If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Presidential Election 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,155 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

How do you think CC will do nationally if she got it?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭kabakuyu

It appears poor auld CC has lost the plot,the tankie reveals herself,ask the people of Galway west,we knew she was a loose cannon for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

JG will studiously avoid revealing their beliefs

In fairness Jim's only strongly held ones probably relate to stuff like whether Cluxton is still the best man between the sticks for the Dubs…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

Ok well i consider this an obvious incident of friendly fire - but i have to genuinely disagree with your opinion

Catherine Connolly has said nothing wrong

• In my opinion, stating that Hamas should have a role in the future of Palestine, is 100% wrong. Whether she wishes to believe that or not, is her business; but as a presidential candidate she is open to huge criticism on this error alone
    • Germany re-arming is as a result of Russian Aggression, aimed squarly at Europe. Comparing it to Hitlers re-arming in the 1930s is plainly nonsensical.
    • Saying that the US is an Imperial power is wrong. Please understand I am NOT a fan of US Foreign Policy, and i realize how unstable the US is at present. But the US is not an imperial power on the same tier as Russia.

i could go on, as her views on blaming NATO (defensive organization) for Russia (Non Nato Member) invading the Ukraine (Also, Non Nato Member) borders on embarassing - but she hasnt brought NATO up for discussion in this campaign (yet - maybe i shouldnt have mentioned it, i dont want to give her ideas)

She's trying to be true to her views but she has to be mindful to her backers in SF, SD and Lab

If i were to hazard a guess, id say these parties probably want to her to win the election. Which, quite honestly, she has little chance in doing if she continues down this path

The point about the RTE headline was that they led with it as if her point was controversial when it isn't

Sorry, i genuinely do consider this a controversial topic. I am not a fan of Trump, i detest MAGA, and i believe US has made horrific mistakes in its foreign policy during the last few decades. But it is NOT an Imperial Power. IMHO

This is what i mean when i wish she would leave the tricky topics alone - she is opening herself up to obvious criticism, and in doing so, damaging her chances - and the left in general

Look I dont know what to say, but less than 48 hours in, she is setting fires which wont go out for a while - she could have steered the ship safer, and gave JG and HH a serious run for their money. But instead she insists on bringing devisive internation issues to the forefront of a presidential election - and that is an error.

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

I thought Gavin has been clear on his when asked, despite the stuttering. HH’s background is well publicised, and her positions are in the public realm as a FG TD.
    But the way I see it, at least those two candidates focus on Ireland predominantly. Meanwhile Connolly seems to want to take on the world focusing on foreign affairs. With no couching of language whatsoever.

It is not a way to broaden a candidates support base and get the undecided voter, in my view.

Connolly would be better served focusing on Ireland, Irish language, Irish culture. Instead it is anti imperialism, world peace etc. Which would play well in student union bars. But won’t be enough to win an election. The role is President of IRELAND not the President of the UN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

It's perfectly clear, thanks,

So you're saying it was a contradiction because 'if she was good enough to collaborate with' why wasn't she 'good enough' to nominate?

Let me try to explain why it isn't a contradiction in simple terms.

If, for example, I asked you to crew my yacht crossing the Atlantic and six months later you wanted to marry my daughter, the fact I considered you reasonable company and a competent sailor might not ameliorate my apprehensions about you being too old, too fond of the drink and having an addiction to gambling.

Someone can be 'great craic' but otherwise unsuitable. No contradiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,599 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Listen to her launch. She focused on here.

It is the media framing what she is asked about. Things she said and did years ago.

Exactly, Connolly seems to show less and less “cop on” when she speaks. She is causing damage to her own campaign. It is not as if any candidate attacked her. She is causing herself trouble on her own.

To me Connolly sounds to the left of Labour and more PBP in tone. Sure, PBP are a party which the majority of Irish people struggle to take seriously. Grand if a local TD is needed to protest a local issue. But utterly hopeless when it comes to broad national appeal.

Jayus, even SF changed their tone over the years. Less of the PBP type rhetoric. Becoming much less Euroskeptic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,638 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

We like our presidents to be uncontroversial. That is how Michael D won it back in the day.

Well if that was overriding consideration Gay Mitchell was obviously your man in 2011. It was always clear MDH would use the presidential pulpit to address some hot topics but hoped/expected he would stay the right side of the line. Which he has managed to, just about…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,694 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

She also said our nearest EU neighbour, France, was "untrustworthy".

Stay for a week

in sunny Donaghmede

with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,699 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

You are just bitter because SF has backed the wrong horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭1641

Well, I suppose he didn't quite get to marching up and down oiutside the Dáil with a placard. Which would have been the next step. But not the role of President, whether I support the placard message or not.

Connolly is on the news today going on about CURRENT German defence spending/rearmament having parallels to 1930’s Germany. I immediately thought you couldn’t get much more “Student Union” than that. Where is the broad appeal?
    If I was from SF I would be raging with Connolly’s performance in these early stages. Wondering if the party did the correct thing backing her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,694 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Nobody is disputing its a fact. What is being disputed is its relevance, which is zero.

Stay for a week

in sunny Donaghmede

with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

The fact Humphreys and Connolly are women might help them get transfers from each other. There is some evidence of such things happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,545 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

SF rolling in behind Connolly was bizarre. They'd have been better going a celeb route and picking Dana than rolling in behind her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

For me, Catherine has blown it. She will be pilloried in interviews and debates from here out.

Theres a chance Connolly will top the poll due to a unified leftwing support. However there was some division in the Labour Party, with Alan Kelly saying he disagreed with some of her foreign policy views.

There have been 4 popular vote Presidential elections since 1990 and the Left have won 3 of them. They seem to be better at them than Dail Elections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭landofthetree

https://www.rte.ie/news/world/2025/0925/1535208-palestine-un/

Connolly saying Hamas should be allowed rule a Palestinian state was some own goal.

We will see. Michael D Higgins had widespread support in the press. Does Connolly have similar levels of press support? I have doubts. INM is now owned by Mediahuis, a Belgian company. Will they be okay with her views on Russia-Ukraine, and criticism of German rearmament?

She may attract a protest vote, such as over Scoliosis. But while I think that issue hurt FG a bit in the election, it wasnt enough to change the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭liamtech

'Cop on' is the right term, and she seems to be lacking it. Its just political nuance.

She can have her views, but she can also play the game. If her previous views are brought up, she can acknowledge them, and state that she is a lady with strong opinions. But in the role of president, she will prioritize the duties of the role, and represent the country. Then she could change the topic to Housing, or Mental Health, or the cost of living.

Simple methods like that undermine those attacking her as a candidate. With the budget coming up, HH and JG will be in tricky water if they are questioned on Budget 2026 (which will be the harshest for 5 years by the looks of it) - But CC is going down the exact opposite route. She is prioritizing her own views - and undermining the argument that she would make a good president. And handing her opposition sticks to hit her with.

Ugh i dont know @gormdubhgorm - i kind of feel that when it comes to CC, its almost over before kick off. I read your comment on HH as being the more credible candidate of the three - pains me to say it, because i really dislike FG - but it is looking like HH is sane choice.

Il watch the debates and remain open, but i have a feeling il log in tomorrow, and CC will have weighed in on India/Pakistan (probably blaming NATO on the conflict) - or will have picked another fight with the EU over supporting Ukraine. Catherine Connollys biggest enemy in this election, is Catherine Connolly - Maybe we learn a lesson here - an activist does not a politician make

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

Delighted actually. Go back to thread begining I was on the Connolly train from day one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

I think we can tolerate a little leeway for the president to speak on domestic issues, within reason - we are all exasperated by the housing crisis at this stage - but we simply can’t have somebody shooting their mouth off about foreign countries in a way that creates confusion about the Irish government position abroad. And what nonsense too. Germany should be encouraged to rearm as fast as possible. The threat from Putin is real.

Post edited by Ardillaun on

Do I contradict myself?
    Very well then I contradict myself,
    (I am large, I contain multitudes.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Don't misrepresent what she said which was essentially 'outsiders shouldn't disallow Hamas'.

Yup. I think thats how most feel so I think it'll be a pìss poor turnout with Humphreys just falling over the line. I dont think theres much appetite for FFG outside of the hardline party diehards who would vote for anyone nominated by them.

It was a chance for a non-FFG candidate to be the favourite and have a good chance but somehow the 3rd option is killing her own campaign in every single interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,699 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

No, I think you're bitter. The prize was there. The best answer to obdurate unionists about not being wanted in a UI - a border Presbyterian being elected and SF could have said they backed that person. They didn't have to agree with any government policies - they could have made a strategic principled position in aid of what they claim is their overarching goal. Some SF officials have publicly acknowledged they missed a trick.

They tied themselves to someone highly likely to finish last.

SF backing FG is as likely as me marrying Taylor Swift.

SF should have nominated anyone, if none of the TD's wanted it then fcuk it go for Dana or Jim McGuinness but do something other than backing a liability.

Never interrupt your opponent when they are busy making a mistake. Letting CC do all the talking right now is working great

Stay for a week

in sunny Donaghmede

with me

McGregor would have had opinions and possibly be more stable than Connolly has been in interviews.

Having opinions and expressing them isn't always the right thing.