I agree with you on the negative effect it could have. The example you give of SocDem voters being reluctant to back the party, if their only goal is to prop up Sinn Fein - its a very good point. The only thing i can say against that, is that a decision to revert to 'Business as Usual' elections will lead to no real change.

I could counter too, and ask which would be better.

• Soc Dems in coalition with other left wing parties, propping up a Sinn Fein led Left Wing Government - beit confidence and supply, or a real coalition, with ministerial positions and a voice at the budget.
    • Soc Dems in coalition with FFG - beit one of, or both Fianna Fail and Fine Gael - effectively propping up the Business as Usual Center right of Irish Politics.

You could substitute in Labour, or anyone you wish. And, speaking of Labour, they have frequently elected large amounts of TDs, only to enter coalition with FFG - It never worked out for them, and while they always claim that Labour 'reigned in' the worst aspects of the Irish Center Right - they were ALWAYS crucified at the next general election.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

That's what I said. Gavin probably 10:1 on posters to Connolly in her own constituency. FF trying to buy the election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,161 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That is where myself and yourself fundamentally differ. I view HH Orange familial links as positive. Inclusion etc. Plus what I have seen the moderate people who go to Orange parades. Simply view it as a family day out. Eating ice creams etc.
    It has become benign for people with any sense/cop on. From what I see.

It also occurred to me how many people in ROI go to mass? Priests have to be brought into the ROI from Africa now.. Mostly grey heads attending. And from what I heard in the church my elderly parents attend. The church stopped the morning mass aimed at kids ages ago, because young parents no longer bring their children.

Also Ireland no longer follows Catholic teachings Divorce, Abortion, Gay Marriage, Contraception has long been legal.

The real nub for me is, J noticed the DUP claim the Republic is a “cold place” for Protestantism And diehard Republicans online refer to Humphreys as an “Orangewoman”.

If I vote HH I prove 🇮🇪 is inclusive to the DUP bigots. Putting it up to them. And also pissing off diehard Republican bigots It tells me voting for HH is the correct choice. It is what the tricolour is supposed to represent.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

It would have been a grand gesture of reconciliation if Sinn Fein had backed Humphreys. However, that type of gesture is beyond Sinn Fein, their only interest is in prolonging sectarianism. Their success is built on hatred of the other.

I think you and I have a very different way of looking at Irish Politics, or perhaps politics in general

Why would she need to make public statements to indicate that she can do the job of President?

Probably because she is running to be elected as president - To say nothing of politics, when one is applying for a job, indidcating that one can do the job is rather important.

She's said nothing to indicate that she can't do the job of President, other than having some opinions that you disagree with.

Its not about whether one agrees or disagrees. Its about not dragging her campaign into controversial areas.

Iv said previously as have others; Attacking Germany (a democracy) for re-arming at a time when the EU is happy to have them do so. Her contentious views of the US as an 'Imperial Power'. Her statements about Hamas. Prior to the election, she blames NATO for Russia invading Ukraine.

Im not going to re do all that has been posted about the above. You probably agree with her, and thats fine. But these are controversial topics, and it showed a complete lack of tact, and political nuance to raise them during a presidential election. Its about the fact that the job of president requires someone with an aptitude for diplomacy, and an ability to reign in opinions that will cause controversy, whether here and abroad.

Im happy to agree to disagree. She has an opportunity tonight to reign herself in, and reframe her candidacy.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,164 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Which thread will tonight's debate be on?

In fairness to SF they have to appeal to two different demographics in two different jurisdictions. And it’s “strategy” has long being led by the smaller jurisdiction. It was notable that Eoin O’Broin was nice to Humphreys in his comments re the Orange connections.
    Remember this is the man who didn’t use the phrase ROI in his housing book. Explained why in the preface, I believe.

Of the three candidates it seems to me only one main party is really happy - FG.

There seemed to be a core of SF that didn’t want to back Connolly/run their own Candidate. There is minority in FF who are wound up because they wanted Kelleher.

If the GAA has shown me anything it is the settled side, with a clear direction that does well. Humphreys is that “settled side”. The other two are “in transition” . HH the safe choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

She has given absolutely NO indication that she wouldn't sign a bill as President, but yet you're expecting her to come out some kind of silly purity pledge because you're clutching your pearls about her hard left opinions.

No president has ever put their own opinions aside entirely, nor should they ever be expected to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,786 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Given that Heather Humphries was proposed by FG, do you not worry that should your vote contribute to her success that then FG would deem it a success and continue their process of destroying things like healthcare and housing?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,329 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Mod: stop trying to steer the discussion off-topic!

Post edited by Seth Brundle on

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

Im happy to just agree to disagree at this stage, and just leave it there. I think its all been said by many users.

Also, and this is where i am charitable to CC, and all candidates in fact. The election cycle is only getting going now, and we have a debate to watch tonight. I think they all need to perform, CC most of all in my opinion.

Im assuming there will be some conversation here. Im planning on coming back on after the debate for some chat. Il be interested to get peoples take on the debate.

I will say this though - Why hasnt there been a more up to date Poll? It would be very useful to know how much support each candidate has prior to the debate - so we can judge their performance, and reflect on their level of support after the fact.

I know we only have a settled line-up since wednesday - but baring the prior remote possibility of Steen making it on to the ballot - that was it surely - it was either CC, HH, and JG with a possible addition of Steen - and we more or less knew that for the last two weeks

The only poll i can find still has Mary Lou as a contender, and she ruled herself out on the 8th of September

Very odd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,610 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Good polling costs a lot of money. I presume, given the time factor of when the final candidate selection was clear, it was too near for last Sunday. Hopefully by the weekend. Probably plenty, rolling from then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,786 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I'd imagine there will be polls running all this week, with the results to be released later this week or next week, running them in the last 2 weeks sure there was so many potential candidates you'd never get accurate data

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,169 ✭✭✭corkie

Just wondering if anyone is creating an TV forum thread for VM1's Debate tonight?

If anyone does please tag me and provided a link to the thread.

Aras25 | "The people who spoiled their votes on Friday 24th Oct took part in a legitimate political action, as is their right!"
    "But that's balanced out by the fact that it's a mandate not to do very much." ~ Prof. Eoin O'Malley

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,329 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I'd recommend having one but possibly in the CA forum?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,869 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Why would we not just do it here? Its not like it's happening in parallel, its the only game in town tonight, as far as this topic goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

I might like her style a little bit but I’d never vote for Connolly. She’d be too risky. Either of the other two would be aware of the limitations of their role and could be trusted not to cause any nasty surprises for the government. They’d be more in the Patrick Hillery mold than some of our splashier incumbents since. With that said, Gavin would be a trial to listen to for years hence. Which leaves one alternative.

Post edited by Ardillaun on

Do I contradict myself?
    Very well then I contradict myself,
    (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,738 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

The Fianna Fail writing is so small you can hardly read it.

They've been doing that ever since they became a toxic brand in 2011

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 11,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

So toxic that they some how got into government without the voters knowing it….. Try living in the real world, they represent a substantial part of the voting public and without recognising that you're political analysis is pointless.

No they weren’t drunk. I remember the story because I laughed at how parochial Louth was. It was a culture shock for him.

I think it is obvious to me that ROI voter is far less tribal and blinkered/bitter than NI or the border counties for obvious reasons.

It shows in the comments the ROI is a centre right/left country. NI/border counties are more concerned with them v us. That is the mindset.

And I voted McGuinness 2011 because I viewed him as personable. Willing to go against diehard Republicans for peace.

You paint HH as if she is a bigoted sectarian member of the OO. She has familial connections to that. But views herself as a Republican in the ROI.

I wasn’t brought up without bigotry that your crowd and the other crowd have have/had. So I can vote with a clear conscious. Maybe that is the key to it.

You can’t help where you are born or what your background is. No one has control over that. But they do have control over how to raise future generations. As the proclamation says

“The Republic guarantees religious and civil liberty, equal rights and equal opportunities to all its citizens, and declares its resolve to pursue the happiness and prosperity of the whole nation and of all its parts, cherishing all of the children of the nation equally”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

You have clearly never been to Co Louth, as I'd say at least 25% of Drogheda (the largest town in Ireland) is Dubs so unless bouncers are turning away 1/4 of their potential business I'd call you claim bullshit

Dundalk has been a large student town for decades and has students from all over and your claim they don't let Dubs in nightclubs or pubs is laughable

Heather Humphreys attends orange order marches. She lied that she didn't since she was a kid until the media called her out on it

The orange order is a sectraian organisation so voting for her is not some kind of inclusion

Mod: stop with the petty bickering you two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,642 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Talk about it in the tonight show thread in the tv forum maybe? Cos it’s labeled the TS debate….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Their then TD that is now an SF Senator (Chris Andrews) used yellow branding and no FF logo for most of his stuff from 2009 on, while still running as an FF member for that election. They may have found some of that lying around Leinster House and decided to copy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

I'm most interested in what Jim Gavin has been told to say by FF about what his views are on pretty such everything

Going by his GAA career he dosnt seem the nasty type, so I wonder have FF told him to gang up on Catherine with Heather and will he do it. I hope not because although I don't think he's presidential material he's always seemed like a decent skin

Tonight I see HH as being solid, if not spectacular. If CC can focus and get rid of ambiguity, I think she (sounds like Sam Prendergast v Jack Crowley rugby talk) has a higher ceiling, than the former!

This is a big night for Gavin, his first major political debate. Will he sink or swim, or bore us with platitudes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Gavin and Humphreys need to avoid alienating each others voters too much if they are to win

A transfer pact should be considered, but might alienate Connolly voters, some of whose 2nd preferences she may also need to win. Theres likely to be some gender-based 2nd preferences. There were no female candidates in 2011 or 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭jmcc

The opinion polls are generally intended to sell newspapers. The Sindo/Ireland Thinks poll appears in the first week of each month with the Sundoay Business Post/RedC poll appearing towards the end of each month. Both these polls use a panel-based approach. The Irish Times runs a quarterly poll with Ipsos/B&A and it uses face to face polling and that's considered a more reliable methodology. There may be an Irish Times poll closer to the election and it is the one to watch.

Regards…jmcc