If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Catherine Connolly is loony for other reasons, not for her interest in the Irish language.

I didn't say the Irish language wasn't important, I said I didn't see it as singularly important, and neither did I elevate it above other aspects of Irish culture. I have no issue with people who don't listen to and play Irish music, who don't attend Irish games or who don't speak the Irish language, there are many different ways of expressing your Irishness.

Someone who doesn't have a word of the Irish language is no lesser an Irish person and no lesser a candidate for the Presidency than someone who is fluent.

My gripe is with people who see speaking the Irish language as singularly important as a definition of Irishness. At best is shows disrespect to those of the minority Protestant culture or those who struggle with speaking more than one language, at worst it has ultra-nationalist and racist undertones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,947 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

This thread is so out of touch. All the "issues" here are just contrived shte that people don't really care about.

The only one that will hurt is Connolly's links. Who has a cousin in the Orange Order, doesn't talk a UI up enough or failed honours Irish won't matter a fuk to an electorate who in truth don't care about language or the North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,871 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

FFGers like you said the exact same thing about Higgins when he was running the first time. Oooooh Higgins is too loose with the criticism of US foreign policy etc., speaks his mind, too left wing , can’t be having the President with that sort of chat. Etc etc etc….load of bollix from FFG fans who just can’t handle anyone outside of their cliques winning. Higgins was very popular with the electorate, if they want a continuation of his style and type of Preaidency the electorate will elect Connolly ahead of tweedledee and tweedledum of FFG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,650 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I’m completely non-party and think CC is clueless. Why does one have to be pro FF/FG here to think this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,591 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The scaremongering, about trashing international relations and capital flight. we have heard over the years has been bizarre and not a single bit of it has ever come true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭mvt

Please do not try to twist my words - you have your opinion & to me that's all it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,451 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Do you call everyone who has different opinions to you clueless?

She's far from clueless, qualified barrister, Gaelgeoir, voted by her peers as Leas Ceann Comhairle.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I didn't. I genuinely have no idea what makes you think I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,650 ✭✭✭✭walshb

not everybody. Just instances. Some of her “mutterings” I think are clueless. I should have been clearer.

She’s far from clueless. Well read and well educated woman.

Well in fairness to the FG part of FFG they have never had a president so I don't see how they would fell part of that "clique"

Did you see the ejit they elected as Ceann Comhairle.

They're not clueless though. She just has different views to you, probably very different views to you on things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Not a particularly 'wretched' article from The Telegraph, pretty matter of factual and as much about MM as CC.

Do you believe that modern day Germany is rearming itself like the Nazis in the 1930s?

https://www.irishpoliticsnewsletter.ie/p/catherine-connolly-russia

"Catherine Connolly and her supporters, with their nostalgia for neutrality and navel-gazing, are simply congratulating themselves on their moral purity while history and fascist violence are once again rolling across the plains of Europe in the name of Mother Russia. Irish presidential candidate Connolly fiddles while historical accuracy burns."

I am not the only one who thinks she is clueless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

Its early days.

I just think we have to wait for the debates, and for the campaigns to kick off properly. As it stands we have dont have enough to go on with regard to HH and JG.

Humphreys

With HH, there seems to be an attempt to bring up her 'orange' background, when ever possible. But much of it is landing as a positive progressive step for Ireland. She seems a relatively inoffensive character. Minor may be another term that is appropriate. I dont see anything nasty coming up about her. I have heard her referred to as boring - which is a double edged sword when it comes to a presidential candidate. Its not good to be boring during a campaign, but she is unlikely to ruffle anyones feathers during a presidency.

Gavin

As for JG, there seemed to be some sort of smear attempt during the week, which went no where. I got a whatsapp suggesting as much, but when i followed it down the rabbit hole, it seemed to originate from John McGuirk et al. Seems to have been nonsense, and McGuirk got a lot of pushback due to a number of his tweets. We havent seen enough of JG, so its difficult to predict how the campaign will progress. FF will be anxious to play up his military background, as opposed to his well known fame in GAA circles. But when i see him, I cant help but feel he is out of his league here (no pun intended)

Connolly

CC has probably been the bigger story this week. And in my view, its been less than stellar. There should IN THEORY be time to course correct. If she takes the obvious advice, and concentrates on domestic matters, she could definitely make an impact during the election cycle. It just depends on who she is listening to. I have to assume she has campaign advisors who will direct her attentions elsewhere. The Irish Language decifict of her opponents is an obvious bonus for CC. She could capitalize on disaffection about budget 2026, and she could attack FFG for not making enough progress on housing. A lot of room for improvement, but as i stated before, Connollys biggest opponent tends to be herself.

Just have to watch and see where it goes.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

The adjective refers to the publication which has become a nastier version of the Mail. They could have profiled the front runners, especially Humphreys to show how far we’ve come as a nation, but that wouldn’t suit their agenda over there. I think they resent how well we’ve done since Brexit.

Do I contradict myself?
    Very well then I contradict myself,
    (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

Does she want to win, though? So far she seems to be indulging herself and scaring off uncommitted voters.

Do I contradict myself?
    Very well then I contradict myself,
    (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,865 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Course she does b…. and why?

Because she will not be affected by any unrest in that volatile area usually foments

Id have far more interest in her campaign if she put her efforts into Irish affairs and the many situations the Irish people find themselves in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,829 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Can't wait for former director of military aviation and UN mission staff officer, Jim Gavin, to absolutely destroy Connolly on defence and security in the debates.

The first of which is Monday, I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,865 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Connolly hasn't been elected yet and SF are not in power…..

Gavin will be too afraid to take any position I'd bet.

It will be good to see how he performs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

They did mention the others in passing but it all feeds into the UN and she did after all criticise the British government and its colonial attitude so hardly surprising they weren't particularly interested in HH or JG going round pressing the flesh and admiring babies.

Pretty poor example of its 'wretchedness'.

We've heard it about Higgins, even his wife was gonna bring opprobrium and the apocalypse of nobody talking to us. Apple, and the corporations were gonna take flight etc etc etc YAWN!

They are though, and you are aren’t you?

Same things were said about Higgins by FFG voters especially when he ran for president the first time that they’re now saying about Connolly. I recall Higgins called some right wing American radio show guy an asshole around about the time he declared to run, FFG and their pals in the media were jumping up and down about his “suitability” for the President position. A lot of ould conservative FFG guff, same story with Connolly. Trying to recall, I don’t think FF ran a candidate v Higgins first time, FG ran the evil of two lessers.

Labels don’t always work and can categorise people unfairly at times but sometimes they do work like in this case where FFG voters will jump on things Connolly says with “ooooh she’s not fit for the Arus saying stuff like that …..etc”. A lot of nonsense. Connolly must be true to herself, if she does get in she’ll have a good understanding of the requirements of the position and would modify things she says accordingly, like Higgins did.

Higgins was good, if people want more of his type of presidency it’ll be Connolly and not the FFG tweedledumb and tweedledee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,883 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Interesting point made on the Irish Times politics podcast today. They ran a story about Connolly and her comments about Germany and the 1930s and the reporter said that the largest cohort to get in touch about it were Connolly supporters who were despairing at her campaign so far, self inflicted mistake after mistake. Hard to disagree with it from where I'm looking anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Jim is right to stay out of all that Palestine etc. nonsense…..let those 2 loons of the day scratch each others eyes out.

Clueless about what? The new rules of Gaelic football maybe? Gavin would be in the ascendancy there to be fair,