If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,871 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Thanks for being honest at least. You’re FFG.

I’m voting for Connolly. I voted for Higgins and I remember the exact same stuff was thrown at him because he (like Connolly) said some controversial things and maybe even at times things I didn’t fully agree with. If she gets to the Arus she would modify her comments like he did but would also remain true to her beliefs as Higgins did in office. my brand of politics is definitely left of centre. I see this contest as the start of a real alternative coalition forming that could put the FFG brand out of office at the next election which the country badly needs. So I hope Connolly does well, I hope she wins but what I really am interested in is how that alternative coalition works together and hopefully wins the next general election.

As regards this contest I prefer a politician who says what he or she believes in even if they have to clarify their comments and even if it’s controversial. I prefer that over the safe, bland, boring guff we’ll likely get from the FFG candidates. There has been Fianna Fáil politicians down the years that I would have had time for, we’ll see what Gavin has to say for himself. Heather Humphreys I know will be as dull as dishwater. So we’ll see how the debates go but right now I’ll vote Connolly. She has said nothing wrong bar maybe some phraseology regarding the German comment in particular. However the way FFG fans are jumping up and down you’d swear she dropped a load of f bombs or something and the shrill noise and nonsense does have an effect on the feeble minded outwith the core FFG support.

Connolly will know what she’s in for and will have to be up for it, if she needs any inspiration she just has to look to the current President who rose above the shrill panty wetting conservative FFG noise to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Is it different though with an unrestrained Trump in office, and with the guard-rails that restrained him a bit in Term 1 now falling away? With the tariffs we should try to stay off his radar. I think its more important now to have someone with business experience who can sit down and talk to Trump about these things. Someone who understands quiet diplomacy, which has always benefitted Ireland in the past e.g. the Anglo Irish Agreement negotiations ultimately led to peace in Northern Ireland, by giving the Republic a consultative role in Northern Ireland. At the time some opposed it, like Haughey though he eventually came around. SF opposed it.

“swallow hard and vote FFG”. Ok.

The debates haven’t even happened, Connolly will know what she’s in for, she’ll have to clarify some of her comments but it really depends on what you want in a candidate. I prefer a left leaning candidate with conviction to a bland, boring tweedledee or tweedledum that will do eff all and say eff all and will just sit there take the dough and the priority will be to under no circumstances rock the boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

Michael D Higgins is a true sensible left winger with a sharp political intellect. A shrewd politician, with deeply held beliefs on matters of real social justice. In his early political life, he was a bit of an activist, but as he matured, he demonstrated a diplomacy on all matters of importance. He worked with both FF and FG in coalition, holding a ministerial position during the rainbow coalition, and the prior reynolds led FF/LAB government. He is an ardent supprter of womens rights, and other social issues. He knew how to conduct himself, and use his power constructively

Catherine Connolly has very little in common with him. She has no political aptitude, and is basically an activist. In the middle of a Presidential Election, competing against two very low key candidates, she is setting fire to her campaign by attacking topics which she cannot possibly hope to have any effect on. Her views on Ukraine/Russia/NATO are laughable, and constitute everything that is wrong with the left today. She has a long history of attacking the EU, and this outrageous attack on Germany is just the lastest episode of this.

Even if you proved that on actual beliefs, CC and Higgins are closely alligned - the radical difference is in temperment, and political aptitude. Higgins has it in spades. CC doesnt have any at all - clearly.

If you want to compare her to another left wing politician, it would have to be Jeremy Corbyn. Thats the same Corbyn who botched his leadership of the UK Labour Party, at a time when Britain needed real stewardship in countering the radical Tory party, both Pre and Post Brexit Ref. Corbyn could have waged an agressive war on both May and BJ, at a time when the Tory Party was ripping itself to pieces over the Brexit Withdrawal Agreement. Instead, he kept dropping the ball, and refused to follow the obvious choice of persuing a second referendum, until it was far too late. No, he preferred to try and pursue his nonsensical Left flavored Brexit, which he had NO chance of ever getting. He is, was, and will always be remembered as an embarrassment to the left.

The left, the REAL, Non-Crazed-Activist Left - need to avoid these type of candidates like the plague. They ruin any prospect of credible alternatives to the FFG stranglehold on this country. More-over when they go off-script (which they always do, always) they tend to damage the more moderate grounded left, and provide the right with yet another stick to beat us with.

Listen, im not doubting your sincerity in being a left winger. But honestly you do yourself no favours standing up for CC. She could still salvage something of this campaign, if she manages to put her activism on the shelf for the next few weeks. She could do that, but i doubt she will. It may be over before its started, and we just have to accept that. If you feel you have to support her, because the alternative is FFG - i respect that. I cant blame you. But moving forward we need something of a unified Left Wing grouping, if we have any hope. And that will mean excising a lot of, no doubt popular, but flawed loud mouthed activists. Otherwise this will just happen again and again.

Since you are asking others, i will tell you straight up. I dont know who i will vote for. The presidential election could have been a sounding board for a more serious upcoming election (Local, European and General). The left could have captured some of the public imagination, if we had a properly run campaign. But thats not going to happen now, and iv accepted that. So far my only source of delight is that Steen didnt get on the ballot. If the left are not adequetly represented, then it goes without saying, im pleased the Neo Christian Right are also absent.

I could probably vote for one of the others, a lot will depend on the debates. Im not ruling out voting for CC, as some have. But a lot depends on her character as the campaigning gets underway.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

Michael D Higgins had to deal with all of this stuff that’s been thrown at Connolly when he ran the first time around. I remember it.

Corbyn got done in by the establishment in the UK, he was labelled anti semitic simply because he was critical of Israel. He got done by the media and by some horrendous people in Labour in the UK. He would have made an excellent Prime Minister for that country but the establishment weren’t having it and they took him down. Could he have pushed for a second Brexit referendum? I don’t think they were having it? They weren’t for turning. I’m hopeful that the Irish electorate will have a bit more maturity and nous about them than the electorate in the UK have had in recent times.

Connolly is a better candidate than the other two and I think we’ll see that borne out over the next few weeks.

A Eurosceptic presidency would be unfortunate in the current international situation, where Europe needs to speak as one on issues like Ukraine and the Trump tariffs. While the president doesnt have control of foreign policy, presidential statements have the potential to confuse our international partners of where Ireland stands. We saw this after Sabina Higgins newpaper article, after then Lithuania criticised Ireland for having a "luxury of geography". She is not the president, but perception is important.

You’re rewriting the history of the Peace Process in the North if you’re going to try to belittle or downplay Sinn Féin’s part in it.

The President of Ireland won’t be talking to Trump. If they have to whoever it is they will whether they like it or not, Trump unfortunately is the elected president of the United States.

Higgins hasnt met Trump once since either's election as President. I dont know what the reason is. I find Trumps views distasteful, but we need to talk to such people. The Labour party is fine with meeting Xi Jinping and did so when in government, including in 2012 when he visited Ireland and met Eamon Gilmore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,151 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I would have given Connolly no1 if she showed a small bit of political cop on. It does not look forthcoming even in these early stages.
    Instead I am going for HH. Despite her pretence that she would improve her fluency in Irish over 10 years ago. She is easily the best “politician” of the three and best suited to the role of POI. I think.

FG diehards must be laughing their heads off at how poor CC and Gavin have been thus far.

All HH has to do is appeal to her own base, rural Ireland and older voters. As I assume the majority of the undecided vote will go to her. I could be wrong of course. But that is my guess.

As far as I am concerned in my vote Connolly and Gavin are playing for second in a three horse race.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I don’t think Trump has come to Ireland on an actual state visit, that’s probably why he never met Higgins. I think Varadkar met him when he came on an unofficial trip to see the golf club in Clare?

If he comes on an official visit whoever the Irish president is will have to meet him and shake hands and talk shíte etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

If there was a general election tomorrow, I would vote Green.

That only demonstrates that your attempt to label those you disagree with is pathetic.

There is zero evidence that Connolly would modify her comments if she reached the Aras. She is batsh!t crazy.

Europe is at a crossroads, lay down before the Russian invader or stand up for our beliefs. Connolly is an appeaser, we can't let her anywhere near the Presidency.

Ha, Sinn Fein had little or nothing to do with the Peace Process. McGuinness was a British agent by then, they were riddled with them, Hume and Reynolds played them.

more shrill nonsense. Connolly isn’t “appeasing” Putin. Such silly hyperbole.

She would modify her comments, she’d have to, it’s part of the job. In fact she’ll modify her comments in the next few weeks.

You keep referring to CC as “looney” or “crazy” she is far from that in fairness to the woman. Very hyperbolic and unfair. And negates any valid points you make on CC. Particularly in light of how people phrase “mental health” issues these days. It doesn’t reflect well.

CC is simply politically naive and overly earnest/idealistic. Much closer to some PBP beliefs than labour- anti imperialist anti EU etc. But that to me is more suited to an MEP or a student council representative. Not President of Ireland.

The thing is that Connolly is making such a mess of this election that 90% of those who vote will be FFG in your eyes.

The reality is that Steen couldn't get enough Oireachtas votes, Sheridan couldn't get enough councils and Sinn Fein chickened out of the election leaving us with an unelectable Connolly and a FF candidate and a FG candidate. I will be voting Gavin because he has a history of public service and isn't tied to a political party.

So you are now saying that Connolly is insincere and two-faced. If she modifies her comments, then surely, she is a creature of the establishment you so clearly hate?

Anyone who thinks Putin and Russia can be tamed by removing sanctions and engaging in "discussions" is clearly batsh!t crazy and I make no apologies for saying so. RBB, Paul Murphy, Mick Wallace and Clare Daly fall into the same category. The scary thing is that if they aren't batsh!t crazy, the only other option is that they are Russian plants.

Well like that’s just your opinion there Green Party guy. The vote hasn’t been held yet.

Sinn Fein have their eyes on the next general election and are using this an exercise in building a real cohesive alternative coalition that includes Labour, social democrats and maybe even the Green Party. I don’t know how you’re going to handle that 😆

The worst possible outcome for Sinn Fein is that Connolly gets elected. The people of Ireland will be left with a clear example of the disasters that will happen if a "United Left" government gets in.

If she doesn't get in, SF will say to the Left that they need to follow SF as that is the only route to success.

That is just a world view though it does not mean it is “mad”. Judging by Michael Darragh McCauley’s views on the NFL in CP. His strongly held belief that NFL Is tied to American militarism. His viewpoint pacifist and anti-imperialist would appear to tie in with Connolly’s world view.

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/15890983/michael-darragh-macauley-nfl-croke-park-dublin-gaa/

That is Catherine Connolly’s voter base. Basically those that have strong views on imperialism like McCauley. Who are also pacifists, strongly pro Palestine etc.

And for those who don’t follow GAA McCauley was a Jim Gavin stalwart on the pitch.

In my opinion, that worldview is simply batsh!t crazy. Putin is the biggest danger to Ireland and anyone who appeases him as Catherine does is crazy.

Well normally such people are not just “Putin sympathisers” as many in the media paint them. They are also strongly anti American imperialism as well. They don’t view it as appeasement they view it as anti war, anti imperialism. Nothing “crazy” about it in theory.Far left student types lap that up. I don’t view it as practical though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,971 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

she’s not supporting the Russian invasion of Ukraine and who the feck is Declan Walsh? Jim Gavin was talking about a smear campaign, Connolly obviously the victim of one as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,971 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

from the Irish Times article linked in the tweet

The man interjected: “Will you call for the withdrawal of the Russian military forces?”
    She replied: “There should be an immediate ceasefire and there should be negotiations around Ukraine and Russia"

i.e Ukraine should have to negotiate with Russia to exist. Of course, they already did that when they decommissioned their nuclear weapons, in the Minsk agreements and other arrangements all of which Russia reneged on.

Gavin has been the victim of a campaign directed at his personal life, which he has chosen to leave out of things. Connolly has been criticised for things that she has actually said and subsequently stood over.

You said above “supporting the Russian invasion of Ukraine is evil”. She’s not supporting the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

I have no idea where that footage came from was it tonight somewhere? Maybe she got caught on the hop with a question shouted up at her? I have no idea of the context.

Irish Presidential elections do get nasty, more so than other elections funnily enough. She’s going up against the FFG machine and the media are generally on their side as well. They’re clearly going to attack her because she’s the only danger to stopping an FFG win and they’re spooked by the way SF and Lab and Social Democrats have rowed in behind her. She and the rest of them are going to have to roll up the sleeves and fight as dirty as the FFG lot are. The bigger prize is the General Election and SF with Lab and Soc Dems et al will know they’re going to have to get stuck into the FFG system that has disgracefully failed the people and the country on housing and health and infrastructure. The gloves will be off.

Just looking at it there. There’s nothing there again. She didn’t answer the question directly. Instead of parroting back the question asked by saying the Russian troops should withdraw she said that there should be an immediate ceasefire, which is a similar thing to saying the Russian troops should retreat or withdraw.If every politician was pulled up for not answering a question directly political discourse and debate would just entirely cease to exist. Laughable nonsense.

They (FFG and their wee pals) are going over the top with Connolly. If they go too far it could quite easily backfire.

There’s nothing in that. FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,170 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

"There should be an immediate ceasefire" is not remotely the same thing as "Russian troops should retreat or withdraw". The former involves the Russians continuing to occupy the territory they have seized; the other involves them surrendering that territory.

This criticism of some nebulous "military industrial complex" such as that if NATO stopped making weapons, Russia would stop. That's naive.

Ukraine was not really an issue in 2011 and 2016 as the first was before the 2014 war and the second one was in a ceasefire since early 2015. I think it could be a bigger issue this time. I personally think it played a role in Wallace and Daly losing their seats in the Euro elections, and failing to win them back in the General Election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,545 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

You realise Connolly isn't running under the SF banner?